Oil & Gas Career, place where grease monkeys gather

enkadirmainbola
post Jul 8 2007, 01:48 AM

155 posts

I'd say in a couple of years, seismic exploration will be raking in the money. Since proven reserves are running out.. O&G companies are spending big bucks to try and find new commercially viable prospects. Many seismic explorations companies are expanding their operations and hiring a lot of people. Heck my company is adding 2 new seismic vessels to the current fleet just to keep up with demands.

This post has been edited by enkadirmainbola: Jul 8 2007, 01:49 AM
enkadirmainbola
post Jul 8 2007, 11:17 PM

155 posts

I was actually offered a position as Seismic acquisition engineer by my company. I guess I was kinda 'lucky' that I ended up in seismic. But Forrest is right.. seismic is not just for geologist/geophysicst.. they mainly do the processing and interpretation of seismic data. Engineers are the ones who actually go out and collect the raw information. So yeah, my job is to set up the equipment, deploy them, monitor the equipment during the acquisition process, maintain and do repairs on the equipment and also troubleshooting the recording instrument. I also do initial QC on the recorded data. Usually they hire engineers with a mechanical or electrical background because the equipment is essentially a long microphone that picks up the reflected sound waves from the surface of the seabed.
enkadirmainbola
post Jul 9 2007, 02:22 AM

155 posts

QUOTE(pavithran @ Jul 9 2007, 01:40 AM)

Btw, question to enkadir:
How did you come across your current company? Were you head hunted by your company or did you apply for it?

I came across my current company while I was interviewing for Schlumberger. Since Western Geco is a subsidiary of Schlumberger, one of the operations manager approached me and asked if I'd be interested to get involved in seismic. The rest as they say..is history.
enkadirmainbola
post Jul 28 2007, 08:45 AM

155 posts

QUOTE(pavithran @ Jul 26 2007, 12:16 AM)
Yeah, same here.

According to the speaker at the Shell career talk, Electronics Engineering students always get places in their IT side and the chances for them to get a permanent career offshore is like, once in a blue moon.

She (the speaker at the career talk) told me to mention my interest in an offshore job during the Shell Recruitment Day, but she added that the chances were again, slim.

So I was wondering if any of you guys and girls here know anybody who graduated as an Electronics Engineer and is working offshore now. It doesn't matter if they are not working for Shell, as long as they are on a permanent offshore career.

Appreciate your input. Thanks.
Get into Seismic, a couple of acquistion engineers in my crew have electrica/electronic degree. Basically what we do is record reflected waves bouncing of the earth's layers that orignates from a high energy source and record the data using highly sensitve hydrophones. The hydrophones are located in streamers that are towed behind the seismic vessel and can be as long as 12km. Obviously this is just the tip of the iceberg of what seismic engineers do but it does help tremendously if you have an electrical background. You'll have to be familiar with terms like sampling rates, nyquist frequencies, anti-aliasing filters, scsi, IEEE 32... just to give an example. However you will be working mostly on a Seismic vessel and not on an oil rig.. but I guess that still counts as being offshore. The pay is good and you typically only spend 5 weeks offshore. It does allow for extensive international travel as the vessel will always be moving around to it's next survey job.
enkadirmainbola
post Nov 29 2007, 10:16 PM

155 posts

Ya la.. salary shiok.. but the working hours also 'shiok' ma.. yesterday I was outside for 12 hours working and it was raining for 3 hours during my shift. Owh and it was <5 degrees Celsius outside.

And it's supposed to be summer down here in NZ!!!
enkadirmainbola
post Dec 4 2007, 08:26 AM

155 posts

Heads up to anyone who's interested in getting into seismic (a segment within Oil & Gas), my company (Western Geco) will be expanding our fleet with an additional 6 new seismic vessels. They're looking to hire ~800 new employees to man these new ships over the next three years. So start sending in those resumes guys!

This post has been edited by enkadirmainbola: Dec 4 2007, 08:27 AM
enkadirmainbola
post Dec 5 2007, 12:57 AM

155 posts

As far as I know you'll have to apply through Schlumberger... best way is to apply online or go to career fairs and visit SLB's booth. It's easier to specify that you'd like to get into Western Geco if you tell them directly.
enkadirmainbola
post Dec 8 2007, 08:32 AM

155 posts

QUOTE(boxsystem @ Dec 7 2007, 01:56 AM)
I've sent my application like 2 years ago and still I am not contacted. Guess that my qualifications aren't good enough. I have a bachelor degree in electronics.
Try again larr.. you are allowed to apply again after 2 years if you were unsuccessful the first time around.

Right now the seismic market is booming.. so there's a lot of scrambling between diff seismic companies to hire crews to man their new vessels.

And that thing about needing an 'inside' man to get a job in SLB.. completely untrue. I've never even heard of Schlumberger before I graduated from university.

enkadirmainbola
post Dec 17 2007, 12:01 AM

155 posts

QUOTE(speedfamgirl @ Dec 11 2007, 09:54 PM)
wah of course la syiokk the huet & sea survival thing...but i hate the EBS Rebreather!

I probably swallowed more chlorined water compared to my entire lifetime during my HUET.. it was great fun tho!!
enkadirmainbola
post Jan 1 2008, 04:16 PM

155 posts

QUOTE(Ezra @ Dec 28 2007, 02:32 PM)
Weird. What kind of services company were you browsing through? If you're talking about geoservices and seismic surveying, then of course la they won't use Mech. Engineering grads.

Not entirely true about seismic companies not recruiting mech engineer grads. I am one and currently working with Western Geco (one of the major players in seismic industry). In fact most of the ppl in our seismic crew come from mech and electrical eng backgrounds. The geology/geophysics majors on the other hand are usually hired as data processors and they work onshore.

enkadirmainbola
post Feb 6 2008, 01:53 AM

155 posts

mechanical, electrical, civil, petroleum, geology, geophysics, math, physics

if you have any of the degrees mentioned above you can work in o&g, there must be more but a majority of my colleagues graduated in those disciplines.
enkadirmainbola
post Mar 18 2008, 02:59 PM

155 posts

QUOTE(christine85 @ Mar 17 2008, 09:14 PM)
o..... okie......thanks Zeusu!  smile.gif  i got offer for geotechnician in BH, just gone through the last interview at western Geco for geoscientist, and shortlisted for interview in exxon mobile.... sad.gif really blur and dunno how to choose....
Personally, I have not met a Western Geco Geoscientist who was hired straight out of school. Typically you start off as Onboard Data Processor (OBP Engineer) and then after 3-4 years only then you move up to Field Geo position.
enkadirmainbola
post Jun 18 2008, 02:25 AM

155 posts

@xtacy1205

Welcome to Western Geco. Don't worry, OBP ppl have the cushiest job offshore and you still get the same amount of money as the guys who's work are more physical in nature. Just sit in the onboard office and process data only.. end of the month watch the money come rolling in. Better advancement opportunities too compared to office based DP engineers.
enkadirmainbola
post Jun 24 2008, 05:30 AM

155 posts

QUOTE(xtacy1205 @ Jun 23 2008, 09:23 PM)
What are the benefits and disadvantages of International Commuter(IC) compared to other satus like Home Country Resident,Home Country Mobile and International Mobile?

cool2.gif
Tunggu time OFS-1.. they'll explain everything to you then.

Added on June 24, 2008, 5:35 am
QUOTE(advocado @ Jun 23 2008, 04:13 PM)
If your a girl, take care! Remember to lock your doors (even if the toilet cubicle is oven hot), even though pple workin there are generally nice and friendly, hardworkin & very careful pple, sometimes they can be abit naughty  drool.gif , Coz most likely the guy girl ratio will be, ermm, 50:1?
For entertainment I think they have Astro, DVD players & tons of Pirated DVD, VCD, CD. Particularly Blue movies from all over southeast asia.

Internet access will probably be limited as I assume they using Satellite Communication if it's far away from shore. Phones are probably more easy to access so  at least you can make calls.

They probably also have gyms & recreational rooms. You can also find some good spots to fish, even though it's not allowed...

If you are really bored, you can always eat as you probably will have 24 hours access to food. Quality of food varies depending on the cook. But bear in mind even 5 star Hotel mass produced Buffet doesn't taste that great.

If you are still onshore, suggest you bring along a Nintendo DS or PSP, or ur laptop (with entertainment installed). Or else you will either be chatting with guys or you will be sleeping (most likely) after work.
Betul tu.. time tido/mandi kunci pintu .. kadang2 it's not your own ppl yang 'nakal' but outside contractors who come and go all the time. We never really can be too careful around strangers. But other than that.. I have not encountered any harassment when working offshore. Setakat Playboy terselit bawah katil tu.. buat bodo aje sudah.

This post has been edited by enkadirmainbola: Jun 24 2008, 05:35 AM
enkadirmainbola
post Jun 27 2008, 07:50 AM

155 posts

QUOTE(maityson @ Jun 26 2008, 08:38 PM)
is this company not "so good" until no ppl wana reply me, even not giving me a single reply?
Your question is too general. There's like 3 different types of employment contracts for Western Geco employees and each of them has their own employee benefits.

So.. what kind of position did they offer you? Maybe then I can answer your question.

This post has been edited by enkadirmainbola: Jun 27 2008, 07:57 AM
enkadirmainbola
post Jul 14 2008, 12:05 PM

155 posts

QUOTE(dr_farnz @ Jul 14 2008, 09:08 AM)

Added on July 14, 2008, 9:15 amHI all forumers....

I'm now waiting like hell for my OFS 1..I dunno where it will be held since the last one was held in kl..somewhere in end of june...I miss it coz by my medical report pending...(kantoi on BMI)...so be carefull for those who obese...huhuhu...

ok  lets started...I was offer by Western Geco who is also schlumberger owns. A position of Trainee Acquisition Specialist.I need to work 5weeks offshore and 5weeks on break...I will be paid 18000USD per annum@allowance not included..if included it would be more then my salary.lol

SO any f u guys get offered by Western Geco...

cheers... icon_idea.gif
Let's hope you'll be assigned to a vessel in Australia.. due to some sort of law they have, WG is required to pay a min of USD2000 base salary. That means more money for you brader!!

Truth be told though.. I personally think WG is the best segment to work in SLB (of course this statement is slightly biased since I'm with WG..hihi). Sure we don't make as much money as ppl in Wireline or D&M but we get more vacation days as we've got the 5/5 rotation...compare this to International Mobile people who work for months on end in some remote location and only get 3-4 weeks off. At least you won't completely miss everything back home. Since we're also on International Commuter status there's a fair bit of traveling involved which is nice. The working hours are not as grueling too as we're only required to work 12 hrs a day..

(I am in no way dissing the IM guys ok.. I know you guys make enough money per annum to give like a 1,000,000 kids free vaccinations)

And being stuck out in the middle of the ocean isn't so bad if you've got a nice boat and a great crew.. BBQ's on the helideck, watching DVDs in the theater room, working out in the gym, playing video games in the dayroom, stargazing on the bridge (you ain't seen nothing if you've never seen the sky on a cloudless, moonless night)

Ok enough gloating.. I'm gonna shut up now.
enkadirmainbola
post Mar 25 2009, 09:18 AM

155 posts

QUOTE(dabudin @ Mar 24 2009, 08:49 AM)
well from experience as a job seekers, rite now even some of the service OnG does not take any new intake.. should wait for a couple of months.. last time expro & tjg still wait for the market to recover...
That's true, recruiting has halted to a near standstill. Very few fresh grads are getting hired right now, sad but true. Hopefully the market will pickup again in 2010.

0.0263sec    0.71    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 05:33 PM