Cycling V4, General talks on Racing/road bikes

miaopurr
post Nov 25 2012, 05:28 PM

587 posts

QUOTE(Mac Wai @ Nov 25 2012, 04:22 PM)
Sell, not sure people wants to buy, as it is unbranded, too eager to complete my riding gear then. Pay about 280RM for it. Come to think of it, I was hoodwinked by my own vanity.
Anyway, etched on the spec. say Halogyn PhotoMatic, didn't see any brand name.. Must consult with one of the sifus here if there are worthy to keep, not that it really bothers me.

If you happen to come across a rider wearing conventional spec. tats proly is me! tongue.gif

Why? Pasang V Kool ah?
is this yours?

http://www.roadrunnersports.com/rrs/products/OPN103/
Mac Wai
post Nov 25 2012, 06:29 PM

89 posts

Yes, Miaopurr Kor, what do you think? Is it any good?
I prefer my prescribe spec when riding, any time of the day!
butthead
post Nov 25 2012, 06:36 PM

593 posts

QUOTE(Mac Wai @ Nov 25 2012, 04:22 PM)
vmad.gif I think you have over c0ok your innovativeness, imagination, what Blain or Cyril? I rather stick with double side tape. rclxms.gif
haiyoh, macam pempuan nih, im out of ideas lah...

butting out of this...

find someone to extort a new pair of oakleys la for xmas... easier than mashing ur brain on a sunday
miaopurr
post Nov 25 2012, 06:37 PM

587 posts

QUOTE(Mac Wai @ Nov 25 2012, 06:29 PM)
Yes, Miaopurr Kor, what do you think? Is it any good?
I prefer my prescribe spec when riding, any time of the day!
don't worry it's a good brand. just sell it and get ur specs tinted with V-kool
Mac Wai
post Nov 25 2012, 09:30 PM

89 posts

Share some happiness,tai kor, sifu and sisters here. Did anyone here managed a ride today?
Care to share your adventure here, our friend here broke his bicycle headlight, not so serious la and minimal damange to the pocket onli.
Anyone, managed to bend his aluminum or dent their carbon? he he.. Hope not! biggrin.gif
I'm wasting away in a wedding buffet dinner, food is not even decent, and it's only the desert and ice cream tat is up to scratch. Pity me!
So no ride again for me today, and continue to grossly under use my bike. doh.gif

Ben@Jerry
post Nov 25 2012, 09:42 PM

buy some spec that have inner lens will do right? :3
butthead
post Nov 25 2012, 10:41 PM

593 posts

QUOTE(Mac Wai @ Nov 25 2012, 09:30 PM)
Share some happiness,tai kor, sifu and sisters here. Did anyone here managed a ride today?
Care to share your adventure here, our friend here broke his bicycle headlight, not so serious la and minimal damange to the pocket onli.
Anyone, managed to bend his aluminum or dent their carbon? he he.. Hope not! biggrin.gif
I'm wasting away in a wedding buffet dinner, food is not even decent, and it's only the desert and ice cream tat is up to scratch. Pity me!
So no ride again for me today, and continue to grossly under use my bike. doh.gif
today's ride was so epic it did not even happened... pro cycling manager 2012 crashed before it could start up due to a lousy driver with the new graphics card and that ended what it was not meant to be...

epic as i say...

weddings are cool.... chicks, food, booze... everything in 1 place...and you get to see some poor fool walking into his oblivion for the rest of his life...

QUOTE(Ben@Jerry @ Nov 25 2012, 09:42 PM)
buy some spec that have inner lens will do right? :3
did you guys see what i see???

:3

i have other things in mind.. but this is quite close too..

where is tom anyways?

miaopurr
post Nov 25 2012, 10:42 PM

587 posts

tom who?

butthead
post Nov 25 2012, 10:44 PM

593 posts

not PI Magnum...

Tom of Tom & Jerry

Mac Wai
post Nov 25 2012, 11:12 PM

89 posts

Ben, our 3rd in rank is asking where are you. Report in the first thing in the morning, K?
Ben@Jerry
post Nov 25 2012, 11:25 PM

QUOTE(Mac Wai @ Nov 25 2012, 11:12 PM)
Ben, our 3rd in rank is asking where are you. Report in the first thing in the morning, K?
Opps sorry,
i thought i mention already in my first post?..wink.gif
Bandar Puchong Jaya, opposite ioi mall..

mrjgx
post Nov 26 2012, 12:00 AM

59 posts

No ride? Go hop on a trainer. Cyclist best buddy is always a trainer smile.gif

But I know some of you rather hop on to a girl's back..riding hard...
TSvin_ann
post Nov 26 2012, 09:20 AM

10,912 posts

Carbon Frame:

so happens i got to know some of bit info: doh.gif

Time frame: RM8,800
Spez SL3 : RM5,400

my P2K member got his SL3 from uncle Boon Fu, the While SL3 team Saxo frame white color. His feedback, 1st 2 weeks of riding, whole body muscles pains.... but after it's awesome feel !

It's much better better than the LOOK frame that he rode since beginning.

hmm.gif hmm.gif so Spez > Look ?
butthead
post Nov 26 2012, 09:34 AM

593 posts

QUOTE(mrjgx @ Nov 26 2012, 12:00 AM)
But I know some of you rather hop on to a girl's back..riding hard...
wat... you treat your girl friend as a pony??? come one... you are better than that... that is just domestic violence you know...

QUOTE(vin_ann @ Nov 26 2012, 09:20 AM)
hmm.gif  hmm.gif  so Spez > Look ?
depends on which LOOK fram he has lar...

566, then of course... 586, maybe... 695, slightish maybe..
miaopurr
post Nov 26 2012, 09:45 AM

587 posts

QUOTE(butthead @ Nov 26 2012, 09:34 AM)
wat... you treat your girl friend as a pony??? come one... you are better than that... that is just domestic violence you know...
butthead
post Nov 26 2012, 09:48 AM

593 posts

QUOTE(miaopurr @ Nov 26 2012, 09:45 AM)
that is so outdated...

finger boy just won the WDC... must use him more... as you see...old man bernie also join his finger clan..

Added on November 26, 2012, 9:49 ami on the other hand wanted to give him my finger...

i bet kimi does too...

This post has been edited by butthead: Nov 26 2012, 09:49 AM
TSvin_ann
post Nov 26 2012, 10:08 AM

10,912 posts

QUOTE(mrjgx @ Nov 24 2012, 12:31 PM)
A lesson learnt on my recent TT event..never lose the peloton. In fact I think my real mistake is because I'm not following a group of my comfortable pace which is the 30kmh avg.

I was following the 40kmh group for a good 25km and got dropped halfway to the finish line..and it was an all alone battle..a couple of group passed by but I couldn't attached to any rear wheels..haha

So yes, I need to change to 11-23 cassette that's for sure..and to ride at my comfort avg speed for as long as I could..

I ranked at 168/292 for that 85km course with 2h40m..avg speed of 32kmh..

Top of the list was a UK dude where he ripped the course apart with 2h06m...he's flyinggg
why u not able to follow back after dropped from 1st group?

btw, 40kmh on flat is nothing when following behind peloton... learn always stick to behind... aka snake-ing.... haha...

when you're alone and try to tag back the peloton, u need to push n put some 15 second hard effort to catch up with the peloton, and then you can rest n relax behind the peloton!

QUOTE(mrjgx @ Nov 24 2012, 11:50 PM)
Just bought a Tacx Booster..still hasnt tested it yet hopefully the sound wont wake up any of my neighbour..got myself an ultegra 11-23T cassette and a Lezyne floor pump..ready to top up my avg speed a bit more tongue.gif

Ah btw Anyone of u here riding or use a co2 before? Is it that reliable?
Co2 is good. When ur tyre flat, it's pump up ur tyre within seconds. Off course, it's also depend on ur affordability ur experience. For me now, i will never use Co2 as it's expensive, the experience doesnt worth the experience. While my P2K member, he uses Co2, when flat, pressure free, change tube and press the Co2... and it's done, we continue to ride.

Co2 is use and throw and only can use ONCE.

QUOTE(butthead @ Nov 26 2012, 09:34 AM)
depends on which LOOK fram he has lar...

566, then of course... 586, maybe... 695, slightish maybe..
i thinks it's the top range 695. his second hand LOOK frame managed to sell for RM4,000. should be top range punya kua.

miaopurr
post Nov 26 2012, 10:10 AM

587 posts

QUOTE(butthead @ Nov 26 2012, 09:48 AM)
that is so outdated...

finger boy just won the WDC... must use him more... as you see...old man bernie also join his finger clan..
what's WDC?

http://www.wdcdance.com/

Added on November 26, 2012, 10:13 am
QUOTE(vin_ann @ Nov 26 2012, 10:08 AM)
the experience doesnt worth the experience

Added on November 26, 2012, 10:21 am
Co2 is good. When ur tyre flat, it's pump up ur tyre within seconds. Off course, it's also depend on ur affordability ur experience. For me now, i will never use Co2 as it's expensive, the experience doesnt worth the experience. While my P2K member, he uses Co2, when flat, pressure free, change tube and press the Co2... and it's done, we continue to ride.

a cartridge only costs rm10-rm15. and it's not like we get punctured on every ride. i've been using co2 for more than a year, and so far only punctured once.

even with the best pump, it's really hard to get the our tyre pumped to optimum pressure. unless u have these with you:

This post has been edited by miaopurr: Nov 26 2012, 10:21 AM
butthead
post Nov 26 2012, 10:21 AM

593 posts

why u not able to follow back after dropped from 1st group?

btw, 40kmh on flat is nothing when following behind peloton... learn always stick to behind...  aka snake-ing.... haha...

when you're alone and try to tag back the peloton, u need to push n put some 15 second hard effort to catch up with the peloton, and then you can rest n relax behind the peloton! 

i thinks it's the top range 695. his second hand LOOK frame managed to sell for RM4,000. should be top range punya kua.
in other words... once you realize you are being gapped from the main group... re-access and see if you have any group to fall into behind and if not, push hard to to bridge the gap... worry about whether if you get spent trying to bridge the gap later... better to give it a gamble than riding the rest of the journey yourself...

if you doubt yourself for too long, gap grows and it becomes harder to reel in the group... of course, added knowledge about the route is extra points so that you know if the group will slow down at parts where you can try to bridge the gap easier... maybe like there is a couple of slight bends where the group will maneuver slowly due to a big group where you can speed through it easily and stuff like that..

sometime you have to ride smart, not ride hard...

Co2 is mainly for mountain bikers who compete and needs a tyre swap fast or they use sealants and want to pump up their deflated tyres faster than using hand pumps...

695 is a bit above RM10... rugi teruk if he sold it for so little...

695 looks like this with integrated cranks and stem...

586 looks more normal and should still retail for a good RM6 - RM7k.. more when 695 is not yet out..

QUOTE(miaopurr @ Nov 26 2012, 10:10 AM)
world drivers championship...

Added on November 26, 2012, 10:26 am
QUOTE(miaopurr @ Nov 26 2012, 10:10 AM)

Added on November 26, 2012, 10:13 am

Added on November 26, 2012, 10:21 am
a cartridge only costs rm10-rm15. and it's not like we get punctured on every ride. i've been using co2 for more than a year, and so far only punctured once.

even with the best pump, it's really hard to get the our tyre pumped to optimum pressure. unless u have these with you:

think he meant the experience ain't worth the money...

the value of co2 pumps are justified by the person buying it... hard to say for everyone... but to put it into retrospect... it's equivalent to the price of a tube and for the price of the co2 canister.. you are just buying compressed air...

as i say.. it is how you look at it to justify the value... if for competition where it takes 2-3 minutes off your time in repairing a punctured wheel... totally worth it... else, normal ride... self justification...

there is this dual pumps which has co2 and normal hand pump... but they are heavier than usual hand pumps and quite misses the point of using co2 in the first place...

This post has been edited by butthead: Nov 26 2012, 10:26 AM
mrjgx
post Nov 26 2012, 10:29 AM

59 posts

I got dropped because there is a couple of short hills to climb..nevertheless it was a good experience..

Yes 40kmh on a group you don't feel it that much..but I believe my 32T cassette is the culprit for extra power drained.. especially I got passed even on a descend section..so more energy spent there when the speed is excessing 50kmh trying to keep up with the group..

All in all perhaps 40kmh is not at my comfort level yet..30kmh is no issue. I never ride hard and fast before..all this while in KL I only climb and climb and that's pretty slow tongue.gif

Let see if 40kmh is an easy feat once I fix the 11-23T soon

125 Pages « < 11 12 13 14 15 > » Top

0.0399sec    0.33    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 10:38 PM