THE DD-WRT V1, For Linksys WRT54G/GL/GS Fans -ONLY-

OKLY
post Nov 19 2006, 08:09 AM

The Penguin Vader
12,090 posts

QUOTE(CalvinCLK @ Nov 19 2006, 04:26 AM)
The shopper told me that the factory even can detect it after we reflash back to the original firmware, wondering how they detect it. If I flash it many times dunno they can detect it or not, tempting to overwrite the flash memory inside. I did it twice just now.. No problem.
I don't think they will be that free to check your firmware though. My WRT54G was struck by lightning before and I sent it back for RMA and they were willing to replace a new one for me after it was checked by the service centre.
andyjyneo
post Nov 19 2006, 04:50 PM

LineageOS 20.0
7,671 posts

so which WRT54G model should i get?
GL? or plain G? or GS?
mind to advise?
OKLY
post Nov 20 2006, 09:41 AM

The Penguin Vader
12,090 posts

QUOTE(andyjyneo @ Nov 19 2006, 04:50 PM)
GL? or plain G? or GS?
mind to advise?
In this case I would recommend the WRT54GL. If you go for WRT54G or GS now, most likely they are all the batch with reduced RAM memory thus you need to flash it to the micro version of DD-WRT.

blindbox
post Nov 20 2006, 10:01 PM

Meh
1,705 posts

QUOTE(andyjyneo @ Nov 19 2006, 04:50 PM)
GL? or plain G? or GS?
mind to advise?
Try WRTSL54GS bwahhahaha. Beware, it is 100 ringgit pricier than the rest, and I'm not sure it is available in malaysia.

Use GL version btw, unless you can get GS models that aren't version 5 and above.
DeLarafi
post Nov 20 2006, 11:10 PM

Ammar Tycoon
1,423 posts

why bother get GS while you can get GL???

i use GL... anyway..with DDWRT..the GS fuction is turn off..

THe GS is just Linksys BS to get more of thier product sell..

how??

to get the Booster capabalities.. need the NIC card or Wireless Adapter that have the GS function also..

Why DDWRT??? coz it boast the RM200 to be working like RM3000 router.

SO why bother the GS..

im a GS v4 user..n i wish i just buy a G or GL version... wasted RM80 for thos Extra S.
andyjyneo
post Nov 21 2006, 01:16 AM

LineageOS 20.0
7,671 posts

thanks for answering my Q
i'll get GL then
looking forward to join this party!
DaBaD
post Nov 21 2006, 07:06 PM

264 posts

Anyone got any tweaks or hacks or setting for the DD WRT to by pass the newly UPGRADED Screamyx Throttle?

I've seen this Azurues LINK tip. But wanna ask if you guys know any other links that can be used icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by DaBaD: Nov 21 2006, 07:09 PM
TSMX510
post Nov 22 2006, 07:45 PM

Love Me Sin Hate Me Sinner
4,038 posts

Going to hunt WRT54G or WRT54GS tommorow at Lowyat plaza if i am lucky i will fine those router hopefully WRT54L sold there tommorow smile.gif it's for family house hehehe just managed to registered RM 20 packages will switch username smile.gif hehehe

This post has been edited by MX510: Nov 22 2006, 07:47 PM
Pennywise
post Nov 23 2006, 09:59 AM

5,796 posts

Just curious... I am using WRT54GC v2 (the one with antenna). Will I be able to use this firmware as well?

This post has been edited by Pennywise: Nov 23 2006, 09:59 AM
OKLY
post Nov 23 2006, 11:01 AM

The Penguin Vader
12,090 posts

QUOTE(Pennywise @ Nov 23 2006, 09:59 AM)
Just curious... I am using WRT54GC v2 (the one with antenna). Will I be able to use this firmware as well?
Here are the list of routers tested and supported by the DD-WRT team :

sanosizo
post Nov 23 2006, 02:06 PM

4,553 posts

right now im sharing my internet with 6 other ppl (2 houses) & they all located a floor above me. my concern is that they only got a weak signal from my gsv4. i have 3 solutions in mind rite now...
1. buy a high gain antenna (7 or 8dbi) (>$150)
2. drag a cable up their houses then put a switch in there. (>$60 each)
3. buy another access point & put it in 1 of the houses or in my house (gsv4 - front, new ap - back) (>$150)

whats the best solution in term of cost & the quality of the signal. becos i need to make sure all my customer get good internet speed. rite now im thinking of getting another access point...

this can be configured using wds rite? but need 2 wrt54g, am i rite?

This post has been edited by sanosizo: Nov 23 2006, 02:59 PM
OKLY
post Nov 23 2006, 03:06 PM

The Penguin Vader
12,090 posts

QUOTE(sanosizo @ Nov 23 2006, 02:06 PM)
right now im sharing my internet with 6 other ppl (2 houses) & they all located a floor above me. my concern is that they only got a weak signal from my gsv4. i have 3 solutions in mind rite now...
3. buy another access point & put it in 1 of the houses or in my house (gsv4 - front, new ap - back) (>$150)

whats the best solution in term of cost & the quality of the signal. becos i need to make sure all my customer get good internet speed. rite now im thinking of getting another access point...

Well, in my house, I just use my old D-Link DI-624+ to act as a repeater meaning all wireless signals will go through there and then it goes to my Linksys WRT54GS to do the QoS.
sanosizo
post Nov 23 2006, 03:35 PM

4,553 posts

what about the linksys? can it also accept wifi connections from pcs n laptops? becos im planning to widen the wireless coverage so that i have 2 aps.
OKLY
post Nov 23 2006, 04:18 PM

The Penguin Vader
12,090 posts

QUOTE(sanosizo @ Nov 23 2006, 03:35 PM)
what about the linksys? can it also accept wifi connections from pcs n laptops? becos im planning to widen the wireless coverage so that i have 2 aps.
Sure there won't be any problems but the reason why I didn't enable wireless LAN on the WRT54GS was to reduce the load on it.

vivre
post Nov 23 2006, 06:53 PM

No need to look at these stars ....
826 posts

QUOTE(sanosizo @ Nov 23 2006, 02:06 PM)

Put your router at above floor... I have WRT54GL running, and the signal is excellent even at the ground floor and outside the house.. nice ~~ biggrin.gif

Anyway,

I just bought WRT54GL.. and planning to flash it to DD-WRT...

Went to their website and saw various version of DD-WRT, namely: micro, standard, vpn, etc

So the question is, which one should i use if i would like to flash it via the webpage, considering that it still has default firmware running now..

TQ ~ biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by vivre: Nov 23 2006, 06:56 PM
sanosizo
post Nov 23 2006, 07:54 PM

4,553 posts

now im thinking abt getting high gain antenna pulak hehehe... got 2 choices

1.linksys 7dbi high gain http://www.lelong.com.my/Auc/List/2006-11DStd4242010.htm

2.dunno wat brand 8dbi high gain
http://www.lelong.com.my/Auc/List/2006-11DSale4261470.htm

but if i use these kind of high gain antenna n put it indoor, does the radio signal will produce some kind of effect to ppl? lama2 nnt saya jd xmen pulak biggrin.gif

about the firmware version... i think the mini version is good enuff for normal user. u can check the firmware features on ddwrt wiki website. btw...vivre << tokey perfume?? tongue.gif
TSMX510
post Nov 23 2006, 08:21 PM

4,038 posts

I bought WRT54GL today for RM 250 at the Level 3 Linksys seller cannot bargain anymore no choice, i saw the antenna sold for RM 180 kinda expensive i think smile.gif at the moment increasing the mW power source in the antenna already boost the signal smile.gif no need to buy unless few of my neightbours wanted to subscribe my WiFi Networks smile.gif

WRT54GL

DD-WRT v23 and higher supports this router.

The stock firmware from Linksys on the WRT54GL v1 won't accept a firmware image over 3MB in size (you will get the error: "Upgrade are failed!"(sic) if you try) so you will need to flash the mini version of DD-WRT onto the router BEFORE flashing the std or voip versions. (Remember to hold reset button for 30 sec after flashing mini version.)

The WRT54GL Ver 1.1 stock firmware will accept a firmware image of at least 4MB in size; Flashed the memory with DD-WRT standard version (V23sp2). Did not see any success or fail message, however when completed got a blank page in IE. After rebooting Windows, was able to reach the new DD-WRT screen.

[Comment added 07/08/06 by Wayland] I found it best to start with factory settings before flashing WRT54GL for the first time.

[Comment added 23/09/06 by Ullapra]After flashing my WRT54GL to v23 SP2 I was unable to access the web administration page at first. It turned out that the httpd process was crashing every time I tried to access it. I found this workaround in the forums and it fixed the issue:

nvram set language=english
nvram commit
reboot

After the reboot my httpd was back and running. I suspect that the initial error was caused because I hadn't explicitly reset to factory defaults (I assumed that the just-out-of-the-box router would already be at default). The original thread is HTTP device admin not responding

Any idea which version should i use for the mini?

This post has been edited by MX510: Nov 23 2006, 08:35 PM
vivre
post Nov 23 2006, 09:06 PM

No need to look at these stars ....
826 posts

QUOTE(MX510 @ Nov 23 2006, 08:21 PM)
I bought WRT54GL today for RM 250 at the Level 3 Linksys seller cannot bargain anymore no choice, i saw the antenna sold for RM 180 kinda expensive i think smile.gif at the moment increasing the mW power source in the antenna already boost the signal smile.gif no need to buy unless few of my neightbours wanted to subscribe my WiFi Networks smile.gif

WRT54GL

DD-WRT v23 and higher supports this router.

The stock firmware from Linksys on the WRT54GL v1 won't accept a firmware image over 3MB in size (you will get the error: "Upgrade are failed!"(sic) if you try) so you will need to flash the mini version of DD-WRT onto the router BEFORE flashing the std or voip versions. (Remember to hold reset button for 30 sec after flashing mini version.)

The WRT54GL Ver 1.1 stock firmware will accept a firmware image of at least 4MB in size; Flashed the memory with DD-WRT standard version (V23sp2). Did not see any success or fail message, however when completed got a blank page in IE. After rebooting Windows, was able to reach the new DD-WRT screen.

[Comment added 07/08/06 by Wayland] I found it best to start with factory settings before flashing WRT54GL for the first time.

[Comment added 23/09/06 by Ullapra]After flashing my WRT54GL to v23 SP2 I was unable to access the web administration page at first. It turned out that the httpd process was crashing every time I tried to access it. I found this workaround in the forums and it fixed the issue:

nvram set language=english
nvram commit
reboot

After the reboot my httpd was back and running. I suspect that the initial error was caused because I hadn't explicitly reset to factory defaults (I assumed that the just-out-of-the-box router would already be at default). The original thread is HTTP device admin not responding

Any idea which version should i use for the mini?
Huhu.. i made a trip to lowyat.. C-Zone was selling it @ Rm 260.. damn.. and the only Linksys was out of stock... Later I got it from the bulk section, Mika was selling it @ Rm 225 !

=)

Whoaa.. is that complicated ? Afraid to upgrade ler plak.. haha

sweat.gif
TSMX510
post Nov 23 2006, 10:26 PM

4,038 posts

Ok i made it the router have 16 MB total Memory compare to my WRT54GS which have 32MB Total Memory just flash it just now first to mini then to standard version now testing heavy load on it
justin_nys
post Nov 23 2006, 11:09 PM

1,192 posts

QUOTE(sanosizo @ Nov 23 2006, 07:54 PM)
now im thinking abt getting high gain antenna pulak hehehe... got 2 choices

1.linksys 7dbi high gain http://www.lelong.com.my/Auc/List/2006-11DStd4242010.htm

2.dunno wat brand 8dbi high gain
http://www.lelong.com.my/Auc/List/2006-11DSale4261470.htm

but if i use these kind of high gain antenna n put it indoor, does the radio signal will produce some kind of effect to ppl? lama2 nnt saya jd xmen pulak biggrin.gif
about the firmware version... i think the mini version is good enuff for normal user. u can check the firmware features on ddwrt wiki website. btw...vivre << tokey perfume?? tongue.gif
anyway, can the antenna of Linksys wireless router can be unscrewed meh?
My WRT54GS antenna is fixed one. if really want to take out must open the whole thing up.

126 Pages « < 46 47 48 49 50 > » Top

0.0286sec    0.62    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 02:18 PM