Cycling V3, General talks on Racing/road bikes

nightzstar
post Aug 8 2012, 11:04 PM

Col. Samantha Carter
2,702 posts

guys, is polygon helios 100 good? saw one second hand sale for rm1800, is the price expensive?
nightzstar
post Aug 9 2012, 08:06 PM

Col. Samantha Carter
2,702 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Aug 8 2012, 11:33 PM)
New Helios 100 selling in rodalink for RM1,648 without discount.. This 2ndhand selling > new? Must be lotsa upgrade liao?
not so sure, looks standard. here is the links http://www.bicyclebuysell.com/view_item.php?id=135282 this is the links
nightzstar
post Aug 9 2012, 08:36 PM

Col. Samantha Carter
2,702 posts

QUOTE(butthead @ Aug 9 2012, 08:24 PM)
Ohh... sorry.. Helios 100.. i misread as Helios F100, the flatbar hybrid...

not sure if the price is like that.. but  a new one definitely will only costs around RM1.8k - RM2k...

give rodalink a quick call to check the retail price of a new bike...

Rodalink Hartamas - 15 Jalan 23/70A, Desa Sri Hartamas, 50480 Kuala Lumpur.  03-6201 0422
Rodalink Putrajaya – No 22, Jalan Diplomatik,  Presint 15, Putrajaya.  03-8889 2822
Rodalink Bangsar - 56, Jalan Telawi, Bangsar Baru, 59100, Kuala Lumpur.  03-2287 1022
Rodalink Bandar Botanic – No 93 Jalan Mahogani, 5/KS7 Ambang Botanic,, 41200 Klang.  03-3325 9403

make your decision after you find out the price of a new bike...

even then.. there is 2 problems to it.. you are not sure if the size is right for you... and bike is in kuching... you don't want to bet on long range transportation for bikes.. not cool if the owner does not know how to pack a bike for transportation...

even then... try to spend a bit more to get the 10speed tiagra if possible... 9-speed is just a bit too yesteryear for me...
i am located in kuching haha, there are only 2 shop so far here, i will ask about their price at rodalink. thks very much for the information. thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by nightzstar: Aug 9 2012, 08:38 PM
nightzstar
post Aug 9 2012, 10:55 PM

Col. Samantha Carter
2,702 posts

QUOTE(butthead @ Aug 9 2012, 09:49 PM)
ohhh.. ok... they say assumption is the mother of all fakups... now you know why  blush.gif

still.. give it a check and see... you dun wanna be overpaying... maybe the price in kuching and KL is different and that is the reality that you have to expect... RM1.8k would get a sora equiped new bike here in KL at least i would say...
yeah diff due to transportation cost, sad but true lol...restless sleep thinking of road bike lol damn...
nightzstar
post Aug 11 2012, 07:19 PM

Col. Samantha Carter
2,702 posts

guys i am confused here, there are too many brand like merrin, polygon,bmc,ghost,hasa brand. how to know which brand are high end and mid range?

This post has been edited by nightzstar: Aug 11 2012, 07:19 PM
nightzstar
post Aug 11 2012, 10:38 PM

Col. Samantha Carter
2,702 posts

allrights thks butthead, tomolo bicycle hunting~~~
nightzstar
post Aug 12 2012, 04:16 PM

Col. Samantha Carter
2,702 posts

guys, any reason why exitwat is not good? coz i was confused some shop owner prefer exitway than polygon, the owner claimed he got few of customers claiming warranty for leaking frame of polygon bike and he stop selling polygon brands.
nightzstar
post Aug 12 2012, 08:32 PM

Col. Samantha Carter
2,702 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Aug 12 2012, 04:37 PM)
Exitway is very new in the market.. I only heard of it few years ago circ 2009 onwards and I think started by Ipoh based co http://www.gccycle.com/index.php/company/about-us

Whereas polygon is already here for years now. In M'sia by Lerun which is also a subsidiary of Polygon after bought over by Indonesian. and their dedicated Rodalink showroom http://www.polygoncycle.com/

Anyway, I dun really go for which one good brand.. I go for the groupset, the wheels, the fork, & etc and must be value for money and the lighthest for whatever budget I willing to fork out  blush.gif
btw the links u gave me is gcshop, the ones i mentioned is this http://www.exitway.com/index.php?option=co...id=86&Itemid=92 that is my soon to be purchased bike. hmm.gif
nightzstar
post Aug 12 2012, 08:44 PM

Col. Samantha Carter
2,702 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Aug 12 2012, 08:37 PM)
You just click few link and it will lead you to that Ipoh factory.. I suspect that's the factory for Exitway liao lor  biggrin.gif

http://www.exitway.com/index.php?option=co...id=52&Itemid=74

The US, address is just a common trick by lotsa website trying to tell ppl they are US based... I suspect my latest wheelset upgrade (Amain-T) also the same. Having the story about their US origin (Probably fake) but actually factory in Taichung, Taiwan  laugh.gif
shocking.gif shocking find, but nvrtheless, i am going to ride the bike in trainer mode and hopefully it fits my body well. btw thks very much for this info, really broaden my knowledge of cycling. Wanna ask if want change the cassette need around how much, i will be starting with 8 speed first then if i feel there is really practical need for 10 speed i might save moolah in the future for 10 speed upgrade.

This post has been edited by nightzstar: Aug 12 2012, 08:46 PM
nightzstar
post Aug 12 2012, 09:14 PM

Col. Samantha Carter
2,702 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Aug 12 2012, 09:02 PM)
From my past experiences wth MTB, you better spend more on getting a 10 speed now rather than spending more for the upgrades. The parts will not be cheap for sure.

When I started MTB in mid 2000, I spent RM800+ for my SARS bike wth 8X3 gears.. a year later I started to change the gear to Deore 9 X3, changed blingsX2, changed V-brake to hydraulic brakes & lastly changed my wheelset to American classic.. Now my RM800+ MTB after those upgrade added up to ~ RM4K liao  blush.gif

If you buy a reasonable good 10 gear bike, you no need to worry about future upgrade dy...you almost there except the later blingX2 such as carbon here & there haha  biggrin.gif
i see, will 10 speed be an overkill? for beginner
nightzstar
post Aug 14 2012, 09:17 PM

Col. Samantha Carter
2,702 posts

@butthead, that exitway cost 1.5k. And got 10 speed bike on volcano brand frame bike????2.3k plus he quoted me for the bike with an unknown brand of frame. I nvr heard of volcano bike. hmm.gif

nightzstar
post Aug 14 2012, 10:53 PM

Col. Samantha Carter
2,702 posts

QUOTE(joonming @ Aug 14 2012, 10:34 PM)
pardon, the point of the links? blink.gif but nice website anyway, can check the price there, drool over scott drool.gif thanks
nightzstar
post Aug 14 2012, 11:24 PM

Col. Samantha Carter
2,702 posts

hey guys, the frame are universal right and work with all type of groupset?
nightzstar
post Aug 15 2012, 04:24 PM

Col. Samantha Carter
2,702 posts

finally purchased my first road bike, exitway ergo logic 1.5k. i know u guys will say this is so wrong, well i did tried two bikes ones is alloy frame with carbon fork (volcano brand) with shimano tiagra groupset. i tried on the bike and oh well, i am not comfortable with the handling and the seat, the shop owner already adjust the position to suit my body size but still i feel awkward and not comfortable, the handling was not up to my taste.

Then i tried the exitway ergo logic, when i sat on it, oh my, wat a comfort and the handling yeah, it feel right with my hand. At that time I was like, wat the hell? I paused for a second to decided which bike and i decided it because it is the exitway bike that my body feel comfortable with...did tried to weight yeah, the exitway is abit heavy compared to volcano frame.

And here my journey to the world of cycling start, and saving up for 10 speed groupset, the owner said can trade in and I think it is better for me to learn the charateristic of each part of the bike first before jumping the bandwagon of tiagra,carbon,fulcrum and the likes.

This post has been edited by nightzstar: Aug 15 2012, 04:24 PM
nightzstar
post Aug 15 2012, 04:39 PM

Col. Samantha Carter
2,702 posts

QUOTE(vin_ann @ Aug 15 2012, 04:29 PM)
welcome to cycling world.

you're based at Kuching?
yeah, gotta join cycling team at wed nite and sunday morning... icon_idea.gif..now wanna do solo cycling first to train my body to adapt to the bending position. flex.gif
nightzstar
post Aug 27 2012, 11:35 PM

Col. Samantha Carter
2,702 posts

finally got chance to ride my road bike..
verdict: still new to my bike, my butt and arm are not used to it and it was sore lol. I could not handle it properly when taking corner. Well i guess i have to train more to let my body adapt to the road bike and its handlebar. Have no confidence to go fast yet.

This post has been edited by nightzstar: Aug 27 2012, 11:36 PM
nightzstar
post Aug 28 2012, 01:29 PM

Col. Samantha Carter
2,702 posts

QUOTE(Sky.Live @ Aug 28 2012, 09:59 AM)
Ur butt is same like shoe, need time to burn in haha.. as it to get the saddle shape ass
haha yeah, guess so. no pain no gain.
nightzstar
post Aug 28 2012, 06:50 PM

Col. Samantha Carter
2,702 posts

my butt still hurt.. still in process of burning in...

Added on August 28, 2012, 6:51 pm
QUOTE(joonming @ Aug 28 2012, 04:32 PM)
Get a Rodie Gay pants lah , got pad-pad
how muchie, don't recommend me pants price over 9999 lol laugh.gif

This post has been edited by nightzstar: Aug 28 2012, 06:51 PM
nightzstar
post Aug 29 2012, 11:07 PM

Col. Samantha Carter
2,702 posts

QUOTE(nlik @ Aug 29 2012, 10:48 PM)
Chinese 7th month is here. how many still like riding out at night??mega_shok.gif
Tonight on the Kesas I spotted like 9 mountain bikes and 1 folding bike along the way as i passed them, so it was probably a safe night to be out.

On the return route to Bkt Jalil from Summit USJ, Out of nowhere, no junctions .. a bike suddenly appeared, tailed and drafted me quite closely,.. noticed it by the chain whirring sounds. I decided to speed up but this biker still stuck on at the same pace.

Of course i peeped to the left side briefly to see who it was but abit shocked to see another blurry figure like myself?
The tailing rider was in full yellow top like me but blurry la. It was just a quick glance before I looked front again and felt somewhat 'the chills' and i didn't dare look back again.

I forced a faster tempo and just before the slight uphill near the Petronas station, the rider disappeared and the chain noise was gone too. I peeped to my rear again and the coast was clear, even though I still had that chilly feeling in the body.

But was this rider that tailed me for 300 meters real or something else? I'm still not sure..Hmm.. If I wake up with a fever or sick tomorrow then confirm la..
fuuuuu, cerita seram u got there...
nightzstar
post Sep 8 2012, 07:27 PM

Col. Samantha Carter
2,702 posts

done my riding today, butthurt to the max,ouch~~

0.0558sec    0.29    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 06:40 AM