The newbie guide to power supply units, Questions and comments are welcomed

rav3n82
post Jun 13 2013, 10:41 AM

I find your lack of faith disturbing!
7,084 posts

QUOTE(chocobo7779 @ Jun 11 2013, 08:52 PM)
Seasonic G 550 (single GPU)
Rosewill Capstone 650W (GBros@Garage Sales)
This is a SuperFlower built unit, with semi-modular cabling and 80+ Gold certification.
I seem to find that Capstone series is non-modular, can anyone confirm?

http://www.jonnyguru.com/modules.php?name=...=Story&reid=266
http://www.legitreviews.com/article/2049/3/
rav3n82
post Aug 9 2013, 05:52 PM

7,084 posts

QUOTE(franstormer @ Aug 9 2013, 11:34 AM)
Thanks for the recommendation, that 1 seems like a very good PSU, will grab that from LYN seller after Raya smile.gif cheers.
Won't hurt to consider Rosewill Hive 650M as well. biggrin.gif
rav3n82
post Aug 12 2013, 03:19 PM

7,084 posts

QUOTE(franstormer @ Aug 9 2013, 10:48 PM)
Saw the Hive 650M, but why is the Hive 750M priced at the same price as Seasonic 620w ?
I would say it's definitely a steal at that price. laugh.gif

Hardwaresecrets did an extensive test on the 650W variant, not sure if both are based on the same platform (my guess is that they do). It's without a doubt a very good PSU. smile.gif

http://www.hardwaresecrets.com/article/Ros...-Review/1460/11
http://www.guru3d.com/articles_pages/rosew...u_review,7.html
rav3n82
post Aug 13 2013, 02:26 PM

7,084 posts

QUOTE(AaronFPS @ Aug 13 2013, 02:19 PM)
So you'd recommend the rosewill hive 650 over seasonic 620?
It depends on what you want to get. Both are excellent choice of PSUs. But from a price point of view, I can get a Rosewill Hive 750M over the Seasonic 620. smile.gif
rav3n82
post Aug 13 2013, 04:58 PM

7,084 posts

QUOTE(GBros @ Aug 13 2013, 04:41 PM)
Nice one.

By the way, forget about Rosewill there's a new PSU brand which is highly reviewed on the internet will be impending by the end of August, hold your horses. brows.gif
Cap Bunga? biggrin.gif
rav3n82
post Sep 15 2013, 10:18 PM

7,084 posts

QUOTE(junk0460 @ Sep 15 2013, 09:56 PM)
Can someone advice what is the suitable/minimum PSU for this rig?

AMD FX-8150
Radeon HD6970
AMD recommends 550W for the HD6970, so that is basically your baseline to begin with.
rav3n82
post Oct 5 2013, 09:57 AM

7,084 posts

QUOTE(limadekad @ Oct 5 2013, 08:29 AM)
Good morning,

i am currently using gigabyte powerock 390 with my pentium g2020.
i am wondering if adding a gtx 555 would overburden the psu.

thanks. smile.gif
I had a look on the card's max TDP, and I noticed that it's a 150W card. I have known of at least one person being able to run a 160W GTX 460 with the Powerock 390W before. tongue.gif Personally, I would advise saving up and get a 450W PSU to be safe, per Nvidia's recommendation . If you afford a 500W one, then all the better.
rav3n82
post Mar 1 2014, 04:08 PM

7,084 posts

QUOTE(WiLeKiyO @ Mar 1 2014, 01:43 PM)
- 80 PLUS Gold
- Full Modular
- 550W to 650W
- RM450 below.

Any recommend ?
Try to scout around in Garage Sales for a Seasonic X-650. But will probably exceed your budget a bit. brows.gif Alternatively, can try Corsair RM650 also.
rav3n82
post Mar 1 2014, 09:47 PM

7,084 posts

QUOTE(Minecrafter @ Mar 1 2014, 05:30 PM)
Sometimes,some people think that PSUs with "CrapXon" and "Chepo" caps is fine..just fine... tongue.gif Which is not true. tongue.gif
You can try to bump up 70 ringgit to get Seasonic X-650 or the Rosewill Capstone 650M.. icon_idea.gif  brows.gif
Actually, it's fine la. I used a mixed bag of Samxon and Teapo caps in my GS600 also no issue. Even the highly recommended FSP Hexa IINM also uses Capxon as its main hold up cap, along with other Capxon and Teapo in its secondary. sweat.gif And last I recalled, you seem to recommend FSP Hexa 500W for some of your builds also. So now, which is true? hmm.gif I also have another Hexa 500W (more than 3 years) still kicking in my rig. wink.gif
rav3n82
post Mar 1 2014, 09:52 PM

7,084 posts

QUOTE(chocobo7779 @ Mar 1 2014, 04:13 PM)
I'd rather get a Rosewill Capstone... brows.gif
But Rosewill Capstone is not fully modular though. unsure.gif So if really want the best (based on WiLeKiyO's criteria), I can only think of Seasonic X-650.
rav3n82
post Mar 1 2014, 10:06 PM

7,084 posts

QUOTE(Minecrafter @ Mar 1 2014, 09:57 PM)
Well yeah true..i do recommend FSP Hexa 500W if the budget isn't enough for a PSU like Seasonic S12II 80+ bronze 620W. smile.gif
i guess it all depends on luck with PSUs huh? hmm.gif
Same with pretty much everything else in your rig. Important point to consider would be the warranty, and how well the manufacturer is going to honor it. I think so far FSP, Seasonic, Corsair, CM all are ok.
rav3n82
post Mar 18 2014, 02:47 PM

7,084 posts

QUOTE(FidelisGVR @ Mar 18 2014, 02:04 PM)
hi guys, quick question about HDD power consumption:

i'm planning to buy a new hard disk.. minimum 1TB. probably Caviar series.

Currently I have 2 hdds in my PC, with a GTX650 Ti Boost, 4GB ram and an i5 Lynnfield 2.8GHz processor, powered by a Corsair TX650 PSU.

is it safe for me to add another HDD without compromising system stability (power wise)?

many apologies if this seems to be a stupid question. I just want to be sure.. thanks many many thanks in advance!
Nothing to worry about mate. Your PSU is even capable of powering up an AMD R9 290X. thumbup.gif
rav3n82
post Mar 18 2014, 03:46 PM

7,084 posts

QUOTE(FidelisGVR @ Mar 18 2014, 03:07 PM)
really? cool, thanks! notworthy.gif

need a new hard disk after 6+ years of usage. damn games are really hdd hoggers these days. sweat.gif
The HDD as secondary drive bro? SSD don't want? brows.gif
rav3n82
post May 4 2014, 09:37 AM

7,084 posts

QUOTE(wira_laju @ May 4 2014, 09:33 AM)
i cannot find any bad review on superflower psu.y not recommended here?.because few 2nd grade cap?
Here.

https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...&#entry65423252
rav3n82
post May 14 2014, 05:03 PM

7,084 posts

QUOTE(creative zn @ May 14 2014, 04:59 PM)
I overspent. Cannot afford good PSU. So, just go with normal FSP Raider 650w. sweat.gif

Guess, bye2 crossfire plan for me. Single GPU route forever. Now the heat coming from 1pcs 280X i headache already, imagine if got 2. LOL
FSP Raider is a pretty ok PSU already. Live with it. biggrin.gif

Also, I don't think it's worthwhile to go for CFX on your current mobo, I believe 2nd lane is a x4 only right? You need Z87 boards that can enable both at x8 / x8.
rav3n82
post May 14 2014, 11:29 PM

7,084 posts

QUOTE(llthim @ May 14 2014, 11:19 PM)
Do this case available in Mal d @@??  drool.gif  drool.gif
You can try to PM him. FYI, this is PSU thread. Let's keep in on-topic.

https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1040996
rav3n82
post May 15 2014, 10:24 PM

7,084 posts

QUOTE(TheHitman47 @ May 15 2014, 10:21 PM)
my friend give me PSU, but without the power cable (the detachable cable from PSU to wall socket).
he said hes lost it.

so can i buy that from shop?, or is that cable special and can only be use by the same cable?.
Any standard power cord would do. wink.gif
rav3n82
post May 15 2014, 10:44 PM

7,084 posts

QUOTE(TheHitman47 @ May 15 2014, 10:25 PM)
most pc shop would have that right?
thanks man  icon_rolleyes.gif
Yes, that's right.
rav3n82
post May 18 2014, 02:30 PM

7,084 posts

QUOTE(maliwan @ May 18 2014, 12:08 PM)
Hello, can i get personal opinion regarding FSP Hexa 500w and Corsair VS450 ? ...and what is the +12v sigle rail , all that stuffs? what should i be concern of when choosing a PSU?  icon_question.gif
Both are good budget PSUs. You can read more here on what is earlier shared on the Hexa 500 and VS550 (bigger brother for VS450). You should read through the 1st page of this thread to have a rough idea. wink.gif

https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...&#entry65426266
rav3n82
post May 23 2014, 03:20 PM

7,084 posts

QUOTE(faisal_smks03 @ May 23 2014, 02:20 PM)
Recently I oc the processor to 4.2GHz. Is it safe to use my current psu?
I see no issues with your current setup. Your graphic card isn't a very power consuming one either.

0.0623sec    0.76    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 05:18 PM