125 Pages « < 15 16 17 18 19 > » Bottom

Cycling V3, General talks on Racing/road bikes

hianboy
post Aug 14 2012, 12:35 PM

364 posts

ma first Fuji MTB with Deore 9 Speed cost me 1.8K... that was erm...2-3 yrs back... for your reference...
cress
post Aug 14 2012, 01:30 PM

32 posts

hianboy, thanks for the benchmark, looks like getting a new bike is more worth it than upgrading.... decisions, decisions.....
butthead
post Aug 14 2012, 01:42 PM

593 posts

QUOTE(hianboy @ Aug 14 2012, 12:35 PM)
ma first Fuji MTB with Deore 9 Speed cost me 1.8K... that was erm...2-3 yrs back... for your reference...
your one rubbish la...

my one older than yours... below 4 figure... got 9-speed already...

QUOTE(cress @ Aug 14 2012, 01:30 PM)
hianboy, thanks for the benchmark, looks like getting a new bike is more worth it than upgrading.... decisions, decisions.....
that depends on what you are deciding to get... and if you do upgrade, are you satisfied with your current bike or even it after the upgrade?

you don't want to go down the path where you've done all the upgrades to find that you actually don't like the frame or something like that... you get a double whammy at that point....

since you are already at that point.. it's better if you think of the long term rather than the short term changes...
cress
post Aug 14 2012, 02:00 PM

32 posts

butthead, well, for the long run, I dont see myself going offroad anytime soon as I preety much enjoy biking on the roads, hence the suspension & frame portion can be left as it is for now.

Reason for the upgrade need is that during long straights/cruising, I have to pedal twice as much just to keep up with the rest and will burnout before any upcoming ascending climbs.

Since I'm looking into a groupset, which would be reccomended by seasoned bikers like urself? Shimanos or SRAM? Been trying to readup on both brands and it is really confusing between the 2.
joonming
post Aug 14 2012, 02:09 PM

JM
540 posts

QUOTE(cress @ Aug 14 2012, 02:00 PM)
butthead, well, for the long run, I dont see myself going offroad anytime soon as I preety much enjoy biking on the roads, hence the suspension & frame portion can be left as it is for now.

Reason for the upgrade need is that during long straights/cruising, I have to pedal twice as much just to keep up with the rest and will burnout before any upcoming ascending climbs.

Since I'm looking into a groupset, which would be reccomended by seasoned bikers like urself? Shimanos or SRAM? Been trying to readup on both brands and it is really confusing between the 2.
Any MTB can do on road, off-road even the the frim u need a decent suspension fork.
SR Suntour XCT/XCM/XCR better get epicon or Rockshox TK / Recon / Reba

my fren fuji nevada 2.0 XCM with deore mix with Alivio is 1.8K
mine - full deore with Rockshox is recon is ard 4k

since you enjoy road much,why MTB?

This post has been edited by joonming: Aug 14 2012, 02:11 PM
cress
post Aug 14 2012, 02:22 PM

32 posts

joonming,

MTB bcus I'm not really confident with a road bike due to my weight @ 100+KGs, sked d rims/tyres cant handle me weight and brake into a million bits. MTB frame can take the brute forces being applied to it instead of a roadie.

hianboy
post Aug 14 2012, 02:29 PM

364 posts

or maybe u can try swap your tyre to slick road tyre first? then only decide whether wanna change new group set or not...
AmirTheVideoGuy
post Aug 14 2012, 02:33 PM

52 posts

Hey hey, any of you folks interested in bike touring? I'm usually trawling Crazyguyonabike.com for friends to Bike Tour Peninsular Malaysia with but to no avail.

I don't have a particular discipline when it comes to cycling, I do it all equally. tongue.gif
hianboy
post Aug 14 2012, 02:54 PM

364 posts

Me me me~~~~~
tenno
post Aug 14 2012, 02:58 PM

Livestrong
3,550 posts

QUOTE(vin_ann @ Aug 12 2012, 09:32 PM)
Er.. some observation i done to myself.

FYI, i have no problem riding my Giant TCR SL3 when i brought it. in fact, im loving it when im riding it.

Why?

bcoz i'm been riding bike since small. apa-apa macam punya bikes i ride before. started with kid bike, cycle around in my small hometown... then when growing, change to bigger bike, normal bicycle, with front basket....

then, my mum's bike... my grandpa bike (the big wheels, black color bike) then finally mountain bike.... and somehow, i found there's old roadbike (steel) in store... then start riding.

when i'm 1st riding the roadbike, im really dont like the bending... but it's gives me speeds... im start to love it. 

for newbie, unless you know what's your direction, your commitment towards your goal, else forget everything, just get few hundreds roadbike to ride....

where to find few hundreds roadbike you might ask. I dont know any specific one in KL, but you can go to your neighborhood's normal bike shop asking.

last time, when i "bising-bising" want to get mountain bike back in my hometown, i selected the model that's cost RM450... the bike owner have to order as he never bring in the bike. waited dont know how many days, finally i got my bike, was gila babi happy!

that's my cycling 2cent worth of experience.
My first real roadbike cost RM340, back in 1991. That bike, with some modifications, got me into the SUKOM project after I got some good results in the SUKOM Zon Tengah trials in 1993 (top 10 in the TT, 8th in road race). It had 6 speed freewheel (not even a cassette), downtube shifters, the rear wheel was 28" & the front 27" & toeclip pedals... tongue.gif

After I got into the Sukom project, I managed to save enuff money to buy a fake Colnago frame from Joo Ngan... also upgraded to clipless pedals...I went to the 1994 Sukma on that frame. After that I got myself a Giant Cadex CFR-1, upgraded to STI dual control & 8 speed drivetrain. I rode the 1996 Sukma with that bike.... I wished I had kept the bike... sold it off in 2001.. now itching to get back on a road bike... thinking on getting Specialized Allez 105 or Boardman Team Road 105... maybe early next year...
butthead
post Aug 14 2012, 04:55 PM

593 posts

QUOTE(tenno @ Aug 14 2012, 02:58 PM)
My first real roadbike cost RM340, back in 1991. That bike, with some modifications, got me into the SUKOM project after I got some good results in the SUKOM Zon Tengah trials in 1993 (top 10 in the TT, 8th in road race). It had 6 speed freewheel (not even a cassette), downtube shifters, the rear wheel was 28" & the front 27" & toeclip pedals...  tongue.gif

After I got into the Sukom project, I managed to save enuff money to buy a fake Colnago frame from Joo Ngan... also upgraded to clipless pedals...I  went to the 1994 Sukma on that frame. After that I got myself a Giant Cadex CFR-1, upgraded to STI dual control & 8 speed drivetrain. I rode the 1996 Sukma with that bike.... I wished I had kept the bike... sold it off in 2001.. now itching to get back on a road bike... thinking on getting Specialized Allez 105 or Boardman Team Road 105... maybe early next year...
haha.. RM340... the time when chicken rice was still under RM2.50 per plate la... now RM340, carrefour also don't have bicycle to buy... maybe the kiddie ones...

i used to frequent edwin's shop to get the fake GT triple triangle MTB frames too.. haha... no money buy GT or Gary Fisher back then la....

the allez 105 is kinda pricy... but heard it's not a badly made frame especially if you get the E5 ones over the standard A1...

my favvy aluminum bike will always be the canyon AL9.0 ultimate...
joonming
post Aug 14 2012, 05:57 PM

JM
540 posts

QUOTE(cress @ Aug 14 2012, 02:22 PM)
joonming,

MTB bcus I'm not really confident with a road bike due to my weight @ 100+KGs, sked d rims/tyres cant handle me weight and brake into a million bits. MTB frame can take the brute forces being applied to it instead of a roadie.
i Think Sky-live ard 96kg w road bike, slick road Tyre 100% help, groupsets shakehead.gif maybe.

Added on August 14, 2012, 6:00 pm
QUOTE(butthead @ Aug 14 2012, 04:55 PM)
haha.. RM340... the time when chicken rice was still under RM2.50 per plate la... now RM340, carrefour also don't have bicycle to buy... maybe the kiddie ones...

i used to frequent edwin's shop to get the fake GT triple triangle MTB frames too.. haha... no money buy GT or Gary Fisher back then la....

the allez 105 is kinda pricy... but heard it's not a badly made frame especially if you get the E5 ones over the standard A1...

I'm very sure Cheras selling Big/small bowl Pork-noodle(sorry for Muslim) is RM1.8/1.5 , Chinese tea ice is 20sen

Always no home made lunch vmad.gif ,have to eat myself

This post has been edited by joonming: Aug 14 2012, 06:00 PM
butthead
post Aug 14 2012, 06:04 PM

593 posts

QUOTE(joonming @ Aug 14 2012, 05:57 PM)
i Think Sky-live ard 96kg w road bike, slick road Tyre 100% help, groupsets  shakehead.gif maybe.

Added on August 14, 2012, 6:00 pm

I'm very sure Cheras selling Big/small bowl Pork-noodle(sorry for Muslim)  is RM1.8/1.5 , Chinese tea ice is 20sen

Always no home made lunch  vmad.gif ,have to eat myself
weight is no issue la... it will come down with enough effort.. jus get some reliable wheel initially and you will be safe...

yeah.. those were the days when you swallow 3 big bowls of noodles and still dun feel sorry for anything... now, 1 bowl already feel sorry for the wallet...

apa komplain komplain la... home made lunch = self made lunch... komplain komplain mah end up komplain kat sendili...
stimix
post Aug 14 2012, 08:01 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Wah lotsa extreme sport sifu in this thread...sked...
nightzstar
post Aug 14 2012, 09:17 PM

Col. Samantha Carter
2,702 posts

@butthead, that exitway cost 1.5k. And got 10 speed bike on volcano brand frame bike????2.3k plus he quoted me for the bike with an unknown brand of frame. I nvr heard of volcano bike. hmm.gif

joonming
post Aug 14 2012, 10:34 PM

JM
540 posts

QUOTE(nightzstar @ Aug 14 2012, 09:17 PM)
@butthead, that exitway cost 1.5k. And got 10 speed bike on volcano brand frame bike????2.3k plus he quoted me for the bike with an unknown brand of frame. I nvr heard of volcano bike.  hmm.gif
http://bikeprobicycle.com/v2/prod-listing....oduct#innerProd
nightzstar
post Aug 14 2012, 10:53 PM

Col. Samantha Carter
2,702 posts

QUOTE(joonming @ Aug 14 2012, 10:34 PM)
pardon, the point of the links? blink.gif but nice website anyway, can check the price there, drool over scott drool.gif thanks
tenno
post Aug 14 2012, 11:20 PM

Livestrong
3,550 posts

QUOTE(butthead @ Aug 14 2012, 04:55 PM)

My former teammate/mechanic/coach is the senior sales technician/bg bike fitter @ Specialized store... I know the Allez is kinda pricey, but the quality is there, the 2012 version is all E5 frame & the 2013 version is gonna be much more expensive & lighter. Of course there are other options, but the Allez & Boardman Team Road is currently my top choices. But maybe I've gotta postpone the acquisition until later this year... sad.gif
nightzstar
post Aug 14 2012, 11:24 PM

Col. Samantha Carter
2,702 posts

hey guys, the frame are universal right and work with all type of groupset?
butthead
post Aug 15 2012, 09:09 AM

593 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Aug 14 2012, 08:01 PM)
Wah lotsa extreme sport sifu in this thread...sked...
actually... only 3 extreme sport sifu la... 1 national athlete, 1 endurance athlete and 1 ultra marathoner....

the rest are all here c0cking only...

QUOTE(nightzstar @ Aug 14 2012, 09:17 PM)
@butthead, that exitway cost 1.5k. And got 10 speed bike on volcano brand frame bike????2.3k plus he quoted me for the bike with an unknown brand of frame. I nvr heard of volcano bike.  hmm.gif
RM1.5k... no way... i rather spend a bit more and get a more reputable one.. i am sure there is some in the RM1.8k range... maybe a sora mix 9-s bike...

QUOTE(nightzstar @ Aug 14 2012, 10:53 PM)
pardon, the point of the links?  blink.gif  but nice website anyway, can check the price there, drool over scott  drool.gif thanks
point being poison...

no lar... let you reference ma... the price might not reflect the actual... but it should be quite close to it...

QUOTE(tenno @ Aug 14 2012, 11:20 PM)
My former teammate/mechanic/coach is the senior sales technician/bg bike fitter @ Specialized store... I know the Allez is kinda pricey, but the quality is there, the 2012 version is all E5 frame & the 2013 version is gonna be much more expensive & lighter. Of course there are other options, but the Allez & Boardman Team Road is currently my top choices. But maybe I've gotta postpone the acquisition until later this year... sad.gif
yeah... the price is only less than 2k away from some of the entry level carbon models... which makes some people rethink their choices....

was among my consideration at one point too but the price did put me off a bit after including the costs of some parts swap..

QUOTE(nightzstar @ Aug 14 2012, 11:24 PM)
hey guys, the frame are universal right and work with all type of groupset?
there is no relation of frame to groupset... all groups are designed to work with any frames... the only exclusion is the front derailleur as there are several clamp sizes or braze on types...

all else, the same...you just need to check before purchasing..

125 Pages « < 15 16 17 18 19 > » Top

0.0292sec    0.67    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 09:40 AM