Oil & Gas Career v4, Technical Sharing & Career Opportunities

Stamp
post Jun 14 2013, 11:40 AM

4,864 posts

QUOTE(thesnake @ Jun 2 2013, 12:32 PM)
Gumusut has high safety requirement which requires rounds of procedures and checklists first before executing anything. This greatly contributes to the delays on the project.
Shell screwed-up FEED. They had to redesign the pontoons due to blunders in topsides weight estimates. That delayed the project close to 1.5 years.
azmirsafuan
post Jun 14 2013, 03:48 PM

87 posts

if there any chance for a Chemistry background to enter O&G?
What type of job that suit them?
Dealucis
post Jun 14 2013, 04:44 PM

28 posts

QUOTE(azmirsafuan @ Jun 14 2013, 03:48 PM)
Process Engineer
Well Engineer
Reservoir Engineer
Discipline Engineer
Production Engineer
Operations Engineer

All related to your field. But in general, as long as you have an engineering degree, you should be able to venture into any OnG engineering fields - design, construction, safety, management etc. It may be a tad tough for you to jump into electrical-related jobs, but if you start of at the right company and are willing to learn, it shouldn't be a problem either. So far I've only come across one electrical commissioning engineer coming from a chemical background.
abgkik
post Jun 14 2013, 04:45 PM

2,140 posts

QUOTE(Stamp @ Jun 14 2013, 11:40 AM)
Shell screwed-up FEED. They had to redesign the pontoons due to blunders in topsides weight estimates. That delayed the project close to 1.5 years.
That is why I wonder how safety become the main reason for delay.. hmm.gif
Grooveride
post Jun 16 2013, 01:47 PM

21 posts

Guys, couple of quick questions if it's okay:

1) What are the chances for a slightly older engineer (4-5 years exp in another engineering field) to be accepted for an entry level position for field engineering? Would he stand a better chance if he's applying to local companies rather than MNCs like Halli etc.? Also do note that he is not a bumiputera, not trying to play any racial cards, just being realistic.

2) Is there any particular trait/attribute/skill that a company is looking for in a field engineer besides an engineering degree? Basically what's the magic formula?

Grooveride
post Jun 16 2013, 01:47 PM

21 posts

Damn, double posted.

This post has been edited by Grooveride: Jun 16 2013, 07:55 PM
firdaus87
post Jun 16 2013, 06:38 PM

207 posts

Hi, i hve a room to be rented out in paka. Pm me for more info. Tq
azraeil
post Jun 16 2013, 06:56 PM

Prince of Ravens
4,286 posts

QUOTE(Stamp @ Jun 14 2013, 06:40 AM)
Eff Me, Shell spent close to USD200 million of Petronas money on FEED conducted in Houston some more ..... I had my reservations with the concrete slab concept but hey ... I was a kuchirat at the time.
Dealucis
post Jun 16 2013, 07:00 PM

28 posts

QUOTE(Grooveride @ Jun 16 2013, 01:47 PM)
Guys, couple of quick questions if it's okay:

1) What are the chances for a slightly older engineer (4-5 years exp in another engineering field) to be accepted for an entry level position for field engineering? Would he stand a better chance if he's applying to local companies rather than MNCs like Halli etc.? Also do note that he is not a bumiputera, not trying to play any racial cards, just being realistic.

2) Is there any particular trait/attribute/skill that a company is looking for in a field engineer besides an engineering degree? Basically what's the magic formula?
1. I've come across quite a few junior engineers who had prior experience in other sectors before jumping into OnG. Oldest I've seen is a 36-year-old with 10 years experience in the semicon industry. But of course, you have to be willing to take a pay cut to make the transition. You'll find it a lot easier to apply to local EPCC contractors rather than specialist companies, consultants or clients, mainly because they're always prepared to employ you as long as your application is approved by the client and if you're prepared to accept the salary they offer for a junior position. But of course, with the right network and capability, you won't be denied the chance to enter any MNCs.

2. For a field engineer, you'll have to be proactive, fit, easily adaptable and have the capacity to solve problems quickly. Magic formula? Connection.

Assuming you're below 30 years of age, I'd encourage you to make the jump, but make sure you have the passion and drive for the job you're aiming for, else your salary and position will remain stagnant. Good luck and all the best in your job hunt smile.gif
azraeil
post Jun 16 2013, 07:28 PM

Prince of Ravens
4,286 posts

QUOTE(azmirsafuan @ Jun 14 2013, 10:48 AM)
Should be okay. You can always apply for a research engineer position in Petronas research or the new EPTC. You can also look at the scope of those in Petrochemical units and I'm sure there will be some fit there as well.
Grooveride
post Jun 16 2013, 07:51 PM

21 posts

Thanks man.

Actually, I was asking because I have been sending my resume out to a number of companies ranging from big MNCs to the small local ones that I have heard of and I am quite disappointed that I am not getting any interviews at all from either. My resume isin't awesome but I don't think it's that that bad either, and it kinda demonstrates most of the attributes that you aforementioned, except say fit. Obviously, it lacks that magic touch of connection as well, but then there's only so much I can do about that; without looking like a bloody parasite.

At least, it's good to know that my age/situation won't really be a barrier for entry.

QUOTE(Dealucis @ Jun 16 2013, 07:00 PM)
but make sure you have the passion and drive for the job you're aiming for, else your salary and position will remain stagnant.
What do you mean by this? Is it relatively more difficult to progress as a field engineer? smile.gif
nash9701
post Jun 16 2013, 09:07 PM

looking for a bright future...
1,356 posts

QUOTE(Stamp @ Jun 14 2013, 11:40 AM)
hopefully RAPID FEED team (now in FRANCE), do not do the same things.....haha

(^__^)
uberlebender
post Jun 16 2013, 09:50 PM

115 posts

Hi All,

Anybody here can recommend a manpower agency for oil and gas offshore construction. Looking to try my luck in contract/freelance field engineer on-board construction barges. Currently permanent field engineer not getting proper rotation (2 months and more) and not getting the proper work-life balance (a week or so approved leave).

Local or non-local jobs is okay. Experience in offshore construction around 3 years but direct responsibility as field engineer less than a year. Just trying to catch that lucky 1st time freelance job.

This post has been edited by uberlebender: Jun 16 2013, 09:51 PM
mhyug
post Jun 16 2013, 10:11 PM

1,551 posts

QUOTE(azraeil @ Jun 16 2013, 06:56 PM)
Eff Me, Shell spent close to USD200 million of Petronas money on FEED conducted in Houston some more ..... I had my reservations with the concrete slab concept but hey ... I was a kuchirat at the time.
bro, long time no se biggrin.gif.

btw apakah itu kuchirat?? hmm.gif
azraeil
post Jun 16 2013, 10:31 PM

Prince of Ravens
4,286 posts

QUOTE(mhyug @ Jun 16 2013, 05:11 PM)
bro, long time no se biggrin.gif.

btw apakah itu kuchirat?? hmm.gif
Been super busy bro. Asyik aku je kena buat model. All the mat salleh pandai cakap and bagi advise je. Haih, at least the pay is good.
satz
post Jun 16 2013, 11:32 PM

310 posts

got intern offer from technip, anyone had experience over there??
k.mark45
post Jun 17 2013, 08:35 AM

150 posts

QUOTE(uberlebender @ Jun 16 2013, 09:50 PM)
Hi All,

Anybody here can recommend a manpower agency for oil and gas offshore construction. Looking to try my luck in contract/freelance field engineer on-board construction barges. Currently permanent field engineer not getting proper rotation (2 months and more) and not getting the proper work-life balance (a week or so approved leave).

Local or non-local jobs is okay. Experience in offshore construction around 3 years but direct responsibility as field engineer less than a year. Just trying to catch that lucky 1st time freelance job.
swift technical group. a Singapore company. they did recently contacted me for Miri offshore job.
uberlebender
post Jun 17 2013, 09:41 AM

115 posts

QUOTE(k.mark45 @ Jun 17 2013, 08:35 AM)
swift technical group. a Singapore company. they did recently contacted me for Miri offshore job.
Nice. Thanks! Will give them a try. Good experience with them? How about Kuipper International. Ever heard of them?
Celestine
post Jun 17 2013, 09:49 AM

150 posts

Hi Sifus,
I read the post on making the jump from one engineering industry to another. Recently i have been thinking to do the same but need some advice on my situation, i'm and EE engineer in a semicon MNC for 2 years and my degree is in EE. Would like to ask on what are the best ways for me to get into the OG industry and what companies i should look out for in attempting to do so...i tried shell so far but they do't seem to have engineering position open at the moment...
uberlebender
post Jun 17 2013, 10:07 AM

115 posts

QUOTE(Celestine @ Jun 17 2013, 09:49 AM)
Hi Sifus,
          I read the post on making the jump from one engineering industry to another. Recently i have been thinking to do the same but need some advice on my situation, i'm and EE engineer in a semicon MNC for 2 years and my degree is in EE. Would like to ask on what are the best ways for me to get into the OG industry and what companies i should look out for in attempting to do so...i tried shell so far but they do't seem to have engineering position open at the moment...
Try check out Jobstreet Singapore. Have vacancy for electrical engineer for Swiber, oil and gas offshore construction company.

135 Pages « < 129 130 131 132 133 > » Top

0.0322sec    0.60    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 11:44 AM