vios or city? both 2012 facelifed..which to buy?, budjet around 86k

keanutan
post Aug 2 2012, 08:31 PM

87 posts

QUOTE(conqu3ror @ Aug 2 2012, 04:51 PM)
Another similar Vios crash test at 64km/h, yes just 64km/h

A note for Vios driver, never speeding, else you might lose you leg or arm in the crash.

all crash test speed are 50-80 the most bcos they crash to a standing wall . if both car crash head on each speed is 50 teh impact will be like 120 crash to a wall ..
dares
post Aug 2 2012, 08:37 PM

834 posts

QUOTE(keanutan @ Aug 2 2012, 08:31 PM)
all crash test speed are 50-80 the most bcos they crash to a standing wall . if both car crash head on each speed is 50 teh impact will be like 120 crash to a wall ..
Wrong.

here's why
Jinster
post Aug 2 2012, 10:13 PM

Saber <3 VioletEvergarden <3
902 posts

@bluehaven

hybrid cars are not meant for our malaysia weather condition..
come on, replacing the battery is roughly RM10k+....don't believe other numbers.... if this number u don't want to believe then i can do nothing about it =)
yes it saves fuel and whatnot because u'll b using the motor and battery the most, that is why, it saves fuel..if change the mode to using fuel, u cannot go far as the tank is not so big to accommodate long distance..
i have nothing against hybrid at other countries..it is going well but still the normal combustion cars are doing even better as well as improving itself thanks to RnD people...
i've seen many hybrid drivers on the right lane especially on the uphill part sleep.gif but going at snail speed which disturbs the traffic...please maintain on the left where u should be because u wanna save fuel..so stay at that lane..thanks~~

regarding the "new" vios which to me is not new....just a car applying new makeup... anyway from beginning, i don't like the middle stye combination meter...i hate it..cars with that, i hate it -.-" how to drive and see the meter/temp/petrol properly...either eye pain or neck pain or whatsoever....come on... got some like it, got some don't like it..i've even saw some put dunno what stuff to block the whole meter assuming it is a place to story stuff there zzz...even my friends, then i advice them but well..up to them =.="" other than this, normal driving, nothing special, value for money? well maybe, resale value high? not really also, depends on how well the car is being taken care of and so on..

the usual what year manufacturing and so on still goes on in trade-ins and condition of the car...colour, body n paint condition, engine, trans, whatsoever...number plate also recently...sweat... every car is now roughly the same...

let's say toyota, honda, mazda, peugeot, ford, nissan, mitsubishi..

cars at that price so n so, after a year, depreciate about 10-15k... roughly, some lower... but it then comes down to car condition and so on... don always think about the brand.. take a look at ur own car condition and see if let's say, u r the buyer...are u going to buy a crappy interior but superb exterior car? badges aren't that important now...

well, my humble opinion
i like honda cars, mazda cars, mitsubishi cars
the rest, i just like a certain model from each badge...
better choose what car u like the most..not what other people like =)

This post has been edited by Jinster: Aug 2 2012, 10:31 PM
kidmad
post Aug 2 2012, 10:43 PM

4,482 posts

QUOTE(BabiDoll @ Aug 2 2012, 02:54 PM)
high FC because got better output..? topspeed maybe will win by 10kmh only or maybe same.
for pickup and city use, anytime vios win. 0 to 100kmh can smoke city anytime. even a drunkman in vios can smoke your city for the pickup. for highway drive, comfort wise, both same only. last time i try use my sis honda city, maxspeed just 185km also. i just back from kl to penang last weekend and i able to achieve 195kmh for stock vios, sport rim 15". Even at 160 to 180kmh average, full tank come back to penang still left 4 bars petrol.
Don't bullshit la ass. I just got back from Penang to KL also last week. Full tank come back memang left 4 bars but you do know Vios the last 3 bars can only go around 100km right? Full tank from KL to Penang + jalan jalan around penang RM6x can go around 510km. Vios fuel savvy is awesome.. 4 - 5 years back. Now days we have Fiesta, Mazda 2, Polo, and a couple more which is more or less the same.
calvin_ng
post Aug 2 2012, 10:51 PM

TeamCity | HCC | Insighters
1,583 posts

QUOTE(Jinster @ Aug 2 2012, 10:13 PM)
@bluehaven

come on, replacing the battery is roughly RM10k+....don't believe other numbers.... if this number u don't want to believe then i can do nothing about it =)
yes it saves fuel and whatnot because u'll b using the motor and battery the most, that is why, it saves fuel..if change the mode to using fuel, u cannot go far as the tank is not so big to accommodate long distance..
i have nothing against hybrid at other countries..it is going well but still the normal combustion cars are doing even better as well as improving itself thanks to RnD people...
i've seen many hybrid drivers on the right lane especially on the uphill part sleep.gif but going at snail speed which disturbs the traffic...please maintain on the left where u should be because u wanna save fuel..so stay at that lane..thanks~~

regarding the "new" vios which to me is not new....just a car applying new makeup... anyway from beginning, i don't like the middle stye combination meter...i hate it..cars with that, i hate it -.-" how to drive and see the meter/temp/petrol properly...either eye pain or neck pain or whatsoever....come on... got some like it, got some don't like it..i've even saw some put dunno what stuff to block the whole meter assuming it is a place to story stuff there zzz...even my friends, then i advice them but well..up to them =.="" other than this, normal driving, nothing special, value for money? well maybe, resale value high? not really also, depends on how well the car is being taken care of and so on..

the usual what year manufacturing and so on still goes on in trade-ins and condition of the car...colour, body n paint condition, engine, trans, whatsoever...number plate also recently...sweat... every car is now roughly the same...

cars at that price so n so, after a year, depreciate about 10-15k... roughly, some lower... but it then comes down to car condition and so on... don always think about the brand.. take a look at ur own car condition and see if let's say, u r the buyer...are u going to buy a crappy interior but superb exterior car? badges aren't that important now...

well, my humble opinion
Dude do you know battery technology in the 1st place, second thing hybrid is not slow this is proven fact you see ct200h easily a 0-100km/h in 7sec. Also a crz is a 8sec car btw i have tested honda insight can anytime outrun any 1.5-1.6l car...

Battery in most hybrid is proven technology... they use nimh which is quite heat resistant. And they employed smart sensor and circuits to look after the battery. But as said this car is not the future... the future is full electric or hydrogen both uses battery... as well... a toyota prius hybrid battery already proven to run 10yrs and still running strong... check the facts right...

Honda ima battery is standard D cell battery which can be replace cheaply but then if you get back honda original stuff you have to pay premium laa... same thing maa a car after warranty normally service outside why? Cheaper maa same thing with hybrids as well

megat89
post Aug 2 2012, 10:59 PM

278 posts

QUOTE(calvin_ng @ Aug 2 2012, 10:51 PM)
Dude do you know battery technology in the 1st place, second thing hybrid is not slow this is proven fact you see ct200h easily a 0-100km/h in 7sec. Also a crz is a 8sec car btw i have tested honda insight can anytime outrun any 1.5-1.6l car...

Battery in most hybrid is proven technology... they use nimh which is quite heat resistant. And they employed smart sensor and circuits to look after the battery. But as said this car is not the future... the future is full electric or hydrogen both uses battery... as well... a toyota prius hybrid battery already proven to run 10yrs and still running strong... check the facts right...

Honda ima battery is standard D cell battery which can be replace cheaply but then if you get back honda original stuff you have to pay premium laa... same thing maa a car after warranty normally service outside why? Cheaper maa same thing with hybrids as well
because some people say insight only got 1.3 engine..but forget to add that the motor also produces power..and not to mention that the electric motor torque delivery can be said very immediate..
keanutan
post Aug 2 2012, 11:01 PM

87 posts

QUOTE(Jinster @ Aug 2 2012, 10:13 PM)
@bluehaven

well, my humble opinion
hei proton owner .. where u get the idea of hybrid not good for our weather ?? prius second generation already in malaysia more then three years without problem from the owner .. dont believe go to priusmalaysia facebook (ops only for hybrid owner) we who own hybrid know the price of battery .. why u upset for us having to pay the battery price if our hybrid got porblem?
bennedict82
post Aug 2 2012, 11:05 PM

2,122 posts

QUOTE(keanutan @ Aug 2 2012, 11:01 PM)
hei proton owner .. where u get the idea of hybrid not good for our weather ?? prius second generation already in malaysia more then three years without problem from the owner .. dont believe go to priusmalaysia facebook (ops only for hybrid owner) we who  own hybrid know the price of battery .. why u upset for us having to pay the battery price if our hybrid got porblem?
Something we need to check with Toyota why they only give 3 yrs warranty to their hybrid car in Malaysia but 5-8 yrs given to other countries. I believe Toyota has some concern about their battery lifetime in Malaysia.

calvin_ng
post Aug 2 2012, 11:07 PM

TeamCity | HCC | Insighters
1,583 posts

QUOTE(keanutan @ Aug 2 2012, 11:01 PM)
hei proton owner .. where u get the idea of hybrid not good for our weather ?? prius second generation already in malaysia more then three years without problem from the owner .. dont believe go to priusmalaysia facebook (ops only for hybrid owner) we who  own hybrid know the price of battery .. why u upset for us having to pay the battery price if our hybrid got porblem?
Hehehe some people butthurt seeing other people drive hybrid... hahaha

The fact is hybrid engine may be small but the output they produce is high... a puny little 1.3l insight/jazz ima hybrid can go 200++km/h a prius can basically compete with a bmw320i... we drive slow does not mean the car is slow... we drive slow cause this is the eco way to drive.. only road user like you drive hard and brake hard hahaha and think damn godlike... this is what we called stupid driver..haha

Added on August 2, 2012, 11:10 pm
QUOTE(bennedict82 @ Aug 2 2012, 11:05 PM)
Something we need to check with Toyota why they only give 3 yrs warranty to their hybrid car in Malaysia but 5-8 yrs given to other countries. I believe Toyota has some concern about their battery lifetime in Malaysia.
Other country a toyota vios only cost rm30k and here it cost 86k why??? You know the answer...

This post has been edited by calvin_ng: Aug 2 2012, 11:10 PM
winterwish
post Aug 2 2012, 11:16 PM

141 posts

QUOTE(dares @ Aug 2 2012, 08:25 PM)
He means each bar on the fuel gauge does not necessarily represent same amount of fuel, because the fuel tank is not square shape.
Oh right make sense, well just have to wait for him to provide us the actual FC from his car then. Haha.

keanutan
post Aug 2 2012, 11:18 PM

87 posts

QUOTE(bennedict82 @ Aug 2 2012, 11:05 PM)
apa la lu.. toyota in malaysia belong to UMW nothing to do with toyota .. same case with USA some state got cover for 3 years on battery while some 5 years . then what u want to say the 3 years warranty 1 got something fishy going on maybe all the bad battery going over to that state ah??

dont be so skeptic on hybrid .. u think it using energizer battery ??
brucesss
post Aug 2 2012, 11:19 PM

Stay hungry, Stay foolish
2,266 posts

rather go for city.. got pedal shifters..
keanutan
post Aug 2 2012, 11:25 PM

87 posts

QUOTE(calvin_ng @ Aug 2 2012, 11:07 PM)
Hehehe some people butthurt seeing other people drive hybrid... hahaha

The fact is hybrid engine may be small but the output they produce is high... a puny little 1.3l insight/jazz ima hybrid can go 200++km/h a prius can basically compete with a bmw320i... we drive slow does not mean the car is slow... we drive slow cause this is the eco way to drive..  only road user like you drive hard and brake hard hahaha and think damn godlike... this is what we called stupid driver..haha

Added on August 2, 2012, 11:10 pm
Other country a toyota vios only cost rm30k and here it cost 86k why??? You know the answer...
agreed with u .. dont know why so many F1 driver wannabe in malaysia no matter in highway or city drive .. wa seh driving 210km on sepang highway very good .. very macho .. .. how much times they actually gain if they drive 200km all from kl - jb compare to 140-150km .

now when see people push hard just to pass our car and get infront make me wanna laugh untill piss . VROOM VROOM VROOM only from my back to my front yet still at traffic light..WTF going to pole positions ah ? getting the first clean place for better start up on the race ah ?
conqu3ror
post Aug 2 2012, 11:28 PM

636 posts

QUOTE(brucesss @ Aug 2 2012, 11:19 PM)
rather go for city.. got pedal shifters..
Of coz is fun to play with it, but you also paying a premium for it.

Come on Hybrid car is totally a different category of car compare to Vios & City. BTW if Vios & City without Tax may only cost RM40-50k, but Prius C, Jazz Hybrid & Insight w/out tax already cost about RM100k.

We buy Hybrid not only because it superb in FC, but also the Hybrid Tech, safety & Go Green and of coz the Tax Exempted.
keanutan
post Aug 2 2012, 11:36 PM

87 posts

QUOTE(conqu3ror @ Aug 2 2012, 11:28 PM)
Of coz is fun to play with it, but you also paying a premium for it.

Come on Hybrid car is totally a different category of car compare to Vios & City. BTW if Vios & City without Tax may only cost RM40-50k, but Prius C, Jazz Hybrid & Insight w/out tax already cost about RM100k.

We buy Hybrid not only because it superb in FC, but also the Hybrid Tech, safety & Go Green and of coz the Tax Exempted.
hihi tax exempted and the actual car price is my second priority i choose hybrid. first is the tech.. this forum here ask about vios and city .. for me choose city for the value and gadget .. compare to vios..
twincharger07
post Aug 2 2012, 11:43 PM

4,788 posts

QUOTE(amad108 @ Aug 2 2012, 04:07 PM)
ok2.. calm down..
i am vios s user here, 2008 model.. just wanna share, i drove from shah alam to kuala terengganu from full bar when arrived left 3 bars more from 8 bars, using ron95.. so u do the math.. normall driving style..
1 bar at near full tank can be more than 1 bar near the empty indicator or the other way round.. dont think it can reflect on accurate measurement..
Jinster
post Aug 3 2012, 12:00 AM

Saber <3 VioletEvergarden <3
902 posts

@keanutan
don't simply say if u don't know anything about me.

@calvin_ng
good luck to hybrid owners then~
oh i have no qualms with hybrid cars, just those in malaysia =) if u don't know what that means, then it's okay, thx bye..nothing more to talk, next~

p.s. my reply is to the forumer bluehaven -.-" why talk about hybrid here..

no need out of topic...it's about vios n city here~

thus no for vios from me again~

This post has been edited by Jinster: Aug 3 2012, 12:03 AM
sleepwalker
post Aug 3 2012, 12:03 AM

Need sleep....
5,568 posts

QUOTE(calvin_ng @ Aug 2 2012, 10:51 PM)

The XX second car title is calculated giving for the time it takes to cover the quarter mile aka 400m dash. The 0-100km/h does not show the full potential or power of the car. A 10 second car is a car that covers 400m in 10 seconds. So you don't call a CRZ an 8 second car.

Secondly, the 0-100km/h is assisted by gearing ratios and usually not used as a measure of the car's true sprinting power. The quarter mile dash would neglect any gearing assistance as you will need to push the car at higher gears. A car with twice the power of the CRZ may only do 0-100km/h in 6 seconds but will cover 0-400m in about 13 seconds whereas the CRZ struggles at about 19. That's where the diffence in power shows.
keanutan
post Aug 3 2012, 12:04 AM

87 posts

QUOTE(Jinster @ Aug 3 2012, 12:00 AM)
@keanutan
don't simply say if u don't know anything about me.

@calvin_ng
good luck to hybrid owners then~
oh i have no qualms with hybrid cars, just those in malaysia =) if u don't know what that means, then it's okay, thx bye..nothing more to talk, next~

p.s. my reply is to the forumer bluehaven -.-" why talk about hybrid here..

no need out of topic...it's about vios n city here~

thus no for vios from me again~
@jin
same to u dont simply say anything about hybrid when u dont know anything about it at ALL
sleepwalker
post Aug 3 2012, 12:22 AM

Need sleep....
5,568 posts

QUOTE(keanutan @ Aug 3 2012, 12:04 AM)
@jin
same to u dont simply say anything about hybrid when u dont know anything about it at ALL
And you don't say anything about hybrids when you don't know anything at all. Driving one and you don't even know the effects of heat on batteries. He has a point about the batteries lifespan in hot weather as the battery discharges faster in high temperatures. The higher reaction rate will reduce the lifespan of the battery. The faster the battery discharges, the more recharging cycles the battery goes through and shorter lifespan.

This is a chemical reaction - heat problem that affects all batteries. A 10 degrees temperature difference can double the discharge rate.

Another issue that you cannot deny here is the shorten battery warranty given to the same car (Hybrids are not CKD) in different countries.

Now that we have done all the corrections, lets put this topic back on track.

This post has been edited by sleepwalker: Aug 3 2012, 12:24 AM

9 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 >Top

0.0220sec    0.73    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 01:33 PM