°° LYN Honda Insight Owners Thread V6 °°, Support Green | Support Hybrid

idoblu
post Sep 6 2013, 11:39 AM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

How about the reverse sensor? The other day it beep continuously without any reason. But the next day it was ok balik.

Normally it's just overly sensitive, will beep at any nearby object even though its not directly at the back of the car
RickRock
post Sep 6 2013, 12:09 PM

151 posts

Seem like 3 of us having similar problem. Even after reset the alarm setting also not solving the problem right? So what else can we do next??

idoblu : I have no problem with reverse sensor beside the 1st week I drove my insight, accidently kiss a tiong when doing reverse parking, due to not familiar with hatch back car and the reverse sensor is a bit slow response for me. My heart was broken at that instant...
flex3x
post Sep 6 2013, 05:59 PM

QUOTE(idoblu @ Sep 6 2013, 11:39 AM)
How about the reverse sensor? The other day it beep continuously without any reason. But the next day it was ok balik.

Normally it's just overly sensitive, will beep at any nearby object even though its not directly at the back of the car
Sometimes after raining it beep continuously without any reason..dunno why hmm.gif
kerelbort
post Sep 10 2013, 11:10 AM

79 posts

the reverse sensor is retrofit by Honda Malaysia and not by Honda Japan. so the sensor is somewhat very slow in response. So i suspect is because of cheapo-reverse sensor..
idoblu
post Sep 14 2013, 09:35 PM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

Finally change 4 new donuts today. Then found one rim bengkok a bit, have to fix for another Rm95. Dunno got kena scam or not. sad.gif

XM2 donuts each Rm280. Got free alignment, balancing, nitrogen gas. Also received free first aid kit from Michelin

Now taken a closer look, I think I can still squeeze a few months out of the old tires. Except one of them quite bad
ze2
post Sep 15 2013, 03:43 PM

319 posts

What is the milleage covered before changing to new tyres?

Michelin is known to be pricey.
idoblu
post Sep 16 2013, 05:30 PM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

QUOTE(ze2 @ Sep 15 2013, 03:43 PM)
What is the milleage covered before changing to new tyres?

Michelin is known to be pricey.
Mine is 57,000km. If I keep my alignment and air pressure correct, I think 70-80,000km is not a problem
kerelbort
post Sep 19 2013, 01:50 PM

79 posts

when do u do your aircond service?
IMAVEST suggest that it is done every 25k.. but i find it too soon..

any suggestion?
TSbabysmile
post Sep 19 2013, 02:28 PM

DiY da BesT
554 posts

kerelbort

just do it when you feel the air cord is not cold anymore...
Ricky300
post Sep 21 2013, 07:59 PM

1,514 posts

I tried the following steps but I failed to hear the BEEP >.<

For those who are lazy to read, here are brief instructions to do it.
1) Disarm your car

2) open driver's door,

3) Click open your bonnet,

4) put in your key switch it to ON, wait 15 seconds,

5) Tricky Part: KEY IN PIN Number @ the control panel button next to your ignition switch (Cobra PIN provided by HM when they handed over the keys to you), On how to key in Pin, please refer to the PIN Card behind. IF SUCCESSFUL, you can see the INDICATOR LIGHTS blink once. Else if you do not see it, take out key and wait 5-10 seconds before repeating Part 4.

6) Once you see the INDICATOR LIGHTS blink, press the control panel button and hold it (Approx 3 Seconds) till you hear a BEEEEEP continuously. (ok now its activated). You can let go now.

7) To adjust the volume of the Buzzer function, press the control panel button again to adjust from volume 0 - volume 7 (being the loudest). Press once to upgrade from volume 1 to 2, press once again to 2-3 and so forth, once volume has reached volume 7, the next press would be silent, meaning its volume 0. Adjust to liking.

8) After adjusting, remove key. close door, close bonnet.

9) Test your alarm now.... ! biggrin.gif
Justice195
post Sep 21 2013, 10:46 PM

51 posts

Just changed my rim into Honda Jazz 15 inch rim & 195/55R15 tyres this morning biggrin.gif

Accelerate till 180 km/h this evening and feeling way much steady than original equip size & tyres rclxm9.gif

That is what i say as safe car tongue.gif

This post has been edited by Justice195: Sep 21 2013, 10:47 PM
cjlai
post Sep 22 2013, 11:29 AM

1,631 posts

QUOTE(Ricky300 @ Sep 21 2013, 07:59 PM)
I tried the following steps but I failed to hear the BEEP >.<

are u driving 2012 or newer model?

if so try the steps below smile.gif

good luck thumbup.gif
cjlai
post Sep 22 2013, 11:49 AM

1,631 posts

QUOTE(Justice195 @ Sep 21 2013, 10:46 PM)
Just changed my rim into Honda Jazz 15 inch rim & 195/55R15 tyres this morning  biggrin.gif

Accelerate till 180 km/h this evening and feeling way much steady than original equip size & tyres  rclxm9.gif

That is what i say as safe car  tongue.gif
really nice..... thinking of to change mine to 15 inch as well when my tyres wear off....

but

185/60/R15 should be a closer match....
175/65/R15 is the perfect match.....

use the compare tyre size here http://tire-size-conversion.com/tire-size-calculator/
Ricky300
post Sep 22 2013, 04:48 PM

1,514 posts

QUOTE(cjlai @ Sep 22 2013, 11:29 AM)
are u driving 2012 or newer model?

if so try the steps below smile.gif

good luck  thumbup.gif
Latest model.

Tested but failed....I just can't get the BEEP after keying in the PIN Number @@
Justice195
post Sep 23 2013, 09:11 AM

51 posts

QUOTE(cjlai @ Sep 22 2013, 11:49 AM)
really nice.....  thinking of to change mine to 15 inch as well when my tyres wear off....

but

185/60/R15 should be a closer match....
175/65/R15 is the perfect match.....

use the compare tyre size here  http://tire-size-conversion.com/tire-size-calculator/
185/60R15 is the best match as i compare the tyres side by side and they are indentical in term of width and height.

However, i feel the 185 size is not stable enough, thus only i buy the 15 inch rim and put on 195/55R15 tyres. Reason is that i had tried 195 & 185 before and i will give higher credit for 195.

But most important, it must b a proper good tyre with good quality. Now i'm using Pirelli tyres, same as my vios which also had clicked 180 km/h.

BTW, i still keep the original rim and the tyres are still quite new & tick ( tyres purchased beginning of this year) in case of warranty claim.

This post has been edited by Justice195: Sep 23 2013, 09:16 AM
ongdennis
post Sep 23 2013, 09:25 AM

762 posts

185/60R15 is the stock configuration in jap spec. so it cant go wrong with this tyre.
that also my plan when my current tyre need to change. smile.gif
cjlai
post Sep 23 2013, 11:44 PM

1,631 posts

QUOTE(Ricky300 @ Sep 22 2013, 04:48 PM)
Latest model.

Tested but failed....I just can't get the BEEP after keying in the PIN Number @@
6) Once you see the INDICATOR LIGHTS blink, press the control panel button and hold it (Approx 3 Seconds) till you hear a BEEEEEP continuously. (ok now its activated). You can let go now.

did u get the indicator light blink after u enter the 4 digits pin?

if yes, after that should proceed to the next step to adjust the volume.

remember must follow the sequence. open the door then only bonet.
Ricky300
post Sep 24 2013, 09:57 AM

1,514 posts

QUOTE(cjlai @ Sep 23 2013, 11:44 PM)

did u get the indicator light blink after u enter the 4 digits pin?

if yes, after that should proceed to the next step to adjust the volume.

remember must follow the sequence. open the door then only bonet.
This is what I did:-

1) Disarm the doors

2) Open driver door

3) Open Bonet

4) Plug in the key and push to ON

5) Waited for 15seconds

6) Input the CODE following with a blink for each entries.

7) Press and hold the control panel button for more than 3 seconds but never heard of any BEEP sound @@
cjlai
post Sep 24 2013, 11:04 AM

1,631 posts

QUOTE(Ricky300 @ Sep 24 2013, 09:57 AM)
This is what I did:-

1) Disarm the doors

2) Open driver door

3) Open Bonet

4) Plug in the key and push to ON

5) Waited for 15seconds

6) Input the CODE following with a blink for each entries.

7) Press and hold the control panel button for more than 3 seconds but never heard of any BEEP sound @@
new model is a bit diff from the old way.... ur sequence is wrong......

1. disarm and get inside ur car
2. make sure all doors, bonet/boot are closed
3. put in ur key and turn it to on position
4. don't do anything yet.... wait for 15 seconds
5. open driver's door first then follow by bonet
6. enter ur 4 PIN code using the cobra switch
7. the signal light will blink if ur PIN is correctly entered
8. press and hold the cobra switch for around 3 seconds and let go...
9. now using the cobra switch to change the volume
10. turn off and remove ur key, then close the bonet and door
11. now u can try to arm ur car alarm biggrin.gif

jlim78
post Sep 24 2013, 03:30 PM

94 posts

[WTS] Side mirror signal/indicator assembly
Model: H. Insight
Brand: Unknown (Aftermarket)
Origin: Japan
Condition: New in Box