214 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Bottom

Oil & Gas Career, place where grease monkeys gather

am_eniey
post Feb 8 2007, 03:32 PM

✿✿✿✿✿
3,314 posts

no matter what, i really do not recommend anybody to join MUDLOGGING, just let this sector dies as well as the bullshit management no matter what mudlogging company it is

Added on February 8, 2007, 3:34 pmp/s: i never accuse my sample catchers as lazy as they have been doing all the dirty/tiring work.....throughout my career as a mudlogger, i've never seen any lazy sample catcher.....if they are tired, i'm willing to help them.

Added on February 18, 2007, 1:35 pmnobody seems to have interest in this sector lately

This post has been edited by am_eniey: Feb 18 2007, 01:35 PM
hiiragizawa
post Jul 3 2007, 12:44 AM

364 posts

Thank you all for your informative input on the oil and gas industry.

I'm an electronics engineering undergraduate majoring in telecommunication and I am wondering what my options are in the oil and gas industry.

I have heard that you can have a complete career change but I need to know whether this is true.

Also, what are the chances of oil and gas companies actually accepting these kind of career change for a fresh graduate?

Thank you.
Ddaniell
post Jul 3 2007, 10:16 PM

154 posts

i got an offer from O&G company based in KL...name Aker Kvaerner..
position = structural engineer and definitely work in office only
salary = 2.0 k - 2.2 k (freshie)

just want to know,how much pay can i get if i just work in office doing design over the years...and how far my career can grow?

can i get rm 5.0 k at my age 28? and izzit boring work in office?

currently i am working in construction company related to civil with salary 1.8k...so, should i accept or reject the offer??

can give me the benefit if i work in this company as structural engineer. the future benefit?

plz help me...ASAP!

This post has been edited by Ddaniell: Jul 3 2007, 10:19 PM
shado
post Jul 3 2007, 11:10 PM

277 posts

I was paid RM2.3k as test engineer when 21 years old..work in office..huh... shakehead.gif
Really bored...Everyday sit in front computer compile data, do analysis and worst, is to join meeting... yawn.gif
Now applying for a job from "Caledonian Offshore". They just sent me a form and asking me to reply with a resume..
freshyyf
post Jul 4 2007, 09:40 AM

121 posts

Hi all, I am just wondering if I am too old to be freshie in Oil and Gas industry? I am around 30 year-old, chemical engineering degree, some experiences in manufacturing industry but not Oil and Gas. How much should I quote for the salary in this case?
jcvstlys
post Jul 4 2007, 10:10 AM

1,655 posts

Hi. Can i know whether a degree in actuarial science can work in offshore too?
SUSkockroach
post Jul 4 2007, 01:53 PM

Certified Noob
3,256 posts

QUOTE(shado @ Jul 3 2007, 11:10 PM)
I was paid RM2.3k as test engineer when 21 years old..work in office..huh...  shakehead.gif
Really bored...Everyday sit in front computer compile data, do analysis and worst, is to join meeting... yawn.gif
Now applying for a job from "Caledonian Offshore". They just sent me a form and asking me to reply with a resume..
Beware dude, it seems that this company a scam after I done a few google search.
forrest
post Jul 4 2007, 09:04 PM

1,045 posts

Oil & gas company do take people from different discipline and retrain them to become a specialist in one field, "big" company always do these, but normally they prefer fresh grad.
ICDeadPeople
post Jul 5 2007, 01:08 PM

783 posts

Fresh grad, if im not mistaken the minimum requirement now is master, wether engineering or geoscience. At least thats what my current company is doing.
For you guys that still doing spm or matriculation, think carefully when you want to choose your majoring. There is a big shortage in Oil and Gas, especially in geoscience (geologist, geophysicist). Many people opt for engineering because they think its the most highly paid job around. Believe me man, that is not always the case. My friends earn like 12-13k a month, and they are geology graduate, mid 20s. I myself is a geologist, not as high as them though but enuff to feed me and my family.
hiiragizawa
post Jul 5 2007, 01:16 PM

364 posts

QUOTE(forrest @ Jul 4 2007, 09:04 PM)
Oil & gas company do take people from different discipline and retrain them to become a specialist in one field, "big" company always do these, but normally they prefer fresh grad.
QUOTE(ICDeadPeople @ Jul 5 2007, 01:08 PM)
Fresh grad, if im not mistaken the minimum requirement now is master, wether engineering or geoscience. At least thats what my current company is doing.
For you guys that still doing spm or matriculation, think carefully when you want to choose your majoring. There is a big shortage in Oil and Gas, especially in geoscience (geologist, geophysicist). Many people opt for engineering because they think its the most highly paid job around. Believe me man, that is not always the case. My friends earn like 12-13k a month, and they are geology graduate, mid 20s. I myself is a geologist, not as high as them though but enuff to feed me and my family.
Thank you for your replies.

If masters is indeed the minimum requirement, I don't think I have a chance at all.

ICDeadPeople
post Jul 5 2007, 01:23 PM

783 posts

That apply to Oil and Gas Co only. For other service company (schlum, halli, weather, baker, ILO etc), I dont think so.
forrest
post Jul 5 2007, 05:36 PM

1,045 posts

if your friend can earn 12-13K in mid 20s... i think they are working offshore, right?

Currently the average age (workers) in oil & gas related company is about 52 yrs old, in 5-10yrs, there will be a lot (about 50% of them) of skilled manpowers (upstream) will be retired, grab this chance wink.gif

Master is a minimum requirement? Maybe oversea... but not in Malaysia.

Btw, im working as a geoscientist (geology+geophysics)

This post has been edited by forrest: Jul 5 2007, 05:38 PM
kronikloops
post Jul 5 2007, 10:00 PM

me so horny~
534 posts

QUOTE(hiiragizawa @ Jul 3 2007, 12:44 AM)
Thank you all for your informative input on the oil and gas industry.

I'm an electronics engineering undergraduate majoring in telecommunication and I am wondering what my options are in the oil and gas industry.

I have heard that you can have a complete career change but I need to know whether this is true.

Also, what are the chances of oil and gas companies actually accepting these kind of career change for a fresh graduate?

Thank you.
dont worry bout dat.telco oso play a big role in oil n gas for their data comm,dcs, etc.u can try any company dat provide these services for oil n gas comp such as slb,dancom,rites,scopetel n of course telekom for their microwave n vsat link.gud luck then smile.gif
ICDeadPeople
post Jul 6 2007, 02:32 PM

783 posts

QUOTE(forrest @ Jul 5 2007, 05:36 PM)
if your friend can earn 12-13K in mid 20s... i think they are working offshore, right?

Currently the average age (workers) in oil & gas related company is about 52 yrs old, in 5-10yrs, there will be a lot (about 50% of them) of skilled manpowers (upstream) will be retired, grab this chance  wink.gif

Btw, im working as a geoscientist (geology+geophysics)
No man, my friends one of them with services company, and the other one is oil company. Both of them doing office work. The reason their salary is high is because they jump company.
Yes, most company (esp oil company) required master for fresh grad. I myself is not a master graduate, luckily it was not required during that time. I think petronas they dont require master for freshies.
yetieater
post Jul 6 2007, 02:39 PM

pur.skill
1,546 posts

QUOTE(forrest @ Jul 5 2007, 05:36 PM)
Not necessarily. This is up to the job market at the time. I'm going to be going into college in the States with a Petroleum Engineering major. Placement office at the school I'm going to was able to place 100% of graduates last year with an average starting salary of $70K USD.
speedfamgirl
post Jul 7 2007, 03:50 PM

Not afraid of #138
1,900 posts

QUOTE(hiiragizawa @ Jul 5 2007, 01:16 PM)
Thank you for your replies.

If masters is indeed the minimum requirement, I don't think I have a chance at all.
Hi all...finally stumbled upon this topic.

Nope, there are always hope although you are not a master degree holder.

Positions like Operation Technicians requires only Diploma level. (provided if you are interested)
Based mostly offshore, the gross pay can be up to 5K per month including aloowances & overtime.
I have been working in this industry for 2 years now as a Control Room Operator / Process Tech. Basically a somewhat hectic job & long hours of monitoring the plant/platform. Chances to get big overtime is high, but patience is also needed because of continuous pressure. Not only the boss have the work pressure but the kuli also!

About safety, offshore location is certified the most safest place on earth. excluding the helicopter ride to your rig/platform...hehehe.

BTW every year our company SSB/SSPC recruits new OTs to replace the ageing offshore population. be quick & check out the major newspaper for the 7th intake!
de_sengal
post Jul 7 2007, 04:07 PM

91 posts

so speedfamgirl, do ur company take student to do their internship?

Interested here...... rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by de_sengal: Jul 7 2007, 04:09 PM
matsuolee
post Jul 7 2007, 10:22 PM

41 posts

Sembawang Corp(jurong shipyard LTE PTE) looking freshie young talents from malaysia on thier offshore jobs.Those who interested work in oil and gas field can try it out...prefer Mechanical and EE fresh graduates(offshore engineers) and diploma holder(assistant engineers).. thumbup.gif thumbup.gif thumbup.gif
error101
post Jul 8 2007, 12:09 AM

QUOTE(speedfamgirl @ Jul 7 2007, 03:50 PM)
be quick & check out the major newspaper for the 7th intake!
wat major newpaper do u mean? Borneo post?
enkadirmainbola
post Jul 8 2007, 01:48 AM

155 posts

I'd say in a couple of years, seismic exploration will be raking in the money. Since proven reserves are running out.. O&G companies are spending big bucks to try and find new commercially viable prospects. Many seismic explorations companies are expanding their operations and hiring a lot of people. Heck my company is adding 2 new seismic vessels to the current fleet just to keep up with demands.

This post has been edited by enkadirmainbola: Jul 8 2007, 01:49 AM

214 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Top

0.0190sec    0.41    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 09:00 PM