126 Pages « < 45 46 47 48 49 > » Bottom

Monk Discussion V2, guides, opinions and builds for Monk!

cowithgun
post Aug 13 2012, 05:39 PM

A cow that can play notebook & phone
2,248 posts

QUOTE(yuhhaur @ Aug 13 2012, 11:50 AM)
Monks already had too many ways to heal. BoH heals, serenity can heal, LifeOnHit can heal, lifesteal can heal, Mantra of healing can heal.

What is your stats and skill you used? Some examples posted before:
http://us.battle.net/d3/en/profile/yuhhaur-1278/hero/9090824
http://us.battle.net/d3/en/profile/Rekuken...0/hero/12176754
http://us.battle.net/d3/en/profile/ZAOF-6824/hero/1531257
http://us.battle.net/d3/en/profile/CHOONWA...8/hero/10021601
http://us.battle.net/d3/en/profile/Quazaco...16/hero/5878974

Maybe you can have that as example.
It's kind of sad to see that everyone resolved into about the same type of skill (mostly defensive skill):

- Breath of Heaven
- Serenity
- Blinding flash / Sweeping Wind
- Mantra of Evasion / Mantra of Conviction

Good thing is Bliz aware of this, trying to fix this in patch 1.04. I am kind of excited to find out improvement to offensive skill.
ALeUNe
post Aug 13 2012, 06:08 PM

I'm the purebred with aristocratic pedigree
9,692 posts

QUOTE(cowithgun @ Aug 13 2012, 05:39 PM)
It's kind of sad to see that everyone resolved into about the same type of skill (mostly defensive skill):

- Breath of Heaven
- Serenity
- Blinding flash / Sweeping Wind
- Mantra of Evasion / Mantra of Conviction

Good thing is Bliz aware of this, trying to fix this in patch 1.04. I am kind of excited to find out improvement to offensive skill.
2 scenarios.
1) Those with godly gears can kill elites in 3 seconds.
2) Those with shitty gears have to rely on defensive skills to survive in next 3 seconds.

Everyone can do 1 and 2.
What makes them different is, gold in the pocket.
TSQuazacolt
post Aug 14 2012, 01:33 AM

Riding couple
5,367 posts

QUOTE(cowithgun @ Aug 13 2012, 05:39 PM)
i want to be using Wot100fist and dropping bells once again lol (was using those prior to inferno sad.gif )
yuhhaur
post Aug 14 2012, 09:10 AM

I came. I saw. I help
3,757 posts

I'm still rely on the roundhouse kick and occasionally 7ss.
gladfly
post Aug 14 2012, 12:04 PM

579 posts

QUOTE(yuhhaur @ Aug 14 2012, 09:10 AM)
I'm still rely on the roundhouse kick and occasionally 7ss.
Yo summerfist..

I just levelled my MOnk to 60....and I wanna test the cyclone crit mass build. Mind if I ask you how much CC is needed so I can flood the screen with mini tornados? I am running at 38%...can get 41 if use scoundrel. Cukup ah...

Quite fun build ....with LoH of 600 pun cukup
Coconut
post Aug 14 2012, 12:13 PM

1,268 posts

I just realised Dex doesn't increase much of your dps, i have about 2k dex now, but my dps is so much lower than you guys.

Now slowly change to crit chance and crit damage, have to change most of the things....broke..

sexbomb
post Aug 14 2012, 12:17 PM

93 posts

my chc is 41% using single hand axe and shield
but a fren with 35% chc dual weld fist weapon can spawn tornados around the same rate as me

T_T
yuhhaur
post Aug 14 2012, 02:17 PM

I came. I saw. I help
3,757 posts

Anything more than 20% is enough lol. I'm just 22%cc only nia.

Added on August 14, 2012, 2:19 pmI still don't want to let go the 8xx LoH, that's why I don't change my 441LoH/311 armor amulet to something with critical. and I prefer dual wield vs shield.

This post has been edited by yuhhaur: Aug 14 2012, 02:20 PM
alvinfcj
post Aug 14 2012, 02:25 PM

159 posts

QUOTE(yuhhaur @ Aug 14 2012, 02:17 PM)
Anything more than 20% is enough lol. I'm just 22%cc only nia.

Added on August 14, 2012, 2:19 pmI still don't want to let go the 8xx LoH, that's why I don't change my 441LoH/311 armor amulet to something with critical. and I prefer dual wield vs shield.
U can try the legendary ouroboros amulet. It has good stats and most of all, crit chance n life steal. Lucky enuff, u can even get the same resist that you r stacking. I gotten mine with 4mil. Can check it out if u want man.

http://us.battle.net/d3/en/profile/SanZo-6183/hero/19048200
yuhhaur
post Aug 14 2012, 02:32 PM

I came. I saw. I help
3,757 posts

poorfag with only 2mil on hand
alvinfcj
post Aug 14 2012, 02:37 PM

159 posts

Lol.. Dun so depress.. Just save up another 2mil.. Can be done within a few hours man.. U might get lucky finding some which sells cheaper..

I'm even more poorfag than u... 800k on my piggy bank only.. Bought a 850++ dps katar with life steal n socket.. Cost me 2mil.. Broke shit now..
yuhhaur
post Aug 14 2012, 02:47 PM

I came. I saw. I help
3,757 posts

Well, with my current gear I can safely farm act 2. I am still funding for a better offhand weapon, the current 600++ dps is low for farming act 3.
ALeUNe
post Aug 14 2012, 02:48 PM

9,692 posts

QUOTE(Coconut @ Aug 14 2012, 12:13 PM)
I just realised Dex doesn't increase much of your dps, i have about 2k dex now, but my dps is so much lower than you guys.

Now slowly change to crit chance and crit damage, have to change most of the things....broke..
What is your DPS now?
You need balance of DEX and crit attributes.

P/S DEX gives you ARMOR too.

P/S You need to calculate how much DPS you can get from the gear.
Just a quick one,
1 DEX = 9 DPS
1% crit chance = 10% crit DMG = 81.84 DPS
1 min/max weapon DMG = 10.85 DPS

P/S If an amulet with 4.5% crit chance + 30% crit DMG with no DEX, any amulet with more than 70 DEX will give you more DPS.
Do not forget, DEX gives you armor too.
All in all, it depends on your current build. You need to calculate what you need to improve.
For your case, anyway, I think the switching cost is unavoidable and it could be costly.

P/S For some reason, I think the crit build is over-hyped.
I'm not saying it is not important. It is important as you need it to MAX OUT your DPS.
But it is just not crit > DEX.
You need a balance build.

This post has been edited by ALeUNe: Aug 14 2012, 03:25 PM
polarzbearz
post Aug 14 2012, 03:10 PM

Gracie
4,816 posts

DEX, Weapon DPS, Attack Speed, Crit Chance, Crit Damage. All these are taken into calculations of DPS. Most are multiplicative, and since 1 dex = 1% damage, having too high dex but low on others (e.g. weapon dps) will result in lower overall dps. Balance in everything.
cowithgun
post Aug 14 2012, 03:12 PM

2,248 posts

Dex is crucial for Damage, and it also give monk armour (passive) and dodge chance. So Dex is still king. blush.gif

For monk, Dex is the "S" in this equation:

DPS = SCRAM

Next, "C" is the chance of critical*crit dmg. "R" is Attack Speed. "A" is the Average Damage (min and max dmg from gear), "M" is from skill. Since they all are multiplication, every one is just as important as far as damage goes. Max each of them to get max DPS.

Skill damage work slightly different; take Sweeping Wind deal 15% damage:

Damage = SAME

As you can see, Crit has no impact, AS has no impact. "E" is the damage multiplyer of the skill, in case of Sweeping Wind, it's 15%.

As of now, everyone is going to crit dmg, it looks good on DPS, and if depend a lot of physical atk, it's actually good. Logical choice. But as Offensive skill become more important (patch 1.04), Crit build may not be the best anymore... rolleyes.gif

http://gaming.stackexchange.com/questions/...ow-is-dps-calcu
yuhhaur
post Aug 14 2012, 03:22 PM

I came. I saw. I help
3,757 posts

the dps figure does not tell much. as long as we can kill and kill fast enough b4 getting killed, it is good enough. I'm not too cheesy whether I can kill within 7 seconds or in 30 seconds.
Slythape
post Aug 14 2012, 03:36 PM

40 posts

As long as I key in stats in a spreadsheet or calculator and my dps increases, all good to me
ALeUNe
post Aug 14 2012, 03:39 PM

9,692 posts

QUOTE(sexbomb @ Aug 14 2012, 12:17 PM)
my chc is 41% using single hand axe and shield
but a fren with 35% chc dual weld fist weapon can spawn tornados around the same rate as me

T_T
Err... I am not sure how crit chance relate to tornados spawning.

I used to change my amulet in order to have higher LOH and AR, my crit chance % reduced from 20% to 16%.
I used a slow weapon, 1.2 spear.
I could spawn 4-5 tornados in 3-4 hits. It is exactly the same with higher crit %.

However, to generate tornados, I found it is skill and gear related.
For instance, dual-wield can easily spawn tornados as compared to 1-hand with shield.
For instance, FoT can instantly spawn 2-3 tornados as compared to WoTHF.

Just my experience.
Slythape
post Aug 14 2012, 03:43 PM

40 posts

Attack speed factors in spawning tornadoes too, using an axe is slower compared to dual wielding fists, like what aleune said too, Fist of Thunder has faster attack speed and therefore spawn more tornadoes compared to deadly reach.

cowithgun
post Aug 14 2012, 03:48 PM

2,248 posts

QUOTE(Slythape @ Aug 14 2012, 03:43 PM)
Attack speed factors in spawning tornadoes too, using an axe is slower compared to dual wielding fists, like what aleune said too, Fist of Thunder has faster attack speed and therefore spawn more tornadoes compared to deadly reach.
yup, dual wield gives additional 15% atk speed.

126 Pages « < 45 46 47 48 49 > » Top

0.0295sec    0.17    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 08:41 AM