Oil & Gas Career, place where grease monkeys gather

sukitena
post Dec 22 2009, 07:23 AM

102 posts

QUOTE(ivanau88 @ Dec 10 2009, 02:58 PM)
hi guys, I am a mechanical student. I am going to do my intern coming may.I am interested in O n G field. I just applied to few company like Sime Darby, Technip. I have waited for few days. How long do I need to wait till they reply normally? I applied to them through email and online. Anybody here got lubang or company to recommend me? I am trying to apply for Exxonmobile and Shell. But they did not have any position related to internship in their website. Is there any other way to apply? Like sending mail to them?
what do you mean exxonmobil doesnt have position related to internship in website?

http://www.exxonmobil.com/Global-English/H...ia/student.html -- this is the link about exxonmobil's student position.

even if they dont advertise specific internship position, trust me, they hire interns (esp engineering student interns) all the time.

maybe you can send electronically via their website. if you want fast answer, call the HR.

Added on December 22, 2009, 7:26 am
QUOTE(thken @ Dec 17 2009, 04:09 PM)
quick question, can a electronic engineeri work in OnG sector? i mean offshore
i have plentry of friends who were electrical/electronic engineers who now work in OnG as reservoir engineers, or production engineers , etc.. and most of them (if not all) do occasionally go to offshore.

Added on December 22, 2009, 7:28 am
QUOTE(kenhm @ Dec 19 2009, 05:25 PM)
who know the salary for fresh graduated for mechannical engineer, depend on university right? let say from USM...how much will they pay for ? exxon mobile??
no of course it doesnt depend on the university. as stated by a previous forummer, it depends on the job that you get. exxon mobil, for fresh grad having an engineering degree, will get somewhere around 3.9k - 4.2k as starting salary.

This post has been edited by sukitena: Dec 22 2009, 07:28 AM
sukitena
post Dec 22 2009, 09:40 PM

102 posts

[quote=kl87,Dec 22 2009, 04:24 AM]

Added on December 22, 2009, 7:28 am

no of course it doesnt depend on the university. as stated by a previous forummer, it depends on the job that you get. exxon mobil, for fresh grad having an engineering degree, will get somewhere around 3.9k - 4.2k as starting salary.

[/quote]
i'm sure they oni take in 1st class holder whistling.gif .... damn, can't imagine salary of 4k as fresh grad.

[/quote]

well, it's 1st class and 2:1 ..
but it was partly true what pinkdalmation said... first class, of coz they want more la. one of my friends got into there, ppl said mainly bcoz of her first class. but they evaluate 2:1 class too..
other than that, i think i read somewhere in LYN, that below 2:1 , the applications will be thrown away (dis is not my sentence ok smile.gif )

This post has been edited by sukitena: Dec 22 2009, 09:43 PM
sukitena
post Dec 23 2009, 02:49 AM

102 posts

[/quote]
is that really correct?? for example, 1 come from branded uni and another 1 come from local uni, that is definately diff for their difficulties to get a good result... seems diff uni got diff standard for their student's CGPA control... some local uni i saw them are really quite easy to score, even they not really performed well in their preview study before enter uni... for yr info now malaysia got around 30 uni...==, that are only IPTA, not yet include IPTS. Some uni just we not even know where is that... macam2 ada.. so is that really which uni is not in their consideration while choosing their candidates but CGPA is ?

pls correct me is any of me is wrong... the information is just "heard" from other ppl or got proper evidence?

[/quote]

what do u mean 'branded uni', another came from 'local uni'? u mean, overseas uni ? (overseas uni doesnt mean branded..there are a lot of crap overseas uni also. just correcting, not angry or anythg ok coz i study overseas uni also, good one la not crap one,so dont go bash me).

have u seen advertisements esp from MNC about looking for graduates from top class uni? (newest one is maxis graduate training offer, they specifically said "from top class uni" , ceh).

which was why, a lot of recruiters tend to choose graduates from good uni. from good uni, i mean, including local uni also la.. if engineers, maybe from uni petronas etc. of course a lot of emphasis is on where you graduate from.. if recruiters see you come from some relatively unknown uni, they will question la.. or "see one eye" only.. but doesnt mean that they dont have the chance to stand out as individual..

but this debate stemmed out when somebody was asking if the pay differs from which uni you come from. which is of course not true. it depends on the position they gave you of course. but to get to that position, most recruiters will tend to choose those from good performance uni la.
sukitena
post Dec 29 2009, 03:11 AM

102 posts

QUOTE(lumia @ Dec 28 2009, 12:23 PM)
guys...

can someone from finance edu background appy for any position in oil and gas apart of finance post itself?does i need to take some course or any certificate so i can apply or just go ahead with my finance degree? bcoz i thinks it sound funny,ridiculous  when finance grad go apply for safety officer for example..

maybe u can name the edu institution like tati..but i heard they only pick people born in trganu..damned if its true.
imho, will be very unlikely. maybe others think differently..
sukitena
post Dec 31 2009, 07:08 AM

102 posts

QUOTE(kenhm @ Dec 30 2009, 03:46 AM)
3.9 to 4.2k? so much? some ppl tell me when in interview we should dare to give yr expected salary, if yr request is high, they will cut some of it...izzit correct? no need to shy 1?
for engineering student, working as engineer in epmi.. yes.
but dont know about the telling ur expected salary part, i dont think it was part of their interview q to me lol.

Added on December 31, 2009, 7:09 am
QUOTE(pinkdalmation @ Dec 30 2009, 06:41 PM)
hey .. im supposed to be heading out to Busan next month .. anyone here worked offshore in Korea before ? Any advice ?

i heard its damn cold now ~~
you travel a lot? must be interesting!

This post has been edited by sukitena: Dec 31 2009, 07:09 AM
sukitena
post Jan 5 2010, 01:51 AM

102 posts

hi everyone.. regards from me..
just a week back, i hv received an offer letter from exxon for its engineering position (fresh graduate). in its term, it has stated that i am eligible for benefits, but have not stated what the benefits are. and i feel that it is right for me to know what the benefits i shall be getting if i were to join the organization.

in terms of medical? loans? holiday (if applicable)? etc, for fresh grad hire.

i hope some of the lyn-ers are able to give some info smile.gif
sukitena
post Jan 5 2010, 07:40 PM

102 posts

QUOTE(saikomatic @ Jan 5 2010, 11:23 AM)
congrates, how much they offer you as graduate eng?mind to ask you when u apply for that post if u remember?
it was part of post-internship evaluation, so there wasnt official job application, except for internship application which was done 3 months before i commenced my internship. therefore, i'm not sure how long it takes for them to reply after u apply.
sukitena
post Jul 6 2010, 05:46 AM

102 posts

QUOTE(cnchoo @ Jul 5 2010, 03:34 PM)
guys, juz wan to ask, how u guys get first get into OnG? because whenever i saw a job posting, always they require those with related experience.
some OnG HR always advertise and wanting fresh grads as their employers.. easier to mould i think..

i'm not so sure of how ppl first get into OnG but sure a lot of them enter bcoz of cable ... shocking.gif

0.0585sec    0.83    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 11:09 PM