Cycling V4, General talks on Racing/road bikes

TSvin_ann
post Jan 10 2013, 01:48 PM

10,912 posts

QUOTE(butthead @ Jan 10 2013, 01:16 PM)
if hangat hangat tahi.. then you better not invest lar... i do not see the point of having a stupid computer that requires constant charging and since it will be connected to a USB at some point and you still don't download the data files... much more pointless to have it...

polar is still best for workouts compared to garmin... they know how athletes think.. garmin is all about being very gadget...
you went to college with tardar sauce?
that particular one must need 900 lives to survive... standard 9 lives quota finish in 1 day flat...
oh.. thank you for ur feedback...

my Polar RCX5 watch battery can last for 5 months with my heavy training loads... last change since July... now its showing low batt indicator... Going to change this Sat...

QUOTE(miaopurr @ Jan 10 2013, 01:25 PM)
vinann better stick with polar. coz no point buying garmin and let it collect dust for a year, since he's not gonna cycle for a year.
Garmin also can use in running ma.

i will be using Polar until its kaput... normally Polar expected life span how long ah?
butthead
post Jan 10 2013, 01:55 PM

593 posts

QUOTE(vin_ann @ Jan 10 2013, 01:48 PM)
yea lar, but i meant when the polar team designed the watches and meters... they would have put a lot of thought into the design and functions from the athletes perspective as that is their core business?

while Garmin is specializing in making GPS solutions and the sports or bike computer line is a side business they are expanding into... they would not have so much insight or put so much well thought ideas into their product... so, they end up have to sell on gimmicks alone...

i will be using Polar until its kaput... normally Polar expected life span how long ah?
i don't think it will kaput short of 5 years minimal if you take real damn good care of it...

miaopurr
post Jan 10 2013, 01:56 PM

587 posts

u r referring to forerunner or fenix ah? dunno la about polar. my polar kaput less than a year, despite the claimed 3500 hours operation. tahu kucing oso not as stinky as their claim.
butthead
post Jan 10 2013, 02:01 PM

593 posts

QUOTE(miaopurr @ Jan 10 2013, 01:56 PM)
u r referring to forerunner or fenix ah? dunno la about polar. my polar kaput less than a year, despite the claimed 3500 hours operation. tahu kucing oso not as stinky as their claim.
it's all down to luck lar bro..

they never blessed it with holy water or they ran out of it... explains why it kongkiao'ed so fast
TSvin_ann
post Jan 10 2013, 02:08 PM

10,912 posts

QUOTE(butthead @ Jan 10 2013, 01:55 PM)
yea lar, but i meant when the polar team designed the watches and meters... they would have put a lot of thought into the design and functions from the athletes perspective as that is their core business?

while Garmin is specializing in making GPS solutions and the sports or bike computer line is a side business they are expanding into... they would not have so much insight or put so much well thought ideas into their product... so, they end up have to sell on gimmicks alone...
i don't think it will kaput short of 5 years minimal if you take real damn good care of it...
Glad to know that im using World class top heart rate monitor....

can define "real damm good care of it"?

moral of story: you buy Garmin instead of Polar! right?

go claims warranty if within a year...

waits when im seriously back into cycling, going to add cadence to my RCX5.
butthead
post Jan 10 2013, 02:10 PM

593 posts

despite the claimed 3500 hours operation
on the other hand...after hearing that stupid battery design thing from you... polar could have put a little more thought into the design of the physical product itself...they could have taken a page out of the garmin design book...

or garmin should just merge with polar... call it pomin or garlar...so it'll have the well thought features of polar and design and gimmicks of garmin.. best of both worlds...
miaopurr
post Jan 10 2013, 02:10 PM

587 posts

QUOTE(butthead @ Jan 10 2013, 02:01 PM)
it's all down to luck lar bro..

they never blessed it with holy water or they ran out of it... explains why it kongkiao'ed so fast
that's y when ppl ask about garmin vs polar, i tell them to go with garmin.
miaopurr
post Jan 10 2013, 02:15 PM

587 posts

QUOTE(butthead @ Jan 10 2013, 02:10 PM)
on the other hand...after hearing that stupid battery design thing from you... polar could have put a little more thought into the design of the physical product itself...they could have taken a page out of the garmin design book...

or garmin should just merge with polar... call it pomin or garlar...so it'll have the well thought features of polar and design and gimmicks of garmin.. best of both worlds...
what to do... they always want to do things differently. don't want to use replaceable batteries. instead use a permanently sealed sensors, which can only last for 25% of the claimed figure.
butthead
post Jan 10 2013, 02:15 PM

593 posts

QUOTE(vin_ann @ Jan 10 2013, 02:08 PM)
moral of story: you buy Garmin instead of Polar! right?
wrong!!! i buy sigma any day over those two... no need worry about battery, CR20xx batts... no need worry about constant charging... gives me cadence, speed, alti, i have no use for navigational GPS, i have no use for a color screen and i don't train...

SIGMA!!!

put it in pelican case and vacuum wrap it when not in use and store it in a 0c environment... good for battery life..

after every use, wipe down with alcohol and dry it up before storing...

bubble wrap the unit whenever it is worn, put 10 layers of saran wrap between your hand and the backplate of the watch, watch out for errant sweats dripping onto the watch....

This post has been edited by butthead: Jan 10 2013, 02:18 PM
butthead
post Jan 10 2013, 02:16 PM

593 posts

QUOTE(miaopurr @ Jan 10 2013, 02:10 PM)
that's y when ppl ask about garmin vs polar, i tell them to go with garmin.
because of one bad experience???

so, if you see a stinkin pus-sy next time.. you are going to maintain celibacy for life? haha

jangan lar...

This post has been edited by butthead: Jan 10 2013, 02:18 PM
miaopurr
post Jan 10 2013, 02:19 PM

587 posts

Glad to know that im using World class top heart rate monitor....

err... other brands also are good. my friend's garmin had an initial heart rate spike, only once. after that, no prob at all.
butthead
post Jan 10 2013, 02:20 PM

593 posts

QUOTE(miaopurr @ Jan 10 2013, 02:15 PM)
what to do... they always want to do things differently
tell that to apple.. yet, a lot of people still want to bang their head into apple products...
butthead
post Jan 10 2013, 02:21 PM

593 posts

this sucks... double post...

This post has been edited by butthead: Jan 10 2013, 02:21 PM
miaopurr
post Jan 10 2013, 02:21 PM

587 posts

QUOTE(butthead @ Jan 10 2013, 02:16 PM)
because of one bad experience???

so, if you see a stinkin pus-sy next time.. you are going to maintain celibacy for life? haha

jangan lar...
i had some other bad experience with my polar unit. that's y. not just one bad experience. and when i browse polar forum, many share the same experience.
miaopurr
post Jan 10 2013, 02:22 PM

587 posts

QUOTE(butthead @ Jan 10 2013, 02:20 PM)
tell that to apple.. yet, a lot of people still want to bang their head into apple products...
i don't use apple products. so can't care less. not apple fanboy
miaopurr
post Jan 10 2013, 02:22 PM

587 posts

eh why no "added on.." function no longer working?
butthead
post Jan 10 2013, 02:35 PM

593 posts

QUOTE(miaopurr @ Jan 10 2013, 02:21 PM)
i had some other bad experience with my polar unit. that's y. not just one bad experience. and when i browse polar forum, many share the same experience.

QUOTE(miaopurr @ Jan 10 2013, 02:22 PM)
i don't use apple products. so can't care less. not apple fanboy
i hate rotten apples...

QUOTE(miaopurr @ Jan 10 2013, 02:22 PM)
eh why no "added on.." function no longer working?
you mean the post??? it used to be combine posts to keep new replies as a separate or it will be combined if you replied more than 1 post in succession... now, no more.. instead every reply is a post by itself..

i think some forumers complained because if it hits an error like too many images or too many emoticons on the post, the post it supposed to combine with will get replaced with instead...

must multi-quote more...

This post has been edited by butthead: Jan 10 2013, 02:38 PM
TSvin_ann
post Jan 10 2013, 02:50 PM

10,912 posts

dam apple!

im been trying to updates my apple from ios 4.2.1 to ios 6 since 2nd Jan 2013 and until today still fail to updates.

dont feel my next phone will be apple again...

takashi24
post Jan 10 2013, 02:56 PM

30 posts

How to make the bike stand without anything? Photoshop or really can balance themselves?

mrjgx
post Jan 10 2013, 03:12 PM

59 posts

Butthead, don't tempt me with the s5...it's fugly. Period. Lol.

Get the latest garmin unit, can do live tracking so your loved ones can see where you at during your ride, it's a real time updates in 30 secs of batch data.

I've had bad issues with sigma, the intermittent connection..trust me these computer gadgets is becoming more like a smart phone nowadays. Honestly I just need an odometer, speedometer, and HR.

But yes I need one of the Garmins, especially for logging and using it for my indoor workout on my trainer.

125 Pages « < 100 101 102 103 104 > » Top

0.0249sec    0.34    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 09:21 PM