119 Pages « < 29 30 31 32 33 > » Bottom

Basic Intake and Exhaust Modification Guide, for normal aspirated cars v1.0

vailance
post Jan 27 2009, 12:41 PM

wat??
841 posts

6. Catalytic converter...to remove or not?
It depends. Cat converters are the biggest restriction to the exhaust gas flow. Removing it will definitely release some more power, but it is bad for environment. If your engine is badly tuned or always running rich, I suggest that just leave them on. Cat converters do not contribute anything to exhaust noise.
sifus here. wanna ask

my car benz 1999 A160 the Catalytic converter been taken out since last time service my car engine overhaul and that thing said dirty stucked and need to take out in order the car to start and move. now, as the quote said that thing doesnt contribute anything to exhaust noise, then how come my car now when revving i can hear noisy sound under the engine/the place where the catalytic housing area.. the workshop said they take out the filter inside it and seal it back.. So my question is, wad should i do? change a new 1 or send to workshop cut it out and extend then seal it connect to the exhaust so it wont hav the sound.

or change a new 1? any idea how much? and also now the exhaust damn smelly. perhaps it really bad to the environment.
maddriver
post Jan 27 2009, 02:57 PM

the madman!
1,160 posts

QUOTE(vailance @ Jan 27 2009, 03:41 PM)
sifus here. wanna ask

my car benz 1999 A160 the Catalytic converter been taken out since last time service my car engine overhaul and that thing said dirty stucked and need to take out in order the car to start and move. now, as the quote said that thing doesnt contribute anything to exhaust noise, then how come my car now when revving i can hear noisy sound under the engine/the place where the catalytic housing area.. the workshop said they take out the filter inside it and seal it back.. So my question is, wad should i do? change a new 1 or send to workshop cut it out and extend then seal it connect to the exhaust so it wont hav the sound.

or change a new 1? any idea how much? and also now the exhaust damn smelly. perhaps it really bad to the environment.
as for mercs, best to use the original replacement parts........
the_catacombs
post Jan 27 2009, 03:52 PM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

QUOTE(maddriver @ Jan 27 2009, 02:57 PM)
as for mercs, best to use the original replacement parts........
why is it not recommended to modify continental cars??... unsure.gif
shinjite
post Jan 28 2009, 12:19 AM

�ŞħĬΩĵΐŦ��
19,320 posts

QUOTE(aliftaufiq @ Jan 27 2009, 10:25 AM)
Bro,how much for that 2 inch piping mendrel bend??
Less than RM400 with midbullet
ryan_hustler
post Jan 28 2009, 10:51 AM

889 posts

QUOTE(shinjite @ Jan 28 2009, 12:19 AM)
Less than RM400 with midbullet
mine was rm180 from powerzone..
aliftaufiq
post Jan 28 2009, 11:44 AM

4G92P
2,785 posts

QUOTE(ryan_hustler @ Jan 28 2009, 10:51 AM)
mine was rm180 from powerzone..
Powerzone also can do piping huh??I mean 2 inch piping from font to back
the_catacombs
post Jan 28 2009, 05:06 PM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

QUOTE(aliftaufiq @ Jan 28 2009, 11:44 AM)
Powerzone also can do piping huh??I mean 2 inch piping from font to back
yeap... nod.gif
ryan_hustler
post Jan 28 2009, 05:11 PM

889 posts

http://www.powerzone.com.my/catalogue/11.jpg
this is 2" from powerzone with mid bullet
shinjite
post Jan 28 2009, 07:22 PM

�ŞħĬΩĵΐŦ��
19,320 posts

uh...I went to their webpage it says 1.75" with the exact same picture

But RM180 with bullet is a bargain if can 2" with mendrel bend, mine was 2 years ago price >_>

This post has been edited by shinjite: Jan 28 2009, 07:30 PM
the_catacombs
post Jan 28 2009, 07:38 PM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

QUOTE(ryan_hustler @ Jan 28 2009, 05:11 PM)
http://www.powerzone.com.my/catalogue/11.jpg
this is 2" from powerzone with mid bullet
bro... 2" outer piping diameter or inner piping diameter??... dat day yumcha with powerzone spokesman, he said powerzone recommend 1.8" piping for 4g13/4g15 variant... unsure.gif
aliftaufiq
post Jan 29 2009, 01:07 PM

4G92P
2,785 posts

Later i go ronda2 survey price 1st..everco sunway quoted me rm 200 for 2 inch piping..
shinjite
post Jan 29 2009, 08:52 PM

�ŞħĬΩĵΐŦ��
19,320 posts

Make sure mendrel bend oh...tongue.gif
aliftaufiq
post Jan 30 2009, 12:00 PM

4G92P
2,785 posts

QUOTE(shinjite @ Jan 29 2009, 08:52 PM)
Make sure mendrel bend oh...tongue.gif
For rm 200 i don't think can get mandrel bend sweat.gif
shinjite
post Jan 30 2009, 02:04 PM

�ŞħĬΩĵΐŦ��
19,320 posts

Yeah mendrel bend is expensive, but I opt for that smile.gif
apeq
post Jan 30 2009, 04:26 PM

33 posts

Everco in Sunway,is it a good workmanship workshoP?
planning to change my exhaust..dont know what shop is good..
aliftaufiq
post Jan 31 2009, 01:57 AM

4G92P
2,785 posts

QUOTE(apeq @ Jan 30 2009, 04:26 PM)
Everco in Sunway,is it a good workmanship workshoP?
planning to change my exhaust..dont know what shop is good..
I did some minor adjustment there n can say that their workmanship is quite good wink.gif
apeq
post Feb 1 2009, 12:28 AM

33 posts

had tried asking JFA today about the piping for my car+centre bullet..stainless steel type..they quote 800bucks!
aiyaa...but,anyone had tried JFA centre bullet?is it good?
maddriver
post Feb 1 2009, 10:45 AM

the madman!
1,160 posts

QUOTE(apeq @ Feb 1 2009, 03:28 AM)
had tried asking JFA today about the piping for my car+centre bullet..stainless steel type..they quote 800bucks!
aiyaa...but,anyone had tried JFA centre bullet?is it good?
those guys are damm expensive...... just go to everco......... good enuf....
apeq
post Feb 2 2009, 02:10 AM

33 posts

basically how much the cost for mendral bend piping?

davvycroix
post Feb 5 2009, 03:37 AM

178 posts

apeq
what engine u're using ??

mandrel? depending on what u want..

Added on February 5, 2009, 3:41 amwanna add something
a stock piping for a satria neo is around 1.78 inches
which is from the mid to the end.

the extractor wa tak tau
haha...
anyone knows anything about campro ( satrianeo )

wanna add some details here =)

This post has been edited by davvycroix: Feb 5 2009, 03:41 AM

119 Pages « < 29 30 31 32 33 > » Top

0.0347sec    0.43    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 03:24 AM