Oil & Gas Career, place where grease monkeys gather

christine85
post May 30 2008, 07:35 PM

64 posts

QUOTE(pc123 @ May 29 2008, 09:53 PM)
Yeah..tats definitely the life i want icon_idea.gif ..easy,relax,considered less pressure compared to offshorres..as a plus point, higher pay than other deciplines n u juz work in an office.. nod.gif .. hmm.gif no doubt most companies offer up to at least RM4k(plus allowance) for beginners....as beginners shudn`t xpect so much right biggrin.gif ..neway, thz for clearing my doubts for office life..

If i want to go offshore for sum time(shud get sum xperience), then hop back to office life izzit easy to do tat? I heard offshore xperienced seniors wil definite obtain mor $$ bt its rather hard to switch..i hope 2 at least be able to experience da life at rig b4 going for office jobs..Wat r the procedures involved for doin tat? is jumping here n there easy? vry keen on knowing all these things altho i havent start univ life..sry if i ask unwise ques.. laugh.gif
haha.... wish u best of luck! laugh.gif
iDk
post May 31 2008, 12:13 AM

♂
1,124 posts

QUOTE(pc123 @ May 29 2008, 09:53 PM)
Yeah..tats definitely the life i want icon_idea.gif ..easy,relax,considered less pressure compared to offshorres..as a plus point, higher pay than other deciplines n u juz work in an office.. nod.gif .. hmm.gif no doubt most companies offer up to at least RM4k(plus allowance) for beginners....as beginners shudn`t xpect so much right biggrin.gif ..neway, thz for clearing my doubts for office life..

If i want to go offshore for sum time(shud get sum xperience), then hop back to office life izzit easy to do tat? I heard offshore xperienced seniors wil definite obtain mor $$ bt its rather hard to switch..i hope 2 at least be able to experience da life at rig b4 going for office jobs..Wat r the procedures involved for doin tat? is jumping here n there easy? vry keen on knowing all these things altho i havent start univ life..sry if i ask unwise ques.. laugh.gif
You dint even enter Uni yet?! And you want to talk about offshore work, want to jump here and there? I would prefer you think about your foundation year first, and finish off your 5 years of degree study, then only think about working world and money. No point to discuss about it, as you are not able to understand or to realize the toughness and determination needed that we are talking about here. It was like talking about you want to be a racing driver and win the first placing, but you dont even know what is car at the first place.

This post has been edited by iDk: May 31 2008, 12:20 AM
pc123
post May 31 2008, 10:06 AM

Validating
126 posts

QUOTE(iDk @ May 31 2008, 12:13 AM)
You dint even enter Uni yet?!  And you want to talk about offshore work, want to jump here and there? I would prefer you think about your foundation year first, and finish off your 5 years of degree study, then only think about working world and money. No point to discuss about it, as you are not able to understand or to realize the toughness and determination needed that we are talking about here. It was like talking about you want to be a racing driver and win the first placing, but you dont even know what is car at the first place.
hah i understand..don`t take me as the `4 year old kid saying dad i wanna marry her in the future`..lol biggrin.gif i understand..ahh juz curious only..but its alwayz better to have an aim than nothing..at least u noe wat yur fighting for..18 years old d..a nice age to start learning wats reli out there in the world of work..just my opinion..

1 question christine, is any job oportuniety for geophysics in spore? my god if u work there u`ll b earning SGD!! and its near msia where u can visit loved ones easily rather than offshore job..theres alot of OnG companies in spore right? how bout the job oportunities for geophysics there? laugh.gif

This post has been edited by pc123: May 31 2008, 10:52 AM
DeniseLau
post May 31 2008, 10:09 AM

324 posts

Hey guys, does anybody here know the minimum CGPA requirement for applying to Shell?

I recently applied for an Internship position in Shell as an Electronics Engineering student, but my application failed :-(. Didn't even make it to the interview...

Edit: My CGPA is below 3... 2.6 to be exact.

Edit 2:
What we look for

Technical graduates are assessed across all four criteria listed below. Only capacity, achievement, and relationship competencies are assessed for commercial graduates.

Capacity: You’ll need to bring the intellectual, analytical and creative ability to learn quickly, identify issues, make judgements and propose solutions

Achievement: We’ll expect plenty of enthusiasm, resilience and confidence – you’ll be someone who can always get things done

Relationship skills: You should have the character and ability to work effectively with others in a diverse team

Technical skills: Understanding and approaching technical issues coupled with an enthusiasm for technical challenge.

In addition, please note that some countries/regions may have additional local requirements.

No indication of minimum CGPA cry.gif

This post has been edited by DeniseLau: May 31 2008, 10:13 AM
moonstone13
post May 31 2008, 10:14 AM

509 posts

QUOTE(DeniseLau @ May 31 2008, 10:09 AM)
Hey guys, does anybody here know the minimum CGPA requirement for applying to Shell?

I recently applied for an Internship position in Shell, but my application failed :-(. Didn't even make it to the interview...

Edit: My CGPA is below 3... 2.6 to be exact.
I believe the minimum for Bumi's is a CGPA of 3.0 and non-Bumis 3.33.

Source: Offer letters I have read, one of which is mine.

DeniseLau
post May 31 2008, 10:23 AM

324 posts

Oh noe! That's really bad for me. I'm non-Bumi and it's going to be quite difficult to pull my CGPA up to 3.3 from 2.6.

Well then... I guess I'll have to try anyway.

Thanks for the information moonstone13. It really really helps.
moonstone13
post May 31 2008, 10:42 AM

509 posts

QUOTE(DeniseLau @ May 31 2008, 10:23 AM)
Oh noe! That's really bad for me. I'm non-Bumi and it's going to be quite difficult to pull my CGPA up to 3.3 from 2.6.

Well then... I guess I'll have to try anyway.

Thanks for the information moonstone13. It really really helps.
Just to add, my uni-friend who has a CGPA of 3.92 did not make it to SRD (Shell Recruitment Day). So at the end of the day, it's your performance during the interviews and your aptitude.

Quoting from the facilitator of my SRD " We just want to determine if you're a potential Shell-person or not"

I'm not sure how much truth there is to it but I personally reckon that grades/degrees/academic qualifications are just keys to unlock doors to interviews. Once you open that door, how you walk in the room and wow the crowd is entirely up to you. biggrin.gif

blue_autumn
post May 31 2008, 11:08 AM

QUOTE(pc123 @ May 31 2008, 10:06 AM)
hah i understand..don`t take me as the `4 year old kid saying dad i wanna marry her in the future`..lol biggrin.gif  i understand..ahh juz curious only..but its alwayz better to have an aim than nothing..at least u noe wat yur fighting for..18 years old d..a nice age to start learning wats reli out there in the world of work..just my opinion..

1 question christine, is any job oportuniety for geophysics in spore? my god if u work there u`ll b earning SGD!! and its near msia where u can visit loved ones easily rather than offshore job..theres alot of OnG companies in spore right? how bout the job oportunities for geophysics there? laugh.gif
Yes, there are some opportunities for geophysicist to work in Singapore but not much, I guess. To what I knew, CGGVeritas has an office there. Try this http://www.cggveritas.com/Contact.aspx?cid=266

Why do you think that working in Singapore is better than working in Malaysia? Just looking at that currency? Malaysia has more Oil and Gas Company compared to Singapore, and hence more opportunities to get yourself in Oil and Gas Company. How much you earn and spend in Singapore, and how much you earn and spend in Malaysia, I would say that there is not much in difference (correct me if that is wrong).

Before you step into University, please do more research on what you like to do in the future, just don't follow the majority. If you do not like the job that you are not interested in, no matter how much the company pay for you, you won't stay long in that field. Just my advice. But if you have decided to get into yourself in Oil and Gas Company, don't regret on what you have done. And, don't compare among the people, you will get nothing.

Added on May 31, 2008, 11:13 am
QUOTE(moonstone13 @ May 31 2008, 10:42 AM)
Just to add, my uni-friend who has a CGPA of 3.92 did not make it to SRD (Shell Recruitment Day). So at the end of the day, it's your performance during the interviews and your aptitude.

Quoting from the facilitator of my SRD " We just want to determine if you're a potential Shell-person or not"

I'm not sure how much truth there is to it but I personally reckon that grades/degrees/academic qualifications are just keys to unlock doors to interviews. Once you open that door, how you walk in the room and wow the crowd is entirely up to you.  biggrin.gif
Yeah, I do agree with you. Good academic performance is just a pass to let you step into the door. What is more important is how you present yourself, how you promote yourself, and your attitude.

Please do not ask for the benefits from the company, but ask yourself what can you contribute to the company. This is one of the advices given by an interviewer in one of the Oil and Gas Company.

This post has been edited by blue_autumn: May 31 2008, 11:13 AM
reign226
post May 31 2008, 02:14 PM

804 posts

I applied for internship with CGPA of 3.56 but was rejected without interview either! My friend got it tho....but he din pass interview. And now I can't apply again, sheesh! Have to wait 12 months and by then my internship is over liao
allenultra
post May 31 2008, 03:10 PM

9,027 posts

QUOTE(reign226 @ May 31 2008, 02:14 PM)
I applied for internship with CGPA of 3.56 but was rejected without interview either! My friend got it tho....but he din pass interview. And now I can't apply again, sheesh! Have to wait 12 months and by then my internship is over liao
CGPA isn't everything.

Eg for Shell, they taking people based on CART principle
Capacity, Achievement, Relationship skills, and Technical skills.
Do you have all the them?
If so, maybe there are people outside better than you are ?

There're a lot companies out there, keep trying.
reign226
post May 31 2008, 03:21 PM

804 posts

pc123
post May 31 2008, 05:57 PM

Validating
126 posts

QUOTE(blue_autumn @ May 31 2008, 11:08 AM)
Yes, there are some opportunities for geophysicist to work in Singapore but not much, I guess. To what I knew, CGGVeritas has an office there. Try this http://www.cggveritas.com/Contact.aspx?cid=266

Why do you think that working in Singapore is better than working in Malaysia? Just looking at that currency? Malaysia has more Oil and Gas Company compared to Singapore, and hence more opportunities to get yourself in Oil and Gas Company. How much you earn and spend in Singapore, and how much you earn and spend in Malaysia, I would say that there is not much in difference (correct me if that is wrong).

Before you step into University, please do more research on what you like to do in the future, just don't follow the majority. If you do not like the job that you are not interested in, no matter how much the company pay for you, you won't stay long in that field. Just my advice. But if you have decided to get into yourself in Oil and Gas Company, don't regret on what you have done. And, don't compare among the people, you will get nothing.

Hey man, i dun 4lo majorities..i 4lo wat i believe n like..i want to be involved in oil stuffs dealing with computers..geophysics is da most suitable choice..thz christine for introducing..lol..

many of my frens moved to spore n planing to stay there 4eva..u shud noe the reasons..i could hav followed if i wanted to..point is, working in OnG industries in msia or got sent to offshores(earning USD) is way better than working in spor..besides i dun even noe how spore`s oil operation goes n the job oportunities for geophy..

However, spor has very huge job oportunities..huge man, it`s huge..so, there`s sum pulling force upon me to go spor..besides, a geophy dun hav to b based on oil only..theres many mor things a geophy r capable of..nah, bt i like it mor in msia.. nod.gif correct me if i`m wrong..thz for the webpage..i think i better do things on my own nex tym.. sweat.gif

This post has been edited by pc123: May 31 2008, 06:02 PM
lingloong
post May 31 2008, 06:37 PM

# Noob In Trading #
1,256 posts

QUOTE(pc123 @ May 31 2008, 10:06 AM)
hah i understand..don`t take me as the `4 year old kid saying dad i wanna marry her in the future`..lol biggrin.gif  i understand..ahh juz curious only..but its alwayz better to have an aim than nothing..at least u noe wat yur fighting for..18 years old d..a nice age to start learning wats reli out there in the world of work..just my opinion..

im not sure about the companies in S'pore but i do heard that Exxon got an office there... Job opportunity for geophysicist is vast everywhere cause without clean data, its very hard to determine the location of oil. To get a good data, geophysicists are needed. hence, they are needed in many places.
SUSYuka Yuka
post Jun 1 2008, 12:41 AM

4 stars 4 virgins
599 posts

Hello all, I have read the 1st few pages of this thread and also the last page (this page). But I still don't see a question similar to something I would like to ask smile.gif

I am a 20 year old 1st year Marketing and Management student in Metropolitan College. I don't think my future business degree will get me a job in Oil and Gas industry I guess sweat.gif

I am really really interested in joining the OnG industry. Would like to work off-shore.Being away from family and working hard for the 1st 10 years is perfectly fine for me. FYI my dad is in the OnG industry too. The reason why I chose a business course over OnG was because I initially thought that the OnG industry will die out very soon but I later found out that I was wrong. It's far from over.

So my question is,

1) Currently, what are the most highly demanded job in the OnG industry? Off shore preferred smile.gif I heard that many companies are looking for ROV pilots, is that a good choice?

2) What kind of courses do I need to take to join the OnG industry? Where can I get them? As I have not finished any tertiary studies I only have my secondary school results to show. I didn't really do well in my SPM though. 2A's (Eng and Math), a stack of B's and C's for my Biology and Chemistry cry.gif Am I qualified for any OnG courses?

3) I believe a lot of you would have guessed by now. I am in for the money and traveling that working in OnG offers. Do YOU think it is advisable for me to quit my business degree half way to pursue some relevant OnG courses, or should I finish my degree 1st? Just in case?

I would really really appreciate all comment and suggestions. I am seriously considering what actions should I take now. I am not young anymore, I need help from you experienced guys! Help!
new~b0y
post Jun 1 2008, 01:58 AM

456 posts

If you're into ROVs, you can join Oceaneering in Malaysia. They are taking in trainees all the time. Try to look for a company called Solus Oceaneering. Write in and see if you are accepted to be a trainee with your SPM.

Or else you can join an ROV course and later become a trainee but with higher pay. You can check out this LINK. There are two other ROV companies that I know you can try your luck with, Sonsub and Fugro. They are based in Singapore.
SUSYuka Yuka
post Jun 1 2008, 10:35 AM

4 stars 4 virgins
599 posts

QUOTE(new~b0y @ Jun 1 2008, 01:58 AM)
If you're into ROVs, you can join Oceaneering in Malaysia. They are taking in trainees all the time. Try to look for a company called Solus Oceaneering. Write in and see if you are accepted to be a trainee with your SPM.

Or else you can join an ROV course and later become a trainee but with higher pay. You can check out this LINK. There are two other ROV companies that I know you can try your luck with, Sonsub and Fugro. They are based in Singapore.
Thank you!!! Appreciate your reply very very much. I will check them out right away thumbup.gif

But what about other than being a ROV pilot?

Added on June 1, 2008, 11:38 am
QUOTE(new~b0y @ Jun 1 2008, 01:58 AM)

new~b0y, the link you provided me brings me to a site offering courses from USA only wo... So I can just join an ROV course even though I know nothing about it? Well I play computer games... It says it helps a bit laugh.gif

This post has been edited by Yuka Yuka: Jun 1 2008, 11:38 AM
schvic
post Jun 1 2008, 11:47 AM

64 posts

is the any finance field in oil & gas career???

SUSYuka Yuka
post Jun 1 2008, 06:07 PM

4 stars 4 virgins
599 posts

Hmm everyone working ga? So quiet leh here....
pc123
post Jun 1 2008, 06:50 PM

Validating
126 posts

QUOTE(lingloong @ May 31 2008, 06:37 PM)
im not sure about the companies in S'pore but i do heard that Exxon got an office there... Job opportunity for geophysicist is vast everywhere cause without clean data, its very hard to determine the location of oil. To get a good data, geophysicists are needed. hence, they are needed in many places.
theres alot of GnO companies there..
-shell
-exxon mobile
-BP
-Baker hughes
-Slb got also
-alot more bt in total there are less OnG companies than in msia...

any1 fancy the idea of working in sg`s OnG companies?
If yur planing to work offshores then u dun hav to migrate to sg sinz u`ll b earning USD..
Office based..i think earning SGD is better than MYD..imagine earning RM4k here and earning SGD4k in spore..haha i good 4 nth but money drool.gif ..reasons-->after total expenditure(rental,food,parents,etc) sg ppl saves mor than MY ppl plus u get its currency benifits(travelling,shoping in msia)..anyway,share yur opinions plz..experts,any ideas?

This post has been edited by pc123: Jun 1 2008, 07:16 PM
kmed
post Jun 1 2008, 07:28 PM

108 posts

Does anyone here know the starting pay for SBM fresh grad. process engineer?

I'm currently working in another consultancy comp, and I want to change the working environment as the place I'm working now sucks.

Anyone any idea?

P.S. Does anyone have any idea who pays the most among all the consultancies? Technip? or...?

214 Pages « < 47 48 49 50 51 > » Top

0.0360sec    0.57    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 10:21 PM