Basic Intake and Exhaust Modification Guide, for normal aspirated cars v1.0

ryan_hustler
post Apr 24 2008, 11:20 AM

889 posts

QUOTE(alamdamai1 @ Apr 15 2008, 12:38 PM)

A proposal by a member to heat wrap the extractor was not recommended as it would elevate the operation temp. of the extractor and thereby increased its risk of failure.

if you go for a thermal wrap for the extractor what will happen?From what i know,if you thermally insulate the extractor,the heat of the exhaust gas will be high,hence the velocity of the gasses will be faster so your exhaust system will perform more efficiently..is this wrong?
ryan_hustler
post Apr 28 2008, 12:54 PM

889 posts

QUOTE(alamdamai1 @ Apr 24 2008, 12:13 PM)
Good question Bro...i've read in ZTH forum about this thermowrap issue where i've appended below the links for your reading...nonetheless, you may want to check with other members whether what were said is true or myth... blink.gif

http://www.centuryperformance.com/exhaust-...se-spg-138.html
Good article..i guess thermal wraps are a no no then..
ryan_hustler
post Dec 5 2008, 02:37 PM

889 posts

QUOTE(EliteHunter @ Dec 5 2008, 01:54 PM)
1) correct
2) Powerzone is a reputable company.. better pick their items.
3) Yes, stock is s-flow
4) Depends.. u wan top speed or acceleration?
5) Change thicker spark plug cable and change to Iridium spark plugs (just my recomendation)
6) No. Do not change camshaft just YET. Changing to racing camshaft is the last upgrade possible.. like oversize piston, change compression, etc etc then only can change camshaft. or else.. u'll just gain 1-3bhp and 1-4Nm torque.

After all those upgrade stated above, ur car can feel like 1.6 already..
5)Dont bother
6)Ditto

Heres my advise,
-good quality extractor,piping can remain same,follow ori route (dont oversize too much,1.6" is good for stock engine),straight thru muffler.

-High flow,good filteration air filter. Apexi dual cone recomended

-Do up your handling such as stiffer suspension,shorter springs and anti roll bars.

-Engine management
ryan_hustler
post Dec 16 2008, 02:54 AM

889 posts

QUOTE(mindtricks @ Dec 15 2008, 12:42 PM)
I'm planning the following mods on my 1.5 VDO Satria;

1) Powerzone 4-2-1 extractor <--price? (should I get a full 1.75" exhaust aswell or main stock pipes?)
2) CAI intake (maintain my stock air filter or "high flow" type?)
3) Lightened crank pulley (not undersized)

Looking for improved response & torque across the rev range. Are those the right mods to achieve those goals?
not worth the change.since urs is a vdo,just de-cat and replace the resonator with a bullet.maintain the same piping following the original route.

Added on December 16, 2008, 3:02 am
QUOTE(b00n @ Dec 14 2008, 11:40 AM)
any one can cut and paste,the point would be the explanation.

This post has been edited by ryan_hustler: Dec 16 2008, 03:02 AM
ryan_hustler
post Jan 28 2009, 10:51 AM

889 posts

QUOTE(shinjite @ Jan 28 2009, 12:19 AM)
Less than RM400 with midbullet
mine was rm180 from powerzone..
ryan_hustler
post Jan 28 2009, 05:11 PM

889 posts

http://www.powerzone.com.my/catalogue/11.jpg
this is 2" from powerzone with mid bullet
ryan_hustler
post Feb 20 2009, 07:54 PM

889 posts

ive contacted kweng84 a few times to ask about exhausts.He seems to know about a lot of the stuff,just that i did most of my piping work at melaka. I almost went to his shop but didnt have the time. But im very satisfied with the work at melaka,even if the guy couldve asked me to change this and that for more money,his recomendation was one of the cheapest and best setup ive had so far.
ryan_hustler
post Feb 22 2009, 03:31 PM

889 posts

QUOTE(clawhammer @ Feb 22 2009, 01:51 PM)
If you guys have done it in WAI HENG before then life goes on but for new buyers, my advice is to stay away from them. Kweng might talk like a pro but it isn't necessary true/correct. He told me my first setup would be silent but it sounded like a track car. After that I have to pay extra RM550 to get it fixed.

He also promised me things which he doesn't honour. His concern is only to sell and not to bother about after sales (in my case at least) smile.gif
oh..didnt you test it at the shop? if the sound was not to your liking you couldve changed it there and then right? btw,whats ur ride?
ryan_hustler
post Feb 22 2009, 08:27 PM

889 posts

wasnt that the terion moderator o sumthin?
ryan_hustler
post Mar 3 2009, 02:19 AM

889 posts

QUOTE(fishncatz @ Mar 2 2009, 09:51 AM)
Guys,normally how much the shop charge on removing the cat con and replacing it with bullet?
If change already,would it effect fc?does saga lmst have  cat con?

what is this both?under my lmst

bullet silencer? Tabung tengah,aka resonator
[attachmentid=826908]

cat con?Nenas aka Flexpipe
[attachmentid=826910]
ur car no cat con
ryan_hustler
post Apr 7 2009, 12:48 AM

889 posts

QUOTE(the_catacombs @ Mar 31 2009, 03:44 PM)
1.  ur oem extractor piping vr big meh??

2.  why wanna wrap it??... wrapping it doesnt mean protecting it from rust...

3.  no idea biggrin.gif
Header wrap can cause the metal to become brittle and break like biscuit.

QUOTE(-YellowSn0w- @ Apr 2 2009, 05:59 PM)
kweng is doing Exhaust modification aslo u can PM him
This guy really johnkor?

QUOTE(Aeon_Clock @ Apr 5 2009, 06:13 PM)
any difference between chrome and non-chrome?
Looks nicer,prevents corrosion..but my friends chrome header now looks gold...weird,maybe the plating too thin..

Shiny surfaces reflect heat,not sure it this has any effect on the outside of the header but maybe chromed inside might be good for turbo applications?.. hmm.gif

This post has been edited by ryan_hustler: Apr 7 2009, 12:49 AM
ryan_hustler
post Apr 8 2009, 10:44 PM

889 posts

QUOTE(the_catacombs @ Apr 8 2009, 08:36 PM)
why it damages ur o2 sensor??... u ceramic coat ur o2 sensor as well meh??....

it is suppose to have better advantage as exhaust gas heats up quicker.. hence, ur o2 sensor can start working faster....

o2 sensor will only send out signal when it is up to it's operating temperature...
laugh.gif laugh.gif
ryan_hustler
post Sep 13 2009, 05:07 PM

889 posts

QUOTE(Wuakaka @ Sep 13 2009, 04:27 PM)
brothers and sisters here,can any1 clarify wit me isit saga blm inlet is 1.8??so if i now already changed 2 inch midbox and 2 inch straight flow muffler,never to 4get dat i have changed 4-2-1 extractor too,so the piping i should change 1.8 also??btw,if c from my current setting,4-2-1 mendrel bent extractor,2 inch midbox and 2 inch muffler,wat is the consequences i will feel now?coz i felt dat my car now is slower than stock,=x
obviously..ur blm 1.3 and you changed ur piping to 2"..if piping diameter was directly proportional to power you would see most performance cars have drain pipes as their exhaust system.

There are a few important considerations when changing ur exhaust piping..
firstly is to provide a smooth path from start to exit..no kinks, bends and sharp turns..
secondly is to maintain exhaust gas velocity..the diameter of the piping must be large enough to allow the exhaust gasses to sufficient flow yet small enough to maintain the gas velocity all the way..

Think of these two concepts like a garden hose..when you turn it on water flows,place ur thumb on the outlet to narrow the opening and the water flows faster..the amount of water is the same,just that the pressure is now more..
theres too many more to list and im bored of explaining already..go look up how an exhaust system works before making any more idiotic modifications and wonderin why your car is now slower..
ryan_hustler
post Sep 13 2009, 08:06 PM

889 posts

QUOTE(matt wee @ Sep 13 2009, 07:09 PM)
Hi all sifuss here,wana ask something regarding my car:

Just installed my 4-2-1 extractor and zenden twister bullet because was recommended by them for my waja 4g18 auto tranny...

is it true we need to let the ecu re-calibrate the system again after we have changed the extractor or touch the o2 sensor?

because after install i didn't feel any different...and claimed by them need drive and let ecu re-calibrate again right?

And regarding the bullet in pic below,which side should receive exhaust gases and which one is letting it out?

the one below is smooth side...they put it as the gases out,and inlet for exhaust in is opposite it..mean quite restriction right?

And does this twister bullet really suit to my auto tranny?or some straight-flow mid box or bullet more better?
If you dont feel a difference prolly means there really isnt any difference in ur modification in terms of power..if you really want to run a test by resetting the ecu just remove the car battery terminals for awhile and reconnect them..

as for is back pressure necessary for an auto tranny, i have no idea but from my knowledge back pressure is never a good thing and should be minimized where possible..any one else has an opinion on this?
ryan_hustler
post Sep 15 2009, 09:42 PM

889 posts

QUOTE(matt wee @ Sep 13 2009, 08:56 PM)
but my car stated there vdo..what mean?and i know if i remove car battery -ve terminal and after plug back and start my car i found that engine very sluggish,rpm not stabil....and need to send back sc for re-tuning back...

anyone can clarify this?is it better to remove car battery?

my car is waja 4g18p 2002year..
vdo is siemens ecu as opposed to yr 2000 and latter models which were mmc..theres really no re tuning of the ecu,the mapping is fixed.
maddriver says theres seperate maps for campro engines and the SC can select between the two..waja i gues not
ryan_hustler
post Sep 16 2009, 11:45 AM

889 posts

QUOTE(alvinz @ Sep 16 2009, 09:51 AM)
well, from wat i heard from my mech, he says for s-vdo, once u got the error code, no matter how u unplug the battery, the code will still be stored in the memory ... if u encounter the check engine light, and ur engine oil is at required lvl then its best that u take ur car to check ... not all workshop have coz its expensive to invest into 1 ...
svdo everything fixed d one .. it is not reprogrammable or tweak-able .. not sure about MMC ...
i think matt wee's waja is most probably s-vdo ...
all proton ecu is not tweak-able..the mmc is even more simplified.

0.2199sec    0.62    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 02:00 PM