THE DD-WRT V1, For Linksys WRT54G/GL/GS Fans -ONLY-

t3rmig
post Mar 22 2007, 07:13 PM

46 posts

My new WRT54GL weather-proof mod with dd-wrt v23 special...located at sec7 shah alam..

thanks to azmihamzah rclxms.gif

t3rmig
post Mar 27 2007, 10:20 AM

46 posts

Yeah,
Dear Unamed and Justin,
Different people got different set of tendency, thinking and aim. Cannot expect everybody got the same as yours. Read more pls, talk less.
DeLarafi,
We're using self made POE, 2 set utp. In one set utp got 2 pairs modem connection (rj45), 1pair for fan and 1pair for AP power. 1 more set is for two eth connection.

The great thing about ddwrt is, flexibility. I can simply tweak its certain feature to maximize its efficiency. That's why I used this ddwrt together with my external antenna. nod.gif

To cover every corner of your house? Of course should be no problem if the position of the antenna is correct and config of your router match with your requirement.

t3rmig
post Mar 28 2007, 01:57 PM

46 posts

QUOTE(davidlowjw @ Mar 27 2007, 10:59 PM)

to t3rmig: how far is the range of ur antenna?? I am interested in doing such project in my area... drool.gif
It can goes up to 1km LOS, but around 400 NLOS. Can get surf smoothly even got one bar signal. thumbup.gif
t3rmig
post Aug 8 2007, 11:30 PM

46 posts

QUOTE(azmihamzah @ Aug 8 2007, 09:42 PM)
use rflow collector to monitor traffic in/out from ur router. Then limit them with QoS.

pm me for a "better" firmware to do the QoS thingy...
This guy aaa always promoting his 'so called a better firmware', do you really got the fabulous thingy one? ok pass it up to me then hehehehe rclxms.gif
t3rmig
post Aug 31 2007, 09:01 AM

46 posts

QUOTE(davidsk2002 @ Aug 31 2007, 02:15 AM)
i just get the DD-WRT router (WRT54WL). i experience twice hang (that i can't access to router via LAN or WLAN and no internet connection). yes, i'm download P2P but only with one client. what is the possibe cause that make it hang?
Hi David
Have you set the IP filter setting?
@ administration/management/IP filter setting
Maximum Ports ----------> 4096
TCP Timeout (in seconds)--->90 or 120
UDP Timeout (in seconds)--->90 or 120

Added on August 31, 2007, 9:06 am
QUOTE(azmihamzah @ Aug 31 2007, 07:48 AM)
buffalo router.
Pro
-cheaper, during last pc fair the price was rm199, and low spec buffalo-54gs was rm150
-108mbps MIMO wifi (enchance wireless G) for whr-hp-54g
-sma type detachable antenna (-6dBi) *need to confirm
-small, using only 5v power adaptor
-extended warranty, 2 years manifacturer - 1 year 1-to-1 warranty (of course void when flashing to dd-wrt, but need to confirm 1st)
-extended wireless coverage
-build-in power booster for whr-hp-54g model

Contra
-single antenna
-hard to find, but lowyat plaza should have a lot of stock.
linksys router
Pro
-well established, well known and lot of shop selling
-dual antenna
-broad range of specs (from wrt54g to wrt54gsx, etc)
-one year manifacturer warranty (void when flashing to 3rd party firmware)
-well ventilated easy for modding.

Contra
-TNC-type detachable antenna (-2.5dBi)
-bulky size
-there are some model with flash rom limitation (2mb) - wrt54g/s v5>
* Both whr-hp-54g / whr-54gs and wrt54gl use broadcom based processor, 4mb flash rom and 8mb ram
Waaah, yo're really got a lot of time to describe all of these ah.
Spare you time to look for that 'Kerbau' for me ahh. whistling.gif

This post has been edited by t3rmig: Aug 31 2007, 09:06 AM
t3rmig
post Sep 3 2007, 03:42 PM

46 posts

QUOTE(davidsk2002 @ Sep 2 2007, 06:56 PM)
any other to prevent my router hang again?? i already try the setting and also mini package. but the result still the same. any trick else?
Dave,
How bout port forward and Service Priority at QOS setting. Have you did it?
If it was already done, maybe need to ask expertise here. I've never use ddwrt for p2p. shakehead.gif

t3rmig
post Sep 8 2007, 12:41 PM

46 posts

QUOTE(MX510 @ Sep 8 2007, 10:17 AM)
Have u done stress test on the router? Hehe Router Cap Kerbau mcm best jer smile.gif murah gilos RM 170 jer jimat dkt 80 utk WRT54GL smile.gif
Aahak...that's right, that kerbau cam best aje. But one thing to remember, promoting a lot for this Kerbau seems will raise the price high (one more thing, will make it easily in short of stock). Must have balance in term of demand between these products.
t3rmig
post Sep 13 2007, 01:21 PM

46 posts

I went to Lowyat yesterday. My intention was to grab one kerbau, whether the HP series (MIMO) or the basic one.
Since I'm there, I was also ask the price for wrt54gl. To my surprise, the price is only RM215!!!. It dropped from RM250 a few months ago to RM215. (I asked it at czone). I wonder why is the linksys AP's price drop like that? Is it because of low demand or high competition with other's brand, which lead to that trend?

Eventually, I grab one kerbau with HP series and would like to flash it with ddwrt later. The price I got was RM210. Hmm, so cheap huh.

The good thing with kerbau HP is it comes with the mounting kit. Beside of smaller than the bulky linksys, it is so cute.
It worth for your money, compared to others AP with MIMO feature.

So, wanna have a try with this kerbau? 

I'm going to look for the original firmware first. Maybe there is a WDS featured in this original firmware.

--------------
Yes it bundled with WDS which can act as repeater.

This post has been edited by t3rmig: Sep 13 2007, 02:12 PM

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image
t3rmig
post Sep 14 2007, 08:48 AM

46 posts

QUOTE(azmihamzah @ Sep 14 2007, 01:53 AM)
shakehead.gif tembak kerbau never ask me to go  shakehead.gif
I'd call you several time ma. U didn't pick up. Where have you been? So sorry notworthy.gif
Went there with khairul. He asked to come along. Adhoc punye decision. doh.gif
t3rmig
post Sep 15 2007, 12:57 PM

46 posts

QUOTE(MX510 @ Sep 14 2007, 09:36 PM)
How come ur kerbau mahal ? Mimo ker? not RM 150 ? . Pls post snapshot of original kerbau firmware wanna see the GUI
Yes the kerbau that i had bought is MIMO type (WHR-HP-G54). I think RM150 is for the normal one (WHR-G54S). That is PC fair price if not mistaken.

Below is the snapshot

Added on September 15, 2007, 1:06 pm
QUOTE(ben3003 @ Sep 14 2007, 09:41 PM)
then got what different le? g54 need rm210 while g54s only rm170.. both also can use generic ddwrt firmware.
The g54 with the price RM210 is the HP type one(WHR-HP-G54), with high power (transmit power maybe). But the g54s per stated is the normal one, without high power. I'm not going through flashing with ddwrt yet. Later maybe.
BTW, where can you get this kerbau at Miri?

This post has been edited by t3rmig: Sep 15 2007, 01:06 PM

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image
t3rmig
post Sep 26 2007, 02:44 PM

46 posts

QUOTE(azmihamzah @ Sep 25 2007, 01:28 AM)
I bought 2 more WHR-G54S to take over my "aging" WRT54GL repeater. Modded one of the router with external wheather-proof case and upgrade the antenna with -8dBi omnidirectional antenna. Works great in past 4 days. Tonite i received a call from one customer stating he received my wifi signal and asked permission to use it (I actually charged them per month basis). Here the map showing distance between my AP and his apartment..  rclxms.gif

PS : Thanks to Google earth for giving such great service...
I don't believe it thats far. hmm.gif
Need to take a look in front of my eyes and I'll believe it then. nod.gif
Unless the guy you've said using the highly super power wifi adapter or mod type one which can pulled your signal to him. notworthy.gif

Added on September 26, 2007, 3:05 pm
QUOTE(MX510 @ Sep 26 2007, 08:58 AM)
Stay tuned my outdoor project will be coming soon. Will order the item directly from China . Kena carik fund lah nak beli isk isk isk, dah ler takder bonus tahun nih siot jer gov.
What kind of item did you ordered? Wanna tumpang sekaki, for indoor signal booster 500mW. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by t3rmig: Sep 26 2007, 03:05 PM
t3rmig
post Sep 27 2007, 11:01 AM

46 posts

QUOTE(red-queen @ Sep 26 2007, 06:26 PM)
it depends on the Antenna and how strong the signal is from the AP. not on the wifi adapter on the client. wifi adapter listens, it does not pull from the AP. as long as the Antenna is good and the AP is sending out strong signal. i don't see why the guy from 1KM away can't get his signal.

Added on September 26, 2007, 6:31 pmHi All,

how is the performance of the v24 RC-3? is it stable yet? anyone encounter any issue's so far?
What do you expect, if a normal AP (TPO varies), connected to external 8.5 dbi OMNI directional antenna (NOT patch/directional) will performed? The fact is the signal strength decreased once the cable (depends on the length and type of cable) and connector were introduced.
It is almost impossible to reach 1km (without power booster and directional antenna) unless it is supported by the strength of wireless adapter - and also the correct position.
Note that, the adapter is not only listens (it is not a passive mode software/device like the netstumbler/kismet or wireless IPS-Airtight) but it is also performed transmit - duplex. Sorry for the term 'pulled' that I've said.
I would admit the performance if I see it in front of my own eyes brows.gif (Maybe Azmihamzah is the lucky guy)

One more thing, the signal strength after flashed to ddwrt is lower than before flashed. Have you all noticed about this?
Last week I flashed my wrt54gs with RC3, but the signal tested with netstumbler is not same as before, which is much lower after flashed. So sorry to say it without picture.
I've tried increase the transmit on ddwrt, but nothing much changed in term of signal strength.

ps : Sorry azmihamzah, me ckp saja buat tak. Maybe I will shoot that type of kerbau for a testing.

0.0221sec    0.39    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 08:15 PM