Shell Recruitment Day (SRD), What's all about ... and Shell Lounge

kevler
post Mar 9 2007, 12:55 PM

trading in the zone
2,939 posts

QUOTE(littleway @ Mar 8 2007, 02:51 PM)
Then where does SITI staff normally stay at? I currently at Cyberia.. This place is hell..
Are u already work in SHELL now ? Then what department u working for ?

kevler
post Mar 14 2007, 02:43 PM

trading in the zone
2,939 posts

i'm just waiting for SHELL to initialize their outsourcing thingy

kevler
post Mar 14 2007, 06:40 PM

trading in the zone
2,939 posts

QUOTE(dinozilla @ Mar 14 2007, 04:07 PM)
why?? what's ur intention here...
hehe..nothing ..

SHELL will adopt outsourcing end of this year ...i just hope SHELL will pick their best outsource company to maintain their business
kevler
post Mar 21 2007, 01:53 AM

trading in the zone
2,939 posts

QUOTE(JMFranklin @ Mar 14 2007, 06:43 PM)
Which division are they going to adopt the outsourcing?
not just SITI but the whole GITI

SITI = SHELL IT Infrastructure

GITI = Global IT Infrastructure

kevler
post Mar 26 2007, 11:43 AM

trading in the zone
2,939 posts

QUOTE(dinozilla @ Mar 22 2007, 11:51 PM)
hahaha....
hard to say de....
the scope will be more of definition term than group term...
u ll need to see the chart to understand (P&C applied?)
anyway.....this outsource topic kinda OOT here......
ok ...*OFFTOPIC*

The reason behind outsoucing is for the company (Shell) to concentrate on their core business and outsource non-core function which would be done more cost effective with higher efficiency. It is expected that some cost savings are realized in the long run and it is easier for the Company to only monitor the performance of the outsourced party through Service Level Agreement (SLA).

In most cases, it is almost like saying that after the outsourcing has been decided, the company do not want to retain the existing staff in the related services and as such would transfer them to the outsourced company. Therefore there would normally be a deal or arrangement that would be made between the outsourced party and the company to take whatever staff involved in the existing operations. Under normal practice, the staff who are required to be transferred should be offered similar terms if not better than the terms currently enjoyed. In many cases there will be few staff who would not want to accept the transfer but it is not known what kind of work they would do if the choose to stay in their existing company.

There are many success stories about outsourcing, i.e both companies, achieve win-win. However in other cases, the service tend to deteriorate and the company decide to terminate the contract and take back all the staff.

Therefore my advise is if you cannot choose to stay in Shell, then get the union to negotiate for a really good deal before signing any offer. It is common that the allowances previously enjoyed in Shell may not be offered by the new company, but in exchange the staff would receive higher salary like, say 25% to 50% or increase depending on which allowance is taken away. In any case it is best to negotiate thoroughly before agreeing to the transfer. Once you accept, then you are no longer Shell staff.

moral = IT is SHELL non-core business even they built infrastructure in SITI SHELL CYBERJAYA.SHELL always remain as oil&gas company, not IT company like Google or HP. Thus we have to accept their decision for outsourcing thingy.

SHELL only give permanent status to management ppl , oil&gas engineer, reservoir engineer , geophysicist engineer , geologist engineer and so forth .

EOF

kevler
post Mar 27 2007, 01:18 PM

trading in the zone
2,939 posts

QUOTE(KidsCode @ Mar 27 2007, 12:54 PM)
now this is not true, not IT in SITI also able to get, more likely have permanent staff...
please gimme some examples.

not IT = management , accounting ?
kevler
post Mar 27 2007, 04:35 PM

trading in the zone
2,939 posts

hehe..no big deal ..

i hope all the helpdesk ppl can go to another team ...i'm ex-helpdesk in SHELL before ..cannot tahan with stupid user ...so i joined engineering team in another company ..i dont want to waste my talent
kevler
post Mar 27 2007, 06:26 PM

trading in the zone
2,939 posts

QUOTE(dinozilla @ Mar 27 2007, 06:04 PM)
haha....this is funny man.....guess wat...
u r fed up wit user
while i m crack with the 2nd level support.....
they jz simply do their work(i would say not up to par)
end up i hav to do the work(which should done by them earlier)
from my point, 2nd lvl sup in SITI is not up to par (for certain region)
a little bit of like....wasted resource from shell for hiring them...
jz my 2c......they should have been able to do more well.....
they jz really disappointing in certain incidents.....
i agreed with some point u gave.

they are just follow what runbook (manual) says ., then they work on those incident/case.

i'm glad out from SHELL ,because i never love to be helpdesk/CSA , frank from my heart.

CSA = customer service agent

p/s is it same with CSA/CSC company ? wahahahah laugh.gif

my advice : learn the rules , because rules are made to be broken

kevler
post Mar 28 2007, 10:49 AM

trading in the zone
2,939 posts

QUOTE(babana @ Mar 27 2007, 10:31 PM)
does anyone know of any cheaper parking spots for shell damansara other than menara  chase perdana? went there for 3 hrs+ today n the parking cost me RM10.50!!! tmw goin there whole day...if were to park there again gonna die la...pokai liao!!!  cry.gif  cry.gif  cry.gif
be mat rempit laa ...ride the bike ...even i'm having more salary nowadays , i'm still travel with my bike

u know why ? there's alot of reason

1. pracktical and efficient
2. pracktical and efficient
3. pracktical and efficient
n. pracktical and efficient

p/s after i got 5 figure salary ..then i will think to buy car laugh.gif

This post has been edited by kevler: Mar 28 2007, 10:50 AM
kevler
post Mar 28 2007, 04:29 PM

trading in the zone
2,939 posts

yerp ...very near ...but if company want me to be on-site then i will use car..

u know why ...? i can claim mileage from my company

p/s it's a nice day to be alive
kevler
post Mar 29 2007, 01:33 PM

trading in the zone
2,939 posts

QUOTE(jackoz @ Mar 29 2007, 12:52 PM)
Hi everyone,

I'm going to start a job at Shell soon. The position is Security Operation Administrator. Dealing with linux/unix server kernel. Anyone have any idea how is the job environment there? Is it a good department to work for? What do i need to take note of? Thanks in advance.

Jackoz
haha..u will know and learn more what is COBIT, SOX ,HIPAA , BS7799,ISO17799 , export compliance, yada yada , blabla

trust domain too

please cover yourself with all those what i told u , smile.gif
kevler
post Mar 29 2007, 02:48 PM

trading in the zone
2,939 posts

sorry to say ..but i'm not working at SHELL anymore ..

because SHELL not 100% IT company biggrin.gif
kevler
post Mar 29 2007, 03:48 PM

trading in the zone
2,939 posts

QUOTE(jackoz @ Mar 29 2007, 03:34 PM)
ic... is it tru dat this dept sometimes have to work till late nite during financial year end or audit time?
not quite sure dude , because i'm not in security team .

maybe they do that to prevent any security violation when they do audit , who knows rclxms.gif
kevler
post Mar 29 2007, 05:26 PM

trading in the zone
2,939 posts

QUOTE(jackoz @ Mar 29 2007, 04:37 PM)
u r with Shell for how long? wat's wrong with Shell being not an IT company? y do u leave  Shell? i tot they have good benefit n bonus? u r working for wat company now? sorry for asking so many question. biggrin.gif
u r with Shell for how long?

not even a year

wat's wrong with Shell being not an IT company?

because SHELL have its own business in many field ==> refinery, services, chemical, engineering and so forth .

Like HP and IBM, they concentrate 100% in IT industry and i cleared of what business nature they running now

y do u leave Shell?

i left SHELL not because of SHELL itself , it is because i dont like the environment in my department , being call-center guy , some of my friend got f*ck from user whom called ..damned ..some more i'm suprise that in job description, they never mention about helpdesk or call center ...sh*t , they used another word to cover what operation looks like ...e.g technical support , consultant , damned

i tot they have good benefit n bonus? u r working for wat company now?

Bonus is for SHELL permanent , and at time , i'm just a contract staff , furthermore SHELL wanna outsource , i feel sad for those ppl whom wanna convert to permanent but can't get it , UNLESS , they try to join another department to get permanent status , like security computer operation .

sorry for asking so many question.

it's ok .. no hassle wink.gif
kevler
post Mar 30 2007, 10:11 AM

trading in the zone
2,939 posts

this incoming June or July , SHELL ppl will be using vista as their desktop ..hope there's more and more excitement not severe wink.gif
kevler
post Apr 2 2007, 11:21 AM

trading in the zone
2,939 posts

QUOTE(JMFranklin @ Mar 30 2007, 06:46 PM)
They will do it next year or so.
oo...it means they defer the launching of the new desktop laa ...
kevler
post Apr 2 2007, 03:45 PM

trading in the zone
2,939 posts

QUOTE(dinozilla @ Apr 2 2007, 02:58 PM)
nothing of defer la....
its the current schedule....

last time everyone deferred becoz microsoft deferred....remember?
ok ..thanks for that ...i thought SHELL or GI-NG team wanna deferred their new desktop launch , because of too many head-ache on vista's script laugh.gif
kevler
post Apr 3 2007, 10:59 AM

trading in the zone
2,939 posts

huhu

try apply for EP team (Exploration and Production) in UK , or what we called as SHELL UK EP (SUKEP)

bright future in EP team ...alot of benefits

kevler
post Apr 4 2007, 01:40 PM

trading in the zone
2,939 posts

QUOTE(babybiter @ Apr 4 2007, 12:11 PM)
i'm planning to apply for a job in shell later this yr (still got some things to take care of). hoping to look for a permanent non-helpdesk/non-support role. basically, hoping to move up to mgmt level, or something like a project mgr or infrastructure planning etc... still haven't decided yet.

what possible positions or job roles should i look out for in shell? anyone knows anyone in shell that i might approach directly to make the application more effective? (that's because MNCs prefer to hire staff-referred ppl than scan thru resumes)

as for qualifications, i'm an RHCE, has MCSE skills, but has not taken the exams. been with dell 2 yrs plus. very experienced in all their enterprise hw n sw, including EMC etc. mainly aiming to make an advance in my career to get into either mgmt or a large-scale IT infrastructure planning/consulting role.

btw, the outsourcing part is really confirmed for end of this yr? what jobs and level of staff are affected most by this?
whole GITI will be fully affected.

gud luck for seeking job @ SHELL

try check with headhunter like micom,hesper,techsap dan so forth.

kevler
post Apr 5 2007, 02:58 PM

trading in the zone
2,939 posts

last but not least

car allowance 1000 per month

later u able to buy Impreza wink.gif

0.0191sec    0.15    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 08:21 AM