126 Pages « < 98 99 100 101 102 > » Bottom

THE DD-WRT V1, For Linksys WRT54G/GL/GS Fans -ONLY-

azmihamzah
post Sep 17 2007, 02:22 PM

I love Nikon
962 posts

QUOTE(joanalooidog @ Sep 17 2007, 12:20 PM)
i found that so many ppl bought kerbau here, its only a wireless router rite?? What about the modem?? any modem will do?
Currently I'm using Aztech 600E, plan to go into wireless. Is this modem works well with the kerbau thing?? performance wise??
SHould i buy a kerbau (wireless router only) or get a wireless modem router??
your modem should work great with this kerbau, in fact any modem will perform the same when it is used in bridge-mode. Routing performance is solely on your router, not the modem.
IcEMoCHa
post Sep 17 2007, 07:49 PM

~本田~
1,988 posts

QUOTE(prasys @ Sep 16 2007, 06:45 PM)
I have to say that it supports WRT54G v7 and WRT54G v8 (even with the cool looking graph). So its worth it. Plus there are tons of new features such as connection uptime
Correction its not WRT54G v7 its WRT54GS v7...
prasys
post Sep 17 2007, 07:54 PM

Heros Never Die
12,925 posts

My bad , overlooked

WRT54G v7 uses a different chipset
Bernard Yeo
post Sep 18 2007, 09:52 AM

570 posts

Hi, I'm using a WRT54G v4 (I think) with DD-WRT in the office. Recently the staff discovered entire Chinese HongKong drama streaming episodes. Anyway to block streaming video from these sites?
prasys
post Sep 18 2007, 04:47 PM

Heros Never Die
12,925 posts

get the latest and you can block the whole site

There are few options , firstly you can QoS. Secondly you can edit the DNS to point out to the router. Thus you can have full control of which sites to block. You can even redirect the whole thing. For example , when he enters the website , it will be directed to localhost. It can be only bypassed by proxy. You can even block proxies with DD-WRT. So its quite secure
IcEMoCHa
post Sep 19 2007, 11:46 AM

~本田~
1,988 posts

Hope DD-WRT supports WRT54G v7 ... Atheros chipset... Argh
TSMX510
post Sep 21 2007, 11:20 PM

Love Me Sin Hate Me Sinner
4,038 posts

Just flashed to RC3 My router is WRT54GS Ver 1.1 32MB

First flash into mini then flashed into standard smile.gif
azmihamzah
post Sep 22 2007, 10:46 PM

I love Nikon
962 posts

It looks like m0n0wall/pfsense bandwitdh monitoring tools. Maybe it came from a same sourcecode.

azmihamzah
post Sep 25 2007, 01:28 AM

I love Nikon
962 posts

I bought 2 more WHR-G54S to take over my "aging" WRT54GL repeater. Modded one of the router with external wheather-proof case and upgrade the antenna with -8dBi omnidirectional antenna. Works great in past 4 days. Tonite i received a call from one customer stating he received my wifi signal and asked permission to use it (I actually charged them per month basis). Here the map showing distance between my AP and his apartment.. rclxms.gif

PS : Thanks to Google earth for giving such great service...

TSMX510
post Sep 25 2007, 05:29 AM

4,038 posts

QUOTE(azmihamzah @ Sep 25 2007, 01:28 AM)
I bought 2 more WHR-G54S to take over my "aging" WRT54GL repeater. Modded one of the router with external wheather-proof case and upgrade the antenna with -8dBi omnidirectional antenna. Works great in past 4 days. Tonite i received a call from one customer stating he received my wifi signal and asked permission to use it (I actually charged them per month basis). Here the map showing distance between my AP and his apartment..  rclxms.gif

Nice mod bro smile.gif, i also doing the same thing my neighbour wanna subscribe mine too. I hope i can extend my mod like yours. How much the external antenna? Any lightning surge to protect it?
ldragon
post Sep 25 2007, 06:17 PM

1,026 posts

azmihamzah, Great! 1KM !!! thats far!
azmihamzah
post Sep 26 2007, 02:31 AM

I love Nikon
962 posts

QUOTE(MX510 @ Sep 25 2007, 05:29 AM)
Nice mod bro smile.gif, i also doing the same thing my neighbour wanna subscribe mine too. I hope i can extend my mod like yours. How much the external antenna? Any lightning surge to protect it?
bought from another forumner for rm200. Come with surge protector, but i didn't install it... Finger cross huh?

QUOTE(ldragon @ Sep 25 2007, 06:17 PM)
azmihamzah, Great! 1KM !!! thats far!
Thanks bro, i'm planning for another project again this month...just got another -8.5dBi antenna and whr-hp-g54 lying around in my room...
TSMX510
post Sep 26 2007, 08:58 AM

4,038 posts

Stay tuned my outdoor project will be coming soon. Will order the item directly from China . Kena carik fund lah nak beli isk isk isk, dah ler takder bonus tahun nih siot jer gov.
t3rmig
post Sep 26 2007, 02:44 PM

46 posts

QUOTE(azmihamzah @ Sep 25 2007, 01:28 AM)
I bought 2 more WHR-G54S to take over my "aging" WRT54GL repeater. Modded one of the router with external wheather-proof case and upgrade the antenna with -8dBi omnidirectional antenna. Works great in past 4 days. Tonite i received a call from one customer stating he received my wifi signal and asked permission to use it (I actually charged them per month basis). Here the map showing distance between my AP and his apartment..  rclxms.gif

I don't believe it thats far. hmm.gif
Need to take a look in front of my eyes and I'll believe it then. nod.gif
Unless the guy you've said using the highly super power wifi adapter or mod type one which can pulled your signal to him. notworthy.gif

Added on September 26, 2007, 3:05 pm
QUOTE(MX510 @ Sep 26 2007, 08:58 AM)
Stay tuned my outdoor project will be coming soon. Will order the item directly from China . Kena carik fund lah nak beli isk isk isk, dah ler takder bonus tahun nih siot jer gov.
What kind of item did you ordered? Wanna tumpang sekaki, for indoor signal booster 500mW. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by t3rmig: Sep 26 2007, 03:05 PM
Forever94539
post Sep 26 2007, 03:36 PM

372 posts

Experts, how to flash to the dd-wrt v24 RC3 ar ? Need flash to mini first the only standard ? I'm currently using V23 SP2 standard.

Btw, I still dunno how to see the uplink and downlink from the dd-wrt, is there anyway ?
TSMX510
post Sep 26 2007, 03:46 PM

4,038 posts

[quote=Forever94539,Sep 26 2007, 03:36 PM]Experts, how to flash to the dd-wrt v24 RC3 ar ? Need flash to mini first the only standard ? I'm currently using V23 SP2 standard.

Btw, I still dunno how to see the uplink and downlink from the dd-wrt, is there anyway ?

[/quote]

Follow the standard procedure set ur router to factory default and flashed to mini then go to standard smile.gif . After u upgrade u can see in RC3 status smile.gif

What kind of item did you ordered? Wanna tumpang sekaki, for indoor signal booster 500mW. biggrin.gif

[/quote]

I dunno yet still survey for the price. Maybe bought it from other supplier

http://www.lelong.com.my/Auc/List/2007-09D...o_1_4km_big.htm

I found this from lelong site

This post has been edited by MX510: Sep 26 2007, 03:48 PM
red-queen
post Sep 26 2007, 06:26 PM

1,310 posts

QUOTE(t3rmig @ Sep 26 2007, 02:44 PM)
I don't believe it thats far.  hmm.gif
Need to take a look in front of my eyes and I'll believe it then. nod.gif
Unless the guy you've said using the highly super power wifi adapter or mod type one which can pulled your signal to him. notworthy.gif

it depends on the Antenna and how strong the signal is from the AP. not on the wifi adapter on the client. wifi adapter listens, it does not pull from the AP. as long as the Antenna is good and the AP is sending out strong signal. i don't see why the guy from 1KM away can't get his signal.

Added on September 26, 2007, 6:31 pmHi All,

how is the performance of the v24 RC-3? is it stable yet? anyone encounter any issue's so far?

This post has been edited by red-queen: Sep 26 2007, 06:35 PM
prasys
post Sep 26 2007, 06:36 PM

Heros Never Die
12,925 posts

Yeah it does.....You should go for it. Its somewhat unstable , and it need resets every now and then. But yeah go for it. There are lots of extras man , you can now monitor every single user , it tells you all the In and Out connection..Pure w00tness
t3rmig
post Sep 27 2007, 11:01 AM

46 posts

QUOTE(red-queen @ Sep 26 2007, 06:26 PM)
it depends on the Antenna and how strong the signal is from the AP. not on the wifi adapter on the client. wifi adapter listens, it does not pull from the AP. as long as the Antenna is good and the AP is sending out strong signal. i don't see why the guy from 1KM away can't get his signal.

Added on September 26, 2007, 6:31 pmHi All,

how is the performance of the v24 RC-3? is it stable yet? anyone encounter any issue's so far?
What do you expect, if a normal AP (TPO varies), connected to external 8.5 dbi OMNI directional antenna (NOT patch/directional) will performed? The fact is the signal strength decreased once the cable (depends on the length and type of cable) and connector were introduced.
It is almost impossible to reach 1km (without power booster and directional antenna) unless it is supported by the strength of wireless adapter - and also the correct position.
Note that, the adapter is not only listens (it is not a passive mode software/device like the netstumbler/kismet or wireless IPS-Airtight) but it is also performed transmit - duplex. Sorry for the term 'pulled' that I've said.
I would admit the performance if I see it in front of my own eyes brows.gif (Maybe Azmihamzah is the lucky guy)

One more thing, the signal strength after flashed to ddwrt is lower than before flashed. Have you all noticed about this?
Last week I flashed my wrt54gs with RC3, but the signal tested with netstumbler is not same as before, which is much lower after flashed. So sorry to say it without picture.
I've tried increase the transmit on ddwrt, but nothing much changed in term of signal strength.

ps : Sorry azmihamzah, me ckp saja buat tak. Maybe I will shoot that type of kerbau for a testing.
red-queen
post Sep 27 2007, 03:19 PM

1,310 posts

QUOTE(prasys @ Sep 26 2007, 06:36 PM)
Yeah it does.....You should go for it. Its somewhat unstable , and it need resets every now and then. But yeah go for it. There are lots of extras man , you can now monitor every single user , it tells you all the In and Out connection..Pure w00tness
need resets every now and then?? hmm....i think i'll just wait then smile.gif i want a stable release....will get it install once its stable then...hehehhe really looking forward to the new features.....got to admit...w00tness.

126 Pages « < 98 99 100 101 102 > » Top

0.0307sec    0.59    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 12:57 AM