Oil & Gas Career v4, Technical Sharing & Career Opportunities

uberlebender
post Jan 8 2013, 11:11 PM

115 posts

QUOTE(mikhael @ Jan 8 2013, 01:11 AM)
consultants company (emphasize on design engineers, and others except the offshore team itself) like technip, ranhill, aker hardly have their staffs go offshore. Just do design consultations and paper works on pc in office.
I am working for one of those companies mentioned as an engineer. After 1 year working, only one time go offshore for site visit. This happens only when there is a new brownfield project.

Been looking to go back installation contractor or even fabricator and finally have my chance at a break with two upcoming interviews. Hope all goes well. My eyesight gone bad already after too much time with the PC. Work 9 hours in front of PC + more than 2 hours of FB/forum etc.
uberlebender
post Jan 8 2013, 11:20 PM

115 posts

QUOTE(ethalion @ Jan 2 2013, 04:02 PM)
thats y i wanna jump to another ship
ald sent alot of resume thru jobstreet
but no 1 reply yet to me..
damn...
so demotivated dude..
cry.gif
your going through jobstreet. maybe that's your problem. unless you have top grades and many years of experience, best you use networking as most companies have internal job opportunities or directly call companies for hr department regarding hr.

just sharing my experience as i know that's how i got my last few job offers and current new interviews.
uberlebender
post Jan 17 2013, 08:28 AM

115 posts

Hi fellow forummers.

Anybody working with client? As engineer or HR? Would experience as field engineer with OIC help to get project engineer position with client after a few years?
uberlebender
post Jan 20 2013, 11:13 PM

115 posts

Anybody here want to share their experience offshore?

I have seen snakes, dolphins, and even a dead body!!

And how do you cope with 1 month or more time away offshore? Longest i have been is 2 months but I'm hearing stories of even 3 months.

I only do it for the experience and money, and I hope to be able to move into project management with client after 5 years total of engineering with consultant and operation experience with main contractor.

Anybody working with client and can share roles and requirements of project engineer? For reference only.
uberlebender
post Jan 22 2013, 12:33 AM

115 posts

QUOTE(Stamp @ Jan 21 2013, 02:44 PM)
I could never sleep well when I went offshore for short visits. I always missed the 5am safety talks  blush.gif ; but the platform supervisors never bothered us. Probably we're on the platform for only a few days. But we had to work fast to complete our works on the platform due to the short stay. Food was plenty, only the quality had not been as good as before like in the 90's. Cut cost punya hal... nod.gif
My first job experience was hands-on and at times very demanding. It was always the best feeling to be able to go to bed. Hahaha.

Food is good too since you're fed so many times in a day. I gained a a good 10 kg in a duration of 1+ years but of course not solely because of that. Hahaha.
uberlebender
post Jan 22 2013, 07:22 PM

115 posts

QUOTE(Stamp @ Jan 22 2013, 02:25 PM)
you need to differentiate between food QUANTITY and food QUALITY. you were referring to food QUANTITY offshore, but i was talking of food QUALITY. yes, it's true that food QUANTITY is no issue on the platforms, there's alway plenty of food to go around. but the food QUALITY had gone down, not necessarily bad, but not as good as before.
That's true. But I don't notice that it has gone down since I've only been working offshore for 3 years. But I do notice that it varies one place to another. My experience are mostly on construction barges.
uberlebender
post Jan 22 2013, 07:43 PM

115 posts

QUOTE(thesnake @ Jan 22 2013, 07:19 PM)
usually only 2-3 weeks max for me, cannot tahan more than that cos away from gf and family
What type of offshore work do you do? Do you get to determine length of stay? I wish I could go for short rotations but that's not the case for the offshore construction.
uberlebender
post Jan 22 2013, 08:59 PM

115 posts

QUOTE(acgerlok7 @ Jan 22 2013, 08:33 PM)
Wow..OK...haha...i will work hard to achieve my dream of working in O n G... yeah, its true to a certain extent, cos i see, even in my colg, oni 4 guys have an intention of majoring in Petroleum Engineering.
Try looking up Hays Oil and Gas salary report 2012. Drilling engineers make big money without even needing to be offshore for long periods like people in offshore construction do. But I guess being involved in the actual drilling is more direct to the resource (that translates to money) it makes sense.
uberlebender
post Jan 24 2013, 06:31 PM

115 posts

QUOTE(yunodie @ Jan 22 2013, 10:42 PM)
feeding fishes with food leftovers! hundreds of sardines bigger than a cat scrambled for it!

whats your story about the dead body??
QUOTE(camel_active @ Jan 23 2013, 09:36 AM)
love to know dis story..plis plis plis..tell us about ur experience.. biggrin.gif
I was in Surabaya. We had a construction project near-shore. Suddenly a dead body just floated by one of the material barge (away from the construction). So the story is that near shore is the Surabaya red light district, and the body (she) might have been a prostitute that was killed and thrown offshore. The body was already white-dead and bloated. I was in shock for a few minutes.....then continued work. LOL.
uberlebender
post Jan 24 2013, 08:56 PM

115 posts

QUOTE(ch_teo @ Jan 24 2013, 08:38 PM)
Quality control inspector confirmed dead, another one still missing

many years ago, an ex-course mate with I together attended a weekend short course. before attended the course, he was with slb and would be posted to Iraq. he immediately tendered his resignation and joined the company that sponsored him this short weekend course that time.
RIP
uberlebender
post Jan 29 2013, 08:07 PM

115 posts

QUOTE(InF.anime @ Jan 28 2013, 01:30 AM)
You watch too much Life of Pi?
No. Only watched it once. And what are you trying to imply? You've got anything to share?
uberlebender
post Jan 29 2013, 08:40 PM

115 posts

QUOTE(mh70 @ Jan 28 2013, 11:19 AM)
Hi all, may I know which company got hire fresh grad with quantity survey qualification in Kuala Lumpur? From what I have been go through, only those operating company and some big companies will hire qs qualification as cost estimator. I hope I can find a job which I can join such as contractor or sub con company or other small companies as estimator to gain my experience in this sector. Thank you.
I believe consultants such as Ranhill WorleyParsons, Technip, Aker etc hire graduate quantity surveyors although the number is small compared to graduates from other discipline. They are part of the civil-structural department.
uberlebender
post Feb 3 2013, 10:46 PM

115 posts

QUOTE(sblitzz @ Jan 31 2013, 05:21 PM)
Hi to all sifu-sifu here,..

I'm Vicki..i have recently completed my degree program for Mechanical course. Yes, I'm a fresh graduate. Im currently employed in a m&e consultation firm.
I have applied for various O&G company and one of it is ExxonMobil. The vacancy is for Production Technician position. A lady from the HR departmnt called me today for verification. It was like a short interview via phone. She asked me to wait for the second call soon.

Please guide me here,..

1- Is it worth joining for this position with a degree cert in my hand?
2- How far can i go?
3- I heard the company will bond me for 5 years or something.. what happens after 5 years?
4 - She asked my salary range. I said not sure of the current market rate. Whats the pay like for this position?

Please help me here. I need ur feedbacks to prepare myself.

thanks to all sifu here
Just my two cents. You're young. There is no harm in going through the technician route. Your tecnician work experience + your degree would easily upgrade you beyond the average picky fresh graduate. In 1-2 years, they would be complaining low salary, want to join the oil and gas industry while you can consider internally upgrading, or going to another client/operator.

Just clarify if the bond is for the company or for the position. Of course being young and ambitious you want to upgrade beyond technician position after 1-2 years.

If answer is for company instead of the position I say go for it! 5 years (even if true), with a super company is NOT a bad thing.
uberlebender
post Feb 8 2013, 05:26 PM

115 posts

QUOTE(BaRT @ Feb 8 2013, 03:12 PM)
Hi all,
Does anybody here working as contract administrator?

Currently, I'm accepting offer with one of big player around kl...
I have a QS background with experience 12 years before,
but, never involve with any O&G before....

yes...talking about building, C&S...I quiet savvy about it & familiar with all contractual matters & not limited to site work, procedure, etc...

but when joining O&G, even the fundamental is almost same, only different in nature of work, it still take some time for me to learn & understand....

I try to search any source or reading material about it & hard to find (such handbook with illustration) ... so if anybody have it appreciate could you share with me...

oh ya... I'm in charged for HUC work.. 

Cheers...
I have some course notes on HUCC from a free seminar I went to. Not much on contracts but I guess could give you some idea of what is involved in HUCC.
uberlebender
post Feb 22 2013, 11:47 PM

115 posts

QUOTE(rwrrr87 @ Feb 19 2013, 12:18 PM)
Hai,
Not sure if this is the right thread to post my question, but would appreciate any help. Im currently finding a place to carry out my industrial training(Mechanical Eng). My CGPA is lower than 3 (almost 3 but not quite there yet). Im really interested in the Oil and Gas industry more towards drilling. Just wondering, what are my chances. Which company can I apply? And also I am a female. Does this lower my chances?
I know for a fact that Transocean accepts female interns and sends them for offshore assignments. But then again there are other factors such as length of internship, current projects etc.

Whatever it is, there is no harm in giving all these drilling contractors a call.

Heads up, JX Nippon Oil & Gas Exploration (Deepwater Sabah) Limited and Baker Hughes both recently advertised for Junior Drilling Engineer positions (I rarely see these positions advertised) so maybe they won't mind using interns as cheap labour.
uberlebender
post Jun 16 2013, 09:50 PM

115 posts

Hi All,

Anybody here can recommend a manpower agency for oil and gas offshore construction. Looking to try my luck in contract/freelance field engineer on-board construction barges. Currently permanent field engineer not getting proper rotation (2 months and more) and not getting the proper work-life balance (a week or so approved leave).

Local or non-local jobs is okay. Experience in offshore construction around 3 years but direct responsibility as field engineer less than a year. Just trying to catch that lucky 1st time freelance job.

This post has been edited by uberlebender: Jun 16 2013, 09:51 PM
uberlebender
post Jun 17 2013, 09:41 AM

115 posts

QUOTE(k.mark45 @ Jun 17 2013, 08:35 AM)
swift technical group. a Singapore company. they did recently contacted me for Miri offshore job.
Nice. Thanks! Will give them a try. Good experience with them? How about Kuipper International. Ever heard of them?
uberlebender
post Jun 17 2013, 10:07 AM

115 posts

QUOTE(Celestine @ Jun 17 2013, 09:49 AM)
Hi Sifus,
          I read the post on making the jump from one engineering industry to another. Recently i have been thinking to do the same but need some advice on my situation, i'm and EE engineer in a semicon MNC for 2 years and my degree is in EE. Would like to ask on what are the best ways for me to get into the OG industry and what companies i should look out for in attempting to do so...i tried shell so far but they do't seem to have engineering position open at the moment...
Try check out Jobstreet Singapore. Have vacancy for electrical engineer for Swiber, oil and gas offshore construction company.
uberlebender
post Jun 17 2013, 12:26 PM

115 posts

QUOTE(oilhunter @ Jun 17 2013, 10:36 AM)
Try to visit www.oilcareers.com there is a lot of vacancy all over the world
Thanks. I will try my luck here as well.
uberlebender
post Jun 20 2013, 02:41 PM

115 posts

QUOTE(nikridhwan @ Jun 20 2013, 02:21 PM)
Quick question guys..

Intern with a o&g consultant company or petronas would be better?

Better interms of future and what experience I gain.
Good thing about being an intern is that you get to know the recruiter directly, whom you can contact in the future for job applications. One foot in.

Intern for Petronas would probably boost your future resume more than intern with consultant. Although you might learn more in consultant company. Just my two cents.

0.0647sec    1.00    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 09:15 PM