6. Catalytic converter...to remove or not?
It depends. Cat converters are the biggest restriction to the exhaust gas flow. Removing it will definitely release some more power, but it is bad for environment. If your engine is badly tuned or always running rich, I suggest that just leave them on. Cat converters do not contribute anything to exhaust noise.
sifus here. wanna askIt depends. Cat converters are the biggest restriction to the exhaust gas flow. Removing it will definitely release some more power, but it is bad for environment. If your engine is badly tuned or always running rich, I suggest that just leave them on. Cat converters do not contribute anything to exhaust noise.
my car benz 1999 A160 the Catalytic converter been taken out since last time service my car engine overhaul and that thing said dirty stucked and need to take out in order the car to start and move. now, as the quote said that thing doesnt contribute anything to exhaust noise, then how come my car now when revving i can hear noisy sound under the engine/the place where the catalytic housing area.. the workshop said they take out the filter inside it and seal it back.. So my question is, wad should i do? change a new 1 or send to workshop cut it out and extend then seal it connect to the exhaust so it wont hav the sound.
or change a new 1? any idea how much? and also now the exhaust damn smelly. perhaps it really bad to the environment.
Jan 27 2009, 12:41 PM
0.0383sec