CALLING ALL MEDICAL STUDENTS! V3, medical student chat+info center

hksgmy
post Jul 3 2020, 10:06 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(CyberSetan @ Jul 3 2020, 09:51 PM)

Here  is what I recorded years ago while studying in India, the one in front is Dr. Ismail Merican (former Director General of Health Malaysia):

Other relevant link:

https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/3947399/all
A legend of a man, and my supervisor when I did 2 overseas electives under him as a medical student decades ago. Down to earth and sharp as a razor, with clinical acumen second to none. He was an inspiration to me as wide-eyed medical student... can’t believe that was some 30 years ago!
hksgmy
post Jul 14 2020, 03:05 AM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

Wait a minute - MRCP = specialist in Malaysia? Please check and confirm, because the MRCP, MRCPCH and all membership exams for that matter, are entry exams and have been for decades in Singapore and the UK.

Back in my time and that’s some 20, 25 years back, the Membership exams were a prerequisite for me to exit BST (Basic Specialty Training) and enter AST.

This post has been edited by hksgmy: Jul 14 2020, 03:05 AM
hksgmy
post Jul 14 2020, 02:36 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(mRNA-83 @ Jul 14 2020, 02:31 PM)
You can see here - it is listed in the National Specialist Registry (NSR):

RECOGNIZED POSTGRADUATE QUALIFICATIONS (MEDICINE) - https://www.nsr.org.my/Qualifications.html
Yes, but that is just a postgraduate qualification - it may not confer professional recognition of specialty. Eg in the UK, you’ll need the CCST post MRCP to qualify as a specialist. In Singapore, you’ll need a Fellowship equivalent.
hksgmy
post Jul 14 2020, 04:50 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(Jckc @ Jul 14 2020, 03:10 PM)
yes, thats why malaysia boleh.

as what mrna-83 said, you can be a specialist just after 18 months of gazettement with MRCP, MRCPCH and MRCGP. (not MRCS since its not recognised)
so yeah in theory, i can finish mrcp by next year and be a specialist in 2-3 years time in malaysia without any higher speciality training (as long as ive passed the gazettement of course)
Thank you for your clarification! That's honestly an eye opener for me!
hksgmy
post Jul 15 2020, 02:33 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(mRNA-83 @ Jul 15 2020, 02:26 PM)
Summoning hypermax for useful input on MRCP.  biggrin.gif
That’ll be good to hear it from a junior doctor in the Singapore system. I’m an oldfag - I passed out decades ago when life was simpler. Can’t say I envy you guys.

hksgmy
post Jul 15 2020, 08:30 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(Lunamarine211 @ Jul 15 2020, 07:38 PM)
Is it true that now UM and UKM graduates are not accepted by Sg for HO, although both schools are still in SMC list?
Just because a degree is recognised doesn’t mean a position will open up, esp for a foreigner. It’s getting harder, even for returning Singaporeans, to secure housemanship positions, as the local schools are churning out 500 students (of varying standards) annually.
hksgmy
post Jul 16 2020, 04:32 AM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(hypermax @ Jul 15 2020, 11:06 PM)
Wrong info

MRCP pathway is now known as parallel pathway. One must have 3 years of Internal Medicine training pre-MRCP (as MO. HO rotation not counted), then 1 year of Internal Medicine training post MRCP, then finally half a year of gazzettement (functioning as specialist but under supervision). So total duration to be gazzetted as a General Internal Medicine specialist in KKM is 4 and half years. Then for NSR registration, one need another one year after gazzettement before being qualified (total 5 and 1/2 years from start to finish to be able to register as GIM specialist in NSR). If you struggle to pass your MRCP, let's say 6 years before you finally clear all parts of MRCP, you still need the one year post MRCP training before being able to go for gazzettement. Don't simply sarcastically say "Malaysia Boleh" if you don't know the full facts la  doh.gif

During the 4 years pregazzettement, the candidate must go through at least 8 sub-specialty rotations, namely cardio, neuro, respi, nephro, gastro, rheumato, endocrine, and ID. If not mistaken, geriatric, hemato and palliative are optional. Max duration for each rotation is 4 months. Anything more than that is not counted towards the 4 years training  rclxub.gif

The rules have tightened considerably since 2016 because previously too many young MRCPians without experience. Simple procedures like chest tube, transvenous pacing, pericardial draining also cant do independently  sweat.gif

*PS gazzetted as GIM specialist means can only work as specialist in KKM hospitals. To be able to practice in private hospital as a GIM specialist, one needs NSR
Thank you for the clarification! To be honest, the training requirements are somewhat basic, for recognition and to be gazetted as a specialist in Malaysia. What you just mentioned would be the level of a specialist registrar in Singapore (during my days, God knows how things have been tweaked now, what with the residency program and other changes) but I know for a fact that post qualifications training is not just for another year - it wasn’t during my time (that required a minimum of 3 additional years, a published paper and an exit exam) and in Australia, you’d need the FRACS or FRACP or FRACGP or any other Fellowship of the specialty colleges which are exit exams.

Are you still in Singapore or have you gone back to Malaysia?
hksgmy
post Jul 16 2020, 10:46 AM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(zstan @ Jul 16 2020, 10:06 AM)
Wonderful insight. The 1 year housemanship in Singapore is a surprise. As usual there are always Malaysians trying to berate Malaysia at every opportunity they can get.
Sorry, oldfag question here - how many years of housemanship is it, in Malaysia? I mean, I know in UK there's the F1 & F2 years, but I always thought Malaysia was the same with Singapore, just a single year?
hksgmy
post Jul 16 2020, 11:02 AM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(hypermax @ Jul 16 2020, 09:07 AM)

I was in Singapore for one year of electrophysiology fellowship. I am now back in Malaysia as cardiologist (already completed 3 and half years of cardiology training before i went to Singapore)

Singapore system has changed to mimic US. 3 years of basic specialty training in GIM (aka residency), then additional 3 to four years of subspecialty training. It is also possible to get dual accreditation in GIM and a subspecialty of your choice. But one will need additional 2 years of GIM training post 3 years of basic GIM training.

In summary
Single accreditation: 3 + 3 or 4 years depending on which sub
Dual accreditation: 3 + 2 + 3 or 4

Still faster than Malaysian pathway lol. Not to mention housemanship in Singapore is only one year.

Also please bear in mind, invasive procedures such as chest tube can only be done by senior respiratory medicine registrar, and not basic GIM trainee. Heck even simple procedure like transvenous pacing needs to be done by cardio registrar
Thank you for the update. Although I teach undergraduate students and take postgraduate students for their specialty entry exams, I have to admit I'm out of touch with the residency program as it stands today - I'm not involved in the exit exams anymore. I have to say, back in my days, it was SO much simpler and so much less complicated.

Start your Housemanship, take your part 1, pass your part 1, get into a training program (BST) - that's usually for 3 years, rotate through core clinical training (general surgery or general medicine), pass your part 2 memberships, become a registrar, commence AST (advanced specialty training) - and that can be for 3 to 5 years or longer - as you said, either single or double accreditation, publish at least one paper (first or second author) in a peer reviewed journal (most of us would aim for the SMJ, just to get it out of our way), sit for the viva and the exit and boom, that's it, a freshly minted A/C.

Life was simple back then.
hksgmy
post Jul 16 2020, 12:16 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(zstan @ Jul 16 2020, 11:24 AM)
it has always been 2 years for as long as i can remember. never heard of it being one year before. i can't imagine a one year housemanship when there are many struggling to cope with 2 years and getting extended.
Thank you for your clarification. You know, talking to you guys and finding out so many new things (eg. the specialization pathways, or even housemanship) has really made me feel my age haha.
hksgmy
post Jul 16 2020, 02:02 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(mRNA-83 @ Jul 16 2020, 01:59 PM)
Before this there was 1 year housemanship until MOH changed it to 2 years.
You can check older generation doctors' MMC registration pre-2008 (?), it will state date of Provisional Registration -> Full Registration (it will show 1 year)
That was my understanding - after all, when I graduated and applied for housemanship in Malaysia (before I later accepted an offer to do the same in Singapore), I was pretty sure it was only for a year before I would get my full registration. I actually still have my temporary registration licence somewhere as a keepsake haha.
hksgmy
post Jul 16 2020, 06:15 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(hypermax @ Jul 16 2020, 05:13 PM)
Biasalah bro. Kan grad sari UK, glamour kot lol. Sebenarnya MRCP pun bukan susah sangat. As long as you read the right books, subscribe to the right question bank, and practice bedside exam regularly, attend at least 3 reputable paces courses, anyone can pass MRCP.
You’re being modest. It was told to a prospective candidate in the years past, that the pass rates (for either the MRCP or the FRCS - before that was dumbed down to the semi-farcical MRCS) were around 30%. And rumour has it that the exams were a competitive examination - as long as 30% did better than you, hard cheese, old chum, see you in London/Glasgow/Edinburgh again next year.

This post has been edited by hksgmy: Jul 16 2020, 08:58 PM
hksgmy
post Jul 17 2020, 02:13 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(hypermax @ Jul 17 2020, 09:31 AM)
Yes you are right. If you are working a full time clinical post in government hospital in Malaysia, studying for MRCP can be difficult with all the oncalls and being drained from daily work. In addition, there is no protected study time like in Singapore or in the UK. In Singapore, the resident / MRCP candidate will be given one or 2 afternoon off just to study. Also, they have weekly tutorial from consultants and professors from NUS. In Malaysia, you are pretty much on your own.

BTW, UK is very short of Dr right now. As long as you have full MRCP, chances of getting a training post in the UK is actually quite high if you are not aiming for high demand supspecialty such as Cardiology or Gastroenterology.
I bet you were asked to take some of those candidates as part of your “tour of duty” in Singapore hehe. Hope you didn’t give them too hard a time! I used to do that when I was in the public sector, and it was quite a bit of fun - both for the examiner and the trainee. The clinical part of the membership exams is where one truly feels that he or she is a real doctor, making real diagnoses, with nothing more than the tools of the trade contained in that little carry-on bag and the noggin of gyri and sulci nestled between ones ears. laugh.gif
hksgmy
post Jul 18 2020, 05:33 AM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(Jckc @ Jul 18 2020, 01:41 AM)
I disagree with this.
Ukmla is gonna replace every exam but I definitely feel they will prioritize their local graduates first.
I agree. The idiots that voted for Brexit and Boris Johnson would otherwise be up in arms and march to the turn of Anglo Lives Matters!
hksgmy
post Jul 18 2020, 12:55 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(podrunner @ Jul 18 2020, 11:02 AM)
I am sure every country will prioritise their own graduates first, after having invested in them. Do we not prioritise malaysians first here?
Fair point smile.gif
hksgmy
post Jul 21 2020, 08:08 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(Jedi @ Jul 21 2020, 06:06 PM)
So easy a for internist training in UK

Surgical based still need to go thru interview before ST3.
ST 8 finish exit exam only can call consultant. But then only stsrt doing procedures solo that junior surgical trainee do in Malaysia. By the time you finish FRCS its minimum 6 years after mrcs in UK. That too u are not CCST trainee. Not worth it.
My advise is if u go internist pathway better do it rock solid elsewhere and not just be a mrcp online doctor which are alot of new internists in malaysia mushrooming now. Cant do procedures... Echo rely on MA (every patient is RWMA EF 56 to 60 percent).... See pt also never touch can give diagnosis.... See pt sometimes also dont see plan give over phone.. Then diu surgical colleagues.
Gosh. Isn’t that a bit harsh on the MRCP qualified doctors in Malaysia?

0.0483sec    0.20    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 06:48 AM