91 Pages « < 88 89 90 91 >Bottom

CALLING ALL MEDICAL STUDENTS! V3, medical student chat+info center

hypermax
post Jul 17 2020, 05:36 PM

2,524 posts

QUOTE(podrunner @ Jul 17 2020, 05:35 PM)
But you're not considered an IMG, having graduated from medical school in the UK.  IMGs still need to do PLABs on top of MRCP right?  What's the difference between a training post and a non-training post?  The latter is called a trust grade doctor?    The latter is easier to get into, yes? Do correct me if wrong.  Thank you.
No. If you have full MRCP, no need to do PLAB
podrunner
post Jul 17 2020, 05:49 PM

2,214 posts

QUOTE(hypermax @ Jul 17 2020, 10:09 AM)
Btw, are you sure you are working in the UK? The info that you have shared is actually wrong

CMT in the UK is now replaced with Internal Medicine Stage 1 training, which is only 2 years (for single CCT). You are expected to have full MRCP by the end of 2 years.
Then, you can choose to enter either single CCT or dual CCT

Single CCT for example GIM, is only 3 years.

So in summary
GIM pathway in the UK: 2 years of foundation training + 2 years of Internal Medicine Stage 1 + 3 years of GIM = 7 years postgraduation
GIM pathway in the Malaysia: 2 years of housemanship + 4 and 1/2 years of Internal Medicine training including gazettement + 1 year post gazettement for NSR registration = 7 and 1/2 years postgraduation

Source

Reference for UK training pathway

One thing I agree though, Malaysia Boleh! as our training is longer and more demanding in terms of procedures required to learn and workload
Is there just a GIM pathway in the UK? I understand with IMT + ST training, you will for example, get your CCT for gastroenterologist-internist. So 2 yrs (F1&F2) + 3 yrs (IMT) + 4 years (ST) = 9 years, after graduation.

This post has been edited by podrunner: Jul 17 2020, 05:55 PM
podrunner
post Jul 17 2020, 05:54 PM

2,214 posts

QUOTE(hypermax @ Jul 17 2020, 05:36 PM)
No. If you have full MRCP, no need to do PLAB
Thank you.
mRNA-83
post Jul 17 2020, 07:11 PM

31 posts

Summoning limeuu for his input. biggrin.gif
Lunamarine211 P
post Jul 17 2020, 07:46 PM

Probation

PLAB will be soon replaced by UKMLA soon in which both IMG and local graduates are required to take the tests. So in the future, IMG will hv equal chance as well for their foundation years
Lunamarine211 P
post Jul 17 2020, 10:34 PM

Probation

QUOTE(hksgmy @ Jul 15 2020, 08:30 PM)
Just because a degree is recognised doesn’t mean a position will open up, esp for a foreigner. It’s getting harder, even for returning Singaporeans, to secure housemanship positions, as the local schools are churning out 500 students (of varying standards) annually.

Didn't see yr reply previously, thx for the info
Jckc
post Jul 18 2020, 01:39 AM

330 posts

QUOTE(podrunner @ Jul 17 2020, 05:35 PM)
But you're not considered an IMG, having graduated from medical school in the UK.  IMGs still need to do PLABs on top of MRCP right?  What's the difference between a training post and a non-training post?  The latter is called a trust grade doctor?    The latter is easier to get into, yes? Do correct me if wrong.  Thank you.
Yeah, I'm not considered an IMG.

Training post - Essentially you're a trainee in a speciality which you will eventually become a consultant or a specialist after successfully progressing through the years. This is a national recruitment process whereby you compete with everyone for a training post in the country post. The recruitment process is longer with an initial application form online with subsequent national interview process.

Non training post (trust grade/clinical fellow) - means you're not a trainee in that speciality and you're employed basically as service provision to help fill the rota gap. (However, the experience and skills you get may translate into your portfolio and help reduce the number of years of training depending which speciality you go into)
Yup, the latter is much easier process as the recruitment is done by the trust and hospital itself rather than a national recruitment. With the amount of rota gaps, it's very easy to get into a fellow/trust grade post. You essentially need your CV, a quick interview with necessary skills. (Of course this is just a generic requirement which may vary between trust and position you're applying for)

This post has been edited by Jckc: Jul 18 2020, 01:40 AM
Jckc
post Jul 18 2020, 01:41 AM

330 posts

QUOTE(Lunamarine211 @ Jul 17 2020, 07:46 PM)
PLAB will be soon replaced by UKMLA soon in which both IMG and local graduates are required to take the tests. So in the future,  IMG will hv equal chance as well for their foundation years
I disagree with this.
Ukmla is gonna replace every exam but I definitely feel they will prioritize their local graduates first.
hksgmy
post Jul 18 2020, 05:33 AM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(Jckc @ Jul 18 2020, 01:41 AM)
I disagree with this.
Ukmla is gonna replace every exam but I definitely feel they will prioritize their local graduates first.
I agree. The idiots that voted for Brexit and Boris Johnson would otherwise be up in arms and march to the turn of Anglo Lives Matters!
podrunner
post Jul 18 2020, 11:02 AM

2,214 posts

QUOTE(hksgmy @ Jul 18 2020, 05:33 AM)
I agree. The idiots that voted for Brexit and Boris Johnson would otherwise be up in arms and march to the turn of Anglo Lives Matters!
I am sure every country will prioritise their own graduates first, after having invested in them. Do we not prioritise malaysians first here?
hypermax
post Jul 18 2020, 11:33 AM

2,524 posts

QUOTE(podrunner @ Jul 17 2020, 05:49 PM)
Is there just a GIM pathway in the UK?  I understand with IMT + ST  training, you will for example, get your CCT for gastroenterologist-internist.  So 2 yrs (F1&F2) + 3 yrs (IMT) + 4 years (ST) = 9 years, after graduation.
Yes it us possible to be trained in GIM only, though not many people do that. The majority prefer dual CCT or other specialty like dermatology
hksgmy
post Jul 18 2020, 12:55 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(podrunner @ Jul 18 2020, 11:02 AM)
I am sure every country will prioritise their own graduates first, after having invested in them. Do we not prioritise malaysians first here?
Fair point smile.gif
Jedi
post Jul 21 2020, 06:06 PM

Pax Et Bonum
2,245 posts

So easy a for internist training in UK

Surgical based still need to go thru interview before ST3.
ST 8 finish exit exam only can call consultant. But then only stsrt doing procedures solo that junior surgical trainee do in Malaysia. By the time you finish FRCS its minimum 6 years after mrcs in UK. That too u are not CCST trainee. Not worth it.

My advise is if u go internist pathway better do it rock solid elsewhere and not just be a mrcp online doctor. Its a combination of skills, clinical and procedural alike.
I. E not giving a bombastic farfetched impression for an issue that might arise from a patient.
Giving medications/discharge plans without examing patients.

Or at least, learning is life long. But there are also many who develop ego after passing(i. E view someone as inferior, only wishes to speak to specialists of other departments if its an interdepartmental referral, scolding excessively) . Which does no good for patients.

This post has been edited by Jedi: Jul 21 2020, 09:36 PM
hksgmy
post Jul 21 2020, 08:08 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(Jedi @ Jul 21 2020, 06:06 PM)
So easy a for internist training in UK

Surgical based still need to go thru interview before ST3.
ST 8 finish exit exam only can call consultant. But then only stsrt doing procedures solo that junior surgical trainee do in Malaysia. By the time you finish FRCS its minimum 6 years after mrcs in UK. That too u are not CCST trainee. Not worth it.
My advise is if u go internist pathway better do it rock solid elsewhere and not just be a mrcp online doctor which are alot of new internists in malaysia mushrooming now. Cant do procedures... Echo rely on MA (every patient is RWMA EF 56 to 60 percent).... See pt also never touch can give diagnosis.... See pt sometimes also dont see plan give over phone.. Then diu surgical colleagues.
Gosh. Isn’t that a bit harsh on the MRCP qualified doctors in Malaysia?
Jedi
post Jul 21 2020, 09:31 PM

Pax Et Bonum
2,245 posts

QUOTE(hksgmy @ Jul 21 2020, 08:08 PM)
Gosh. Isn’t that a bit harsh on the MRCP qualified doctors in Malaysia?
I am saying we need a more streamlined thorough filter of medical officers obtaining MRCP in Malaysia. Nothing particular against internists.

Afterall they also work for patients good.

limeuu
post Jul 24 2020, 12:06 AM

12,290 posts

Interesting this thread is still alive, but moved into postgraduate issues instead of the old "getting into med school" discussions....

Not in touch with all these changing permutations now, so inputs from hypermax et al is more accurate....

housemanship was 1 year until 2008, when in tandem with the fy (f1 f2) of uk, it was changed to 2 years....

msia decided in the 70's to use universities for postgraduate certifications, hence the masters pathway.....but it's not very efficient, so in recent years, the moh decided to run a parallel pathway system via the commonwealth professional colleges exams within moh training....for the medical stream as mrcp continues to be recognised.....but after the surgical colleges changed to the mrcs, that is not recognised, and hence the surgical stream is stuck with the local masters....(although there are parallel pathways for a couple of sub specialities)...
onelove89
post Sep 19 2020, 01:58 PM

Fighter for God
3,107 posts

It's been ages my friends. Hope everyone's doing well and welcome new members. Life events + exams meaning less time on forums. I can't help much on malaysian medical education system but feel free if you have a question regarding australian medical education/medical training.
limeuu
post Sep 21 2020, 09:25 PM

12,290 posts

there is much less interests in medical studies the last 2 years, since it became obvious there is over production in Msia and jobs are not guaranteed....

onelove, what are you intending to go into?
Ninjitsu
post Aug 29 2021, 03:26 PM

406 posts

I'm a matriculation student now. How is the pathway to obtaining a Sports Doctor qualification from Universiti Malaya? Do I need an MBBS before another 4 years of Masters Program in Sports Medicine? Any shorter route?
CyberSetan
post Aug 30 2021, 04:55 AM

-KNowLEdGe BRiNGs FEaR-
2,527 posts

QUOTE(Ninjitsu @ Aug 29 2021, 03:26 PM)
I'm a matriculation student now. How is the pathway to obtaining a Sports Doctor qualification from Universiti Malaya? Do I need an MBBS before another 4 years of Masters Program in Sports Medicine? Any shorter route?
Answer to the bold part = No.

Assuming you can get into medicine... and then assuming you can finish the medical course... you will further need get into Housemanship on a CONTRACT BASIS...

Assuming you can finish the Housemanship and its brutal training... you will further need serve as a MEDICAL OFFICER for some more years ON CONTRACT BASIS (UNLESS YOU QUIT)...

Assuming you did not quit and your contract is renewed.... you will still need to GET A PERMANENT GOVERNMENT POST first before you can apply for Medical/Surgical Masters in IPTAs...

Assuming you even get a permanent govt post... you will still need to serve for several years under SPORTS MEDICINE / ORTHOPEDIC DEPARTMENT and become senior Medical Officer under that department before the head of department can support your application for the Masters program...

Assuming you got the approval from the head of department.... you will still need to PASS THE ENTRANCE EXAM AND COMPETE WITH OTHER CANDIDATES from all over Malaysia for the limited number of seats for the Masters program...

Assuming you got the seat... it will take several more years to complete the Masters...

Assuming you completed the Masters... it will take several moooore years to be officially gazetted as SPORTS MEDICINE SPECIALIST....

Assuming you became a SPORTS MEDICINE SPECIALIST... you will need to serve the government for moooore years before you can quit government service without penalty...

So... are you up to it?

if not, just take other paths in life that is less demanding.... become a Pharmacist... or a Teacher for example...

91 Pages « < 88 89 90 91 >Top

0.0271sec    0.32    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 08:32 PM