81 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Bottom

Nokia 808 - V03 - [The King of Camera Phones], the legendary 41mp phone cam hidden gem

KennyKB
post Oct 24 2012, 12:43 PM

1,765 posts

Actually WP7.5 is more restricted than ios but without the apps. There are also lot's of unnecessary restrictions. For example those who register their age as less than 18 in the setup are not allowed to download any apps, even free ones. Why I do not know. To my knowledge there are no content in the app store that <18 y.o. can't handle.

Those using prepaid have a problem with WP7.5 as it cannot handle USSD codes. Nokia support recommends that they swap their SIM to a dumb phone, perform USSD transactions and swap back to their not-so-smart Lumia.

The wi-fi disconnects when the phone sleeps so any background updates, notifications or instant messages will use 3G or stop working. Too bad if you don't have 3G and need push email

There are many, many other usability issues with WP7.5 which show that this OS is still very rough and jagged. WP8 may improve on it but it will still be playing catch up with Symbian, ios and Android. Although Microsoft promise that WP8 will be able to run WP7 apps this remains to be seen as there are major changes in OS kernel, programming language, processor architecture and resolution. Frankly I have my doubts as even minor upgrades of an OS can break some apps.

As for the Lumia 920 it will be priced higher than Galaxy S3 and just under an iphone 5. The 820 will be priced about the same as a Galaxy S3. Good luck to Nokia!
Andy214
post Oct 24 2012, 03:34 PM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(AlOnE89 @ Oct 23 2012, 06:05 PM)
Indeed, S2 was already enough to be called as symbian replacement, but it's still not as impressive as today's device (sgs3 or sgnote2). My sister had one sgs2 previously, and the battery performance is nightmare (and that's one factor i used to laugh at my sis and boast the efficiency of symbian to her LOL)
Yup, S2 has it's ups an down, I guess that was sort of like the beginning point, or turning point where it started to popular and S3 being very successful, in fact, it's very good. Many iPhone users actually switch to S3, I know some iPhone users which is very particular and supported Apple products all the while, they're impressed by the smoothness and speed, at the same time discovering what they have been missing out when they're been stuck inside Apple's small little world without those flexibilities, customizations, etc.

Samsung is taking android as if it's their own brewed OS, that's why they're so successful.. non-techy consumers wouldn't even know it's running the same core android as other phone manufacturers because it's too much of different, i had to salute them for putting so much of effort into that (but still boo for plasticky phone's built lolololol)
I think S3 felt much better build and solid than S2. I recall when I first carry S2, it felt really fragile, but S3 felt much more solid on hands.
And it's really light.

LOL so if you were to choose only one of them, which will you choose? tongue.gif
Between Note2 and S3?
I like the S-Pen, but I don't want such big phone, I think max for me will be 5".
Even the S3 felt big, but still OK. Just too bad the S3 can't utilize the S-Pen.

QUOTE(KennyKB @ Oct 24 2012, 12:43 PM)
Actually WP7.5 is more restricted than ios but without the apps. There are also lot's of unnecessary restrictions. For example those who register their age as less than 18 in the setup are not allowed to download any apps, even free ones. Why I do not know. To my knowledge there are no content in the app store that <18 y.o. can't handle.

Those using prepaid have a problem with WP7.5 as it cannot handle USSD codes. Nokia support recommends that they swap their SIM to a dumb phone, perform USSD transactions and swap back to their not-so-smart Lumia.

The wi-fi disconnects when the phone sleeps so any background updates, notifications or instant messages will use 3G or stop working. Too bad if you don't have 3G and need push email

There are many, many other usability issues with WP7.5 which show that this OS is still very rough and jagged. WP8 may improve on it but it will still be playing catch up with Symbian, ios and Android. Although Microsoft promise that WP8 will be able to run WP7 apps this remains to be seen as there are major changes in OS kernel, programming language, processor architecture and resolution. Frankly I have my doubts as even minor upgrades of an OS can break some apps.

As for the Lumia 920 it will be priced higher than Galaxy S3 and just under an iphone 5. The 820 will be priced about the same as a Galaxy S3. Good luck to Nokia!
True, not to mention the Market have region control. I don't get the reasoning behind this. For some apps, maybe, but seems some common/basic apps also have region control, which is just plain stupid and they will some "smart" need people to maintain this. I guess they didn't have a default availability is available to all region?

sklchan
post Oct 24 2012, 04:19 PM

~~Life Goes On~~
6,357 posts

if u really browse through those wp market, most of their apps sux!!! especially their game... feel like those child make flash game... doh.gif
pikacu
post Oct 24 2012, 05:00 PM

male tag rosak
7,740 posts

QUOTE(sklchan @ Oct 24 2012, 04:19 PM)
if u really browse through those wp market, most of their apps sux!!! especially their game... feel like those child make flash game... doh.gif
i thought the Xbox Live games were good?
aspire2oo6
post Oct 24 2012, 06:32 PM

Banned
35,468 posts

QUOTE(pikacu @ Oct 24 2012, 05:00 PM)
i thought the Xbox Live games were good?
not really. Its okay only.
Andy214
post Oct 25 2012, 11:57 AM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(sklchan @ Oct 24 2012, 04:19 PM)
The Market also fail, full of rubbish apps and it appear on top somemore. Very badly organize and very messy. Not sure now, but previous during Lumia 800, it's really badly organized.

For Symbian, seems many apps and games missing for 808 PureView and still not yet available to date. It was available on N8 previously.
KennyKB
post Oct 25 2012, 12:28 PM

1,765 posts

WP claims to have 100,000 apps but what is the use if you can't even find a screenshot or a data monitor app? There is also no call recorder, call blocker or sms scheduler.

MeeGo has only about 2000 useful apps but you can find all of the above and much more. It's not quantity but quality that counts.

Left4Dead2
post Oct 26 2012, 01:00 AM

1,103 posts

Why 808 Pureview page becomes Window Phone OS discussion ? shakehead.gif

Please come back to Symbian world notworthy.gif

Continue spam tongue.gif - Window 8's launch and state of the app store doh.gif

http://www.pcworld.com/article/2012830/win...ial-review.html

http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/news/analys...ndows-8-launch/

aspire2oo6
post Oct 26 2012, 06:01 AM

Banned
35,468 posts

QUOTE(Left4Dead2 @ Oct 26 2012, 01:00 AM)
Why 808 Pureview page becomes Window Phone OS discussion ?  shakehead.gif

Please come back to Symbian world notworthy.gif

Continue spam  tongue.gif  - Window 8's launch and state of the app store  doh.gif

http://www.pcworld.com/article/2012830/win...ial-review.html

http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/news/analys...ndows-8-launch/
stupid instagram can create bokeh without skill taken by note 2

A6Bfn_zCEAAshv7.jpg large by JTproductions, on Flickr
gouken
post Oct 26 2012, 01:36 PM

630 posts

The discussion here is so much more interesting (eventhough keluar tajuk) than the one on Note 2 kekeke
bai1101
post Oct 26 2012, 08:51 PM

I am Pervert
1,613 posts

any price change on 808? plan to get one if 920 not impress enough.
KennyKB
post Oct 26 2012, 09:03 PM

1,765 posts

QUOTE(bai1101 @ Oct 26 2012, 08:51 PM)
any price change on 808? plan to get one if 920 not impress enough.
I strongly advise you not to get a 920 or any other WP. Even a Nokia N8 has a better camera than the 920 and runs an OS which is much more usable and feature rich than WP7.5. In fact WP7.5 is so far behind Symbian Belle that I can safely say that WP8 will still be playing catch-up.

bai1101
post Oct 26 2012, 09:32 PM

I am Pervert
1,613 posts

QUOTE(KennyKB @ Oct 26 2012, 09:03 PM)
I strongly advise you not to get a 920 or any other WP. Even a Nokia N8 has a better camera than the 920 and runs an OS which is much more usable and feature rich than WP7.5. In fact WP7.5 is so far behind Symbian Belle that I can safely say that WP8 will still be playing catch-up.

sure i will not get wp8 on the spot.

at least 6 month to see all the good and con.

eaglehelang
post Oct 28 2012, 05:23 PM

1,075 posts

Hahaha, Kenny also come over here. But yeah, here more meriah, N9 thread more quiet tongue.gif
KennyKB
post Oct 28 2012, 06:32 PM

1,765 posts

QUOTE(eaglehelang @ Oct 28 2012, 05:23 PM)
Hahaha, Kenny also come over here. But yeah, here more meriah, N9 thread more quiet  tongue.gif
N9 thread sometimes only 1-2 posts a day. The phone still good but community already quiet. Andy also never drop by N9 thread now.

aspire2oo6
post Oct 28 2012, 07:03 PM

Banned
35,468 posts

QUOTE(KennyKB @ Oct 28 2012, 06:32 PM)
N9 thread sometimes only 1-2 posts a day. The phone still good but community already quiet. Andy also never drop by N9 thread now.
saw sifu andy appear in android forum section
eidda
post Oct 29 2012, 01:30 AM

666 posts

saya_tau_kasi_meriah_ini_thread_guna_post_gambar_ja.jpeg

Bug by Nokia 808PV by eidda808, on Flickr

Lamp by Nokia 808PV by eidda808, on Flickr

See Moon by Nokia 808PV by eidda808, on Flickr
TSAgito666
post Oct 29 2012, 10:18 AM

11,861 posts

QUOTE(eidda @ Oct 29 2012, 01:30 AM)
saya_tau_kasi_meriah_ini_thread_guna_post_gambar_ja.jpeg

3rd one is nice tongue.gif
eidda
post Oct 29 2012, 10:46 AM

666 posts

QUOTE(Agito666 @ Oct 29 2012, 10:18 AM)
3rd one is nice tongue.gif
rolleyes.gif thanks just my luck.

Kite by Nokia 808PV by eidda808, on Flickr
Andy214
post Oct 29 2012, 10:46 AM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(KennyKB @ Oct 28 2012, 06:32 PM)
Got drop by, but never post only tongue.gif
Since no topic, they're discussing on Android games on N9. Since already have Android, so didn't bother lo, tongue.gif
zachary seems also got Note2, but he's still energetic to try on N9 thumbup.gif

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Oct 28 2012, 07:03 PM)
saw sifu andy appear in android forum section
Hehe, already jump to Android (SEX Pro, Sony Ericsion Xperia Pro) since early of the year... wanted qwerty, but big mistake... too little internal storage for apps, not enough RAM, EPIC fail... Cannot tahan already SEX Pro, no longer sexy and no longer Pro, switch and become a Samseng, a lot better... Samseng more considerate with so many shortcut available through pull down menu, S-Voice, and some other nice-to-have features.
But still find 1GB RAM is not enough... Android is too "smart" decide to load your apps for faster access even though you won't or will not access it wasting your memory and decides to kill your apps while you multi-task, or suddenly your Skype gets closed.

Your also got a Note 2 right? hehe
How's 2GB Ram on Android? Did those apps get closed automatically even with 2GB ram?

81 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Top

0.0169sec    0.72    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 04:32 PM