9 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Cycling V4, General talks on Racing/road bikes

mrjgx
post Nov 19 2012, 01:31 PM

59 posts

Calling for dinraxx..is pinarello that good? U have two of em right? I read somewhere that pinarello planted well on a fast flat ride compare to sl4 which is a little bit twitchy..is that right?

Miopurr is that sl3? How's it performs?
mrjgx
post Nov 19 2012, 05:34 PM

59 posts

The best bike in the world is the bike you currently own...

mrjgx
post Nov 19 2012, 06:28 PM

59 posts

Ahaha..c'mon..I'm trying to convince myself not to buy a new bike..

In fact I need to make myself believe what I need is only a new wheelsets and not a new bike..

And perhaps a new grouppos too..saw the eps and da9000 on display. Sweet~
mrjgx
post Nov 19 2012, 08:01 PM

59 posts

Ok...somehow rather I failed the temptation..I'm f@cked...

Who suggested me to get a new bike and upgrade the old bike just for fun? I'm using my phone too lazy to scroll up...but seems like a damn good suggestion!

But OTH my sanity side said, my el cheapo Merida also can ride 30kmh avg group ride with all the Europeans rider so why bother to upgrade wan...

Haihs...maybe just buy the black spez and live in solace forever...peace.

This post has been edited by mrjgx: Nov 19 2012, 08:02 PM
mrjgx
post Nov 19 2012, 09:31 PM

59 posts

QUOTE(miaopurr @ Nov 19 2012, 08:16 PM)

Added on November 19, 2012, 8:20 pm
if i were u, i'd keep the old bike and set it up for flat route ride; deep wheel etc. and get a new spez tarmac sl4 and set it up for hilly route.
Cyclist advice level = brilliant!!!

Highly agreed. Haha. Made up my mind already. Not so f@cked up after all smile.gif
mrjgx
post Nov 21 2012, 11:40 AM

59 posts

Damn haven't go the chance to do Broga loop before I left..for sure it will be easy as long as you don't trying to top the Strava segments tongue.gif

I have 85km TT coming this weekend..any tips on TT? Ride hard in the beginning? All the way? Mixing the pace?
mrjgx
post Nov 21 2012, 12:05 PM

59 posts

QUOTE(vin_ann @ Nov 21 2012, 11:57 AM)
Time Trial = TT ?

u thinks too much bro. just ride.

1st time ride, dont put too much expectation but learning... 

u can slow in 1st half, push second half.
u can push 1st half, slow in second half.
u can use combo slow push, push slow...
u can slow all the way...
u can push all the way...

most effective way: find a cyclist u hate most, target him... tail behind him... and when crossing the line, overtake him...

or another effective way: find a female cyclist.

ok. finish cocking. back to work.
Haha. Not my 1st time on the route but definitely my 1st time trial event. It is to provide seeding on the upcoming 92km event.

Drafting is allowed, heck you can even go with a group..not a proper TT I would say but definitely is worth pushing for. Bought the classic championchip as well for the timings.

With my cassette I can't keep up with riders with avg speed of 45kmh..some of the trains are pretty fast I could only draft them for a minute only..I tried once chasing a semi-pro like train and they are doing 50kmh constantly..

I still haven't configure my bike to suit the flat route yet..but with the compact and 32T cassette I can ride with 30kmh avg group with no issue..

Drafting is way too much fun! It's effing effortless! Haha

This post has been edited by mrjgx: Nov 21 2012, 12:06 PM
mrjgx
post Nov 21 2012, 03:01 PM

59 posts

I'm the the process of soupping up my ride..I'm pretty sure it can keep up with the rest of the super bikes tongue.gif

Ok tech question...let say 11-23t cassette is best suited with a compact crank or a standard crank? What about 12-25T?

This post has been edited by mrjgx: Nov 21 2012, 03:02 PM
mrjgx
post Nov 21 2012, 08:05 PM

59 posts

Fizik so nice ka? New one is Antares right?
mrjgx
post Nov 22 2012, 12:34 PM

59 posts

I have zacoo floor pump..and the emergency pump like butthea posted above..where got cable tied? It's attached to your bottle cage lah
mrjgx
post Nov 24 2012, 12:31 PM

59 posts

A lesson learnt on my recent TT event..never lose the peloton. In fact I think my real mistake is because I'm not following a group of my comfortable pace which is the 30kmh avg.

I was following the 40kmh group for a good 25km and got dropped halfway to the finish line..and it was an all alone battle..a couple of group passed by but I couldn't attached to any rear wheels..haha

So yes, I need to change to 11-23 cassette that's for sure..and to ride at my comfort avg speed for as long as I could..

I ranked at 168/292 for that 85km course with 2h40m..avg speed of 32kmh..

Top of the list was a UK dude where he ripped the course apart with 2h06m...he's flyinggg
mrjgx
post Nov 24 2012, 11:50 PM

59 posts

Just bought a Tacx Booster..still hasnt tested it yet hopefully the sound wont wake up any of my neighbour..got myself an ultegra 11-23T cassette and a Lezyne floor pump..ready to top up my avg speed a bit more tongue.gif

Ah btw Anyone of u here riding or use a co2 before? Is it that reliable?
mrjgx
post Nov 26 2012, 12:00 AM

59 posts

No ride? Go hop on a trainer. Cyclist best buddy is always a trainer smile.gif

But I know some of you rather hop on to a girl's back..riding hard...
mrjgx
post Nov 26 2012, 10:29 AM

59 posts

I got dropped because there is a couple of short hills to climb..nevertheless it was a good experience..

Yes 40kmh on a group you don't feel it that much..but I believe my 32T cassette is the culprit for extra power drained.. especially I got passed even on a descend section..so more energy spent there when the speed is excessing 50kmh trying to keep up with the group..

All in all perhaps 40kmh is not at my comfort level yet..30kmh is no issue. I never ride hard and fast before..all this while in KL I only climb and climb and that's pretty slow tongue.gif

Let see if 40kmh is an easy feat once I fix the 11-23T soon
mrjgx
post Nov 26 2012, 11:47 AM

59 posts

Woah...thanks for the info dude. The difference surely is very minimal at that speed. How come I always think that the cassette could play a big thing in suiting difference terrain..I guess it's true for climbing, but on the flat it's pretty much the same..

But what you said is kinda true when facing a short burst hills..initially I thought I'm having the advantage in climbing section..boy I was wrong..others are pulling away and keep their distance with steady pedaling while I'm with a more cadence to keep up..those peloton they will try hard to maintain their speed constantly even on a climb so they put in like 150% to 200% effort on climb...

But then again..my fitness is another factor and that's one thing I need to improve..Owh btw, i hate strong gusty headwind more than climbing up hills tongue.gif

mrjgx
post Nov 26 2012, 01:33 PM

59 posts

Heart rate monitor is the most important thing..gradient...nah..I dont have gradient meter but I'm damn glad I have a heart rate monitor..

Although some might saying a power meter is the definite training tools compare to heart rate as our heart rate is not constant as it depends on a lot of other factors, such as temperatures, your body liquid, etc etc.

As for me, HRM is pretty good enough..I'm no pro. And a power meter is too expensive and out of my reach..
mrjgx
post Nov 28 2012, 01:26 AM

59 posts

Try Bont shoe. I have 2 pairs of Bont a two. It suits my wide fore foot nicely...
mrjgx
post Dec 1 2012, 10:39 PM

59 posts

hi, i have a problem...you know..slamming that stem..however when i removed the last part of the spacers, i'm left with a gap, there is no covers..what i need is perhaps the zero stack headset? i went to shop but they ask for the diameter size, bearing and stuffs...

how to know the size ler?? help me...

Added on December 1, 2012, 10:42 pmhi, i have a problem...you know..slamming that stem..however when i removed the last part of the spacers, i'm left with a gap, there is no covers..what i need is perhaps the zero stack headset? i went to shop but they ask for the diameter size, bearing and stuffs...

how to know the size ler?? help me...

This post has been edited by mrjgx: Dec 1 2012, 10:42 PM
mrjgx
post Dec 2 2012, 12:58 AM

59 posts

QUOTE(butthead @ Dec 1 2012, 11:29 PM)
right click -> copy image location -> click IMG button in advanced post and paste..

no rocket science there...as simple as milking a cow...
the human mind is of deep unexplored depth...
WAT!!! it's wrong for a man to explain his answers in detail now???

the question should not been asked in the first place if no one can handle the answer...
you need a upper cup to replace your the big conical shaped spacer as that was designed to be like that.. most likely FSA made a similar model with a lower stack height...

they can take out the for and measure the steerer to find the correct headset size...but looking from the merida site.. FSA BB410 headset seems to point to a 1 1/8" semi integrated headset... that should be enough for them to get your one...

yeap..you are right...zero stack is the way to go if you want that slammed look...

i think ritchey and cane creek has a lot of ZS headsets....
thx man...as long as it is 1 1/8" then any brand also can right? or should i get the FSA model for a peace of mind since currently im running on FSA..the standard conical one as you mentioned above.

how about this?

Zero Stack
mrjgx
post Dec 2 2012, 02:44 PM

59 posts

CK explanation is a bit too much of details. it's good but somehow I got lost somewhere in the middle of the article tongue.gif

I was planning to buy and fix it myself, but I need to chop that extra steerer off. Hence I better bring my bike over to the bike shop, WHICH i really would like to avoid. Apart from having to bring my bike with a cab (i got no cars here), the servicing charge is damn expensive. around 300 for full service..blergh..

I resort to be my own mechanic though...haha. I would like to change the cassette on my own, is it difficult? any guidance? I know there's a tool and I can buy that, but the steps to replace the cassette I hv no idea..

9 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0539sec    0.58    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 02:07 PM