Oil & Gas Career, place where grease monkeys gather

hiiragizawa
post Jul 3 2007, 12:44 AM

364 posts

Thank you all for your informative input on the oil and gas industry.

I'm an electronics engineering undergraduate majoring in telecommunication and I am wondering what my options are in the oil and gas industry.

I have heard that you can have a complete career change but I need to know whether this is true.

Also, what are the chances of oil and gas companies actually accepting these kind of career change for a fresh graduate?

Thank you.
hiiragizawa
post Jul 5 2007, 01:16 PM

364 posts

QUOTE(forrest @ Jul 4 2007, 09:04 PM)
Oil & gas company do take people from different discipline and retrain them to become a specialist in one field, "big" company always do these, but normally they prefer fresh grad.
QUOTE(ICDeadPeople @ Jul 5 2007, 01:08 PM)
Fresh grad, if im not mistaken the minimum requirement now is master, wether engineering or geoscience. At least thats what my current company is doing.
For you guys that still doing spm or matriculation, think carefully when you want to choose your majoring. There is a big shortage in Oil and Gas, especially in geoscience (geologist, geophysicist). Many people opt for engineering because they think its the most highly paid job around. Believe me man, that is not always the case. My friends earn like 12-13k a month, and they are geology graduate, mid 20s. I myself is a geologist, not as high as them though but enuff to feed me and my family.
Thank you for your replies.

If masters is indeed the minimum requirement, I don't think I have a chance at all.

hiiragizawa
post Jul 8 2007, 09:49 PM

364 posts

QUOTE(enkadirmainbola @ Jul 8 2007, 01:48 AM)
I'd say in a couple of years, seismic exploration will be raking in the money. Since proven reserves are running out.. O&G companies are spending big bucks to try and find new commercially viable prospects. Many seismic explorations companies are expanding their operations and hiring a lot of people. Heck my company is adding 2 new seismic vessels to the current fleet just to keep up with demands.
Seismic is quite specialized isn't it? I know for a fact that you are a mechanical engineer when you first joined the O&G industry but how did you ask for your current position as a seismic engineer? Did you ask for it or did your company offer you the position?

Also, I would like to know how to pursue for a career in seismic exploration. Any courses that I can attend?

p/s : I'm an electronic engineering undergraduate majoring in telecommunications.

hiiragizawa
post Jul 9 2007, 09:37 AM

364 posts

Thank you to all especially forrest and enkadirmainbola for your feedback.

hiiragizawa
post Jul 25 2007, 01:16 PM

364 posts

Dear guys and gals.

This morning I attended a Shell Career talk in Multimedia University.

I asked about offshore prospects of an engineering student majoring in electronics but the representative said that the chances are very very slim.

I was told that it was dificult to be offshore as well.

I am wondering know, as a future electronics engineering graduate majoring in Telecommunication, how am I going to get myself offshore.

Thank you.
hiiragizawa
post Apr 4 2009, 05:57 PM

364 posts

After months of deliberation, I have finally applied to several oil & gas companies and service companies like Slb, Shell and the likes.

Sigh. Hopefully I can get a post offshore or something. Electronic engineer here.

Anybody who has any lubang, do tell me... cry.gif

This post has been edited by hiiragizawa: Apr 4 2009, 05:59 PM
hiiragizawa
post May 26 2009, 04:19 PM

364 posts

Applied to almost all of the companies listed in the front page. Almost all ask me to apply online and not directly to their email.

Sigh.
hiiragizawa
post May 30 2009, 05:50 PM

364 posts

QUOTE(carloz28 @ May 30 2009, 04:49 PM)
Geoservice, one of the prominent mudlogging MNC is hiring. 10 vacancies available, based in Malaysia. Fresh graduates are encouraged to apply.

Those of you who are yearning big bucks or in desperate need of a launchpad in O&G career. This is your window of oppurtunity.

Salary wise...expect 7-8K with rotation 28 28...i assume.
Are you from Geoservices? I've applied through their online systems last week... Call them on Monday.. smile.gif
hiiragizawa
post Jun 3 2009, 06:01 PM

364 posts

QUOTE(syyang85 @ Jun 3 2009, 05:12 PM)
I'm a e/e degree holder, fresh. knows nothing about wireline or logging. i found one wireliner operator position in miri, no engineer position.

so, i was thinking maybe i can start from the bottom. no?
I'm in the same position as this guy. Anyone?
hiiragizawa
post Jun 3 2009, 08:32 PM

364 posts

QUOTE(vanguard_13 @ Jun 3 2009, 08:31 PM)
go fight! best man win !  tongue.gif

err...i dun think any fresh grad will acquire logging knowledge in uni, unless u did ur geology degree...the company will provide adequate training since the actual logging or measuring thingy will always be "company trading secret"....as for now, thats the least thing u wanna worry about...juz go get slot in the company first, than later worry about tis thing..

bai
According to the website, it specifically ask for geology degree... I have none.. sad.gif
hiiragizawa
post Jun 10 2009, 09:11 PM

364 posts

I've been to the OGA today and will be going again tomorrow...

I would like to meet up those that are here in this forum...

Anyone? smile.gif
hiiragizawa
post Jun 11 2009, 08:50 AM

364 posts

Anyone else to OGA 2009? biggrin.gif

Come on, wanna meet you guys! tongue.gif
hiiragizawa
post Jun 11 2009, 08:29 PM

364 posts

QUOTE(triad @ Jun 11 2009, 05:18 PM)
super huge i guess
tun dr m launch sapuracrest latest rov
see mukhriz also (kencana ceo)

Added on June 11, 2009, 5:18 pm

go oga.source urself with companies in ong
Eh, I tried to search for you la.. around 2pm... cannot find you.. but i gave my resume to your pals la. tongue.gif

0.0232sec    0.33    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 12:35 AM