Oil & Gas Career, place where grease monkeys gather

pinkdalmation
post Dec 21 2009, 12:24 AM

229 posts

QUOTE(kenhm @ Dec 20 2009, 12:25 AM)
who know the salary for fresh graduated for mechannical engineer, depend on university right? let say from USM...how much will they pay for ? exxon mobile??
i dont think it depends on university la, i think it depends more on which company hired you and the position they hired you for . .
wusuhong
post Dec 21 2009, 01:19 AM

181 posts

QUOTE(depster666 @ Dec 20 2009, 09:56 PM)
Gas turbine engineers, or as they are called, rotating equipment engineers are aplenty. Good rotating equipment engineers (specialist) are few and far between (in malaysia at least). You have to know all kind/brands like the back of your hand... RR,Solar,GE,Dresser rand, Siemens..  most of the manufacturers' field engineers in malaysia are basically expats..  But, if u know how much even local specialist are paid, i think you would retract your statement..
so actually how much they pay?for a gas turbine rotating engineer? drool.gif drool.gif
depster666
post Dec 21 2009, 02:03 AM

452 posts

QUOTE(kaiserwulf @ Dec 20 2009, 10:02 PM)
i tot LAME guys earn a big bunch too. Also a specialist job. No offence depster666, I got a friend working as a rotating eqpt engineer and I come from aerospace background.
Err.. specialist after what 5 yrs? 8 yrs? 10 yrs? 15 yrs? Nowadays, after 1 yr working also got ppl called themselves specialist.. no offence to u too, and none taken.

Added on December 21, 2009, 2:08 am
QUOTE(wusuhong @ Dec 21 2009, 01:19 AM)
so actually how much they pay?for a gas turbine rotating engineer? drool.gif  drool.gif
U can get 5 figure basic with min 6 yrs exp. Thats with big operators. OEM FSR basic a bit lower, but they have OT and other allowances that more than make it up for the lower basic.

This post has been edited by depster666: Dec 21 2009, 02:08 AM
wusuhong
post Dec 21 2009, 06:44 PM

181 posts

QUOTE(depster666 @ Dec 21 2009, 02:03 AM)
Err.. specialist after what 5 yrs? 8 yrs? 10 yrs? 15 yrs? Nowadays, after 1 yr working also got ppl called themselves specialist.. no offence to u too, and none taken.

Added on December 21, 2009, 2:08 am

U can get 5 figure basic with min 6 yrs exp. Thats with big operators. OEM FSR basic a bit lower, but they have OT and other allowances that more than make it up for the lower basic.
so what qualifications do i need to enter?
i am now studying diploma in aircraft maintenance so do i have to top up to a degree? thumbup.gif
sukitena
post Dec 22 2009, 07:23 AM

102 posts

QUOTE(ivanau88 @ Dec 10 2009, 02:58 PM)
hi guys, I am a mechanical student. I am going to do my intern coming may.I am interested in O n G field. I just applied to few company like Sime Darby, Technip. I have waited for few days. How long do I need to wait till they reply normally? I applied to them through email and online. Anybody here got lubang or company to recommend me? I am trying to apply for Exxonmobile and Shell. But they did not have any position related to internship in their website. Is there any other way to apply? Like sending mail to them?
what do you mean exxonmobil doesnt have position related to internship in website?

http://www.exxonmobil.com/Global-English/H...ia/student.html -- this is the link about exxonmobil's student position.

even if they dont advertise specific internship position, trust me, they hire interns (esp engineering student interns) all the time.

maybe you can send electronically via their website. if you want fast answer, call the HR.

Added on December 22, 2009, 7:26 am
QUOTE(thken @ Dec 17 2009, 04:09 PM)
quick question, can a electronic engineeri work in OnG sector? i mean offshore
i have plentry of friends who were electrical/electronic engineers who now work in OnG as reservoir engineers, or production engineers , etc.. and most of them (if not all) do occasionally go to offshore.

Added on December 22, 2009, 7:28 am
QUOTE(kenhm @ Dec 19 2009, 05:25 PM)
who know the salary for fresh graduated for mechannical engineer, depend on university right? let say from USM...how much will they pay for ? exxon mobile??
no of course it doesnt depend on the university. as stated by a previous forummer, it depends on the job that you get. exxon mobil, for fresh grad having an engineering degree, will get somewhere around 3.9k - 4.2k as starting salary.

This post has been edited by sukitena: Dec 22 2009, 07:28 AM
SUSkl87
post Dec 22 2009, 11:24 AM

390 posts

no of course it doesnt depend on the university. as stated by a previous forummer, it depends on the job that you get. exxon mobil, for fresh grad having an engineering degree, will get somewhere around 3.9k - 4.2k as starting salary.

[/quote]

i'm sure they oni take in 1st class holder whistling.gif .... damn, can't imagine salary of 4k as fresh grad.
Syegg
post Dec 22 2009, 05:24 PM

134 posts

Hi, anyone work in ExxonMobil? Please PM me the email address of HR department. I was called last week, but due to some incident, I had postpone the interview to noon, however, they didnt call me back. I found out that my cellphone was in crazy mode, sometime can call in, sometime not. Maybe they did call me, but couldnt get thru.

Anyway, i tried to call back. but no one pick up the calls. Any help to me? maybe i can email them and rearrange the phone interview.
pinkdalmation
post Dec 22 2009, 06:08 PM

229 posts

[quote=kl87,Dec 22 2009, 11:24 AM]

[/quote]
i'm sure they oni take in 1st class holder whistling.gif .... damn, can't imagine salary of 4k as fresh grad.

[/quote]

EMPI, SLB takes first class only i think ... or at least CGPA above 3.5 if youre looking for placement as engineer
For Shell you need to be patient ... as far as i can see they call for first stage interview based on your application, if you get through the phone interviews then they will call for SRD .. but its based on your "ranking" or performance compared to the other potential candidates .... if your results etc etc not that good they will offer to the top students first, then if get the offer is turned down only offer to the rest lor .. thats why some people wait over 6-8 months before getting called
sukitena
post Dec 22 2009, 09:40 PM

102 posts

[quote=kl87,Dec 22 2009, 04:24 AM]

[/quote]

[/quote]

well, it's 1st class and 2:1 ..
but it was partly true what pinkdalmation said... first class, of coz they want more la. one of my friends got into there, ppl said mainly bcoz of her first class. but they evaluate 2:1 class too..
other than that, i think i read somewhere in LYN, that below 2:1 , the applications will be thrown away (dis is not my sentence ok smile.gif )

This post has been edited by sukitena: Dec 22 2009, 09:43 PM
kenhm
post Dec 23 2009, 01:52 AM

94 posts

[quote=sukitena,Dec 22 2009, 10:40 PM]

[/quote]
well, it's 1st class and 2:1 ..
but it was partly true what pinkdalmation said... first class, of coz they want more la. one of my friends got into there, ppl said mainly bcoz of her first class. but they evaluate 2:1 class too..
other than that, i think i read somewhere in LYN, that below 2:1 , the applications will be thrown away (dis is not my sentence ok smile.gif )

[/quote]
is that really correct?? for example, 1 come from branded uni and another 1 come from local uni, that is definately diff for their difficulties to get a good result... seems diff uni got diff standard for their student's CGPA control... some local uni i saw them are really quite easy to score, even they not really performed well in their preview study before enter uni... for yr info now malaysia got around 30 uni...==, that are only IPTA, not yet include IPTS. Some uni just we not even know where is that... macam2 ada.. so is that really which uni is not in their consideration while choosing their candidates but CGPA is ?

pls correct me is any of me is wrong... the information is just "heard" from other ppl or got proper evidence?
sukitena
post Dec 23 2009, 02:49 AM

102 posts

[/quote]
is that really correct?? for example, 1 come from branded uni and another 1 come from local uni, that is definately diff for their difficulties to get a good result... seems diff uni got diff standard for their student's CGPA control... some local uni i saw them are really quite easy to score, even they not really performed well in their preview study before enter uni... for yr info now malaysia got around 30 uni...==, that are only IPTA, not yet include IPTS. Some uni just we not even know where is that... macam2 ada.. so is that really which uni is not in their consideration while choosing their candidates but CGPA is ?

pls correct me is any of me is wrong... the information is just "heard" from other ppl or got proper evidence?

[/quote]

what do u mean 'branded uni', another came from 'local uni'? u mean, overseas uni ? (overseas uni doesnt mean branded..there are a lot of crap overseas uni also. just correcting, not angry or anythg ok coz i study overseas uni also, good one la not crap one,so dont go bash me).

have u seen advertisements esp from MNC about looking for graduates from top class uni? (newest one is maxis graduate training offer, they specifically said "from top class uni" , ceh).

which was why, a lot of recruiters tend to choose graduates from good uni. from good uni, i mean, including local uni also la.. if engineers, maybe from uni petronas etc. of course a lot of emphasis is on where you graduate from.. if recruiters see you come from some relatively unknown uni, they will question la.. or "see one eye" only.. but doesnt mean that they dont have the chance to stand out as individual..

but this debate stemmed out when somebody was asking if the pay differs from which uni you come from. which is of course not true. it depends on the position they gave you of course. but to get to that position, most recruiters will tend to choose those from good performance uni la.
kenhm
post Dec 23 2009, 03:57 AM

94 posts

[quote=sukitena,Dec 23 2009, 03:49 AM]
[/quote]

[/quote]

what do u mean 'branded uni', another came from 'local uni'? u mean, overseas uni ? (overseas uni doesnt mean branded..there are a lot of crap overseas uni also. just correcting, not angry or anythg ok coz i study overseas uni also, good one la not crap one,so dont go bash me).

have u seen advertisements esp from MNC about looking for graduates from top class uni? (newest one is maxis graduate training offer, they specifically said "from top class uni" , ceh).

which was why, a lot of recruiters tend to choose graduates from good uni. from good uni, i mean, including local uni also la.. if engineers, maybe from uni petronas etc. of course a lot of emphasis is on where you graduate from.. if recruiters see you come from some relatively unknown uni, they will question la.. or "see one eye" only.. but doesnt mean that they dont have the chance to stand out as individual..

but this debate stemmed out when somebody was asking if the pay differs from which uni you come from. which is of course not true. it depends on the position they gave you of course. but to get to that position, most recruiters will tend to choose those from good performance uni la.

[/quote]
haha, thank you for yr constructive opinion... but i will think that is quite unfair for those school which really diff to score for good result. even among local uni also got a lot diff.. i heard from my friend said that when he ask his friend from local XX uni what is her result, she very sad and wan to cry, and she said she get 3.92, cannot get 4.00... shakehead.gif Wah.. i will say that u know how difficult to get more than CGPA 3.5 in our school?? even more than 3.75 also 1 or 2 ppls only for 1 course.. there is the gap.. i didnt mean that they are more easy to score, but i knew that their lecture really give a lot of tips for them, sometimes called exam questions doh.gif bulat2 come out from the questions from tutorial... doh.gif
pinkdalmation
post Dec 23 2009, 08:15 PM

229 posts

QUOTE(sukitena @ Dec 23 2009, 02:49 AM)

is that really correct??  for example, 1 come from branded uni and another 1 come from local uni, that is definately diff for their difficulties to get a good result... seems diff uni got diff standard for their student's CGPA control... some local uni i saw them are really quite easy to score, even they not really performed well in their preview study before enter uni... for yr info now malaysia got around 30 uni...==, that are only IPTA, not yet include IPTS. Some uni just we not even know where is that... macam2 ada.. so is that really which uni is not in their consideration while choosing their candidates but CGPA is ?

which was why, a lot of recruiters tend to choose graduates from good uni. from good uni, i mean, including local uni also la.. if engineers, maybe from uni petronas etc. of course a lot of emphasis is on where you graduate from.. if recruiters see you come from some relatively unknown uni, they will question la.. or "see one eye" only.. but doesnt mean that they  dont have the chance to stand out as individual..

but this debate stemmed out when somebody was asking  if the pay differs from which uni you come from. which is of course not true. it depends on the position they gave you of course. but to get to that position, most recruiters will tend to choose those from good performance uni la.
Ummm .. what do you mean by "branded uni" ? I came from IPTA ^.^ I did an exchange program in Australia and graduated first class (btw, dont la go bash IPTA students, STPM is not easy), but fact remains that I wasnt a UTP student or petroleum engineer and i graduated with a local degree but still managed to make the cut.
True enough, there are priority universities that major companies prefer to hire from, mainly because of the quality of the course content (thats why people want to go to UM, USM etc instead of KUSTEM or KUKUM or something like that) so if you arent from their list of universities these companies wont be showing up at your uni career fair

But if you really want it, theres nothing to stop you from applying .. your results and resume at most gain you an entry ticket into the first round of interviews. Everything that comes after depends not just on how good your results are but how you present yourself, how you carry yourself etc etc

Most recruiters tend to choose those from good performance uni cos your results need to be good in the first place to get in and stay in mah .. which just mainly shows that you have the brains and therefore potential to learn and contribute to the company
SUSkl87
post Dec 23 2009, 08:18 PM

390 posts

guys , running out of topic . maybe open a thread to discuss this "uni quality" issue.
saikomatic
post Dec 23 2009, 10:39 PM

66 posts

school days already gone with beautiful memories...for those who fresh and CGPA <2.5 i suggest go to marine field first like crude oil transportation line then after 2-3 years at least you have experience in ong then come back and apply for offshore rig job in big co..then they ill look at your resume..seems that our coastal only have 5-6 rig lo..its quite difficult to get thru if u r fresh..dip/deg is just a ticket..what counts more is ong experience..

kenhm
post Dec 23 2009, 10:42 PM

94 posts

QUOTE(pinkdalmation @ Dec 23 2009, 09:15 PM)
Ummm .. what do you mean by "branded uni" ? I came from IPTA ^.^ I did an exchange program in Australia and graduated first class (btw, dont la go bash IPTA students, STPM is not easy), but fact remains that I wasnt a UTP  student or petroleum engineer and i graduated with a local degree but still managed to make the cut.
True enough, there are priority universities that major companies prefer to hire from, mainly because of the quality of the course content (thats why people want to go to UM, USM etc instead of KUSTEM or KUKUM or something like that) so if you arent from their list of universities these companies wont be showing up at your uni career fair

But if you really want it, theres nothing to stop you from applying .. your results and resume at most gain you an entry ticket into the first round of interviews. Everything that comes after depends not just on how good your results are but how you present yourself, how you carry yourself etc etc

Most recruiters tend to choose those from good performance uni cos your results need to be good in the first place to get in and stay in mah .. which just mainly shows that you have the brains and therefore potential to learn and contribute to the company
haha, i also from local IPTA as well, i didnt bash IPTA student o ==
pinkdalmation
post Dec 23 2009, 11:58 PM

229 posts

try going for other uni career fairs if noone interesting comes to your uni ^.^
i didnt try it but i heard some people who did .. dont know if they were successful or not though ..

Added on December 24, 2009, 12:00 am
QUOTE(saikomatic @ Dec 23 2009, 10:39 PM)
school days already gone with beautiful memories...for those who fresh and CGPA <2.5 i suggest go to marine field first like crude oil transportation line then after 2-3 years at least you have experience in ong then come back and apply for offshore rig job in big co..then they ill look at your resume..seems that our coastal only have 5-6 rig lo..its quite difficult to get thru if u r fresh..dip/deg is just a ticket..what counts more is ong experience..
if you're interested in deep sea construction (i.e underwater welding) and not afraid of hard work i know that the course is offered in terengganu ..
sponsored by state government (unless you fail) i think ..

This post has been edited by pinkdalmation: Dec 24 2009, 12:00 AM
TSWildChai
post Dec 24 2009, 12:45 AM

Wut is this?
1,022 posts

Howdy,

Any grease monkis working in algeria now?
winston_light
post Dec 24 2009, 02:17 PM

114 posts

QUOTE(winston_light @ Dec 15 2009, 05:30 PM)
hi guys..

i've been working as chemist with this company about 1 years now...but i am chemical eng. background from local uni.
as a chemist i did produce a lot of chemicals which is supply to oil&gas company such as PPD,defoamer,demulsifier,LDHI etc.
what do you guys think by using my 1 year expirience, and apply for oil&gas company..
i just tired doing lab work and wanna face more challenge..
advice please..
thanx..
anyone??
wink.gif
pinkdalmation
post Dec 25 2009, 05:55 PM

229 posts

QUOTE(WildChai @ Dec 24 2009, 12:45 AM)
Howdy,

Any grease monkis working in algeria now?
i was there a month ago ^.^

Added on December 27, 2009, 7:58 amis anyone in vungtau now ?

This post has been edited by pinkdalmation: Dec 27 2009, 07:58 AM

214 Pages « < 170 171 172 173 174 > » Top

0.0226sec    0.51    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 08:04 PM