126 Pages « < 96 97 98 99 100 > » Bottom

Working in Singapore V12, Yusheng - 23rd Feb (Saturday)

Aloong
post Jan 27 2013, 10:08 PM

484 posts

QUOTE(Acevalentine @ Jan 27 2013, 10:22 AM)
Is anyone working in SG in finance and investment related field? If I am fresh graduated with CFA level one and maybe even MBA, will it be very hard to get a job related? If can what is the average salary for it?
For fresh grad if u have CfA better than MBA. If she be easier to find compared to if u have MBA or degree.
Salary for fresh grad no diff whether u degree MBA of Cfa.

Just reading on and saw level "one". Not much diff from degree then. Maybe complete ur level 3.
I'm guessing ur MBA is not from top 10 school otherwise u won't b asking above question.

This post has been edited by Aloong: Jan 27 2013, 10:18 PM
Aloong
post Jan 27 2013, 10:10 PM

484 posts

QUOTE(Soralicious @ Jan 27 2013, 11:15 AM)
guys, what to fill for the white card "duration of stay" if im going to sg for work? since the amount of days i stay will be indefinite..
r1v3r
post Jan 27 2013, 11:34 PM

1,305 posts

QUOTE(ivanswk @ Jan 25 2013, 05:55 PM)
since some have brought up education heheh ...
prompted me to look at top primary school, while planning for my son hhehehe...  rolleyes.gif 

http://www.edupoll.org/content/view/18/37/

Based on Edupoll’s proprietary research, the Top 10 primary schools in Singapore ( by prestige ) are :
1.Nanyang Primary School
2.Rosyth School
3.Henry Park Primary School
4.Tao Nan School
5.Raffles Girls’ Primary School
6.Anglo-Chinese School Primary & Junior School
7.Singapore Chinese Girls’ School Primary
8.Methodist Girls’ School Primary
9.CHIJ St Nicholas Primary
10.St Hilda’s Primary School
Forget it.

If your son is PR and you are just ordinary person you have almost 0% for phase 2 registration. One of the school above is just 300m away from my unit and we dont even bother to try as we know thery will not have enough place for all SG kids before they consider PR's application. In a way, it is also better to enrol kids in other school as there will be less KS style people. Let the good school takes all SG for a few years then we see how the school perform. For this year, I see more foreign kids enter neighbourhood school. My kids will have to compete with China kids in Chinese lesson and Ang Mo kids in English lesson.

Chances are you hope your son will do well in other school then apply for transfer a few years later. Still, PSLE will provide equal ground for all kids to enter good secondary school.
Walaoeh!
post Jan 27 2013, 11:45 PM

304 posts

anyone want FirstCoach ticket for 1-3 Feb?

1-Feb 7.00pm, 2 pax, Novena Square -> Bandar Utama
3-Feb 5.45pm, 2 pax, Subang Parade -> The Plaza

This post has been edited by Walaoeh!: Jan 28 2013, 12:07 AM
SUSalaskanbunny
post Jan 27 2013, 11:55 PM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(Aloong @ Jan 27 2013, 10:08 PM)
For fresh grad if u have CfA better than MBA. If she be easier to find compared to if u have MBA or degree. 
Salary for fresh grad no diff whether u degree MBA of Cfa.

Just reading on and saw level "one". Not much diff from degree then. Maybe complete ur level 3.
I'm guessing ur MBA is not from top 10 school otherwise u won't b asking above question.
y u step on ppl ar... giv ppl some hope la.. we know u very high position.. dont need like that 1
seantang
post Jan 27 2013, 11:58 PM

With Adult Supervision Only
6,624 posts

QUOTE(Aloong @ Jan 27 2013, 10:08 PM)
I'd be very,.. very,.. surprised if anyone in this forum comes from a Top 10 business school. Actually I'd be surprised if anyone in this forum is a personal friend of someone from a Top 10 business school.
SUSMaterazzi
post Jan 28 2013, 12:22 AM

1,569 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Jan 27 2013, 11:58 PM)
I'd be very,.. very,.. surprised if anyone in this forum comes from a Top 10 business school. Actually I'd be surprised if anyone in this forum is a personal friend of someone from a Top 10 business school.
I hv 2 friends from LSE. Not LBS though.
yhoong12
post Jan 28 2013, 09:00 AM

Balls Addicted~~
846 posts

QUOTE(keeycheng @ Jan 27 2013, 10:58 AM)
Hi guys, wish to search for SG jobs but need to know what people said about that particular company.

So do you guys know any sites that people usually talk bout this?

Thanks...
google for "company name" review or whatever keywords you think is related? hmm.gif
yhoong12
post Jan 28 2013, 09:02 AM

Balls Addicted~~
846 posts

QUOTE(Soralicious @ Jan 27 2013, 11:15 AM)
guys, what to fill for the white card "duration of stay" if im going to sg for work? since the amount of days i stay will be indefinite..
30 days is the maximum stay in SG for white card. if you going to work, no harm filling 30 days as you going to surrender your white card for pass application.
JohnJon82
post Jan 28 2013, 10:55 AM

716 posts

Just curious, last time when 1SGD = 1.2RM, still got a lot of Malaysians working in SG?
anderson2009
post Jan 28 2013, 11:39 AM

111 posts

Does INSEAD in SG counted? Not sure if there's any difference between the one obtained in SG and other countries though.
seantang
post Jan 28 2013, 01:18 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(anderson2009 @ Jan 28 2013, 11:39 AM)
Does INSEAD in SG counted? Not sure if there's any difference between the one obtained in SG and other countries though.
Would you pay the same price for a CBU Honda or Toyota from Japan (JDM) or CKD one from Thailand or Indonesia, rebadge from Perodua or even Asia only model like Avanza or Kijang? Or CBU BMW/Merc from Germany vs CKD from Kulim?

This post has been edited by seantang: Jan 28 2013, 01:20 PM
anderson2009
post Jan 28 2013, 02:32 PM

111 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Jan 28 2013, 01:18 PM)
Would you pay the same price for a CBU Honda or Toyota from Japan (JDM) or CKD one from Thailand or Indonesia, rebadge from Perodua or even Asia only model like Avanza or Kijang? Or CBU BMW/Merc from Germany vs CKD from Kulim?
Woah not worth it to study here then. Aint cheap too even study locally in SG.
seantang
post Jan 28 2013, 02:56 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(anderson2009 @ Jan 28 2013, 02:32 PM)
You have to put it into perspective.

The Harvard-NUS MBA or Insead Singapore MBA will trade at a discount to a Harvard US MBA or Insead France MBA. No doubt about it.

But then, I would rather get Harvard-NUS or Insead SG in my resume rather than spending a year or two in University of Bath or Herriot Watt or what not, to do a full time MBA.

This post has been edited by seantang: Jan 28 2013, 02:56 PM
SUSMaterazzi
post Jan 28 2013, 03:29 PM

1,569 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Jan 28 2013, 02:56 PM)
You have to put it into perspective.

The Harvard-NUS MBA or Insead Singapore MBA will trade at a discount to a Harvard US MBA or Insead France MBA. No doubt about it.

But then, I would rather get Harvard-NUS or Insead SG in my resume rather than spending a year or two in University of Bath or Herriot Watt or what not, to do a full time MBA.
How about CUHK or univ of leicester?

This post has been edited by Materazzi: Jan 28 2013, 03:29 PM
ivanswk
post Jan 28 2013, 04:25 PM

+J
2,110 posts

QUOTE(anderson2009 @ Jan 28 2013, 02:32 PM)
matter of perspective and your resources
i always think is good to do someting rather then keep waiting for the best to come along,
for example a MBA that will cost u more than Rm 100k

http://www.hbs.edu/mba/financial-aid/Pages/cost-summary.aspx

when i did my MBA last time, which is bottom last two in uk and i cannot even afford to pay for it,
i need to nego kaw kaw for the co for it basiclly (almost begging level)

i dunno how to summarize how it benefit me overall, well it rank low, it kill most of my weekend, alot of personal money for alot of reference book, alot of late nites

what it did for me i think sweat.gif
i get a job in SG which also help in my PR application (i dun have a degree)
i move on, i dun look at another or better MBA (since i already have one)
my current monthly income exceeded the MBA cost, what ever u call them (ROI)
i learn somethin in the MBA (force learning), other things i learn like (my smart lecturer and my course mate, it keep prompting me i dun want to end up like them)

my industry not many people have a postgrad, it is uncessary which might be true
i dun need the top 10 MBA, by having 1 kapcai MBA,
i think it already put me up there within the 10% within my industry rolleyes.gif

so what next, at mid thirties,
doing another postgrad more relevant to my work at slower pace
expanding my family members
enjoy life cool2.gif

my thoughts is always do something when u young, and you get to to more later part of your life thumbup.gif

Aloong
post Jan 28 2013, 06:17 PM

484 posts

QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ Jan 27 2013, 11:55 PM)
y u step on ppl ar... giv ppl some hope la.. we know u very high position.. dont need like that 1
I'm not on high position unfortunately. Completing my CFA in 2.5 yrs doesn't really help my job. It would help me probably if I'm in my first 5yrs of career, but after 20yrs working i regret shortening my life with the CFA.
Aloong
post Jan 28 2013, 06:20 PM

484 posts

I do hav (or rather had) a fren. He has degree in economic and political science fromLSE and the Masters from Princeton. A malaysian fresh grad which managed to work in Singapore's equivalent of Khazanah (dun wan mention which one but only 3 of them)
SUSalaskanbunny
post Jan 28 2013, 06:45 PM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(Aloong @ Jan 28 2013, 06:17 PM)
I'm not on high position unfortunately. Completing my CFA in 2.5 yrs doesn't really help my job. It would help me probably if I'm in my first 5yrs of career, but after 20yrs working i regret shortening my life with the CFA.
i know u got a stanford mba, cfa and drive a 7-series.. but please dont look down on us.. be humble notworthy.gif

a lot of malaysians after make big $$$ in sg become very papaya already doh.gif
MatXSelamat
post Jan 29 2013, 01:00 AM

41 posts

Just a quick one.

If i bought Electric Appliance for personal use worth SGD 300, do i need to declare it when going back to Malaysia? (at Malaysia kastam) smile.gif

126 Pages « < 96 97 98 99 100 > » Top

0.0340sec    0.50    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 12:45 AM