129 Pages « < 39 40 41 42 43 > » Bottom

Enquiries/Recommendations Buying new laptop? Need RECOMMENDATIONS?, V16, Kindly FOLLOW the FORMAT TQ~!

jaq
post Aug 9 2012, 10:44 AM

Hi all,

I have an ancient Toshiba M40 and has decided it's time to change (the screen is pretty much dead with 70% of it looking like sketch painting).

1. Preferred Brand: Open to all brands (but looking forward to good recommendations)
2. Budget: <RM2.5k
3. Usage: Just home usage (light; online, simple photo editing, watch movie - basic entertainment)
4. Preferred laptop/screen size: Ideally portable; so less than 15''

Highly appreciate the recommendations from you guys! smile.gif

jinjoll89
post Aug 9 2012, 10:48 AM

26 posts

QUOTE(AmeiN @ Aug 9 2012, 10:41 AM)
This  nod.gif

13"
Asus U32U-RX024v, AMD E-450 + AMD HD6320@RM1549[1.70kg], 8-cell battery, 2 years international warranty
thankyou,
It come with window OS? or need to install myself? Any other choice? So i can do some compare tongue.gif
SUSAmeiN
post Aug 9 2012, 10:48 AM

★★★★★★★
4,735 posts

QUOTE(jaq @ Aug 9 2012, 10:44 AM)
Hi all,

I have an ancient Toshiba M40 and has decided it's time to change (the screen is pretty much dead with 70% of it looking like sketch painting).

1. Preferred Brand: Open to all brands (but looking forward to good recommendations)
3. Usage: Just home usage (light; online, simple photo editing, watch movie - basic entertainment)

As mentioned from others... Best bang for buck. thumbup.gif

Lenovo Y480, i7-3610QM + Nvidia GT650(GDDR5)@RM2499[JBL], 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), backlit keyboard, FreeDOS

gershom86
post Aug 9 2012, 11:30 AM

Hi all the Sifus,

2. Budget: RM6.5 - 7k.
3. Usage: Mainly for work and freelance, heavy, Autodesk, Adobe usage need to sometimes run up to 4 softwares at once, heavy video edits, 3D, PSD, AE motion graphics. Water sims etc. Occasional music performing. A whole wideload of softwares.
4. Preferred laptop/screen size: I do alot of video editing so 15" or bigger.

Hope you guys can recommend me something that's bang for the buck, reliable as in doesn't really have crashes, hangs, and any matters of that sort. Hassle free too, coz I'm torn between a Mac OS or Windows.
mysql2779
post Aug 9 2012, 01:01 PM

523 posts

1. Asus / HP
2. below 2k
3. Only doing company work like email/wording only
4. bigger than 13" will be sufficient

I don't use this new laptop to gaming / movie / facebook cause it is purely for work. I don wan to mess the documents up.

thanks if u guys have any idea wat to buy.
TS[PF] T.J.
post Aug 9 2012, 01:28 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(jinjoll89 @ Aug 9 2012, 10:48 AM)
thankyou,
It come with window OS? or need to install myself? Any other choice? So i can do some compare  tongue.gif
Yes the U32U does come with W7 nod.gif
Can consider this one too:
13"
Dell Inspiron 13z, i3-2330M + Intel HD3000@RM1349[1.76kg], 2GB, 320GB(5400rpm), W7HB, colors: black/red *No VGA port

TS[PF] T.J.
post Aug 9 2012, 01:29 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(jaq @ Aug 9 2012, 10:44 AM)
Hi all,

QUOTE(AmeiN @ Aug 9 2012, 10:48 AM)
As mentioned from others... Best bang for buck.  thumbup.gif

Lenovo Y480, i7-3610QM + Nvidia GT650(GDDR5)@RM2499[JBL], 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), backlit keyboard, FreeDOS
The Y480 is a pretty good choice, but its a bit overkill if its not used for gaming at all laugh.gif
Perhaps this one would be better?
14"
HP Pavilion Dm4-3105TX, i5-3210M + AMD HD7570M@RM2699[Beats], 4GB, 750GB(5400rpm), backlit keyboard
Price is in RRP, bargain abit brows.gif

PhungTM
post Aug 9 2012, 01:33 PM

585 posts

QUOTE(mysql2779 @ Aug 9 2012, 01:01 PM)
1. Asus / HP
2. below 2k
3. Only doing company work like email/wording only
4. bigger than 13" will be sufficient

I don't use this new laptop to gaming / movie / facebook cause it is purely for work. I don wan to mess the documents up.

thanks if u guys have any idea wat to buy.
Can try these:

Asus
A43Sd-VX216, B960 + Nvidia GT610M@RM1399[2.2kg], FreeDOS, 2GB, 320GB(5400rpm)
A43Sd- VX426/427/428/429/430, i3-2350M + Nvidia GT610M@RM1599[2.4kg], FreeDOS, 2GB, 500GB(5400rpm), colors: black/blue/red/white/pink

HP
[Ultrabook] Envy 4-1009TU, i3-2367M + Intel HD3000@RM1999, 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), W7HP
Pavilion G4-2110TU, i3-3110M + Intel HD4000@RM1799, 2GB, 500GB(5400rpm), W7HP

SUSAmeiN
post Aug 9 2012, 01:34 PM

★★★★★★★
4,735 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Aug 9 2012, 01:28 PM)
Yes the U32U does come with W7 nod.gif
Can consider this one too:
13"
Dell Inspiron 13z, i3-2330M + Intel HD3000@RM1349[1.76kg], 2GB, 320GB(5400rpm), W7HB, colors: black/red *No VGA port
Bro, 13z no more...

that day already called dell SA, they said no stock left. sad.gif

Maybe if lucky enuf can try find from retailers but this model i think not retail model.(correct me if im wrong)

TS[PF] T.J.
post Aug 9 2012, 01:43 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(gershom86 @ Aug 9 2012, 11:30 AM)
Hi all the Sifus,

2. Budget: RM6.5 - 7k.
3. Usage: Mainly for work and freelance, heavy, Autodesk, Adobe usage need to sometimes run up to 4 softwares at once, heavy video edits, 3D, PSD, AE motion graphics. Water sims etc. Occasional music performing. A whole wideload of softwares.
4. Preferred laptop/screen size: I do alot of video editing so 15" or bigger.

Hope you guys can recommend me something that's bang for the buck, reliable as in doesn't really have crashes, hangs, and any matters of that sort. Hassle free too, coz I'm torn between a Mac OS or Windows.
Easy laugh.gif
Dell Precisions will fit your requirements perfectly; but costing a bomb while they're at it though laugh.gif
So you need to choose your customizations carefully: http://www.dell.com/my/business/p/precision-laptops.aspx

15.6"
Precision M4600, i5-2520M +Nvidia Quadro1000M@RM5200, Win 7 Pro, 3 Years NBD, [Screen Upgrade: HD Multi-Touch, FHD, FHD IPS RGB] [CPU Upgrade: up to i7-2960XM] [GPU Upgrade: Quadro 2000M] [RAM up to 32GB], 3 Years ProSupport
Precison M4700, i5-3320M + Nvidia Quadro K1000M@RM6300, 4GB, 750GB(7200rpm), W7P [Screen Upgrade: FHD, FHD IPS RGB] [CPU Upgrade: up to i7-3920XM] [GPU Upgrade: Quadro K2000M] [RAM up to 32GB], 3 Years ProSupport

17.3"
Precision M6600, i7-2640M +Nvidia Quadro3000M + (1600x900)@RM7549, Win 7 Pro, 3 Years ProSupport, [Screen Upgrade: FHD, Multi-Touch FHD] [CPU Upgrade: up to i7-2960XM][GPU Upgrade: Quadro 4000M, Quadro 5010M] [RAM up to 32GB]
Precision M6700, i7-3520M + AMD FirePro M6000 + (1600x900)@RM8100, 4GB, 750GB(7200rpm), W7P, 3 Years ProSupport, [Screen Upgrade: FHD, IPS FHD, 3D FHD][CPU Upgrade: up to i7-3920XM][GPU Upgrade: Quadro K5000M] [RAM up to 32GB]

Since the specs here are base specifications (pretty lousy when stock); I would suggest you to go for the M4600 (Sandy Bridge) or the M4700 (Ivy Bridge) so that there's still money left for upgrades. I would personally recommend the former since the price increase is not exactly worth it for the upgrade from SB to IB...

For the M4600 (or the M4700), upgrade the CPU to i7 at least, 8 or 16GB RAM, upgrade the screen to FHD, upgrade or add in an SSD, that will make good use of your budget, and ultimately give you a monster rig that is good in every aspect nod.gif

You can deal with "putochip123" or "viper88" for discounts, with your budget I'm sure they can give you a rather big slash from the price tag brows.gif

This post has been edited by [PF] T.J.: Aug 9 2012, 01:44 PM
TS[PF] T.J.
post Aug 9 2012, 01:46 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(AmeiN @ Aug 9 2012, 01:34 PM)
Bro, 13z no more...

that day already called dell SA, they said no stock left.  sad.gif

Maybe if lucky enuf can try find from retailers but this model i think not retail model.(correct me if im wrong)
Thanks for the input bro, I better remove them from the pricelist notworthy.gif

I saw quite a few leftover stocks in LYP hmm.gif
mysql2779
post Aug 9 2012, 01:49 PM

523 posts

QUOTE(PhungTM @ Aug 9 2012, 02:33 PM)
Can try these:

Asus
A43Sd-VX216, B960 + Nvidia GT610M@RM1399[2.2kg], FreeDOS, 2GB, 320GB(5400rpm)
A43Sd- VX426/427/428/429/430, i3-2350M + Nvidia GT610M@RM1599[2.4kg], FreeDOS, 2GB, 500GB(5400rpm), colors: black/blue/red/white/pink

HP
[Ultrabook] Envy 4-1009TU, i3-2367M + Intel HD3000@RM1999, 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), W7HP
Pavilion G4-2110TU, i3-3110M + Intel HD4000@RM1799, 2GB, 500GB(5400rpm), W7HP
Woah.. Asus only 1.4 to 1.6k ! Compared to both HP model you recommended what's the differences in term of spec ? Why HP's price higher ? If the spec more or less the same I will go for Asus I guess because I don't really cares about the outlook or weight anything.. As long as I can email and do some wordings..

Thanks mate !

This post has been edited by mysql2779: Aug 9 2012, 01:50 PM
SUSAmeiN
post Aug 9 2012, 01:51 PM

★★★★★★★
4,735 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Aug 9 2012, 01:46 PM)
Thanks for the input bro, I better remove them from the pricelist notworthy.gif

I saw quite a few leftover stocks in LYP  hmm.gif
at LYP still have stock? hmm.gif

Tried few shops at Penang dont have.. sad.gif
ic3rock
post Aug 9 2012, 01:53 PM

AkuNooB
3,586 posts

QUOTE(mysql2779 @ Aug 9 2012, 01:49 PM)
Woah.. Asus only 1.4 to 1.6k ! Compared to both HP model you recommended what's the differences in term of spec ? Why HP's price higher ? If the spec more or less the same I will go for Asus I guess because I don't really cares about the outlook or weight anything.. As long as I can email and do some wordings..

Thanks mate !
This is because of the processor, HP 1 is ultrabook, sure will more exp...
TS[PF] T.J.
post Aug 9 2012, 01:54 PM

24,193 posts

Thanks mate !
Please take note that the Asus recommended doesn't come with Windows..
Both HPs are suitable for your usage, where the Envy 4 is more geared towards mobility and style; whereas the G4 is designed with relatively stronger performance in mind hmm.gif

SUSAmeiN
post Aug 9 2012, 01:56 PM

★★★★★★★
4,735 posts

Thanks mate !
QUOTE(PhungTM @ Aug 9 2012, 01:33 PM)
Can try these:

Asus
A43Sd-VX216, B960 + Nvidia GT610M@RM1399[2.2kg], FreeDOS, 2GB, 320GB(5400rpm)  <--low end proc
A43Sd- VX426/427/428/429/430, i3-2350M + Nvidia GT610M@RM1599[2.4kg], FreeDOS, 2GB, 500GB(5400rpm), colors: black/blue/red/white/pink <--Best choices!!!! thumbup.gif

HP
[Ultrabook] Envy 4-1009TU, i3-2367M + Intel HD3000@RM1999, 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), W7HP <--light weight, thus quite exp
Pavilion G4-2110TU, i3-3110M + Intel HD4000@RM1799, 2GB, 500GB(5400rpm), W7HP <--Included OS, else price would be lower
mysql2779
post Aug 9 2012, 02:00 PM

523 posts

QUOTE(AmeiN @ Aug 9 2012, 02:56 PM)
Thanks mate. I will go for second choice of Asus which you mentioned is the best choice in balance of price and spec. I can install the Win7 by myself actually. Free DOS won't be a problem I guess. How about the drivers if it is FreeDOS ? Could get support from ASUS or not ?

Added on August 9, 2012, 2:00 pm
QUOTE(ic3rock @ Aug 9 2012, 02:53 PM)
This is because of the processor, HP 1 is ultrabook, sure will more exp...
Oic. thanks mate !

Added on August 9, 2012, 2:01 pm
QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Aug 9 2012, 02:54 PM)
Please take note that the Asus recommended doesn't come with Windows..
Both HPs are suitable for your usage, where the Envy 4 is more geared towards mobility and style; whereas the G4 is designed with relatively stronger performance in mind  hmm.gif
As if I install the "ehem" version of Win7 by my ownself. How do it get drivers for the hardware ? Available on the internet ?

This post has been edited by mysql2779: Aug 9 2012, 02:01 PM
SUSAmeiN
post Aug 9 2012, 02:05 PM

★★★★★★★
4,735 posts

QUOTE(mysql2779 @ Aug 9 2012, 02:00 PM)
Thanks mate. I will go for second choice of Asus which you mentioned is the best choice in balance of price and spec. I can install the Win7 by myself actually. Free DOS won't be a problem I guess. How about the drivers if it is FreeDOS ? Could get support from ASUS or not ?

Added on August 9, 2012, 2:00 pm

Oic. thanks mate !

Added on August 9, 2012, 2:01 pm

As if I install the "ehem" version of Win7 by my ownself. How do it get drivers for the hardware ? Available on the internet ?
If Win 7, not much troublesome for u to get all the drivers. nod.gif

Else u can always get them from asus website. smile.gif
ic3rock
post Aug 9 2012, 02:13 PM

AkuNooB
3,586 posts

Wonder how much difference between Intel B960 and Intel i3?
SUSAmeiN
post Aug 9 2012, 02:18 PM

★★★★★★★
4,735 posts

QUOTE(ic3rock @ Aug 9 2012, 02:13 PM)
Wonder how much difference between Intel B960 and Intel i3?
ohmy.gif Not much wor..

129 Pages « < 39 40 41 42 43 > » Top

0.0315sec    0.58    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 01:26 PM