Google NEXUS 7 Official Thread @V3, Now with Android 4.2.1

andrekua2
post Nov 20 2012, 05:21 PM

13,477 posts

QUOTE(jpaq @ Nov 20 2012, 04:28 PM)
Have purchased a Nexus 7 32GB 3G through a relative in US. Bought online and delivered to New York. Has been delivered and now sitting there at my relative's place in New York. Happy and sad. Happy cos' managed to get one unit and safely delivered rclxms.gif Sad cos' my relative only coming back in another 3 weeks time!  cry.gif LOL

However, not very cheap because of the tax in New York State. It is a whopping USD27.78. Shipping charges to New York is another USD13.99 (according to UPS tracking, it delivered from Louisville, Kentucky, then to Newark New Jersey then to New York - 2 day shipping). All in cost me USD340.77, about RM1043 (at exchange rate of 3.06) or about RM1056 (if rate is 3.1). The state tax really kills. There are some states where there are no tax or cheaper rate of tax. Too bad mine was New York in this instance. But I can't complain too much, otherwise dunno wait until when only see the 3G model.

So if you are looking at the 32GB Wifi only model, faster grab from Newegg. Cheap. Too bad Newegg not offering the 3G model yet. But if you are aiming for that, faster grab from Newegg once they offer. (USD299 x 3.1) + RM49 = RM975.90 only. This is assuming no SIRIM charges. If kena SIRIM charges, add another RM100 = RM1075.90. Still ok. Not sure at all whether will kena Sirim or not, in any event.

But I seriously wonder how does Newegg make money...? And how come they can't offer the 3G model when it is readily available from Google Play?
I did ask them just now. Seem like 3G version will be a bit costly since need to pay SIRIM. But I think Uncle mentioned before RM100 is for 3 units, but who knows what will NewEgg charge.
TheWandererX
post Nov 20 2012, 05:51 PM

1,862 posts

QUOTE(jpaq @ Nov 20 2012, 04:39 PM)
Seriously, this is what I don't understand. And for some reason, even in the US, you can only get it from Google Play. No third party retail shops are selling (officially, at least). The only reason I can think of is maybe they may be planning a sort of exclusivity period for AT&T and T-Mobile to sell without contract as well later. So, at first, Google Play only. Then Google Play, AT&T and T-Mob only. Then everyone else.
If this is true, then all my hopes of getting one before Christmas will be dashed. cry.gif

Unless, that is, we choose to buy from somewhere else, or get a relative in the US/UK to help out. That wouldn't be good - bother people & costs more in terms of shipping and custom clearance.
zurggie
post Nov 20 2012, 05:52 PM

299 posts

QUOTE(Cynox @ Nov 20 2012, 03:40 PM)
very very very tempting....  drool.gif

RM771.90?  No need to pay for shipping?  Just now K5WHITE was saying RM816, now even lower?  rclxub.gif

Edit: Btw, does the N7 support OTG - connecting to USB drive via the microUSB connection like Note II and SIII?
Haha.. it does stated at the bottem of the receipt RM49 for shipping. I just want to focus at the item and the price.
G-17
post Nov 20 2012, 05:55 PM

Securely Paranoid
1,748 posts

QUOTE(Cynox @ Nov 20 2012, 03:27 PM)
haha... Tab 7.7 still awesome.  The poor speaker cannot be compensated by a good headphone?  Or the audio chip itself is bad?  
As long as your headphone jack is working properly, headphones will be fine for most stuff.

This post has been edited by G-17: Nov 20 2012, 05:56 PM
redlyfs
post Nov 20 2012, 06:20 PM

T-Roll
971 posts

Is anybody a fan of Ragnarok online? Check this out. omgomgomgomgomgogmogm
https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?...om.neocyon.rvgg
andrekua2
post Nov 20 2012, 06:50 PM

13,477 posts

Seriously hard to get used to the lack of physical home button. Are all Samsung phone users feeling the same? Really need time to get used to those tiny tiny icons which are usually in words like the clear in notification bar.
LemonCoke
post Nov 20 2012, 06:50 PM

324 posts

QUOTE(redlyfs @ Nov 20 2012, 06:20 PM)
Is anybody a fan of Ragnarok online? Check this out. omgomgomgomgomgogmogm
https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?...om.neocyon.rvgg
LOL....ghostring...duno can bot anot biggrin.gif

Added on November 20, 2012, 6:52 pm
QUOTE(andrekua2 @ Nov 20 2012, 06:50 PM)
Seriously hard to get used to the lack of physical home button. Are all Samsung phone users feeling the same? Really need time to get used to those tiny tiny icons which are usually in words like the clear in notification bar.
U can buy magnetic cover case.work like charm as ipad auto lock n unlock when u close cover or open it.

This post has been edited by LemonCoke: Nov 20 2012, 06:52 PM
n8210
post Nov 20 2012, 07:03 PM

2,678 posts

QUOTE(andrekua2 @ Nov 20 2012, 06:50 PM)
sad.gif I feel the same
nira_110
post Nov 20 2012, 07:08 PM

147 posts

Surprisingly, newegg just send email saying that they shipped my 32gb nexus 7. They gave me a tracking number but did not mentioned which delivery company they were using. So, anybody who got their item from newegg by delivery, what company that they used?
ho-ll
post Nov 20 2012, 07:09 PM

602 posts

QUOTE(nira_110 @ Nov 20 2012, 07:08 PM)
Surprisingly, newegg just send email saying that they shipped my 32gb nexus 7. They gave me a tracking number but did not mentioned which delivery company they were using. So, anybody who got their item from newegg by delivery, what company that they used?
Should be by Poslaju...
zurggie
post Nov 20 2012, 07:13 PM

299 posts

They using Airpak when delivering mine.
emy_xvidia
post Nov 20 2012, 07:14 PM

2,735 posts

Airpak, not Poslaju
nira_110
post Nov 20 2012, 07:24 PM

147 posts

QUOTE(emy_xvidia @ Nov 20 2012, 07:14 PM)
Airpak, not Poslaju
Thank you, yes it is airpak. I can track mine there
malik229
post Nov 20 2012, 07:33 PM

57 posts

if i buy in newegg, they will charge tax or not?
-Aktan-
post Nov 20 2012, 07:52 PM

2.6b dah masuk bro
873 posts

Hello People, any idea when the 3G model will be out?
andrekua2
post Nov 20 2012, 07:57 PM

13,477 posts

I never thought I would be saying this but it's tiring to hold it constantly with one palm.
chaukeng
post Nov 20 2012, 08:14 PM

2,345 posts

Undecided over Kindle fire HD, Nexus 7 or Ipad Mini and finally today decided to get the Nexus 7. biggrin.gif

Now contacting newegg but wondering why they didn't bring in 16GB unit anytime soon. To me this capacity should be more than enough. Been living with Kindle fire 8GB for 8 months now. Not even enough space to install Fifa 12.

Hope the speaker is not as bad as described by almost everyone. tongue.gif
IwanAGP
post Nov 20 2012, 08:29 PM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

QUOTE(andrekua2 @ Nov 20 2012, 07:57 PM)
I never thought I would be saying this but it's tiring to hold it constantly with one palm.
Erm... In fact... Holding Galaxy Nexus (4.65"), 137g (I think) is also tiring. Actually it's not the weight that matter but is the 'pose'. You can do that repetitively with ease (take up put down take up put down) but not keeping same 'pose' for long time. Time to train your finger muscle tongue.gif

@chaukeng
Kindle Fire 8.9 HD brows.gif
chaukeng
post Nov 20 2012, 08:41 PM

2,345 posts

QUOTE(IwanAGP @ Nov 20 2012, 08:29 PM)
Erm... In fact... Holding Galaxy Nexus (4.65"), 137g (I think) is also tiring. Actually it's not the weight that matter but is the 'pose'. You can do that repetitively with ease (take up put down take up put down) but not keeping same 'pose' for long time. Time to train your finger muscle tongue.gif

@chaukeng
Kindle Fire 8.9 HD brows.gif
The ideal one. That TI Omap 4470 chipset and THAT resolution. drool.gif

Too bad too expensive liao. If budget permit then i won't wait. laugh.gif
IwanAGP
post Nov 20 2012, 08:43 PM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

QUOTE(chaukeng @ Nov 20 2012, 08:41 PM)
The ideal one. That TI Omap 4470 chipset and THAT resolution. drool.gif

Too bad too expensive liao. If budget permit then i won't wait. laugh.gif
I'm also waiting for 16GB Nexus 7 to be $199 at Newegg. But before this it's available for few days. But I checked few times... It's 249 not 199 doh.gif Or did I miss something? Maybe it rebate $50 or something? hmm.gif

122 Pages « < 63 64 65 66 67 > » Top

0.0331sec    0.98    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 04:15 PM