Fund Investment Corner v3, Funds101

carauto2u
post Dec 7 2020, 10:20 AM

53 posts

QUOTE(CSW1990 @ Dec 7 2020, 09:55 AM)
For 10k cash invested in no risk investment , don’t expect it can beat EPF.
Those eligible for withdraw are either jobless or pay cut, should focus on getting a job or find a better pay job, not on how to grow this 10k to 20k or 50k in high risk investment tool
thinking invest in gadgets to make videos / do a small used car. one low risk and one high risk respectively

QUOTE(popopi @ Dec 7 2020, 09:57 AM)
i see there is category 1 and category 2...
from my understanding, if i still have stable job. i not allowed... OR i read wrong?
sh*t i forgot that for stable job. because my job always unstable and most of the people around me having pay cut.
SUSyklooi
post Dec 7 2020, 10:27 AM

8,188 posts

what ever you thinking or wanted to do or suggesting to do....
remember your wants of this 10k...
you wanted double returns in a year
you wanted to see <30% loss of this 10k

that is a good start to really focus on items that can gives you your wants
littlegamer
post Dec 7 2020, 11:03 AM

664 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Dec 7 2020, 09:31 AM)
if you falls under Cat 1...no document needed...
“Those under this category don’t have to provide supporting documents as the approval is automatic based on EPF’s internal data."

if falls under Cat 2.....can only be verified through supporting documents.

https://www.malaymail.com/news/malaysia/202...drawals/1928270

on this ...."then pump back into epf account consider it as self contribution to reduce tax."
only if you have not fulfilled your EPF tax relief claim quota from your existing income....

and if also qualified for PRS & SSPN.....then more tax reduced  thumbup.gif
Thanks for the explanation. Will look into this. Good share.
mikidookie
post Dec 9 2020, 11:20 PM

13 posts

Need your opinion which one investment better CWA or public matual? anyone has experience with these 2 investment fund?
SUSyklooi
post Dec 10 2020, 05:42 AM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(mikidookie @ Dec 9 2020, 11:20 PM)
Need your opinion which one investment better CWA or public matual? anyone has experience with these 2 investment fund?
Which one offers you more unit trust funds selections which does not have to limits the selection to just a particular fund house only?
Which one offers you less sales charges on each of your buy/top ups?
Which one has less overall holding cost on your ut portfolio in the long run?

hustlerism
post Dec 11 2020, 09:46 PM

Devil In Disguise
1,641 posts

Im interested to invest using the EPF Members investment scheme.

But i dont know which fund should i invest in.

Could anyone give me a few pointers?
MUM
post Dec 11 2020, 10:05 PM

14,907 posts

QUOTE(hustlerism @ Dec 11 2020, 09:46 PM)

googled and found these...hope they can provide you with some info while you wait for responses...

5 Pointers on Unit Trust Investing
Unit trust investing is an effective way of building long-term wealth. Successful investing involves having a disciplined mindset and a long-term investment horizon to help investors lay the proper groundwork to achieve their financial goals.
For this purpose, we have identified five pointers for investing in unit trusts:
https://www.publicmutual.com.my/Menu/Learni...Trust-Investing

PICKING A UNIT TRUST THAT SUITS YOUR PORTFOLIO
How should investors go about when selecting a unit trust for their investment needs? By following these few simple steps the selection process may be a lot simpler than you think.
https://affinhwangam.com/insights/investing...-your-portfolio

How to choose which unit trust fund to invest?
https://kclau.com/investment/choose-unit-trust-fund/

https://www.google.com/search?biw=1920&bih=...Dh1QMIDQ&uact=5
hustlerism
post Dec 11 2020, 10:07 PM

Devil In Disguise
1,641 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Dec 11 2020, 10:05 PM)
googled and found these...hope they can provide you with some info while you wait for responses...

5 Pointers on Unit Trust Investing
Unit trust investing is an effective way of building long-term wealth. Successful investing involves having a disciplined mindset and a long-term investment horizon to help investors lay the proper groundwork to achieve their financial goals.
For this purpose, we have identified five pointers for investing in unit trusts:
https://www.publicmutual.com.my/Menu/Learni...Trust-Investing

PICKING A UNIT TRUST THAT SUITS YOUR PORTFOLIO
How should investors go about when selecting a unit trust for their investment needs? By following these few simple steps the selection process may be a lot simpler than you think.
https://affinhwangam.com/insights/investing...-your-portfolio

How to choose which unit trust fund to invest?
https://kclau.com/investment/choose-unit-trust-fund/

https://www.google.com/search?biw=1920&bih=...Dh1QMIDQ&uact=5
Thanks for the links.

Will look into that first.
laceruffles91
post Dec 13 2020, 08:37 PM

93 posts

QUOTE(polarzbearz @ Dec 6 2020, 09:28 PM)
One thing to note - most UT (Unit Trust) fund sucks, and regardless of their performance, you're ought to pay their fund management fees anyway.

There's a few fund that stands out and pass the test of time (past 5-6 years performance) slightly outperforming EPF consistently, but exposing yourself to way higher risk (also let's not forget EPF stood the real test of time since 1952. 5 years is nothing to shout about).
Whether the risk is acceptable or not depends on your current appetite and investment horizon. If you're approaching retirement, forget about unit trust, simply not worth it.

If you're young, maybe, but then consider the downsides as well (fees, performance, etc.) and one thing for sure if you do - buy and forget. Don't even think of trading "ACTIVELY" with unit trust like a stock - because it's not. Any investment vehicles containing basket of stocks (UT, ETFs, etc.) are best treated passively.
Hi I have 10k (not from EPF) that I want to use to invest because so far I am doing nothing except FD. What would you recommend? I read about UT on lowyat and it seems mostly negative. Any experts please chime in. Thanks.

polarzbearz
post Dec 13 2020, 10:20 PM

Gracie
4,816 posts

QUOTE(laceruffles91 @ Dec 13 2020, 08:37 PM)
Hi I have 10k (not from EPF) that I want to use to invest because so far I am doing nothing except FD. What would you recommend? I read about UT on lowyat and it seems mostly negative. Any experts please chime in. Thanks.
It's hard to "advise" as everyone have different circumstances. You have to assess based on your circumstances (age, $$ emergency fund, portfolio size, risk appetite ....) as you know yourselves better than anyone else here.

While I'm not expert nor a financial planner, from my experience, do you already have emergency fund built? If not, that 10k should go there (into FD or something liquid) before even any investments. Next is - do you have any high-interest debts?

If all bases are covered and its your first 10k to venture outside FD, IMO it's always better to start off passive approach with already-diversified portfolio via the likes of StashAway which invests in low-cost ETFs.
If you're willing to mix in a bit of learning of stocks picking then keep ~10-20% of it (or whatever % you can afford to lose) and venture into local/foreign stock market - but avoid this if you're really uncomfortable.
Some also started directly by 100% picking stocks in the stock market and it worked out for them (but of course you'll have to spend time understanding company fundamentals, reading financial reports, etc.)

In short, I don't think there's one-size-fit-all as everyone have different circumstances. I started off with UT too as that's what I was COMFORTABLE with for quite a while (too long, frankly speaking) and only recently added more stock pickings over time.
Just venture out based on your comfort level and increase it from there. Majority of my portfolio are still via passive funds (ETFs/StashAway) with some mixes of stock, because that's what I'm comfortable with at this point in time.

Do your researches, read alot - books, blogs, etc. but most importantly, think for yourself and always take others' advise with a pinch of salt (even mine). Do more research if you don't understand something and keep reading.

QUOTE(hustlerism @ Dec 11 2020, 09:46 PM)

Ask yourself these questions:
- what is lacking in your entire portfolio (incl. personal investments vs. EPF's portfolio)?
- what regional exposure / geographical allocation / asset class works out for your total portfolio?
- which fund has stellar track record (though past performance is NEVER an indicative for future results), and well managed?
- can you afford the higher risk? EPF may not have the "best" performance but they always have a +2.5% mandated return and in some good years they've gave 6.5%++ returns. No unit trust will guarantee the downside and at times/years your fund may be giving you negative returns - can you stomach that and stay on course?

If after researching and you still can't shortlist a few good funds, probably it's best to leave it in EPF untouched

This post has been edited by polarzbearz: Dec 13 2020, 10:28 PM
onlinetradermy
post Dec 18 2020, 01:17 PM

63 posts

QUOTE(carauto2u @ Dec 7 2020, 09:12 AM)
http://isinar.kwsp.gov.my/

3. Bila dan bagaimanakah saya boleh memohon i-Sinar?
Sekiranya anda tergolong dalam Kategori 1, anda boleh mula memohon pada 21 Disember 2020.
Bagi anda yang tergolong dalam Kategori 2 pula, permohonan boleh dibuat bermula 11 Januari 2021.
Permohonan i-Sinar hanya secara online di laman web isinar.kwsp.gov.my
3 days to the countdown...
rocketm
post Dec 19 2020, 09:01 PM

1,628 posts

Hi guys,

My mother has a RHB unit trust fund, previously the fund is managed by OSK, long time ago.

Is it possible to sell it online or must go to RHB investment branch to sell?
chikuera
post Dec 20 2020, 01:00 PM

Nora Bagi 4 Stars!!
749 posts

Hi all,

I have extra RM1.5k not used in my bank account. not every month, but these like extra cash I have.

Should I keep as emergency fund or invest it somewhere else? Thinking of doing kijang emas gold account in maybank.

I already have asnb loan (100k)
MUM
post Dec 20 2020, 01:27 PM

14,907 posts

QUOTE(chikuera @ Dec 20 2020, 01:00 PM)
Hi all,

I have extra RM1.5k not used in my bank account. not every month, but these like extra cash I have.

Should I keep as emergency fund or invest it somewhere else? Thinking of doing kijang emas gold account in maybank.

is your emergency funds filled up?
WhitE LighteR
post Dec 20 2020, 01:52 PM

WhitE LighteR Is Black~
10,340 posts

QUOTE(chikuera @ Dec 20 2020, 01:00 PM)
Hi all,

Usually keep around 6 month of emergency cash if possible. Either in FD or low risk money market funds. For someone more experience in investing, they can sometimes find something better but carry higher risk too usually.
chikuera
post Dec 21 2020, 02:49 PM

Nora Bagi 4 Stars!!
749 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Dec 20 2020, 01:27 PM)
is your emergency funds filled up?
QUOTE(WhitE LighteR @ Dec 20 2020, 01:52 PM)
Usually keep around 6 month of emergency cash if possible. Either in FD or low risk money market funds. For someone more experience in investing, they can sometimes find something better but carry higher risk too usually.
I dont have 6 month emergency fund. But as per white lighter reply, maybe can put in low risk money fund? Thinking of maybe put in wahed invest?
GrumpyNooby
post Dec 21 2020, 02:51 PM

12,387 posts

QUOTE(chikuera @ Dec 21 2020, 02:49 PM)
I dont have 6 month emergency fund. But as per white lighter reply, maybe can put in low risk money fund? Thinking of maybe put in wahed invest?
Wahed Invest is low risk money fund? hmm.gif
coolguy99
post Dec 21 2020, 04:41 PM

7,351 posts

Asnb should be considered pretty low risk. Unit trust I don’t think so
MUM
post Dec 21 2020, 05:52 PM

14,907 posts

not sure how you would like your emergency fund to be....
Wahed is not as liquid as saving a/c or bank efd
Wahed has chances of losing some of the capital

usually when people talked about emergency fund,...they would want it to be liquid and easy access to it when in emergency
WhitE LighteR
post Dec 21 2020, 07:00 PM

WhitE LighteR Is Black~
10,340 posts

it really depends on individual situation. in my case, emergency fund is cash on hand which is about 1 month spending worth. i consider credit card as stop gap measure where ever possible like in hospital for example that accepts credit. this way i am able to park my extra funds in a more higher risk investment that i can still access within 1 week time. this is an acceptable compromise for me. but then for this to work u will need to have a high limit credit card in hand.

169 Pages « < 149 150 151 152 153 > » Top

0.0212sec    0.66    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 06:06 PM