sleepwalker
post Aug 3 2012, 12:03 AM

Need sleep....
5,568 posts

QUOTE(calvin_ng @ Aug 2 2012, 10:51 PM)
Dude do you know battery technology in the 1st place, second thing hybrid is not slow this is proven fact you see ct200h easily a 0-100km/h in 7sec. Also a crz is a 8sec car btw i have tested honda insight can anytime outrun any 1.5-1.6l car...

Battery in most hybrid is proven technology... they use nimh which is quite heat resistant. And they employed smart sensor and circuits to look after the battery. But as said this car is not the future... the future is full electric or hydrogen both uses battery... as well... a toyota prius hybrid battery already proven to run 10yrs and still running strong... check the facts right...

Honda ima battery is standard D cell battery which can be replace cheaply but then if you get back honda original stuff you have to pay premium laa... same thing maa a car after warranty normally service outside why? Cheaper maa same thing with hybrids as well
The XX second car title is calculated giving for the time it takes to cover the quarter mile aka 400m dash. The 0-100km/h does not show the full potential or power of the car. A 10 second car is a car that covers 400m in 10 seconds. So you don't call a CRZ an 8 second car.

Secondly, the 0-100km/h is assisted by gearing ratios and usually not used as a measure of the car's true sprinting power. The quarter mile dash would neglect any gearing assistance as you will need to push the car at higher gears. A car with twice the power of the CRZ may only do 0-100km/h in 6 seconds but will cover 0-400m in about 13 seconds whereas the CRZ struggles at about 19. That's where the diffence in power shows.
sleepwalker
post Aug 3 2012, 12:22 AM

Need sleep....
5,568 posts

QUOTE(keanutan @ Aug 3 2012, 12:04 AM)
@jin
same to u dont simply say anything about hybrid when u dont know anything about it at ALL
And you don't say anything about hybrids when you don't know anything at all. Driving one and you don't even know the effects of heat on batteries. He has a point about the batteries lifespan in hot weather as the battery discharges faster in high temperatures. The higher reaction rate will reduce the lifespan of the battery. The faster the battery discharges, the more recharging cycles the battery goes through and shorter lifespan.

This is a chemical reaction - heat problem that affects all batteries. A 10 degrees temperature difference can double the discharge rate.

Another issue that you cannot deny here is the shorten battery warranty given to the same car (Hybrids are not CKD) in different countries.

Now that we have done all the corrections, lets put this topic back on track.

This post has been edited by sleepwalker: Aug 3 2012, 12:24 AM
sleepwalker
post Aug 3 2012, 09:01 AM

Need sleep....
5,568 posts

QUOTE(keanutan @ Aug 3 2012, 12:27 AM)
WHY U envy people drive hybrid ah .. of course la heat can cause battery lifespan .. hybrid car battery come with blower fan to cool down if got heat .. that why new model hybrid battery inside cabin not at the rear .. even for those at the rear the blower will get cool air from inside cabin which is air cond cool air to cool it down when needed
handphone battery of course need replace every 2 years bcos full charge all day long .. research on hybrid battery first .. before u blow water ..try say your cooment at the hybrid forum see how u get the answer .. some more precise then me lar..

u think it the same battery at the engine bay ah ?
Like I said, you don't know anything about the batteries.

http://www.hybridcars.com/gallery/22070/photo?page=3

The battery in some of the hybrids are the same ones that I put into my flash light. D Cell battery. Why they put small batteries in series? That is the only way to pump the voltage up high enough to drive the motor (if you can still remember your high school battery physics class).

Battery technology is the same, whether it is used in the cell phone or in a car. Again, you know nothing about batteries if you think that our mobile phone battery dies in 2 years because of charging all day. It is the limited charge discharge cycle that kills the battery as we use it every day and recharge it every night. Each 100% charge is a full cycle and each battery has about 500-1000 charge cycles, depending on the quality. I have a few mobile phones that is hardly used and the batteries that are still holding charge after 3-4 years because I have no used up the charging cycles. Batteries have shelf life of about 5-10 years provided that it is stored properly.

Comments from hybrid forum are still the same. THey own hybrid cars but know nothing about their cars. Just like this forum. Everybody here owns a car but that does not mean everybody knows everything about cars. At least they have not proven so.
sleepwalker
post Aug 3 2012, 09:11 AM

Need sleep....
5,568 posts

QUOTE(calvin_ng @ Aug 3 2012, 09:02 AM)
Since TS already book a Honda City S Grade... can we close this thread...

Lets Discuss Hybrid in Hybrid Thread...

peace...
Well.. too bad all the talk on hybrid did not sway him to get one. The TS can close this topic if he no longer needs it.
sleepwalker
post Aug 3 2012, 09:32 AM

Need sleep....
5,568 posts

QUOTE(calvin_ng @ Aug 3 2012, 09:13 AM)
Lets clarify some batteries technologies here...

Li-ion / li-po (lithium Polimer) batteries charastic is different from NIMH... where NIMH is more heat resistant and durable it is also limited by the weight and charging and discharging capability (Slow to charge and discharge) Li-ion in this case has a much higher rate of charge and discharge... (if you play high performance RC-remot control) you know.. I have a Savage Flux HP mosnter truck that can go 120kph I know battery technology...

The downside li-ion is very sensitive to heat... if the heat above 50*c the battery will go into a state where it discharge itself and shorten the lifespan... li-ion has also a weirc charasteristic where discharge a li-ion below 20% will damage the battery (This is where people damage their notebook and cell-phone battery) do not discharge below 20%..!!! and if you discharge a li-ion below 5% your battery is DEAD!!! (most modern cell employ a circuit board to prevent this)

For NIMH battery it is more resistant to heat which a tipical NIMH battery can run up to 80*c before damage will come... this is reason why hybrid in Malaysia uses NIMH (Except Civic hybrid 2012)

In a Hybrid car.. the car do not charge and discharge from battery directly, there is capacitor involve where the car will charge up to a capacitor to run... and the NIMH battery in Hybrid is for storing remaining juice in the capacitor... the advantage of capacitor is the discharge and recharge rate is super fast... this is the reason when you hit on regenerative brake the voltage go into charging capacitor then the capacitor slowly charge the nimh battery pack...

also when your car is super hot say it hit 80*c on a desert heat... no worries the hybrid will not engage the batteries... what the car do is to use your aircond air to cool down the batteries before uses it... pretty smart... it also have a CPU to manage charge and discharge rate where it keep the batteries between 20%-90% so it is not overly diacharge and over charge hence keeping the battery in good health...

now who dont understand batteries??
Your arguments seems to be always copy and paste from somewhere and it does not seem to gel with the discussion. I talk A and you copy paste about B.

When I talk about heat, I'm not talking about damaging battery. A battery with higher temperature will always discharge faster, meaning less efficiency and needs to be 'topped up' more frequency. This is something you don't feel in a hybrid car as you are constantly topping up the charge. Each charge/discharge cycle does not mean the battery has to be charged from 0 to 100%. Every time the capacitor charges the battery, this counts towards the charging cycle of the battery as it is accumulative. The less efficient the battery is, the more top ups you need to do and hence the shorter lifespan. Again I'm not talking about high heat killing the battery but rather the few degrees in temperature difference over the span of a few years that shortens the life of the battery due to increased charge cycle needed.

Your entire reply above did not even address this issue and you deviated towards driving at high heat in a desert.

0.0144sec    0.75    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 04:05 AM