Monk Discussion V2, guides, opinions and builds for Monk!

deodorant
post Jul 24 2012, 09:48 AM

Surfing LYN instead of Working.
5,691 posts

QUOTE(ALeUNe @ Jul 24 2012, 09:38 AM)
Mantra of Evasion (Hard Target) vs Mantra of Healing (Time of Need)
Which is better for A3/A4 Inferno?

MoE (HT) probably better because of the additional dodge. In the first 3 seconds my dodge goes up to something like 60%.
yuhhaur
post Jul 24 2012, 10:04 AM

I came. I saw. I help
3,757 posts

That also depends on who are you dealing with.

Bosskill : MoH is kinda useless as either they 1hit you or not (like butcher/belial's case) so MoE with dodge is always better. IMHO as for MoC against bosskill, if your attack is high enough you don't even need that to add another few seconds reduction. Better opt for high armor in case you can't avoid the Oh-Shi~ moment.

Elite: As what Sifus' are advised.

NOTE: Dual wield with Guardian's path adds another 15% dodge chance.

This post has been edited by yuhhaur: Jul 24 2012, 10:06 AM
deodorant
post Jul 24 2012, 10:08 AM

Surfing LYN instead of Working.
5,691 posts

QUOTE(LifeX @ Jul 24 2012, 09:48 AM)
If you really have medium resist then Time Of Need is the best.

Not really.

Example.
Base: 7000 armor (70% DR) 400 resist (57.14% DR) (30% Monk DR) = Overall 91% DR
Hard Target 8400 armor (73.68% DR) 400 resist (57.14% DR) (30% Monk DR) = Overall 92.11% DR
Time of Need 7000 armor (70% DR) 480 resist (61.54% DR) (30% Monk DR) = Overall 92.91% DR

Time of Need gives only extra 0.8% DR, but at a loss of 15% / 30% dodge.
ALeUNe
post Jul 24 2012, 10:14 AM

I'm the purebred with aristocratic pedigree
9,692 posts

QUOTE(LifeX @ Jul 24 2012, 09:48 AM)
It really depends on your char's build. If your on high resistance already on your own EQ, then go with Hard Target as it increases your dodge chance with Armor +.

If you really have medium resist then Time Of Need is the best.

As for me , I use MoC ( Overawe ), My CC is at 38% and CD at 280%, with overawe, can kill easily. Armor around 6K and Resist at 800+.

Enough to finish Diablo. :-). Show your stats and see.
I was a Barb.
I'm still a new Monk, requires a lot of experiment on different skills.
I did some skill tests yesterday and didn't have good runs. laugh.gif

Help me to define high and medium.
Unbuffed, I have 20K DPS / 44K HP / 6000 Armor / 760 AR / 850 LOH

I'm bidding a shoulder armor.
If I get it, I will have 22K DPS / 48K HP / 6150 Armor / 810 AR / 850 LOH

Added on July 24, 2012, 10:24 am
QUOTE(deodorant @ Jul 24 2012, 09:48 AM)
MoE (HT) probably better because of the additional dodge. In the first 3 seconds my dodge goes up to something like 60%.
QUOTE(yuhhaur @ Jul 24 2012, 10:04 AM)
That also depends on who are you dealing with.

Bosskill : MoH is kinda useless as either they 1hit you or not (like butcher/belial's case) so MoE with dodge is always better. IMHO as for MoC against bosskill, if your attack is high enough you don't even need that to add another few seconds reduction. Better opt for high armor in case you can't avoid the Oh-Shi~ moment.

Elite: As what Sifus' are advised.

NOTE: Dual wield with Guardian's path adds another 15% dodge chance.
MoH was still good in A1/A2 Inferno.
I found it is pretty much useless in A3. The elites are much more powerful.

Without the right skill, I found I was heading to a totally wrong path. laugh.gif
Any recommendation of passive skills?

This post has been edited by ALeUNe: Jul 24 2012, 10:24 AM
LifeX
post Jul 24 2012, 10:25 AM

22 posts

QUOTE(ALeUNe @ Jul 24 2012, 10:14 AM)
I was a Barb.
I'm still a new Monk, requires a lot of experiment on different skills. 
I did some skill tests yesterday and didn't have good runs. laugh.gif

Help me to define high and medium.
Unbuffed, I have 20K DPS / 44K HP / 6000 Armor / 760 AR / 850 LOH

I'm bidding a shoulder armor.
If I get it, I will have 22K DPS / 48K HP / 6150 Armor / 810 AR / 850 LOH
With your stats it should be fine in Act 3 and 4 with MoC. All your stats is higher then mine. Only DPS lose. I used to use WoTF, but see some pple advise and calculate on the % of LOH per attack. FoT ( Thunderclap ) gets more % in LOH which i have tried == TRUE. With my 2.16 Attack Speed, FoT rocks + your LOH so high, it would be a blast.

My stats now only (with buff ), 55K DPS // 37K HP ( Mystic Ally ) // 6650 Armor ( with Enchant ) // 835 AR // 755 LOH.

QUOTE(ALeUNe @ July 24, 2012, 10:24 am)

MoH was still good in A1/A2 Inferno.
I found it is pretty much useless in A3. The elites are much more powerful.

Without the right skill, I found I was heading to a totally wrong path.  laugh.gif
Any recommendation of passive skills?
Try using MoC in Act 2. You can see you can finish farming in 15 min or less with your stats. :-).

Do you play Crit Chance?

Im using OfE, Forgotten the name but its dex = 100% armor, and also dodge change = 30% of crit chance.

As i play crit chance so i feel that is more useful for me. Although it doesnt add much its still ok for me, as i dont dual wield ( shield ), the 15% dodge chance dont apply to me.

LPSS i feel its not much use to me, although FoT regens my Spirit damn fast ( due to attack speed , hit more and faster regens my spirits faster ), i rather have dodge then have life as Im rolling with LOH.

Just my two cents.

This post has been edited by LifeX: Jul 24 2012, 10:30 AM
ALeUNe
post Jul 24 2012, 10:30 AM

9,692 posts

QUOTE(LifeX @ Jul 24 2012, 10:25 AM)
With your stats it should be fine in Act 3 and 4 with MoC. All your stats is higher then mine. Only DPS lose. I used to use WoTF, but see some pple advise and calculate on the % of LOH per attack. FoT ( Thunderclap ) gets more % in LOH which i have tried == TRUE. With my 2.16 Attack Speed, FoT rocks + your LOH so high, it would be a blast.

My stats now only (with buff ), 55K DPS // 37K HP ( Mystic Ally ) // 6650 Armor ( with Enchant ) // 835 AR // 755 LOH.
I have shitty attack speed, only 1.23 on a spear.
I'm still wondering to change the weapon or not.
Fist weapon with IAS?

I don't quite get it. You mean with FoT (Thunderclap), there is a better LOH return?

Added on July 24, 2012, 10:33 am
QUOTE(LifeX @ Jul 24 2012, 10:25 AM)

Try using MoC in Act 2. You can see you can finish farming in 15 min or less with your stats. :-).

Do you play Crit Chance?

Im using OfE, Forgotten the name but its dex = 100% armor, and also dodge change = 30% of crit chance.

As i play crit chance so i feel that is more useful for me. Although it doesnt add much its still ok for me, as i dont dual wield ( shield ), the 15% dodge chance dont apply to me.

LPSS i feel its not much use to me, although FoT regens my Spirit damn fast ( due to attack speed , hit more and faster regens my spirits faster ), i rather have dodge then have life as Im rolling with LOH.

Just my two cents.
I have 24.5 crit chance and 233% crit dmg.

P/S I saw you using Mystic Ally. I used Mystic Ally (Earth) in A1/A2 Inferno too.
But I found my Mystic Ally became toufu in A3. Seems useless.
Do you think it is good for A3/A4?

This post has been edited by ALeUNe: Jul 24 2012, 10:35 AM
yuhhaur
post Jul 24 2012, 10:42 AM

I came. I saw. I help
3,757 posts

QUOTE(ALeUNe @ Jul 24 2012, 10:30 AM)
Fist weapon with IAS?

I don't quite get it. You mean with FoT (Thunderclap), there is a better LOH return?

Added on July 24, 2012, 10:33 am

P/S I saw you using Mystic Ally. I used Mystic Ally (Earth) in A1/A2 Inferno too.
Normally we can go with either:
1. LoH + IAS + Thunderclap build for fast attack that will generate back you life, or
2. Critical build, since you won't get LoH here so need to kill them fast
3. both, if you had the godly gear from both side. LifeX had one.

I also retire my earth ally (10% health is nothing, 60% attack diversion feels also nothing in act 3) and replace with sweeping wind.

Yours seems like going on Crit build.
cyruz13
post Jul 24 2012, 10:42 AM

Look for the light
717 posts

taofu when kena all those element attack.. others den that.. Earth ally is a very good distraction / tanking clone.. flex.gif
i still using Earth ally to farm in act 3 biggrin.gif
LifeX
post Jul 24 2012, 10:44 AM

22 posts

Fist weapon with IAS?

My Fist is IAS10% with 500+LoH crit dmg 96%. Don't use spear lo bro, unless your spear have high ias. Use sword, or Fist or use Axe with minimum 7% IAS ( then reach 1.39 ).

Sword and Fist is at 1.4, you got other EQ up your attack speed then godly d. :-)

On the FoT, yes. As FOT and WOTF have AOE effect Damage, your LOH return doesnt really give 100% LOH as its spread among the mobs around you. If its 1v1 then yea 100%.

I think in the few post before this, one of the monks posted the calculation or table for LOH. Try searching it.

QUOTE(ALeUNe @ uly 24, 2012, 10:33 am)

Mystic Ally is just to buff my 10% HP and hopefully can distract the other mobs just enough time for me to kill the others. As my CC n CD is high, he himself does about 10-20K Dmg. :-) HP i think also mroe then me, LOL. It only weakness is there's no AR to him. LOL, once go into molten or plague confirm die haha.
shinkawa
post Jul 24 2012, 10:44 AM

parttime otaku
855 posts

oh ya, speaking of LoH.
remember the list of LoH which skill benifit most?

http://i.imgur.com/rpqd2.jpg

i did a test Fist of Fury VS Thunderclap

Fist of Fury indeed can get more LoH but the crit chance is slower compare to Thunderclap.

I have 35% CC. Thunderclap 1 strike is actually 2 hit. One from punch another is the blast radius. So crit chance much faster to come out compare to Fist of Fury.

So if you building LoH with Crits like me. Thunderclap win!

cyruz13
post Jul 24 2012, 10:45 AM

Look for the light
717 posts

QUOTE(yuhhaur @ Jul 24 2012, 10:42 AM)
Normally we can go with either:
1. LoH + IAS + Thunderclap build for fast attack that will generate back you life, or
2. Critical build, since you won't get LoH here so need to kill them fast
3. both, if you had the godly gear from both side. LifeX had one.

I also retire my earth ally (10% health is nothing, 60% attack diversion feels also nothing in act 3) and replace with sweeping wind.

Yours seems like going on Crit build.
I cant thunderclap... =( .. my stats too .. ... average.. average IAS, average LOH, average Critical ... all also half half like tat.. doh.gif doh.gif
still prefer deadly reach for the 50% amor up.. laugh.gif
yuhhaur
post Jul 24 2012, 10:46 AM

I came. I saw. I help
3,757 posts

THUNDERCLAPS ftw!

Ghom ler ? unsure.gif resort back to deadly reach keen eye???
LifeX
post Jul 24 2012, 10:47 AM

22 posts

Haha shinkawa post the table edy. Aluene you can have a look.

Like i say it really comes down to what kind of build are you playing.

See-ing the fact your on LOH and Crit Build.

So best you can focus on IAS now.
yuhhaur
post Jul 24 2012, 10:48 AM

I came. I saw. I help
3,757 posts

Actually how much armor on average is sufficient? I've saw some 10k armor build and I was shocking.gif
7k armor + 700AR + 40k hp?
cyruz13
post Jul 24 2012, 10:49 AM

Look for the light
717 posts

QUOTE(yuhhaur @ Jul 24 2012, 10:48 AM)
Actually how much armor on average is sufficient? I've saw some 10k armor build and I was  shocking.gif
7k armor + 700AR + 40k hp?
how about yours???

me on 5K amor 760 AR 30k hp ... sweat.gif
LifeX
post Jul 24 2012, 10:50 AM

22 posts

Im rolling on only 6650 Armor / 835 AR / 37K HP.

Seems sufficient for me.
yuhhaur
post Jul 24 2012, 10:51 AM

I came. I saw. I help
3,757 posts

forgot liao. was 4.5k armor + 650AR + 43k hp, but now tuned to more armor less hp

Added on July 24, 2012, 11:07 amMy problem is that I do not have enough damage. Currently only using 7xx dps socketed dagger. Those >800dps weapon are shakehead.gif

This post has been edited by yuhhaur: Jul 24 2012, 11:07 AM
ALeUNe
post Jul 24 2012, 11:08 AM

9,692 posts

Thanks for all the replies.
I was using Deadly Reach (Keen Eye). I was a Barb and I was sweat.gif when I see my Monk only has 6000 armor. laugh.gif
I'll go try Thunderclap.

So, for Mantra, it would be either MoE (Hard Target) or MoC (Overawe) for defensive or offensive build.

Any recommendation on the passive skills? Seize the Initiative & One with Everything are the common ones.
LifeX mentioned Sixth Sense (along with crit chance) but I am not quite comfortable with the dodge thing (I still have Barb shadow in my brain).
yuhhaur
post Jul 24 2012, 11:15 AM

I came. I saw. I help
3,757 posts

YTD was testing my 18k dps main gear (low MF% low GF%) to sweep through act 1 REAL fast. but the drops are really meh even with the gold drop.
I was able to saw 2k gold drop with my 12k dps 270%GF+249%mf (buffed) with my farming gear but that only applies to act 1 (not even act 2).

Guess you can't get best of both world I think.
poyol
post Jul 24 2012, 11:21 AM

481 posts

DPS: 11k
LoH: 1.1k
AS: 1.72 (dual-wield, constant)
Armor: 5.5k
Resist: 530
HP: 23k

Still can't solo Act 2 cry.gif

126 Pages « < 17 18 19 20 > » Top