Oil & Gas Career v4, Technical Sharing & Career Opportunities

Stamp
post Sep 4 2012, 08:43 AM

4,864 posts

QUOTE(jenzlee @ Aug 30 2012, 06:37 PM)
Hi all the expert out there,I just graduate with second upper class at master degree in Chemical Engineering,I am keen to join the O&G industry,however I cannot find the way to join in the company.

As shell and Exxon that I applied do not reply to me.Recently I would want to try schlumberger,but the register account page seem like got some problem.anyone know how to create the account for schlumberger?or any tips to me in order to join the industry?

Thanks a lot
first time i heard of 2nd upper class degree at Masters level........ hmm.gif
Stamp
post Sep 18 2012, 01:38 PM

4,864 posts

QUOTE(hanizhan @ Sep 18 2012, 12:28 PM)
guys, what is the minimum qualificationto get job with oil and gas company...??
if you consider tea lady position in o&g company.........having a pass in UPSR might do.
Stamp
post Sep 20 2012, 02:26 PM

4,864 posts

QUOTE(sbsbsb @ Sep 19 2012, 06:34 PM)
Hi everyone, mind to share what is the job scope for cost control engineer in oil and gas field? Thanks!
if you are a cost control engineer in a project, your job is to periodically monitor the cost incurred during the project duration so that it is within the project budget. you are required to prepare cost summaries periodically; weekly or monthly, for the project.
Stamp
post Sep 23 2012, 06:39 PM

4,864 posts

QUOTE(thiri56 @ Sep 23 2012, 03:09 AM)
Thank you jkl1980 and jimbet1337 for your input. I have actually been working in a different consultancy firm for a year already doing highway and roads design, nothing to do with oil and gas. I really want to get into the oil&gas field. Do they have like any tests as part of the interview? must i read up on my steel structures? because it has been awhile since i designed any structures especially steel structures. what about the benefits in aker, in terms of medical and others? if you guys dont mind, can urll comment on the pay?
make sure you still remember the basics of Statics.

do you still remember how to draw and/or interpret 'Shear (V)' and 'Bending Moment (M)' diagrams?

This post has been edited by Stamp: Sep 23 2012, 06:41 PM
Stamp
post Sep 29 2012, 07:00 PM

4,864 posts

QUOTE(badyuan @ Sep 25 2012, 01:26 PM)
Grad is 3.5k
were you referring to masters degree starting pay scale?

i understood that for fresh degree graduate with first class honours or equivalent, starting is RM3K. second class honours starting between RM2.5k to RM2.7K.
Stamp
post Sep 30 2012, 09:00 PM

4,864 posts

QUOTE(badyuan @ Sep 29 2012, 10:14 PM)
No, I went for the interview once, they had gave us the company presentation by their "high level" stuff, and i got friend working inside, pretty sure that the right amount, btw they just revise the packages like less than 2o3month
well, if they had revised the starting salary, that's good news to fresh graduates.

Stamp
post Oct 10 2012, 07:59 PM

4,864 posts

QUOTE(positive energy @ Oct 10 2012, 07:00 PM)
For me, I would go for UTP in terms of relatively higher marketability in OnG upon graduation.
if he graduates with first class honours from either UTP or UTM, he has high chance of being called for a job interview in O&G industry.
Stamp
post Oct 16 2012, 02:32 PM

4,864 posts

instrumentation and controls engineering is not electronic based?
Stamp
post Oct 29 2012, 04:55 PM

4,864 posts

QUOTE(adambomb @ Oct 29 2012, 01:39 PM)
hello o&g seniors
i have a question here
if i further my studies doing master in petroleum engineering field
will that give me any advantage in getting a job in o&g industry?
how about the pay? any difference with degree holder?
for fresh graduates, the one with a masters degree will get slightly higher STARTING PAY than the guy with a first degree. but yearly salary increments will depend on work performance and sometimes company's performance.

Stamp
post Oct 29 2012, 05:01 PM

4,864 posts

Anyone interested to work in Labuan, Sabah?

Talisman (M) Ltd has many openings for its new office in Labuan. Sabahans are highly encouraged to apply.

Look up in its website for vacancies http://www.talisman-energy.com/careers/

Added on October 29, 2012, 5:03 pm
QUOTE(badyuan @ Oct 29 2012, 04:59 PM)
But not all company in Malaysia will appreciate the Master Degree , many of the MD just getting the same pay as the Bachelor Degree , Mostly just large MNC pay u SLIGHTLY higher than BD (Slightly like $100-$300)
true, only those in o&g consultancies will pay more for those with masters degree.

This post has been edited by Stamp: Oct 29 2012, 05:03 PM
Stamp
post Nov 3 2012, 10:08 PM

4,864 posts

QUOTE(azraeil @ Oct 31 2012, 09:06 PM)
Naah. The operator is Lundin. Carigali only has a 25% stake which means they leave it to the JV unit to take care of the assets.

By the way, I did the study on this field before, it's not a new discovery, they must have drilled another well in the other dome. The well in the saddle was wet which reduces the estimated in-place before. I did mentioned in my report that there is opportunity on the still undrilled southern dome.

Ohh PM307 is in Trengganu by the way, it is NOT in Pahang.
- i heard its 20% - 80% share, Carigali gets the smaller share. I know a few of the Lundin project team members.

- well...the gov could have shifted the borderline up north, you know... brows.gif really, how did the federal gov assign the border line between two adjacent states?

This post has been edited by Stamp: Nov 3 2012, 10:09 PM
Stamp
post Nov 4 2012, 05:49 PM

4,864 posts

QUOTE(azraeil @ Nov 4 2012, 01:28 PM)
Don't quote me on this but Petronas always assign block boundaries based on state boundaries and yes, they extend the state boundaries to the international boundaries.
i knew that, but how did they extend the line, going upwards, laterally or downwards? hmm.gif
Stamp
post Nov 7 2012, 07:37 PM

4,864 posts

QUOTE(kingozil8 @ Nov 6 2012, 05:16 PM)
If im not mistaken
Structural Engineer, Electrical Instrumentation Engineer, cool2.gif
also piping engineer, process engineer, etc.

Added on November 7, 2012, 7:39 pm
QUOTE(Xerxethable @ Nov 7 2012, 11:29 AM)
Nope, Foster Wheeler.
foster wheeler jv with OPE, the latter focus on upstream engineering (development, production, retrofit, etc.).

This post has been edited by Stamp: Nov 7 2012, 07:39 PM
Stamp
post Dec 9 2012, 10:07 PM

4,864 posts

QUOTE(x0x @ Dec 8 2012, 08:28 PM)
Structural fabrication engineering got three basically
1)shop dwgs - framing plans, layout, details which is detailed from AFC dwgs, detailed to beams/assembly no
2)NDE dwgs - plan dwgs which got welding joint nos and details
3)cutting plan - a cutting layout of plates,tubs with heat no.

Im not a structural eng, hope its correct
there's one more, as-built drawings. the AFC dwgs will be updated to 'As-Built' drawings to reflect the final built of the structures.
Stamp
post Dec 11 2012, 09:06 PM

4,864 posts

QUOTE(feekle @ Dec 11 2012, 11:23 AM)
Don't ever trust As-built drawings..always kena tipu by it..damn those consultant..lazy to do revision which reflect the actual built. Just stamped 'As-Built' then handover..even client also didnt properly review it.
Do you know that As-Built drawings are under the scope of work of the fabricator, and not the consultant?

The fabricator may sub-contract the As-Builting works to the consultant, and the fabricator is responsible to do a proper job in marking-up the AFC drawings to indicate any changes during fabrication.

The client is not supposed to do quality checks on fabricator's work. That's fabricator's responsibility and they are being paid for it.

Added on December 11, 2012, 9:09 pm
QUOTE(gates_way @ Dec 11 2012, 03:10 PM)
Dear all master/sifus,
I got two offers now. Downstream production engineer in Petronas Refinery. Upstream field engineer with baker.
Both are away from home =( one in kerteh, one in labuan. I prefer hands-on job, which both also can offer. Some says it's better to go to client's side. some says services company could let myself expose to more technical experience.
What masters/sifus here would say?
go for upstream, join baker. focus on learning the job as much as possible.

later (maybe after a decade) you join the client. big money down the road in later years.

This post has been edited by Stamp: Dec 11 2012, 09:10 PM
Stamp
post Dec 18 2012, 01:43 PM

4,864 posts

QUOTE(noruazumi @ Dec 18 2012, 01:07 PM)
Better for you to ask the employer directly. What I told are just stories that I heard. I never been there but some of my friends in Petronas already in Iraq for few months already for Garraf project and they are doing fine.
i wonder whether your Petronas friends are covered by insurance?
Stamp
post Dec 24 2012, 09:15 AM

4,864 posts

QUOTE(noruazumi @ Dec 18 2012, 02:28 PM)
I am not sure but I believe they are covered because they are Pet's staffs. This should be standard across Pet, I believe. Unless you are referring to specific insurance coverage.
I was wondering which insurance company would take the risk of covering Pet's staff in 'high-risk zones' like Iraq.
Stamp
post Dec 31 2012, 02:34 PM

4,864 posts

QUOTE(Fikri Alias @ Dec 28 2012, 05:40 PM)
Hi guys..im new here.Recently graduated in civil engineering,majoring in oil n gas upstream. Just want to ask some opinion from seniors, which opportunity offer me the best career development/future:

1) RWP Kerteh (Position: Civil / Structural Graduate Engineer)
2) Sapura Kencana (Position: Trainee Engineer)
3) Dialog Asia (Position: Plant Maintanence)
4) Cape Group (Position: Field Services Engineer)

Dont have any clue which offer might help me to be involved much in the industry in the future
Choose option 1).
Stamp
post Jan 7 2013, 03:29 PM

4,864 posts

QUOTE(k.mark45 @ Jan 7 2013, 01:20 PM)
design engineer - pipeline, structure etc. well mostly work in office.
also planning engineer, cost control engineer, contracts engineer, QS, etc...
Stamp
post Jan 9 2013, 02:21 PM

4,864 posts

QUOTE(k.mark45 @ Jan 8 2013, 03:28 PM)
my planning engineer were requested by client to go to offshore unfortunately. haha.
true...based on case to case basis.

those who work in o&g but do not want to go offshore at all should quit this industry. jadi tadika teachers will be the best option. thumbup.gif

0.0215sec    1.28    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 03:09 PM