149 Pages « < 80 81 82 83 84 > » Bottom

Public Mutual v4, Public/PB series funds

j.passing.by
post Aug 31 2013, 09:11 PM

1,639 posts

Ever wonder how to play and win in UT? Read on...

Actually, most of the time, we are winning, but do not realise it. The moment you invest into UT, you are already a winner. The losing feeling comes when we see that the stock market is down or going down. It is only a feeling... so brush it aside.

(Wah, this is already like a sales pitch! But I’m not selling anything here. You are here and reading this
because you had already bought the sales pitch!)

So we are all winners here, but how to measure the winnings? Forget about IRR, cash flow or whatever fancy stuff you see in this forum. Only simple calculation is advocated here. Year-to-Date and simple annualise stuff would do.

Year-to-Date is exactly what it is. It is the difference between the total value of all your funds as of today and total value of all your funds as on 31-Dec-2012.

Anything you purchased this year, do not add to the total. The new purchases are new savings, put them aside separately. Only add them to the total value at the end of the year.

But what about the service charges, you would ask. “Add them at the end of the year too?”

Well, since you have already bought and paid the service charges, you were already a loser before you knew it! But we are all winners here. So to be a winner, and not a loser, just add as much of the charges as you like (or none at all); enough to come out more as a winner than a loser.

(In other words, average out the charges and add them bit by bit each year.)

As winners, we only have winning moves. If we sell or switch out, it is not ‘cut lost’. It is a defensive move to protect our YTD gains.
"I have learned that 99.9% of successful investing is about defense, not offense. This means avoiding the loss of the money you have saved and the gains you have made."

from: The 12 best retirement investing lessons. By Paul Merriman.
http://www.marketwatch.com/story/the-12-be...28?pagenumber=2
If the YTD is negative, we are in a defensive position. Then it is time to be offensive when the opportunity comes.

But as we are winners, we don’t allow the YTD to be negative in the first place. If the YTD is negative in the first place, it is all the fault of the sales pitch from the sales agents or consultants. They had sold us too much equity when the market is high and going down. Making us start as losers instead of winners. mad.gif

Never mind... next year, the YTD will cut out all the memories of past loses (and winnings), and will let us start afresh as winners. rclxms.gif

Cheers. Have a great Merdeka weekend. icon_rolleyes.gif

PS. Please read my previous posts in this thread... if you have time... will only take an hour or so!

This post has been edited by j.passing.by: Aug 31 2013, 09:16 PM
koinibler
post Sep 1 2013, 09:46 AM

2,050 posts

great one @j.passing.by,
please continue your contribution here,
I like it mostly here (PM thread) because it had a both pro and con opinion
SUSyklooi
post Sep 1 2013, 10:34 AM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(joelgan @ Aug 31 2013, 12:00 PM)
sifus, which is the best fund to buy? any recommendations? How would i know which fund does distribute dividents?
there is no "BEST" fund that can suit all individuals..it depends a lot on your risk appetite, your investment time frame, investment objectives and your experience in UT investment.
about distribution.....check the listings from some of the news posted....(just a few that I came find)
http://www.thestar.com.my/Business/Investi...or-9-funds.aspx
http://www.thestar.com.my/Business/Busines...r-10-funds.aspx
http://www.thestar.com.my/Business/Busines...or-7-funds.aspx
goodbrother
post Sep 1 2013, 01:10 PM

108 posts

all please dont apply this fund....there are so much difficulty in doing transferring and having bad services with extremely limited service coverage in many places. It takes more then 3 weeks eventhough with continous calling to their service center to ask but till now no reply frm them for my fund online access. A shame to public with lousy service!
takeshi225
post Sep 2 2013, 11:26 AM

May i know when was the last time Public Bond Fund reopened for investment?
wil-i-am
post Sep 4 2013, 10:20 PM

10,001 posts

My agent just submit form to terminate SI for Pbond
SUSyklooi
post Sep 4 2013, 10:47 PM

8,188 posts

in April, i invested in Public Strategic Bond fund.
Last week my agent switched 33% of it out to invest in
Public Regular Saving Fund & Public Strategic Small Cap fund.

is this a good move? Any Sifu mind to comment/advise?

koinibler
post Sep 5 2013, 07:16 AM

2,050 posts

QUOTE(yklooi @ Sep 4 2013, 10:47 PM)

its more or less same with what I do,
just different fund.

mind here, we already had an opportunity loss during bull time after GE.
Seremban_2
post Sep 5 2013, 10:38 AM

1,491 posts

QUOTE(kabal82 @ Aug 31 2013, 02:38 PM)
so far most of PM fund does have distribution... Even for funds launch 2-3 months old... from my previous observation...
Public China Select Fund haven't distribute since year 2009 when I bought.
felixmask
post Sep 5 2013, 10:54 AM

6,356 posts

QUOTE(Seremban_2 @ Sep 5 2013, 10:38 AM)
Public China Select Fund haven't distribute since year 2009 when I bought.
me too.......
Kaka23
post Sep 5 2013, 11:52 AM

8,259 posts

QUOTE(yklooi @ Sep 4 2013, 11:47 PM)

You asked your agent to do it or he/she decide how to invest for you?
SUSyklooi
post Sep 5 2013, 03:35 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(Kaka23 @ Sep 5 2013, 11:52 AM)
You asked your agent to do it or he/she decide how to invest for you?
geee, that will be the 2nd question that i am going to post.
1st i wanted to know if this is a good move....switched to PRSF and PSSCF.
2nd, he/she switched without informing me,...i just noticed it when the mail came...
i was thinking, maybe he/she just CANNOT stand the bond fund future but think that eq will be better.
but at least he/she must ask me before hand right?
at least he/she managed to let the bond fund make some $$ to break even the SC of the new purchases
maybe he/she needed the commission from the SC.

he/she?? caused i never met him/her before....he/she is supposed to be a downline of an agent i knew.

felixmask
post Sep 5 2013, 03:56 PM

6,356 posts

QUOTE(yklooi @ Sep 5 2013, 03:35 PM)
geee, that will be the 2nd question that i am going to post.
1st i wanted to know if this is a good move....switched to PRSF and PSSCF.
2nd, he/she switched without informing me,...i just noticed it when the mail came...
i was thinking, maybe he/she just CANNOT stand the bond fund future but think that eq will be better.
but at least he/she must ask me before hand right?
at least he/she managed to let the bond fund make some $$ to break even the SC of the new purchases
maybe he/she needed the commission from the SC.

he/she?? caused i never met him/her before....he/she is supposed to be a downline of an agent i knew.
in term of investment strategic she maybe correct to help you earn some $$.

But etchial as UT agent not the right way, without informing investor.

Dunnow how she can pass CUTE exam....

If you comfortable her action can leave it be, what ever future is good or bad we must accept.

Else inform her not do such transaction without informing investor OR you can complaint to PM Agency of discpline action.
SUSyklooi
post Sep 5 2013, 05:14 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(felixmask @ Sep 5 2013, 03:56 PM)
in term of investment strategic she maybe correct to help you earn some $$. (i too would switch to Eq but just not sure of these funds)

But etchial as UT agent not the right way, without informing investor. (i was thinking of this too)

Dunnow how she can pass CUTE exam....

If you comfortable her action can leave it be, what ever future is good or bad we must accept. (I think i will do this)

Else inform her not do such transaction without informing investor OR you can complaint to PM Agency of discpline action. (wait for another mistake)
koinibler
post Sep 5 2013, 05:47 PM

2,050 posts

@yklooi
I don't think its possible for the agent to do switching without owner consent.

To do switching, you need either use Public Mutual Online - password only owned by investor. Agent don't know the password.

or, fill up switching form with investor signature on it.

If either one (know password for customer PMO or forged signature) is happen, with written complain, definitely the agent will be terminate.
SUSyklooi
post Sep 5 2013, 05:56 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(koinibler @ Sep 5 2013, 05:47 PM)
@yklooi
I don't think its possible for the agent to do switching without owner consent.

To do switching, you need either use Public Mutual Online - password only owned by investor. Agent don't know the password.
hmm.gif  i did not hv PM online....maybe i did sign some form about consenting to open online a/c...not sure about that...because too many forms were signed at the initial a/c opening. if i hv no control about this switching....can he/she sign my a/c away into his/her a/c in near future?

or, fill up switching form with investor signature on it. maybe i did sign some form about switching.....not sure about that. too many forms were signed at the initial a/c opening. if i hv no control about this switching....can he/she sign my a/c away into his/her a/c in near future?

If either one (know password for customer PMO or forged signature) is happen, with written complain, definitely the agent will be terminate.
koinibler
post Sep 5 2013, 06:09 PM

2,050 posts

Agent can't help you to open PMO. Investor need himself/herself go to PM office to get a biometric verification (thumb print with IC slot).

So, its probable you sign a blank switching form.

Its actually possible to transfer account. Usually its for customer with a relation (husband wife, father son) but need a relevant document, and both party must present. So, in your case, I don't think he can easily transfer your money into his account.

This post has been edited by koinibler: Sep 5 2013, 06:10 PM
SUSyklooi
post Sep 5 2013, 06:16 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(koinibler @ Sep 5 2013, 06:09 PM)
Agent can't help you to open PMO. Investor need himself/herself go to PM office to get a biometric verification (thumb print with IC slot).
definitely did not do that
So, its probable you sign a blank switching form. (maybe or imitation of signature)

Its actually possible to transfer account. Usually its for customer with a relation (husband wife, father son) but need a relevant document, and both party must present. So, in your case, I don't think he can easily transfer your money into his account. what a relieve!
birdman13200
post Sep 5 2013, 08:01 PM

605 posts

uncle looi, ur experience sound scary. I am totally can't accept my money be switched without my acknowledgement. I think u should call the agent and ask him/her how and why ur money get switched. It is good to let everyone know the reason and can prevent it happening again.
SUSyklooi
post Sep 5 2013, 08:32 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(birdman13200 @ Sep 5 2013, 08:01 PM)
uncle looi, ur experience sound scary. I am totally can't accept my money be switched without my acknowledgement. I think u should call the agent and ask him/her how and why ur money get switched. It is good to let everyone know the reason and can prevent it happening again.
hmm.gif
maybe i did sign some form about switching.....not sure about that. too many forms were signed at the initial a/c opening..
maybe he/she tried to "save/protect" my investment....but you are right, it sounds scary because I was NOT informed before the switch. mad.gif

149 Pages « < 80 81 82 83 84 > » Top

0.0325sec    0.43    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 09:21 AM