The newbie guide to power supply units, Questions and comments are welcomed

rav3n82
post Jul 20 2014, 09:10 AM

I find your lack of faith disturbing!
7,084 posts

QUOTE(jakuraz @ Jul 20 2014, 08:04 AM)
guys, which psu is better suited for this rig?

CPU:Intel Pentium G3258 LGA 1150 -->gonna OC to 4.7ghz or 4.8ghz later
Mobo:Asus B85M-G
Zotac GTX770 2GB DDR5 256BIT (ZT-70301-10P)
Ram: Kingston hyper X fury 4GB 1600mhz x2
HDD: WD Blue 1TB
Monitor:Dell S2340L
Custom CPU Cooler: Cooler Master TPC 812 Vapor Chamber

currently i have few options,
PSU: Super Flower HX600M Modular 80+ Gold Power Supply - RM295
PSU: Antec EA-Platinum-550-NC - RM299
PSU: FSP Hexa 550W - RM159
or is there other PSU that i should go for?
I recommend at least 600W for your build. Some suggestions.

Seasonic S12 II 620W - RM299
FSP Raider 650W - RM259
jakuraz
post Jul 20 2014, 11:31 AM

need more stars. i luv em
582 posts

QUOTE(rav3n82 @ Jul 20 2014, 09:10 AM)
I recommend at least 600W for your build. Some suggestions.

Seasonic S12 II 620W - RM299
FSP Raider 650W - RM259
thx for the reply.
then left those 3 choices.

from a review here it says that FSP Raider 650W is better than Seasonic S12 II 620W.
but how about Super Flower HX600M? after googling i found out that the Super Flower is modular while FSP is not modular. then Super Flower one is better?
rav3n82
post Jul 20 2014, 09:42 PM

7,084 posts

QUOTE(jakuraz @ Jul 20 2014, 11:31 AM)
thx for the reply.
then left those 3 choices.

from a review here it says that FSP Raider 650W is better than Seasonic S12 II 620W.
but how about Super Flower HX600M? after googling i found out that the Super Flower is modular while FSP is not modular. then Super Flower one is better?
Super Flower is fine. But for this HX series, I understand that they appear to use a slightly inferior main hold up capacitor, so it may raise some questions on long term reliability. But then again, IINM they are warranted up to 5 years right? I do not foresee this to be a main issue, besides this PSU is also priced very attractively and offers excellent for feature for its price range.
jakuraz
post Jul 20 2014, 10:52 PM

need more stars. i luv em
582 posts

QUOTE(rav3n82 @ Jul 20 2014, 09:42 PM)
Super Flower is fine. But for this HX series, I understand that they appear to use a slightly inferior main hold up capacitor, so it may raise some questions on long term reliability. But then again, IINM they are warranted up to 5 years right? I do not foresee this to be a main issue, besides this PSU is also priced very attractively and offers excellent for feature for its price range.
alright thnx rav3n82 smile.gif
low12345
post Jul 30 2014, 03:44 PM

Hi Everyone, Could you please help me find a Hardware Supplier Store? because I'm planning to build my own computer table, I need a better hardware to use it. Kindly update me if you have any suggestions. Thanks!
TristanX
post Aug 1 2014, 11:01 AM

Where is my stars?
24,334 posts

Please also add info for items below

Who makes the PSU (huge list)?
http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/power-...rands,3762.html

Tier of the power supply.
http://www.tomshardware.com/answers/id-180...-tier-list.html

TSchocobo7779
post Aug 1 2014, 11:13 AM

Power is nothing without control
14,673 posts

QUOTE(TristanX @ Aug 1 2014, 11:01 AM)
Please also add info for items below

Who makes the PSU (huge list)?
http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/power-...rands,3762.html

Tier of the power supply.
http://www.tomshardware.com/answers/id-180...-tier-list.html
Personally I'd just read through HardOCP, TechPowerUp and JonnyGuru when it comes to PSU reviews... Tom's Hardware doesn't do a comprehensive test when it comes to PSUs... icon_idea.gif

BTW, Newegg forums do have a PSU tier list:
https://community.newegg.com/eggxpert/compu...81/t/45344.aspx (Tom's Hardware PSU tier list is most likely sourced from this link) icon_idea.gif

TristanX
post Aug 1 2014, 11:16 AM

Where is my stars?
24,334 posts

QUOTE(chocobo7779 @ Aug 1 2014, 11:13 AM)
Personally I'd just read through HardOCP, TechPowerUp and JonnyGuru when it comes to PSU reviews... Tom's Hardware doesn't do a comprehensive test when it comes to PSUs... icon_idea.gif

https://community.newegg.com/eggxpert/compu...81/t/45344.aspx  (Tom's Hardware PSU tier list is most likely sourced from this link) icon_idea.gif
The first item is to let people know the PSU OEM of the brand.

The newegg one looks more complete.
TSchocobo7779
post Aug 1 2014, 11:21 AM

14,673 posts

QUOTE(TristanX @ Aug 1 2014, 11:16 AM)
The first item is to let people know the PSU OEM of the brand.

The newegg one looks more complete.
There's another site that works even better:
http://realhardtechx.com/index_archivos/Page541.htm icon_idea.gif

This post has been edited by chocobo7779: Aug 1 2014, 11:22 AM
hameko
post Aug 3 2014, 03:29 AM

24 posts

Is it true u need haswell compatible psu? Is seasonic m12ii 620 is ok for 4790k and 780.

TSchocobo7779
post Aug 3 2014, 08:02 AM

14,673 posts

QUOTE(hameko @ Aug 3 2014, 03:29 AM)
Is it true u need haswell compatible psu? Is seasonic m12ii 620 is ok for 4790k and 780.
No. I have built several Haswell machines with non-Haswell PSUs (Seasonic S12II and M12II, to be exact) and they work just fine. icon_idea.gif

According to Cooler Master:
Most power supplies don't support Haswell - False
I need a Haswell certified power supply to build a Haswell system - False
Haswell only works with DC-DC Power Supplies - False
Haswell only works with 80+ Gold and better Power Supplies - False
Haswell requires a second 12V rail and doesn't work with single rail Power Supplies - False
On some older power supplies, Haswell consumes 5W more in idle mode - True

http://www.techpowerup.com/184529/cooler-m...well-ready.html

This post has been edited by chocobo7779: Aug 3 2014, 08:02 AM
danshi
post Aug 6 2014, 04:37 PM

190 posts

Dear Sifus,

I need recommendation for PSU. My PSU is not working. I tried bootup and tried the pin method to test but still the fan is not spinning.

My current setup
Intel i5 proc
MSI Mobo
8GB Ram
MSI N680GTX TWIN FROZR 4GD5

Kindly advice.
vga2014
post Aug 6 2014, 04:45 PM

He first tested his idea for a Servo horns(http://de.agmhobby.com/servo-drehrichtungen.html) activated detune using a simple setup ... which runs over a 3D-printed pulling horn to control the speed

This post has been edited by vga2014: Aug 6 2014, 04:46 PM
rav3n82
post Aug 6 2014, 05:31 PM

7,084 posts

QUOTE(danshi @ Aug 6 2014, 04:37 PM)
Dear Sifus,

I need recommendation for PSU. My PSU is not working. I tried bootup and tried the pin method to test but still the fan is not spinning.

My current setup
Intel i5 proc
MSI Mobo
8GB Ram
MSI N680GTX TWIN FROZR 4GD5

Kindly advice.
The PSU still under warranty? Else can consider this: Seasonic S12 II 620W PSU, RM299.

danshi
post Aug 6 2014, 08:28 PM

190 posts

QUOTE(rav3n82 @ Aug 6 2014, 05:31 PM)
The PSU still under warranty? Else can consider this: Seasonic S12 II 620W PSU, RM299.
Is S12G 650w good? I don't plan for OC.
TSchocobo7779
post Aug 6 2014, 09:05 PM

14,673 posts

QUOTE(danshi @ Aug 6 2014, 08:28 PM)
Is S12G 650w good? I don't plan for OC.
It's a good one. tongue.gif
Note that the S12G is pretty much the non-modular version of the Seasonic G series. icon_idea.gif
TSchocobo7779
post Aug 7 2014, 05:18 PM

14,673 posts

The new Cooler Master V750 with 100% Japanese caps:

http://www.techpowerup.com/reviews/CoolerM...r/VSM750/4.html

Panasonic capacitors as the main hold up capacitors, with Chemi-con, Rubycon, Suncon (Sanyo) electrolytic capacitors. There's also an Unicon polymer capacitor on the PSU as well. Unicon is a lesser known manufacturer of capacitors for your information. icon_idea.gif

http://www.unielecs.com/keireki/keireki.HTM
FSP
post Aug 12 2014, 05:17 AM

QUOTE(jakuraz @ Jul 20 2014, 11:31 AM)
Hello,

Here's a review from Hardware Secrets for our Raider series PSU.

http://www.hardwaresecrets.com/article/FSP...ply-Review/1610
zack2468
post Aug 12 2014, 08:37 PM

54 posts

I want to ask something.
my pc keeps on rebooting even in bios mode. Then suddenly it causes my room to blackout. 1 of my house fuse in the circuit breaker die.

What causes it? I open all the pc parts but nothing burnt or capacitor leaking.

Is it due to bad psu or my mb just die?
thanks in advance thumbup.gif
goldfries
post Aug 14 2014, 07:21 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(chocobo7779 @ Aug 1 2014, 11:13 AM)
https://community.newegg.com/eggxpert/compu...81/t/45344.aspx  (Tom's Hardware PSU tier list is most likely sourced from this link) icon_idea.gif
but hor, that one is 2008.

Many things would've changed through half a decade.

103 Pages « < 30 31 32 33 34 > » Top

0.0223sec    1.44    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 04:03 PM