Proton Waja Club, For LowYat.net
exergy
Dec 18 2006, 08:21 PM
hello everyone we have a manual 4.5yold waja [4G18 engine]. dad sent it in to change the clutch the other day, batt taken out the whole day. after that many times the engine would start and the rpm would drop to zero and almost all the time, the idling rpms are around 600~750, lower than the normal 850~950. took it back to reset the ECU and it was okay, then the problems started appearing the next day. took it in again and they did something to the ECU now the engine doesnt 'die', but the rpms are still low. the guy there insists that there is something wrong with the ECU [replacement is ~rm3k rite?  ]. was wondering if any of you have any experience with this?
maddriver
Dec 18 2006, 08:23 PM
QUOTE(Silon @ Dec 18 2006, 11:21 PM) hello everyone we have a manual 4.5yold waja [4G18 engine]. dad sent it in to change the clutch the other day, batt taken out the whole day. after that many times the engine would start and the rpm would drop to zero and almost all the time, the idling rpms are around 600~750, lower than the normal 850~950. took it back to reset the ECU and it was okay, then the problems started appearing the next day. took it in again and they did something to the ECU now the engine doesnt 'die', but the rpms are still low. the guy there insists that there is something wrong with the ECU [replacement is ~rm3k rite?  ]. was wondering if any of you have any experience with this?  don't think it's the ecu. most likely the mech did'nt take the time to tune the car properly
exergy
Dec 18 2006, 08:24 PM
yeah!! we thought so too. im curious by 'tune properly' <---tune what?
maddriver
Dec 18 2006, 08:27 PM
QUOTE(Silon @ Dec 18 2006, 11:24 PM) yeah!! we thought so too. im curious by 'tune properly' <---tune what?  did u take it to a proton service centre or some other workshop?
exergy
Dec 18 2006, 08:41 PM
service centre, maddriver. dont know, they seem extremely unhelpful in trying to solve the problem, putting the blame solely on the ECU. what theyre saying doesnt really make sense thats why im here asking for advice
maddriver
Dec 18 2006, 09:46 PM
QUOTE(Silon @ Dec 18 2006, 11:41 PM) service centre, maddriver. dont know, they seem extremely unhelpful in trying to solve the problem, putting the blame solely on the ECU. what theyre saying doesnt really make sense thats why im here asking for advice  tuning a waja not that easy. need to go into sas mode. i'm sure the service centre should know how to do that. just that it takes time to get it done right, becos u can't get it right the first time most of the time. hell, even we take some time to get it sorted out. that's why most outside service centres do not like to tune wajas. u might also want to clean your throttle body too.
sledgehammer
Dec 19 2006, 11:17 AM
QUOTE(maddriver @ Dec 18 2006, 09:46 PM) tuning a waja not that easy. need to go into sas mode. i'm sure the service centre should know how to do that. just that it takes time to get it done right, becos u can't get it right the first time most of the time. hell, even we take some time to get it sorted out. that's why most outside service centres do not like to tune wajas. u might also want to clean your throttle body too. what is SAS tuning actually? heard got MUT tuning also...
aliftaufiq
Dec 19 2006, 11:45 AM
Any idea where i can get waja's driver side power window regulator??the service center quoted me rm493 plus labour...but he said if u can find at spare part shop it will only cost rm250:)
This post has been edited by aliftaufiq: Dec 19 2006, 11:46 AM
maddriver
Dec 21 2006, 10:16 AM
QUOTE(sledgehammer @ Dec 19 2006, 02:17 PM) what is SAS tuning actually? heard got MUT tuning also... need to set the mut to sas mode and then u can tune the idling.
sledgehammer
Dec 21 2006, 12:06 PM
QUOTE(maddriver @ Dec 21 2006, 10:16 AM) need to set the mut to sas mode and then u can tune the idling. i tot the idling is set via the screw @ throttle body??
mitsui_seeker
Dec 21 2006, 02:48 PM

QUOTE(aliftaufiq @ Dec 19 2006, 11:45 AM) Any idea where i can get waja's driver side power window regulator??the service center quoted me rm493 plus labour...but he said if u can find at spare part shop it will only cost rm250:) i change mine at USJ 2 Shell Station service center (opposite Summit)..cost me RM300 including labour....
mitsui_seeker
Dec 21 2006, 02:50 PM

got any accesories shop selling waja driver side sun visor? mine patah already..sian la.
maddriver
Dec 21 2006, 09:41 PM
QUOTE(sledgehammer @ Dec 21 2006, 03:06 PM) i tot the idling is set via the screw @ throttle body??  yup. but the ecu must be in sas mode in order for the tuning to be accurate
zaidi
Dec 22 2006, 07:46 AM
if you have a problem with an SC, try getting second opinion from other SC. try to ask around which SC is trustable.
certain throttle body can use screw to adjust the idle timing. not all TB have the screw to adjust the idling.
for power window, the front can cost 225-230 each, and there's even third party all metal PW kit, no plastic part at all. I forgot the name, but since it's all metal part, i gave it a try. so far no problem until today.
i DIYed changing both front and back PW, the back ones is quite simple, but the front one is a bit tough; but it's worth the experience.
sledgehammer
Dec 24 2006, 11:30 AM
anyone experienced cooling coil problem? my aircond has leakage recently and it was found tht the cooling coil has leakage.....
i was informed by the aircond shop that new cooling coil for waja costs around 3xx bucks......
any sifu here can confirm tht? btw, the cooling coil looks like small sized radiator.... can the leakage be patched??
weiheng
Dec 24 2006, 12:25 PM
QUOTE(zaidi @ Dec 22 2006, 07:46 AM) if you have a problem with an SC, try getting second opinion from other SC. try to ask around which SC is trustable. certain throttle body can use screw to adjust the idle timing. not all TB have the screw to adjust the idling. for power window, the front can cost 225-230 each, and there's even third party all metal PW kit, no plastic part at all. I forgot the name, but since it's all metal part, i gave it a try. so far no problem until today. i DIYed changing both front and back PW, the back ones is quite simple, but the front one is a bit tough; but it's worth the experience. where u get the all metal PW kit? how much?
maddriver
Dec 24 2006, 05:32 PM
QUOTE(Tanakwagu_noh @ Dec 24 2006, 04:34 PM) i plan to park my waja for a week at parking lot....does my car battery last for week....i worried when i'm back the battery flatt olredi....opinion pls...  battery should last.
zaidi
Dec 24 2006, 07:27 PM
QUOTE(weiheng @ Dec 24 2006, 12:25 PM) where u get the all metal PW kit? how much? spare part shop, but i was in kelantan that time it costs RM235 This post has been edited by zaidi: Dec 24 2006, 07:39 PM
HKVOON
Dec 24 2006, 11:49 PM

QUOTE(sledgehammer @ Dec 24 2006, 11:30 AM) anyone experienced cooling coil problem? my aircond has leakage recently and it was found tht the cooling coil has leakage..... i was informed by the aircond shop that new cooling coil for waja costs around 3xx bucks...... any sifu here can confirm tht? btw, the cooling coil looks like small sized radiator.... can the leakage be patched?? wa..so expensive..rm290 can get a new recorn set already... last 6month my compressor also got problem.at first,is my cooling coil problem also. after fix it...cannot last then 3month also.then compressor broke and change to recorn set only rm290.but i get it from my fren workshop.