157 Pages « < 29 30 31 32 33 > » Bottom

Shell Recruitment Day (SRD), What's all about ... and Shell Lounge

IMAX
post Jul 12 2007, 10:32 PM

445 posts

how's the salary and allowance for an account associate in SSSC-KL?
Casanova
post Jul 13 2007, 12:04 AM

98 posts

QUOTE(vvv @ Jun 12 2007, 03:59 AM)
normally what will be asked in the phone interview and how long it's gonna take?
Phone interview is just short, want to hear your voice and the way you speak. Talk about you and some basic stuff like years of exp, how u handle situation and conflict, how can u help out in the position, etc. How long? 30 - 60 min.

QUOTE(soulmad @ Jun 12 2007, 06:30 PM)
hey man i heard shell hiring need follow up AGENCY to sign up??
is that true??
Yes, techsap, micom, etc. Unless ur bright to come in via SRD which many complain is quite hard and troublesome.

QUOTE(Savor_Savvy @ Jun 14 2007, 08:41 PM)
I also wanna know...anyone can guide us?
U've been guided.

QUOTE(tishaban @ Jun 14 2007, 10:10 PM)
My informal phone interview was about one hour. Actual interview was longer.
It is supposed to be like that. It doesnt make sense the other way around.

QUOTE(Savor_Savvy @ Jun 15 2007, 11:57 AM)
I think im more worried in the technical questions. Engineering ques are tough to answer, unless it's a very basic one. Thanks for the advices....appreciate it. biggrin.gif

Added on June 16, 2007, 12:53 amIf i'm not sure of an answer, or i dunno how to answer, what should i say? Should i say..."Sorry, i'm not very sure about that"?...or???? icon_question.gif
U shd know what u study or will-be-working as right? They wont ask u anything too hard like shell-specific technology & etc. They will ask u general knowledge only, general tech question.

Not sure also bang, dont say not sure. Customer ask u, also u must be able to bullshit first right? U want to tell customer not sure? Then if u who is the IT ppl say not sure, who is sure then? If u not sure, hire u waste time izzit?

QUOTE(dinozilla @ Jun 16 2007, 09:27 AM)
if u r fresh.....they will expect not too much from u la....
won too advance....but if u can giv advanced answer....sure impress them....then higher chance la.....
rule of thumb....be confident....and be honest....
integrity is one of the core value in Shell....
They will not expect too much from u. Afterall, fresh grad are like cheap labor, hire in bulk.

QUOTE(hikashi @ Jun 18 2007, 04:19 PM)
My phone interview only last  around 30mins. Would that be a problem?
I applied for internship for 2 months, anyhow.
They sent me an email that looks roughly like this
I was told that it is better to have longer intership than shorter internship? What i mean is that they would rather recruiter interns who wants to work longer.
No problem about 30 min phone interview. Intern work there usually for 6 months... known as trainee. 2 months? before they even setup account and password for u, u leaving d - waste time.

QUOTE(McDee @ Jun 19 2007, 12:53 AM)
I was told by HR personnel that the next SRD should be around 2 weeks time. Has anyone been invited for the upcoming SRD? Anyone knows the exact date?
Dunno and not sure, no exact dates. When they inform enough ppl, they will conduct a session of SRD. No particular date.

QUOTE(stinkysockz @ Jun 19 2007, 02:39 AM)
Any of u guys n girls got the job n starting work in July?

oh.  btw, there is no exact date for SRD. They will call u up when there is a business requirement (position) which u are suitable for consideration and evaluation according to your resume and 1st interview. Therefore, one person's invitation to SRD might differ from another person.
correct!

QUOTE(lexta @ Jun 19 2007, 11:35 AM)
I had pass thru phone interview so now they want face to face interview.
Anybody know how second interview is?Wat question they gonna ask?
conflict management
teamwork
ur future
what u can do
technical question maybe 1 - 3

QUOTE(tishaban @ Jun 19 2007, 12:33 PM)
I had two formal face to face interviews, in addition to the phone interview. Basically technical & process in the first interview and HR stuff in the second.
SRD or via recruitment agencies?

QUOTE(lexta @ Jun 19 2007, 01:17 PM)
thanks for the info
seems like not easy to be hired by shell
It is easy, dont be scared.

QUOTE(Pennywise @ Jun 20 2007, 11:48 AM)
All i have to say is that if you are applying for a technical position, then you should know your stuff. Simple as that.
agreed strongly.

QUOTE(gapo @ Jun 20 2007, 03:50 PM)
I just got the job offer from Shell. Only last week did my medical check up. I applied in February 2007 and only got the offer letter in May 2007.  For phone interview normally done by the HR recruiter . My phone interview was done by a recruiter who just join Shell for 1 month only  and so my phone interview was simple and direct to  the point. They will be asking about background, work experience details and the important thing is your qualification. You have to be very details of your certificate , qualification , duration of study. If there is is any discepancy between your submission and your information in the phone interview , chance are they will seek clarification first before they can proceed further . For my SRD , I was called in Miri where they give free accomodation and flight tickets. During the SRD which last 3 hours , will be a challenge and you have to be really confident and know what to say and answer .  Tips:- most of the time the interviewer will be doing a lot of writing while you answer the question given. So if they suddenly look at you while you answer that means your answer is not right or some part that they should ask you to reconsider back your answer. So you have to give the answer in  other scenario in case they stop writing. It happens to me one time where i answer wrongly and the interviewer stop writing and repeat back the question . If you don't understand the question , please say so and ask the interviewer what does it means. They don't expect you to be 100% perfect. They just an honest answer from you and don't be afraid to admit that you are wrong . They just want to know how you solve the problems.

Ok. I am babbling too much .....hope my experience will help you all who will be going for SRD.
thanks for sharing the detail!

QUOTE(dinozilla @ Jun 20 2007, 06:05 PM)
restate again the value lo.....
Integrity.....honesty.....
u dont remember? neither do i.. its crap.

Added on July 13, 2007, 12:11 am
QUOTE(lexta @ Jun 20 2007, 08:57 PM)
Just back from second interview
Hmm not easy though for second interview need to sit for exam
One is always hard than the other. Relax.

QUOTE(606088 @ Jun 20 2007, 10:04 PM)
i would like to ask, izzit there any intership offer by Shell?
Trainee program for 6 months. 2 months is not enough as 1st month is always slack and lepak, waiting for training and more training and preparation of user account, password and etc.

QUOTE(kevler @ Jun 22 2007, 11:57 AM)
1 thing i love about SHELL is their attire ...u can wear jeans and t-shirt ...

but not for any company ..their still stucked and maintain their smart-ass ...

for US-based company , technical person able to casual jeans ....but in Malaysia ..it seems like a taboo ...they dont want to wear casual apparel ...as they want to keep client feels right towards them ....arghhh....
Jeans and t-shirt, what more can we ask for except work in Google can bring pets? Even ExxonMobil has to wear formal except for Fri.

QUOTE(mushr00m @ Jul 3 2007, 04:49 PM)
Bro,

I do love SITI for the attire.. I used to wear jeans, round neck t-shirts and sports shoes almost everyday when I was there..  thumbup.gif

But my new beloved company allow me to wear the same thing as well..  rclxm9.gif
What new company u joined?

QUOTE(DarReNz @ Jul 4 2007, 01:44 AM)
can u guys tell me what are the recruitment agents for Shell ?
www.micom.com.my - it helped many of my fren got in.

QUOTE(cwtien @ Jul 4 2007, 11:31 AM)
ProMicom is the most prominent one.
agreed

QUOTE(speedfamgirl @ Jul 10 2007, 01:30 PM)
but once obtained...you would want to seek somewhere else...
disagree - why do u said so? were u there before? Kindly clarify ur answer cause it seems doubtful and discouraging for the new joiners.

QUOTE(KidsCode @ Jul 10 2007, 03:19 PM)
Just to inform that SITI is having a mass recruitment for 1st level Helpdesk this coming 14th and 28th July.

I know that there is alot of say about how bad is the job, but if want to try it out (especially fresh grad) and love the a good pay, why not...

For any1 interested, PM me your email address so that I can send you job specs / description with any queries.
wahhhh... Shell need Helpdesk that badly meh? May I know the pay range for Helpdesk?

QUOTE(DarReNz @ Jul 11 2007, 12:55 AM)
so far outsource contender would be CSA, IBM and HP ......
and EDS, u missed out.

QUOTE(dinozilla @ Jul 11 2007, 01:54 PM)
freshgrad for helpdesk support.... blink.gif

rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif

noooooooo

icon_question.gif  icon_question.gif  icon_question.gif  icon_question.gif

more work for me liao..... doh.gif  doh.gif
Why do u behave like its part of ur job when its not related to ur job even? If u do ur job more properly, helpdesk wont have so many problems to deal with. Small fry trying to act big is it?

QUOTE(shaquenator @ Jul 11 2007, 09:46 PM)
can u put here the address here as well as the job scope here. better than all people PM u and then u need to PM all of them the job scope....
Helpdesk job scope?
answer calls
layan ppl
support
search knowledge base for solution
apply solution
help ppl
if cannot resolve in 15 - 20 min, escalate to 2nd lvl
rinse and repeat*

QUOTE(DarReNz @ Jul 12 2007, 01:05 AM)
who else going to shell ? i remember got transport allowance ....
Transport allowance? since when?

This post has been edited by Casanova: Jul 13 2007, 12:11 AM
travis_ckf
post Jul 13 2007, 10:55 AM

ambitious but rubbish......
6,413 posts

Speaking about shell outsourcing, i heard HP and EDS are the winners but now they splitting up which divisions they going to take. What i heard as well EDS is taking care of helpdesk while HP will take care the servers, any comments?
DarReNz
post Jul 14 2007, 03:15 AM

7,496 posts

I agree .... cos the task of servers are very messy and I heard that HP did won another bid from a US company whereby servers was with HP and Desktop & others was with EDS .....

This post has been edited by DarReNz: Jul 14 2007, 03:17 AM
gapo
post Jul 16 2007, 09:47 AM

34 posts

QUOTE(vvv @ Jul 9 2007, 08:42 PM)
wat position u get?
Contracts Administrator. They pay more than RM 10K
lexta
post Jul 16 2007, 09:53 AM

490 posts

Hi Casanova
Thanks for your reply
Woww u reply most of the forumer questions smile.gif
Anyway i will be joining shell next month

This post has been edited by lexta: Jul 16 2007, 09:54 AM
DarReNz
post Jul 16 2007, 06:18 PM

7,496 posts

QUOTE(lexta @ Jul 16 2007, 09:53 AM)
Hi Casanova
Thanks for your reply
Woww u reply most of the forumer questions smile.gif
Anyway i will be joining shell next month
i won't be surprise if u are still there u be put to EDS or HP later on ......

This post has been edited by DarReNz: Jul 16 2007, 06:21 PM
Casanova
post Jul 17 2007, 10:41 PM

98 posts

I'm wondering where you guys heard about EDS taking the client end and HP taking the server end?

I think it still have not been concluded lor. I asked two team leads from SHELL also not much of a feedback. Where did you get your sources from? Reliable?
KidsCode
post Jul 17 2007, 10:44 PM

-----NoLimits!-----
6,649 posts

QUOTE(shaquenator @ Jul 11 2007, 09:46 PM)
can u put here the address here as well as the job scope here. better than all people PM u and then u need to PM all of them the job scope....
The Add:

Shell Information Technology International Sdn Bhd
2340 Century Square
63000 Cyberjaya
Selangor Darul Ehsan
Malaysia
Tel : +603 8313 3888

Im not posting the whole jobscope as i feel it is so long, take up alot of space and better to those 1 are interested

QUOTE(DarReNz @ Jul 12 2007, 01:05 AM)
who else going to shell ? i remember got transport allowance ....
the house and transport allowance its only for shell payroll stuff, and that is getting RM 1K

QUOTE(Casanova @ Jul 13 2007, 12:04 AM)
wahhhh... Shell need Helpdesk that badly meh? May I know the pay range for Helpdesk?
yup, need about 20 ppl for the positions

bout the pay range will be like about RM 130 - RM 160 daily, working days... i heard maybe more if youre experience

QUOTE(travis_ckf @ Jul 13 2007, 10:55 AM)
Speaking about shell outsourcing, i heard HP and EDS are the winners but now they splitting up which divisions they going to take. What i heard as well EDS is taking care of helpdesk while HP will take care the servers, any comments?
really ??? tongue.gif

This post has been edited by KidsCode: Jul 17 2007, 10:50 PM
DarReNz
post Jul 17 2007, 11:45 PM

7,496 posts

QUOTE(KidsCode @ Jul 17 2007, 10:44 PM)

the house and transport allowance its only for shell payroll stuff, and that is getting RM 1K

wow 1k ... like dat have to wait 1 year then get converted to perm .......
musclemass
post Jul 18 2007, 12:18 AM

934 posts

QUOTE(KidsCode @ Jul 10 2007, 03:19 PM)
Just to inform that SITI is having a mass recruitment for 1st level Helpdesk this coming 14th and 28th July.

I know that there is alot of say about how bad is the job, but if want to try it out (especially fresh grad) and love the a good pay, why not...

For any1 interested, PM me your email address so that I can send you job specs / description with any queries.
How's the pay like?
dinozilla
post Jul 18 2007, 10:42 AM

1,680 posts

QUOTE(DarReNz @ Jul 17 2007, 11:45 PM)
wow 1k ... like dat have to wait 1 year then get converted to perm .......
time....is running out.... blush.gif
Mavik
post Jul 18 2007, 05:07 PM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

I wonder where you guys get all the news in terms of outsourcing contracts being won by EDS and HP. Quite interesting but how sure are you that it is reliable?
jasonlim
post Jul 18 2007, 10:20 PM

Bunga(R)
3,575 posts

i heard there is a walk-in interview on 28th..anybody has info on tht?
kevler
post Jul 19 2007, 12:38 AM

trading in the zone
2,939 posts

QUOTE(jasonlim @ Jul 18 2007, 10:20 PM)
i heard there is a walk-in interview on 28th..anybody has info on tht?
no heard info yet .

maybe alot of ppl are feel disappointed with SHELL , especially salary and other benefits , then they left SHELL as they not able to get more salary

SHELL = play hard, work hard? i dont think so ...

this quote are correct for certain department , but not helpdesk CTS .hahahaha...

ataris
post Jul 19 2007, 12:44 AM

Eyes of a Gamer
1,635 posts

whats the minimum cgpa needed to work with SHELL ?
vvv
post Jul 19 2007, 01:20 AM

835 posts

QUOTE(gapo @ Jul 16 2007, 09:47 AM)
Contracts Administrator. They pay more than RM 10K
mind 2 explain a bit on the job.
sorry quite noob.
wat degree u need for tat post?
speedfamgirl
post Jul 19 2007, 10:57 AM

Not afraid of #138
1,900 posts

QUOTE(kevler @ Jul 19 2007, 12:38 AM)
no heard info yet .

maybe alot of ppl are feel disappointed with SHELL , especially salary and other benefits , then they left SHELL as they not able to get more salary
SHELL = play hard, work hard? i dont think so ...
this quote are correct for certain department , but not helpdesk CTS .hahahaha...
our case:

SHELL = HELL = E11
DarReNz
post Jul 19 2007, 07:39 PM

7,496 posts

i think contract admin is based on sales that's why can get 10k .....

This post has been edited by DarReNz: Jul 19 2007, 07:40 PM
sukhoi35mk
post Jul 20 2007, 10:07 AM

420 posts

tongue.gif Finally, I've received an initiation from shell for a 4 hours interview with 3 of their interviewers next week at shell house after a week of my 30 minutes telephone interview. Wah...this shall be my longest interview session I ever sit in.... rclxub.gif rclxub.gif

157 Pages « < 29 30 31 32 33 > » Top

0.1673sec    0.46    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 12:53 AM