124 Pages « < 29 30 31 32 33 > » Bottom

Maxis The Official Maxis FTTH Thread | v2, Maxis Home Fibre Internet, from RM138

ryudell
post Jul 10 2012, 10:52 AM

*SUPERB*
838 posts

QUOTE(siconsole @ Jul 10 2012, 11:48 AM)
i tried to call the hotline but no one is answering.now i'm waiting for their feedback from the maxis forum
QUOTE(bear1009 @ Jul 10 2012, 11:48 AM)
you time alsmost same with me...i call to centre ,no body answer the correct ansnswer for me
mine was distrupt at 11pm++ on thursday night..called at 12am (friday), & issue resolve at 8pm (friday)
they reset the port while they instruct the modem & thompson were switched off
y dont you switch off both, n swith on back 1 at a time...
1st the modem..after all the lights are up, then switch on the thompson
jetwash
post Jul 10 2012, 10:53 AM

On high-altitude training
623 posts

QUOTE(ryudell @ Jul 10 2012, 07:39 AM)
if u pay to the contractor, it is their "profit"
if to TM or MAXIS, included in the 1st bill..
i paid rm70 for additional 10m of fibre cables to the contractor coz dont want to pay rm100 to maxis..
hahahaha..
so the receipt u get is the normal receipt u can purchased at book stores..
this is called "contractor cari makan" same as "polis cari makan"
so the standard price for extra cabling is rm10/meter is it?
bear1009
post Jul 10 2012, 10:53 AM

QUOTE(ryudell @ Jul 10 2012, 10:52 AM)
mine was distrupt at 11pm++ on thursday night..called at 12am (friday), & issue resolve at 8pm (friday)
have been tested..........
siconsole
post Jul 10 2012, 10:58 AM

QUOTE(ryudell @ Jul 10 2012, 10:52 AM)
I've tried that a zillion times but still no luck.sleep late last nite just to troubleshoot it by myself and thats y i'm yawn.gif at work today.anyway the default password for XXXX@home.maxis.my is still XXXX1 ?
ryudell
post Jul 10 2012, 11:04 AM

*SUPERB*
838 posts

QUOTE(jetwash @ Jul 10 2012, 11:53 AM)
so the standard price for extra cabling is rm10/meter is it?
rm50 per 5m..
they dont count rm10 per m..
hahaha..
that is how they make money..
if u want 3m, they give u 5m..
if u want 6m, they give u 10m

QUOTE(bear1009 @ Jul 10 2012, 11:53 AM)
have been tested..........
QUOTE(siconsole @ Jul 10 2012, 11:58 AM)
I've tried that a zillion times but still no luck.sleep late last nite just to troubleshoot it by myself and thats y i'm yawn.gif at work today.anyway the default password for XXXX@home.maxis.my is still XXXX1 ?
then it must be the port outside..

yup..still that password..
aeiou228
post Jul 10 2012, 11:22 AM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(bear1009 @ Jul 10 2012, 10:40 AM)
any body face disconnect and then cannot connect back since yesterday night?
Me too. From 8pm to 11pm
mikeeeee
post Jul 10 2012, 11:23 AM

*~Tien9Chi~*
3,026 posts

hmmm, after 1 night of light use, internet died on me once and require a reboot on the equipments

did some simple test on the thomson router and i'll say its wifi connection maybe the main issue that cause people to complain.

i did pingtest on a laptop which is about 8 feet away from the thomson(wifi signal is good), i repeatedly get D and F grade for my internet connection. However, speedtest results says that bandwidth is there about 9-10Mb

then i move the laptop to 2 feet from the thomson, repeated the test and get A grade for the connection. Speedtest results is similar like above.

in summary, the wifi is useable and it doesn't affect your download speed much if you still in good signal range. BUT, it does affect alot on ping response, jittery, packet lost which is pretty bad considering 2 ft vs 8 ft which is not that far apart.

really hope some manufacturer will come up with a better router replacement.

oh ya btw, LAN have no such issues on thomson
IntensiveBytes
post Jul 10 2012, 12:04 PM

519 posts

QUOTE(ryudell @ Jul 9 2012, 05:09 PM)
give a call to maxis..
make sure u put 603 infront of ur 2-digit voip no..
the ic is withour "-" sign
Yes. No dash. And 603 infront.
jetwash
post Jul 10 2012, 12:13 PM

On high-altitude training
623 posts

QUOTE(ryudell @ Jul 10 2012, 11:04 AM)
rm50 per 5m..
they dont count rm10 per m..
hahaha..
that is how they make money..
if u want 3m, they give u 5m..
if u want 6m, they give u 10m
then it must be the port outside..

yup..still that password..
ok fair enough. have to nego undertable with the installers then blink.gif
aerobowl
post Jul 10 2012, 12:22 PM

556 posts

how to make free IDD call to SG?
do we need to enter special code before the number?
and is IDD inclusive both fixed and mobile line?
jasondell
post Jul 10 2012, 12:28 PM

QUOTE(Cyber_shot8 @ Jul 10 2012, 10:39 AM)
They ofer me $150 frm normal price same as you...
Deal w' maxis contractor...
Haha sama sama kena con smile.gif I noticed there's heat issue with the stupid Thomson router, so I'll put one small fan above to overcome it. And the signal is quite weak when I'm at first floor. So I put my old wireless router then boost tr signal to full bar smile.gif so far speed was great and no problem.

Added on July 10, 2012, 12:30 pm
QUOTE(spirit818 @ Jul 10 2012, 01:16 AM)
wow nice speed!

any configure need to set to reach this kind speed?
my speed still cant break 10mb for speed test,
dling battlefield 3 from origin 1.03mb/sec...
can push the speed higher?
Try different wifi Chanel. I got different speed with different wifi channel. Max can goes up to 18mbps speed smile.gif

This post has been edited by jasondell: Jul 10 2012, 12:30 PM
ryudell
post Jul 10 2012, 01:22 PM

*SUPERB*
838 posts

QUOTE(mikeeeee @ Jul 10 2012, 12:23 PM)
hmmm, after 1 night of light use, internet died on me once and require a reboot on the equipments

did some simple test on the thomson router and i'll say its wifi connection maybe the main issue that cause people to complain.

i did pingtest on a laptop which is about 8 feet away from the thomson(wifi signal is good), i repeatedly get D and F grade for my internet connection. However, speedtest results says that bandwidth is there about 9-10Mb

then i move the laptop to 2 feet from the thomson, repeated the test and get A grade for the connection. Speedtest results is similar like above.

in summary, the wifi is useable and it doesn't affect your download speed much if you still in good signal range. BUT, it does affect alot on ping response, jittery, packet lost which is pretty bad considering 2 ft vs 8 ft which is not that far apart.

really hope some manufacturer will come up with a better router replacement.

oh ya btw, LAN have no such issues on thomson
LAN no problem..I connect all the PCs n laptops in the house with LAN..
but wifi is XXX...

QUOTE(jetwash @ Jul 10 2012, 01:13 PM)
ok fair enough. have to nego undertable with the installers then  blink.gif
they sure cn nego 1..
paid rm70 for the price of rm100..
save rm30 thumbup.gif

QUOTE(jasondell @ Jul 10 2012, 01:28 PM)
Haha sama sama kena con smile.gif I noticed there's heat issue with the stupid Thomson router, so I'll put one small fan above to overcome it. And the signal is quite weak when I'm at first floor. So I put my old wireless router then boost tr signal to full bar smile.gif so far speed was great and no problem.

Added on July 10, 2012, 12:30 pm

Try different wifi Chanel. I got different speed with different wifi channel. Max can goes up to 18mbps speed smile.gif
trying to put additional AP..but how to configure it?
Cyber_shot8
post Jul 10 2012, 02:56 PM

115 posts

What the worst that i believe using thomson router is weakness coverage connection..
If i'm in my car park in my garage, no coverage..
But go outside frm the car, then they have coverage...

When i'm ask this matter to maxis techician, they said thomson router is the bes router that they ever have... Less prob due to hardware problem maybe i guess...
kuntakinte
post Jul 10 2012, 03:19 PM

607 posts

Got it installed yday. Speed has been consistently good at above 12mbps. Ping times acceptable usually in the tens.

Both tm and Maxis contractors were early

This post has been edited by kuntakinte: Jul 10 2012, 03:21 PM
noname_26
post Jul 10 2012, 03:55 PM

Hey ! a new maxis FTTH user here!!!

by the way...I couldnt connect to the internet since this morning =(
Ethernet and internet no light
yhkho
post Jul 10 2012, 03:58 PM

391 posts

QUOTE(noname_26 @ Jul 10 2012, 03:55 PM)
Hey ! a new maxis FTTH user here!!!
by the way...I couldnt connect to the internet since this morning =(
Ethernet and internet no light
Just call the call center and check with them.

Added on July 10, 2012, 3:58 pmI'm the maxis 10 mb fiber user as well.

This post has been edited by yhkho: Jul 10 2012, 03:58 PM
akkihiko
post Jul 10 2012, 04:05 PM

アキヒコ
1,602 posts

mine always DC, I guess it's the router's fault, need to change to other modem, any suggestion?
lalachong
post Jul 10 2012, 04:12 PM

294 posts

QUOTE(lalachong @ Jul 9 2012, 06:16 PM)
alright... now to complain about the Thomson router... frequent disconnection... guess the reviews here are true... i will try to change to another channel, maybe got wave disturbance as all my neighbours are using Maxis... and update later.
QUOTE(spirit818 @ Jul 9 2012, 10:36 PM)
my house is landed
the tm contractor offer RM380 for the installation
because they say the cable need cross over ceiling...
(external box straight into ceiling, then come out to 2nd floor living room)
then after nego with them, discount to rm200
and the receipt i get is jor normal receipt, not from TM or Maxis,
duno kena con or non standard installation...
wifi reception better after switched from channel 8 to 11.. but still got internet disconnectionsss...
DDL surely fail...

anyway, i got charged RM250 as well... non standard on landed property...
my backyard telephone hole was cemented due to renovation done...

layzieboy
post Jul 10 2012, 04:17 PM

496 posts

Just finish installation. Maxis guy was early and TM was on time.
Speed is great.

Some info: Speedtest is on maxis server.

This post has been edited by layzieboy: Jul 10 2012, 04:40 PM
aeiou228
post Jul 10 2012, 04:26 PM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(layzieboy @ Jul 10 2012, 04:17 PM)
Just  finish installation. Maxis guy was early and TM was on time.
Speed is great.

I guess this is the must test. Please copy it to post #1.
Goto to the furthest point in your house away from thomson router and test the wifi signal using your wifi mobile phone.

124 Pages « < 29 30 31 32 33 > » Top

0.0356sec    0.69    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 01:39 AM