Monk Discussion V2, guides, opinions and builds for Monk!

shinkawa
post Jul 13 2012, 10:24 AM

parttime otaku
855 posts

QUOTE(OldManChild @ Jul 13 2012, 02:27 AM)
shoulder, bracer, chest armor, pants, boot - got 50+ AR, 50+ cold res, dex 400+ (most cheapest item worth 5k each in AH)

left n right ring got ias 6% & 7% + mf 10% & 12% + 25% chd

amulet 200+ dex and 53% chd

glove 200+ & chc 8.5%

helm 123 dex, ias 5%, 25% mf (star topaz)

fist 611DPS, 195vit, 500 LOH, 70% chd (left hand)

axe 800DPS, 227dex, 200int (right hand)
850 res is enough la.

what about your armor and dps?
shinkawa
post Jul 16 2012, 10:21 AM

parttime otaku
855 posts

QUOTE(cowithgun @ Jul 16 2012, 10:42 AM)
Guys! Need help about crit build.

Everyone talking about it. So, I decided to try it out. Mostly using drops. Managed to take crit% to 20%, crit damage still just 50%.  sweat.gif That is without scarify too much on my other stat.

So, I roll out in Act2, Sweeping wind+Cyclone, kill a few elites. BUT:

First spam on Sweeping wind almost like no cyclone. Need to spam it 3 times to get lotsa cyclone?

75*3 = 225 spirit

Since I only have 150 spirit, need to wait quite a file to build it up so that I can spam 3 times. My atk speed is ~ 1.82. It takes quite awhile to get cyclone to it's max stack. So, crit build must have higher IAS as well?

For just 30 minutes of testing at really low 20% crit and 50% crit dmg... it's killing slower than my usual build:

Vortex Jailer ReflectDamage Illusionist (easy) - 20 seconds

Question is; do we need to stack up Cyclone to 3 stacks?

Need to spam wan meh? I think you misunderstand d.
Cyclone will only come out after you have 3 stacks. Which mean you need 3 critics minimum.

Use thunderclap coz got radius, sometime if hit 3 target all 3 got critic, can straight get 3 stacks d. Very fast.

shinkawa
post Jul 16 2012, 10:46 AM

parttime otaku
855 posts

QUOTE(cyruz13 @ Jul 16 2012, 11:33 AM)
thunderclap ? the distance far ar???
thunderclap is teleport wan. I micro teleport if got arcane, descretor and so on.
short range, got small radius but punch faster.

QUOTE(cowithgun @ Jul 16 2012, 11:34 AM)
Thanks. I understand now. How fast is it to kill a group of elite with cyclone? Generally?
cyclone kill fast if you got a lot of mini thunder storm. 20% damage from each
I can fill up the map 10+ storm

How fast u ask? read the comment

http://us.battle.net/d3/en/forum/topic/5889229004

I 've been using this build since the patch. Shhhh, inb4 blizzard nerf

shinkawa
post Jul 16 2012, 11:50 AM

parttime otaku
855 posts

waiting for flix video.

you'll surprise to see the damage number stack like assassin cross sonic blow. lol
shinkawa
post Jul 16 2012, 04:40 PM

parttime otaku
855 posts

QUOTE(INter86 @ Jul 16 2012, 05:04 PM)
Guys, my current dps was difficult to raise up significantly. My CC 38%, CD 235%. And using 1h weapon DPS 757.4 .
How much this weapon worth ?
Should i funding for 1k damage with 70% above cri without dex?
wah nice.

This post has been edited by shinkawa: Jul 16 2012, 04:41 PM
shinkawa
post Jul 17 2012, 10:20 AM

parttime otaku
855 posts

hmm, your attack as fast as duel wield.

you really stack a lot of attack speed too.
shinkawa
post Jul 17 2012, 03:34 PM

parttime otaku
855 posts

14k unbuff

then you need to punch faster
shinkawa
post Jul 17 2012, 04:06 PM

parttime otaku
855 posts

deadly reach slow la. fist of thunder or hundred fist punch faster.

you need to kill belial fast before he enrage
shinkawa
post Jul 17 2012, 06:05 PM

parttime otaku
855 posts

armor 4k
res 500

shinkawa
post Jul 19 2012, 10:58 AM

parttime otaku
855 posts

QUOTE(nagflar @ Jul 19 2012, 11:43 AM)

which 1 is better weapon for monk ?

or should i use both for dual-wield ?

thx
choose faster weapon. this high damage but you hit slow.
LoH also not efficient d. LoH is a must to hit fast

Another point, if your weapon lower damage but your hit rate can deal same damage as slow weapon.

This post has been edited by shinkawa: Jul 19 2012, 11:00 AM
shinkawa
post Jul 19 2012, 11:23 AM

parttime otaku
855 posts

your weapons... not suitable for my built. hahahaha
shinkawa
post Jul 19 2012, 12:36 PM

parttime otaku
855 posts

QUOTE(bigQbear @ Jul 19 2012, 01:27 PM)
Question :

Hand 1 : fist with crit dmg only
Hand 2 : spear with crit dmg and life steal 3%

will i get life steal every hit?
not sure, but i just assume la.

if use fist of thunder.

2nd and 3rd might get life steal.

i did research when i'm building for dual wield monk.
many theories or best advise from them are get both weapon which have almost similar stats.

in WoW, offhand are sure to hit slower. So they would put higher dps weapon on main hand and faster weapon on offhand. But in D3, they say both hand are kinda same.

shinkawa
post Jul 19 2012, 12:56 PM

parttime otaku
855 posts

QUOTE(Amedion @ Jul 19 2012, 01:46 PM)
I read it somewhere before in google.
If I still remember it correctly.

Life steal or Life on hit will stack. Doesn't matter which part has it, you will get it on your every hit be it main hand or off hand swing.

Like many pro explained, blizzard nerf the life steal in inferno. So, life on hit is better.

There's hidden scaling that reduce your life on hit/life steal based on the skill/rune that you use. Let say you hit one target with 100 LOH, you get 100% which is 100HP. IF your skill has small area of AOE, then the percentage will reduce. The bigger the AOE, the lower the percentage you're getting.
true! Before this, i was a WD. Each skill have different amount of effect for LoH.
For monk, no people research yet. But i know Fist of Thunder is the best LoH skill.

shinkawa
post Jul 19 2012, 01:50 PM

parttime otaku
855 posts

QUOTE(cowithgun @ Jul 19 2012, 02:32 PM)

Best to use is Fists of Fury: 150 / 18* / 100
hmmm, i only tested the blazing fist and found out i LoH slower. At night i try see this.
And also Fist of Thunder is the best spirit generator.

Hundred fist punch a lot but generate slower coz for example 2nd strike you punch 9 time but they only generate 9 spirit.
shinkawa
post Jul 23 2012, 04:06 PM

parttime otaku
855 posts

i prefer act 2 farm. start from black soul stone

->dahlur aosis -> 5NV -> kill kulle -> kill belial -> desert, road to alcanus and so on.

Once get 5 nv, straight kill boss, then slowly farm. no need scare DC or you need to go out to snipe bid.
shinkawa
post Jul 24 2012, 10:44 AM

parttime otaku
855 posts

oh ya, speaking of LoH.
remember the list of LoH which skill benifit most?

http://i.imgur.com/rpqd2.jpg

i did a test Fist of Fury VS Thunderclap

Fist of Fury indeed can get more LoH but the crit chance is slower compare to Thunderclap.

I have 35% CC. Thunderclap 1 strike is actually 2 hit. One from punch another is the blast radius. So crit chance much faster to come out compare to Fist of Fury.

So if you building LoH with Crits like me. Thunderclap win!

shinkawa
post Jul 24 2012, 11:22 AM

parttime otaku
855 posts

QUOTE(yuhhaur @ Jul 24 2012, 12:15 PM)
YTD was testing my 18k dps main gear (low MF% low GF%) to sweep through act 1 REAL fast. but the drops are really meh even with the gold drop.
I was able to saw 2k gold drop with my 12k dps 270%GF+249%mf (buffed) with my farming gear but that only applies to act 1 (not even act 2).

Guess you can't get best of both world I think.
my mf 100% and dps only 14k can go act 2.

if got annoying mob. change back ori gear and kill it.
shinkawa
post Jul 24 2012, 03:39 PM

parttime otaku
855 posts

i think his build if no LoH also ok coz got shield. Can use heal per spirit spend. spam the mantra

he need some attack speed to benefit the crits
shinkawa
post Jul 25 2012, 10:30 AM

parttime otaku
855 posts

QUOTE(ALeUNe @ Jul 25 2012, 11:08 AM)
I got a Barb, 2 Monks and a Wizard in a co-op game.
The Barb & Wizard could kill Ghom easily.
I was just walk-here-and-there and yet I was killed by the airborne poison. laugh.gif
another idea, use thunder fist as its the best spirit generator
then use passive skill heal per spirit spend

keep spam mantra of healing that got absorb shield while you also heal life with spirit
shinkawa
post Jul 25 2012, 11:23 AM

parttime otaku
855 posts

QUOTE(ALeUNe @ Jul 25 2012, 12:12 PM)
Yeap, 754.2 DPS with decent 461-796 damage.
Forgot to mention it has 415 LOH too.

The damage is better than many 800DPS weapons.
1.2 is slow for me.

i see before from blizzard forum. dual wield spear with 1k dps each. both got attack speed makes up 1.33 something.
damn good stats

0.0399sec    0.27    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 06:21 PM