Maxis The Official Maxis FTTH Thread | v3, Maxis Home Fibre Internet, from RM138

adslgourou
post Mar 26 2013, 07:20 PM

335 posts

QUOTE(hazairi @ Mar 26 2013, 07:16 PM)
Hi guys,

Just now I got a call from ASTRO. They are launching IPTV with Maxis fibre. I just finished my contract with Unifi. Should I take this offer? Seems cool. 10Mbps only rm148 plus I no need to pay extra RM20 for HD services.

Any thoughts guys?
What is so special????
hazairi
post Mar 26 2013, 07:23 PM

2,621 posts

QUOTE(adslgourou @ Mar 26 2013, 07:20 PM)
What is so special????
If Astro alone, I have to pay extra RM20 for HD service (Astro Byond).

But with this package, no need to pay extra RM20 as I usually do.

Another thing, when raining, still got coverage because using IPTV (broadband).
Just my concerns is that is Maxis fibre good? Currently using Unifi and so happy about it..
nickcct
post Mar 26 2013, 09:07 PM

Une Vie Fantastique
2,833 posts

QUOTE(hazairi @ Mar 26 2013, 07:23 PM)

Just my concerns is that is Maxis fibre good? Currently using Unifi and so happy about it..
Free IPTV with maxis fibre subscription?
gogetter83
post Mar 26 2013, 09:19 PM

32 posts

QUOTE(nickcct @ Mar 26 2013, 09:07 PM)
Free IPTV with maxis fibre subscription?
nope. RM148 for 10Mbps internet + RM100 for one of the superpack package.
kiawin
post Mar 26 2013, 11:13 PM

NOOBIE
674 posts

Just curious, do you feel the lag today? My update for ubuntu take ages... in fibre years smile.gif
krel89
post Mar 27 2013, 02:27 AM

408 posts

QUOTE(hazairi @ Mar 26 2013, 07:16 PM)
Hi guys,

Just now I got a call from ASTRO. They are launching IPTV with Maxis fibre. I just finished my contract with Unifi. Should I take this offer? Seems cool. 10Mbps only rm148 plus I no need to pay extra RM20 for HD services.

Any thoughts guys?
bro, mind share with us where do u live?
i am on astro and maxis ftth also don't get called vmad.gif
what a bummer this two company~
TSronnie
post Mar 27 2013, 07:19 AM

Not enough stars
19,595 posts

QUOTE(krel89 @ Mar 25 2013, 09:32 PM)
what would that be?? hope its new IPTV service
My guess: LTE launch for iPhone 5
krel89
post Mar 27 2013, 09:13 AM

408 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ Mar 27 2013, 07:19 AM)
My guess: LTE launch for iPhone 5

all was wrong.. it just 50% off call only~ doh.gif
TSronnie
post Mar 27 2013, 01:12 PM

Not enough stars
19,595 posts

QUOTE(krel89 @ Mar 27 2013, 09:13 AM)

all was wrong.. it just 50% off call only~ doh.gif
Well, with Maxis FTTH early bird signup, we get free calls to Maxis Mobile & Fixed Lines up to 150 mins... you can't beat that drool.gif rclxms.gif thumbup.gif
lalachong
post Mar 27 2013, 02:02 PM

294 posts

QUOTE(hazairi @ Mar 26 2013, 07:23 PM)

maxis fibre sucks... throttled torrent and ping to some international servers delayed (worse than streamyx, dun even compare with unifi)...
but if you use internet to surf net only.. then ok... grab it since astro is good deal...
other than that... better stick with unifi + astro...

speaking from a 10 month old maxis home fibre user... who is regretting his decision, but stuck in contract for another 14 months.... sweat.gif
hazairi
post Mar 27 2013, 02:45 PM

2,621 posts

QUOTE(lalachong @ Mar 27 2013, 02:02 PM)
maxis fibre sucks... throttled torrent and ping to some international servers delayed (worse than streamyx, dun even compare with unifi)...
but if you use internet to surf net only.. then ok... grab it since astro is good deal...

speaking from a 10 month old maxis home fibre user... who is regretting his decision, but stuck in contract for another 14 months....  sweat.gif
fufufuf!
that's what i heard. Maxis fibre throttles p2p. I think I will stick to Unifi as my unifi always gets full speed from server or p2p plus i'm playing online game such as Sc2. sad.gif

sorry maxis...
andrewtho
post Mar 27 2013, 08:31 PM

Hooded Knight
5,885 posts

speaking from a 10 month old maxis home fibre user... who is regretting his decision, but stuck in contract for another 14 months....  sweat.gif
Hi lala tongue.gif

That bad? I was contemplating to switch over from Unifi to Maxis but based on your answer, might think twice shocking.gif
ywkwy
post Mar 27 2013, 10:13 PM

867 posts

Everyone talking about bad ping but I didn't notice it? Or my expectation too low?
Those with bad ping can give me an address for me to tracert/ping? So that we can compare and see
Below is my tracert, is it really that bad?
user posted imageuser posted image

This post has been edited by ywkwy: Mar 27 2013, 10:14 PM
danieltay
post Mar 27 2013, 10:24 PM

209 posts

I am suspecting maxis is using my ftth as a hotspot. This happened only one week ago.

When I use my laptop with inSSIDer program to check, besides my wifiname, there is another one labeled as "maxis" with the same info, but with Open Security. If I turned off my wifi, the "maxis" will be gone as well.

If I use my ipad, this "maxis" will be shown as well.

When I check my thomson router setting, under Home Network -> Interfaces, asides from the normal LocalNetwork and VoIP, there are "dummy" and "Hotspot" label shown.

Is it something wrong with my wireless setting? How can I correct this?

Or is my FTTH is being use a hotspot by maxis?

If it's being use as a hotspot, is this legal?

Any of you guy is having the same issue?
philipcs
post Mar 27 2013, 10:50 PM

2,581 posts

Just got mine installed last Thursday. Tested torrent download yesterday at 9pm, I still can get 500kbps total download speed for 2 torrents and client that I am using is XunLei (Thunder) So not so sure the speed throttled is based on client or not.
philipcs
post Mar 27 2013, 10:53 PM

2,581 posts

Also with maxis, I still can watch PPStream which Unified already blocked.
pisanq
post Mar 28 2013, 01:39 AM

612 posts

QUOTE(ywkwy @ Mar 27 2013, 10:13 PM)
Everyone talking about bad ping but I didn't notice it? Or my expectation too low?
Those with bad ping can give me an address for me to tracert/ping? So that we can compare and see
Doing ping test to webserver (singtel.com) and webmailserver (imail.starhub.com) will not do any good to Maxis FTTH customer. I'm advising we do it against a normal user from Singaporean IP address. In my test below I do it to 27.54.32.17 which is my brother PC located in Singapore. Normally I play online game together with him either using Maxis FTTH or TM UniFi. Below is his IP whois info for reference:
His dynamic IP block start from 27.54.32.1 and ending at 27.54.39.254

Below is the ping test, on the left is Maxis FTTH vs TM UniFi on the right.
We can see average reply for Maxis FTTH is more than double of TM UniFi

Below is trace route test, on the left is Maxis FTTH vs TM UniFi on the right.
Maxis FTTH is need 20 hop to reach while TM UniFi only need 12

QUOTE(danieltay @ Mar 27 2013, 10:24 PM)
I am suspecting maxis is using my ftth as a hotspot. This happened only one week ago.

When I use my laptop with inSSIDer program to check, besides my wifiname, there is another one labeled as "maxis" with the same info, but with Open Security. If I turned off my wifi, the "maxis" will be gone as well.

If I use my ipad, this "maxis" will be shown as well.

When I check my thomson router setting, under Home Network -> Interfaces, asides from the normal LocalNetwork and VoIP, there are "dummy" and "Hotspot" label shown.

Is it something wrong with my wireless setting? How can I correct this?

Or is my FTTH is being use a hotspot by maxis?

If it's being use as a hotspot, is this legal?

Any of you guy is having the same issue?
You may get rid from maxis hotspot by reconfigure your Thomson RG. Jot down your High Speed Internet credential, VoIP credential and any custom port forwarding you have done and do the factory reset on that RG by pressing the reset factory button for a few seconds. Do Setup Wizard and don't enable the hotspot this time.

QUOTE(philipcs @ Mar 27 2013, 10:50 PM)
Just got mine installed last Thursday. Tested torrent download yesterday at 9pm, I still can get 500kbps total download speed for 2 torrents and client that I am using is XunLei (Thunder) So not so sure the speed throttled is based on client or not.

Also with maxis, I still can watch PPStream which Unified already blocked.
XunLei no affected by this P2P throttle because of they are using another protocol beside those standard bittorrent protocol.
I don't think UniFi is blocking PPStream because there still got people asking how to block PPStream using TM UniFi like here. Please correct me if I'm wrong.

danieltay
post Mar 28 2013, 03:44 AM

209 posts

QUOTE(pisanq @ Mar 28 2013, 01:39 AM)
You may get rid from maxis hotspot by reconfigure your Thomson RG. Jot down your High Speed Internet credential, VoIP credential and any custom port forwarding you have done and do the factory reset on that RG by pressing the reset factory button for a few seconds. Do Setup Wizard and don't enable the hotspot this time.
is it possible to disable the HotSpot directly via the 192.168.1.254 setting(without doing the factory reset)?
hycl90
post Mar 28 2013, 09:50 AM

90 posts

QUOTE(andrekua2 @ Dec 14 2012, 11:34 PM)
I just installed FTTH and given Technicolor router, and honestly speaking I'm pretty surprised by the performance of the router. It's actually quite decent but lacking advance settings to configure blocked sites, QoS etc. However it was managing itself quite good. Even the WiFi signal is pretty good. It is definitely good enough for sharing internet connection but not so sure when heaving file sharing is involved. I was on heavy torrent on my PC via lan, app store updating on iPad via Wi-Fi and play store updating via WiFi. I'm still gaming online while all of these is ongoing. The only complaint is high ping and private ip.
have to agree with u..though signal is good..but aduiz! doh.gif doh.gif
lack of QoS feature ,ACL....
i need manage the bandwidth la..
khairullz
post Mar 28 2013, 10:18 AM

99 posts

QUOTE(hazairi @ Mar 27 2013, 02:45 PM)
fufufuf!
that's what i heard. Maxis fibre throttles p2p. I think I will stick to Unifi as my unifi always gets full speed from server or p2p plus i'm playing online game such as Sc2. sad.gif

sorry maxis...
when we subscribed to maxis home, we need to change the ip to public ip...

like me, first day using maxis home fibre, my surfing speed is fine, but a real download speed show less than 100kbps..

but then I discovered that we need to change to public ip...and walla..i got 1.2 mbps max download speed and only taking 1-2 hours for 1080p movie cool2.gif

and it's only RM148 for 10mbps, unlike unifi RM149 for 5mbps .. yes it has the iptv...

but usually people use unifi but still paying extra for astro because the unifi iptv is a joke

This post has been edited by khairullz: Mar 28 2013, 10:20 AM

125 Pages « < 122 123 124 125 >Top

0.0286sec    0.32    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th March 2024 - 04:46 AM