Oil & Gas Career, place where grease monkeys gather

iDk
post Jul 7 2008, 09:41 PM

1,124 posts

QUOTE(comat @ Jul 7 2008, 02:17 PM)
Hi All

I'm seeking an advice from those who is work with Baker Atlas,I have been called to attend for a face2face interview on 22nd July 08,may I know what is the interview look like,I mean... is there so many technical questions they ask,what are their expectation,how is the format.ie 3 panel or 1 panel only..

please I do hope that somebody could help me on this.

I dont want to miss this chance. icon_question.gif  icon_question.gif
if can be a lot of panel, i last time had 5~6 interviewer interviewed me. But that wasnt BH. Imagine you sitting with 5~6 ppl and all of them asking you question in the same time. rclxub.gif
overruled23
post Jul 8 2008, 04:10 AM

293 posts

QUOTE(podgie @ Jul 4 2008, 08:09 PM)
just asking too..
noob here
i wan to help my frenz to find job on gas piping..
he alredy got dip in mech. gas enginrg but still dont get the jod..any one can give advce or link to get the job..
go get a degree first
kslee79
post Jul 8 2008, 07:08 AM

452 posts

QUOTE(MonsterJ9 @ Jul 4 2008, 06:55 AM)
Just asking,
What qualification need to enter for this industry?
Helps to have a first class or second class upper degree in engineering, geomech, geology etc.

Added on July 8, 2008, 7:12 am
QUOTE(kanabalize @ Jul 4 2008, 06:20 AM)
oh..hai..i have some questions..

- in the website right are we external candidates or university recruit?
- their interviews in malaysia or in the respective country like britain...?
-as a fresh graduate how should we apply?

thanks...
Fresh grad - BHI usually not too active with on-campus recruitment drive. Better luck if you apply online, or even better yet, manage to pull some strings to have a short interview session with the regional HR manager. If position is required elsewhere in another country, you might get called to attend an interview in that particular country itself. Under the corporate webpage http://www.bakerhughes.com/recruitlink - you will be considered external candidate, since that website serves current employees too who intends to transfer elsewhere or seek different positions.

Added on July 8, 2008, 7:16 am
QUOTE(podgie @ Jul 4 2008, 01:09 PM)
just asking too..
noob here
i wan to help my frenz to find job on gas piping..
he alredy got dip in mech. gas enginrg but still dont get the jod..any one can give advce or link to get the job..
Chiyoda, Sapura Crest, Talisman, Murphy and Technip should be fair game...

Added on July 8, 2008, 7:24 am
QUOTE(riolala @ Jul 6 2008, 08:12 AM)
does anyone here know Dimension Bid?

i heard basic salary for Junior Field Engineer is RM3000 + offshore allowance RM120/day. once u'r confirmed (within 6 months), ur basic is revised to RM3500 and RM180/day offshore allowance.

is it really that good?
Not really a good deal. Joining big boys like SLB, Haliburton, BHI has its benefits. Their technology is more proven and mature, so you as a field engineer running a service will have a better time. Besides, the pay is also much better. Basic in Middle East region is around US$1500 per month (whether you work or not, you'll get it), and dayrate on rigsite is US120 for trainee. If you break out from trainee is an independent low-grade field engineer, you're looking at a starting dayrate of US$200~250! Go figure...

Added on July 8, 2008, 7:30 am
QUOTE(gonzapod @ Jul 7 2008, 07:56 AM)
may i know how do you apply to baker atlas or baker hughes? coz i can't find its relevant contact email..also is civil engr qualified in this company?
Go prepared! Research what they do, what industry they are in, what service / product they provide, sales figure, market share etc. Demonstrate that you're keen and you did your homework. Have some prior work case history to present to reinforce key strength that they are looking for. Here's a tip: integrity, teamwork, learning and performance - these are BHI core values.

This post has been edited by kslee79: Jul 8 2008, 07:30 AM
kanabalize
post Jul 8 2008, 12:32 PM

436 posts

is it necessary to have a valid driving license....
Js84
post Jul 8 2008, 12:38 PM

37 posts

QUOTE(kslee79 @ Jul 8 2008, 07:08 AM)
Helps to have a first class or second class upper degree in engineering, geomech, geology etc.
hmm.gif what about grade of lower than 3.0 or just alittle above 3.0?

no chance to join at all?

This post has been edited by Js84: Jul 8 2008, 12:39 PM
pinkdalmation
post Jul 8 2008, 01:02 PM

229 posts

QUOTE(Js84 @ Jul 8 2008, 12:38 PM)
hmm.gif what about grade of lower than 3.0 or just alittle above 3.0?

no chance to join at all?
Im not sure about other companies, but i know SLB wouldnt even look at anyone with CGPA below 3 during the recruitment drive at my uni . .
kslee79
post Jul 8 2008, 01:23 PM

452 posts

QUOTE(kanabalize @ Jul 8 2008, 05:32 AM)
is it necessary to have a valid driving license....
You will usually get sent for a defensive driving course even though you already have a valid Malaysian driving license, especially when you need to operate company leased / rented vehicles and wireline-trucks! On top of that, certain countries don't recognize our Malaysian driving license and hence you need your company to sponsor your (RM100) an international driving permit from JPJ.

Added on July 8, 2008, 1:27 pm
QUOTE(pinkdalmation @ Jul 8 2008, 06:02 AM)
Im not sure about other companies, but i know SLB wouldnt even look at anyone with CGPA below 3 during the recruitment drive at my uni . .
Sad, but generally I think what PinkDalmation said is TRUE. However, there are still ways. The matter is getting into the industrial sector first, and you ought not to be picky if you don't have nice results on paper to back it up, i.e. start off with a lower position and work your way up. Most of these companies invest heavily on training and development of human capital. Go for a mud logging or mud engineer position and gather some experience. With experience, you can chuck aside and downplay the lower GPA on your next interview.

Want to know how they treat you in training? You simply CANNOT fail. They can send you to Aberdeen, Germany, Houston for training and it's all FREE and no BOND/CONTRACT attached. However, if you FAIL, you're FIRED!

This post has been edited by kslee79: Jul 8 2008, 01:27 PM
Stephen80
post Jul 8 2008, 02:11 PM

41 posts

Can I know what is the DCS system commonly applied in platform control station? Is it using Siemens PCS7 or other system?
backspace66
post Jul 8 2008, 02:27 PM

2,139 posts

QUOTE(pinkdalmation @ Jul 8 2008, 01:02 PM)
If i am not mistaken most company will only look at people that have cgpa>3.But for SLB,i have seen them take people with cgpa as low as 2.8.
new~b0y
post Jul 8 2008, 04:56 PM

456 posts

QUOTE(Stephen80 @ Jul 8 2008, 02:11 PM)
Can I know what is the DCS system commonly applied in platform control station? Is it using Siemens PCS7 or other system?
Siemens is one of them. And then other companies like Emerson, Yokogawa and Honeywell are also supplying DCS systems.
comat
post Jul 8 2008, 05:10 PM

59 posts

QUOTE(kslee79 @ Jul 8 2008, 01:23 PM)
You will usually get sent for a defensive driving course even though you already have a valid Malaysian driving license, especially when you need to operate company leased / rented vehicles and wireline-trucks! On top of that, certain countries don't recognize our Malaysian driving license and hence you need your company to sponsor your (RM100) an international driving permit from JPJ.

Added on July 8, 2008, 1:27 pm

Sad, but generally I think what PinkDalmation said is TRUE. However, there are still ways. The matter is getting into the industrial sector first, and you ought not to be picky if you don't have nice results on paper to back it up, i.e. start off with a lower position and work your way up. Most of these companies invest heavily on training and development of human capital. Go for a mud logging or mud engineer position and gather some experience. With experience, you can chuck aside and downplay the lower GPA on your next interview.

Want to know how they treat you in training? You simply CANNOT fail. They can send you to Aberdeen, Germany, Houston for training and it's all FREE and no BOND/CONTRACT attached. However, if you FAIL, you're FIRED!
Hi KSLee

Is the training is too hard?and how many percent that the candidate can fail?during the training is the company still pay you?
Stephen80
post Jul 8 2008, 05:22 PM

41 posts

QUOTE(new~b0y @ Jul 8 2008, 04:56 PM)
Siemens is one of them. And then other companies like Emerson, Yokogawa and Honeywell are also supplying DCS systems.
Thanks. smile.gif

Can I know further normally which part of control using Siemens DCS system? Is it one platform can have combination of several different DCS system from Emerson, Yokogawa, Honeywell, Siemens? If so, can I know their part of control respectively? smile.gif
comat
post Jul 8 2008, 05:31 PM

59 posts

QUOTE(Stephen80 @ Jul 8 2008, 05:22 PM)
Thanks. smile.gif

Can I know further normally which part of control using Siemens DCS system? Is it one platform can have combination of several different DCS system from Emerson, Yokogawa, Honeywell, Siemens? If so, can I know their part of control respectively?  smile.gif
Some DCS co,claim they can inter-operate each other,however mostly get prob when they try to interface the DCS from different brand.that's is why most of the operator prefer to use same DCS for the entire platform and their instrument also use the same brand,i.e BOA platform,they use same DCS and field instrument from same brand. Nowadays most platform prefer use yokogawa,because cheaper that others.
kanabalize
post Jul 8 2008, 06:11 PM

436 posts

CODE

Posting Title  TRAINEE FIELD ENGINEERS
Requisition ID  3479
Location  ABERDEEN, GB
Full or Part Time  Full-time
No. of Openings  1
Percent Travel  
Posting Date  4/30/2008

Requirements

As a leader in the oilfield services industry, Baker Hughes offers opportunities for qualified people who want to grow in our high performance organisation.  Baker Hughes’ seven divisions provide products and services for oil and gas wells.

We are currently seeking TRAINEE FIELD ENGINEERS  for our Baker Atlas Divison.

Baker Atlas provides wireline-conveyed well logging, data analyis and perforating services for formation evaluation, production and reservoir management.

Responsibilities:

After rigorous training, successful candidates will lead a team of Atlas personnel at oil and gas drilling and production sites, delivering geophysical and petrophysical measurement services to Oil Company personnel.

This position feeds directly into the Baker Atlas management structure, hence provides lasting opportunities with a prosperous and growing company that is benefiting from sustained growth within the hydrocarbon industry.

Education/Experience:

A University degree in Engineering, Applied Physics, Geology or similar.  Prior work experience is not necessary but will be considered if relevant.

Skill Requirements:

Able to demonstrate leadership qualities and have the ability to work calmly in a stressful environment.  They will be self-starting individuals who can work as part of a team.

Practical experience with computers, electrical/electronic or mechanical systems will be advantageous.

Applicants should be fluent in both written and spoken English and have a valid passport and driving licence.  All applicants must be able to provide proof that they have authorisation to work in the UK.

As we are an international company mobility is required.  Successful candidates will be on single status for the first two years of their employment.

Baker Atlas offers excellent salaries combined with an attractive benefits package.  

any comment on this?
new~b0y
post Jul 8 2008, 06:46 PM

456 posts

It seems to be a very good opportunity for a fresh grad to get into the OnG industry. Of course, the catch is you need to have a UK work permit. Chances are higher for EU citizens.
riolala
post Jul 8 2008, 07:05 PM

nowadays it seems like all international co. ie. Slb, Halliburton etc pay their fresh engineers cheap. my fren recently got an offer from Slb international commute (Egypt), with basic salary of USD 3,200 monthly. another is currently working with Halliburton as MWD engineer, basic RM2,400/month. hmmmmmm
zeusu
post Jul 8 2008, 09:24 PM

160 posts

ur fren forgot to mention the 1.33 coefficient & bonus/day for slb ic contract, dependent on salary grade of course.

money's in directional drilling my fren, 1k/day

pc123
post Jul 8 2008, 11:29 PM

Validating
126 posts

Guys..just asking..i`m lazy to do research already..can any1 out there answer me?
Geophysic is called `kejuruteraan bahan dan mineral`..
So, Geophysics is basically a materials and minerals enginneering rite?
What bout materials and manufacturing engineering offered by TARC? whats their difference? I only noe both can lead to OnG industries..
kslee79
post Jul 9 2008, 05:10 AM

452 posts

QUOTE(new~b0y @ Jul 8 2008, 11:46 AM)
It seems to be a very good opportunity for a fresh grad to get into the OnG industry. Of course, the catch is you need to have a UK work permit. Chances are higher for EU citizens.
Not really. A friend of mine just left Baker Atlas, and soon there shall be some vacancies in Labuan for wireline FSE - so no need to look so far!

Added on July 9, 2008, 5:13 am
QUOTE(zeusu @ Jul 8 2008, 02:24 PM)
ur fren forgot to mention the 1.33 coefficient & bonus/day for slb ic contract, dependent on salary grade of course.

money's in directional drilling my fren, 1k/day
That's right Z - DD gets around US$600/day starting rate and that was the rate 2.5 years ago!

If anyone willing to work in riskier countries like Nigeria and Saudi, get extra 25% too!!!

Added on July 9, 2008, 5:18 am
QUOTE(comat @ Jul 8 2008, 10:10 AM)
Hi KSLee

Is the training is too hard?and how many percent that the candidate can fail?during the training is the company still pay you?
Training can be pretty harsh for 3 months straight with weekly exams! Even though you pass, the lower 50%, will tend to F**K big time in the field causing loss and risking being run-off by the client! No kidding. The other 50%, kinda barely hanging in there, struggle to hold their tower (slang for shift) for the first 3 months. That's how it is for newbies... You can imagine, couple that with some highly-stressed environment, recipe for disaster laa!

Yeah, they still pay you per diem (for makan), half the rigsite day rate, your basic - and of course, your transport and housing/accomodation is taken care off already.

This post has been edited by kslee79: Jul 9 2008, 05:18 AM
ICDeadPeople
post Jul 9 2008, 08:38 AM

783 posts

QUOTE(pc123 @ Jul 8 2008, 11:29 PM)
Guys..just asking..i`m lazy to do research already..can any1 out there answer me?
Geophysic is called `kejuruteraan bahan dan mineral`..
So, Geophysics is basically a materials and minerals enginneering rite?
What bout materials and manufacturing engineering offered by TARC? whats their difference? I only noe both can lead to OnG industries..
No, you are absolutely wrong.
Geophysics has two main discipline (atleast ONG), one is processing geophysicist and one is what we called.... geophysicist, or seismic interpretor. Processing geophysicist is a guy who process seismic data to create a readable data so the geophysicist can interprete those data. The PG dont need you to have a proper geophysics degree (but it will help you alot). You need to have a good computer skills and some basic knowledge on geology. For SI you need to have one of GNG related degree. That's why its pay more and demand is high.
Again, for those people who are looking into ONG industry, dont just aimed for the big guns (slb, hally, exxon, shell etc). There is a lot other small company which can give you proper training to equip you later in the future. Heck, you can even work as a mudlogger first, after afew years become a wellsite geologist.

214 Pages « < 55 56 57 58 59 > » Top

0.0331sec    0.59    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 01:53 AM