149 Pages « < 35 36 37 38 39 > » Bottom

Public Mutual v4, Public/PB series funds

birdman13200
post Feb 19 2013, 10:00 PM

605 posts

QUOTE(WintersuN @ Feb 19 2013, 09:47 PM)
Ya already check its FAr east property and resorts. So i guess gonna start top up every month now thnx smile.gif

I wanna ask how u guys choose portfolio of funds? Is it based on type of funds like equity, bond, balance, etc? or really see wat kind of company they invest in?
I think more on geographical allocation like Malaysia, Asia excluding Japan, Global, Emerging Market, China, etc....

One advice to u, pls learn what is DDI.
j.passing.by
post Feb 19 2013, 10:01 PM

1,639 posts

QUOTE(rachy @ Feb 19 2013, 08:42 PM)
Could you give some suggestion on some good equity funds? smile.gif both local and foreign?

And no, can no longer do top up. I meant earlier on smile.gif
In my amateur and non-professional opinion, I don't think it is as easy as that. It's like on a race track, asking for tips - and the tips is only good for that race.

There's no shortcut if we want to pick winners every weekend without knowing a bit of the background of the horses and their past performances.

This analogy at the race track is still not closed enough, try imagining that you are the jockey and have to ride the horse too... we then have to match your size and weight and riding skills to the appropriate horse with its individual temperament as well.

Get the picture of the task at hand?

The best I can contribute here is a short brief on the funds you're having.
PSBF - Public Select Bond Fund
PEBF - Public Enhanced Bond Fund
PIEBF - Public Islamic Enhanced Bond Fund
PCSF - Public China Select Fund
PITTIKAL - Public Ittikal Fund

The 1st bond fund is closed for new investments and only open to investment via EPF. If you switched out, you cannot switch back in if it is not an EPF investment.

The 2nd and 3rd bond funds are special bond funds with up to 30% of the fund can be invested in equities by the fund manager. If not mistaken, they are also more or less also closed to new investments since you now need at least 100k to enter.

China Select - what more can be we say here, it is a stupid fund for stupid people like me - I lost money too, like 40% of what I put in.

So far this year, it is up 2.14%, but dropped a bit this month... and maybe a bit more today with Hang Seng Index down -1.02% and the H-Share (or Hang Seng China Enterprise) -1.79%. It is performing, since 1st Jan, better than China Titan Fund; and better than China Ittikal Fund which is in negative zone. (Slow horse is okay but if running backwards, how to win the race if it cannot reach the finish line?)

Public Ittikal - this fund is also closed except for investment via EPF. Not among the top local horses in 2012, but still gave an increment of 13% for the year. It is categorised by Public Mutual as a moderate fund. Personally, I would prefer Islamic Dividend Fund which is similarly categorised as a moderate fund.

Cheers... happy investing!

SUSDavid83
post Feb 19 2013, 10:03 PM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(felixmask @ Feb 19 2013, 09:59 PM)
thumbup.gif Good advice, i also hv PCSF.

Topup every month 2007-2009. Oncer breakeven switch to other fund.
Now left left rm1k++, waiting for miracle.
Another friend of mine is still holding PCSF and he got topped up few years. His loss is lower than mine. His average unit cost price should in the range of 0.1800 to 0.2000.

Miracle will come as many fund houses are bullish over China, Greater China and/or North Asia region. There's great potential of upward trend in the near term of 2 to 3 years.

QUOTE(j.passing.by @ Feb 19 2013, 10:01 PM)
In my amateur and non-professional opinion, I don't think it is as easy as that. It's like on a race track, asking for tips - and the tips is only good for that race.

There's no shortcut if we want to pick winners every weekend without knowing a bit of the background of the horses and their past performances.

This analogy at the race track is still not closed enough, try imagining that you are the jockey and have to ride the horse too... we then have to match your size and weight and riding skills to the appropriate horse with its individual temperament as well.

The 1st bond fund is closed for new investments and only open to investment via EPF. If you switched out, you cannot switch back in if it is not an EPF investment.

The 2nd and 3rd bond funds are special bond funds with up to 30% of the fund can be invested in equities by the fund manager. If not mistaken, they are also more or less also closed to new investments since you now need at least 100k to enter.

China Select - what more can be we say here, it is a stupid fund for stupid people like me - I lost money too, like 40% of what I put in.

So far this year, it is up 2.14%, but dropped a bit this month... and maybe a bit more today with Hang Seng Index down -1.02% and the H-Share (or Hang Seng China Enterprise) -1.79%. It is performing, since 1st Jan, better than China Titan Fund; and better than China Ittikal Fund which is in negative zone. (Slow horse is okay but if running backwards, how to win the race if it cannot reach the finish line?)

Public Ittikal - this fund is also closed except for investment via EPF. Not among the top local horses in 2012, but still gave an increment of 13% for the year. It is categorised by Public Mutual as a moderate fund. Personally, I would prefer Islamic Dividend Fund which is similarly categorised as a moderate fund.

No offence but PM is a loser in China region fund.

OSK-UOB parred better loss compared and OSK-UOB BIG CAP CHINA ENTERPRISE FUND is nearing to its IPO NAV soon. RM 0.4856 (February 18, 2013)

This post has been edited by David83: Feb 19 2013, 10:08 PM
SUSWintersuN
post Feb 19 2013, 10:07 PM

3,173 posts

QUOTE(birdman13200 @ Feb 19 2013, 10:00 PM)
I think more on geographical allocation like Malaysia, Asia excluding Japan, Global, Emerging Market, China, etc....

One advice to u, pls learn what is DDI.
thnx for the tips. I suppose u mean Domestic Direct Investment? I will read up on it thumbup.gif
SUSDavid83
post Feb 19 2013, 10:10 PM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(WintersuN @ Feb 19 2013, 10:07 PM)
thnx for the tips. I suppose u mean Domestic Direct Investment? I will read up on it thumbup.gif
I think he's referring DDI as RSP. Direct Debit Instruction: Regular top up via SI.
koinibler
post Feb 19 2013, 10:14 PM

2,050 posts

QUOTE(birdman13200 @ Feb 19 2013, 08:54 PM)
Few month ago, I did some study and finalize some target fund, but I din buy due to not match my portfolio.

PDSF
PFSF
PIDF
PRSF
PSSF

Pls take it as suggestion, study urself n select what suit ur portfolio.
PDSF & PIDF also on my watch list rclxms.gif

PDSF is more focus on banking sector, while PIDF is more on telco sector.

Fund review by PMB
Attached File  PIDF_PDSF.pdf ( 161.95k ) Number of downloads: 14

felixmask
post Feb 19 2013, 10:30 PM

6,356 posts

QUOTE(WintersuN @ Feb 19 2013, 09:47 PM)
Ya already check its FAr east property and resorts. So i guess gonna start top up every month now thnx smile.gif

I wanna ask how u guys choose portfolio of funds? Is it based on type of funds like equity, bond, balance, etc? or really see wat kind of company they invest in?
rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
Good then you win win. Gong Xi Fatt Choi

I share mine: Other sifu may hv different thought.
1) Market study - study infor/overwhelming ppl are investing maybe about telco/ reits / finance/ Dividend/ smallcap / Country- are working good
2) review pass history of the fund - fund performance well in history you may like to take the bet it will go up to the peak when it fall down during crisis.
3) fund distribution date - i will toup after the day the distribution given - becoz to realize gain the NAV require to wait to go up. Then consider of Tax from distribution and the time crisis you want to switch. I prefer to see Nav to go up, not other way wait to go back NAV i buy.
4) The fund NAV below 0.25- my preference topup, dont need to worry which fund at peak.
5) New fund/Campaign -low service charge- then the unit i hv will be more.

For Equity/ Balance / Bond is up to each individual type risk and return.

thumbup.gif Hope this can help with my sharing..... nod.gif my sharing not the best for other - but fact how i choose buing fund. thumbup.gif

nod.gif If i said any wrong , pls correct me and forgive me. notworthy.gif notworthy.gif
I end up as PM agent servicing myself...to clawback the commision back to me.

SUSWintersuN
post Feb 19 2013, 10:40 PM

3,173 posts

QUOTE(felixmask @ Feb 19 2013, 10:30 PM)
rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif
Good then you win win. Gong Xi Fatt Choi

I share mine: Other sifu may hv different thought.
1)  Market study - study infor/overwhelming ppl are investing maybe about telco/ reits / finance/ Dividend/ smallcap / Country- are working good
2) review pass history of the fund - fund performance well in history you may like to take the bet it will go up to the peak when it fall down during crisis.
3) fund distribution date - i will toup after the day the distribution given -  becoz to realize gain the NAV require to wait to go up. Then consider of Tax from distribution and the time crisis you want to switch. I prefer to see Nav to go up, not other way wait to go back NAV i buy.
4) The fund NAV below 0.25- my preference topup, dont need to worry which fund at peak.
5) New fund/Campaign -low service charge- then the unit i hv will be more.
For Equity/ Balance / Bond is up to each individual type risk and return.
thumbup.gif Hope this can help with my sharing..... nod.gif my sharing not the best for other - but fact how i choose buing fund. thumbup.gif

nod.gif If i said any wrong , pls correct me and forgive me.  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif
I end up as PM agent servicing myself...to clawback the commision back to me.
haha thnx..

Just a question on fund history, is it got happen that fund will close? Or will continue go on forever? Cos many new fund opening up at the end market will be full of funds? Maybe after 30 yrs then the fund will close?

Far east property the fund consider still new and cant judge the history yet right? It less than 10 yrs
SUSDavid83
post Feb 19 2013, 10:41 PM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(WintersuN @ Feb 19 2013, 10:40 PM)
haha thnx..

Just a question on fund history, is it got happen that fund will close? Or will continue go on forever? Cos many new fund opening up at the end market will be full of funds? Maybe after 30 yrs then the fund will close?

Far east property the fund consider still new and cant judge the history yet right? It less than 10 yrs
When a fund is closed, the fund house can apply from SC to increase the fund size.

Any fund with a min age of 3 years can be analyzed using Sharpe ratio.

Otherwise, trust rating company like Lipper.

This post has been edited by David83: Feb 19 2013, 10:43 PM
birdman13200
post Feb 19 2013, 10:47 PM

605 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Feb 19 2013, 10:41 PM)
When a fund is closed, the fund house can apply from SC to increase the fund size.

David, I think he din mean closed as "not open for investment", it should be the fund is total end of business, or something like that.
SUSDavid83
post Feb 19 2013, 10:48 PM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(birdman13200 @ Feb 19 2013, 10:47 PM)
David, I think he din mean closed as "not open for investment", it should be the fund is total end of business, or something like that.
I haven't see such case yet but change of fund objective.

Usually an AGM will be conducted first.
SUSWintersuN
post Feb 19 2013, 10:49 PM

3,173 posts

QUOTE(birdman13200 @ Feb 19 2013, 10:47 PM)
ya ya.. i mean like long history funds lessay 30 yrs maybe they 1 to "obsolete" the fund??

Or else the market gonna be flooded wif thousands of funds?

Got such thing?
SUSDavid83
post Feb 19 2013, 10:51 PM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(WintersuN @ Feb 19 2013, 10:49 PM)
ya ya.. i mean like long history funds lessay 30 yrs maybe they 1 to "obsolete" the fund??

Or else the market gonna be flooded wif thousands of funds?

Got such thing?
PSF has been here for 30 years:

http://www.publicmutual.com.my/LinkClick.a...xA%3d&tabid=103

And they're still relevant as long as their objective is met.

birdman13200
post Feb 19 2013, 10:53 PM

605 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Feb 19 2013, 10:48 PM)
I haven't see such case yet but change of fund objective.

Usually an AGM will be conducted first.
This one normally to the fund that is not performing well, right?
Changing fund objective in order it can go into different market/sector etc.

SUSDavid83
post Feb 19 2013, 10:54 PM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(birdman13200 @ Feb 19 2013, 10:53 PM)
This one normally to the fund that is not performing well, right?
Changing fund objective in order it can go into different market/sector etc.
Yes. To avoid from being closed forever, they may want to change the fund objective or rebrand it with another name.
SUSWintersuN
post Feb 19 2013, 11:01 PM

3,173 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Feb 19 2013, 10:41 PM)

I check sharpe ratio and seems like very techical stuff. How do i determine

Actual Return of the Portfolio (%):

Risk-free Rate of Return (%):

Standard Deviation of the Portfolio (%):

rclxub.gif
xuzen
post Feb 19 2013, 11:46 PM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(birdman13200 @ Feb 19 2013, 08:54 PM)
Few month ago, I did some study and finalize some target fund, but I din buy due to not match my portfolio.

PDSF
PFSF
PIDF
PRSF
PSSF

Pls take it as suggestion, study urself n select what suit ur portfolio.
Except for PSSF, the rest are good to go in. But be warned that most are very local funds, PUb-Mut very jaguh kampung, only their local funds are performing above benchmark.... Foreign one ar, so so only.

For actual return, refer to the annualised return column in quarterly fund review newsletter.

For a lay person, you may take the 12 month FD rate as your risk free rate.

For standard deviation, look again at the quarterly fund review and use fund volatility factor as the stan-dev.

For PCSF, I have said it before and will say it again, you do not pay the fund manager 1.5% of your NAV p.a. ti underperform the benchmark.

How can a manager who is suppose to look after the fund, perform worse than the benchmark which is collection of passive i.e., unmanaged collection of equities?

Should dump the fund long time ago liao.

Xuzen
SUSWintersuN
post Feb 20 2013, 09:55 AM

3,173 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Feb 19 2013, 11:46 PM)
Except for PSSF, the rest are good to go in. But be warned that most are very local funds, PUb-Mut very jaguh kampung, only their local funds are performing above benchmark.... Foreign one ar, so so only.

For actual return, refer to the annualised return column in quarterly fund review newsletter.

For a lay person, you may take the 12 month FD rate as your risk free rate.

For standard deviation, look again at the quarterly fund review and use fund volatility factor as the stan-dev.

For PCSF, I have said it before and will say it again, you do not pay the fund manager 1.5% of your NAV p.a. ti underperform the benchmark.

How can a manager who is suppose to look after the fund, perform worse than the benchmark which is collection of passive i.e., unmanaged collection of equities?

Should dump the fund long time ago liao.

Xuzen
thnx xuzen
rachy
post Feb 20 2013, 02:18 PM

83 posts

QUOTE(j.passing.by @ Feb 19 2013, 10:01 PM)

Thanks for all the info! smile.gif

Yep really regret purchasing PCSF, but was young and stupid that time and just listen to the consultant. Now waiting for even a small miracle so that I can recover at least some of my losses.

You guys think its a smart idea to switch out half or all of my PITTIKAL units to other UT?
SUSDavid83
post Feb 20 2013, 02:59 PM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(rachy @ Feb 20 2013, 02:18 PM)
Thanks for all the info! smile.gif

Yep really regret purchasing PCSF, but was young and stupid that time and just listen to the consultant. Now waiting for even a small miracle so that I can recover at least some of my losses.

You guys think its a smart idea to switch out half or all of my PITTIKAL units to other UT?
Switched to what fund? Bond fund? Purpose?

149 Pages « < 35 36 37 38 39 > » Top

0.0163sec    0.53    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 10:29 AM