91 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Bottom

CALLING ALL MEDICAL STUDENTS! V3, medical student chat+info center

cckkpr
post Aug 4 2012, 01:13 AM

4,514 posts

QUOTE(jolenemeteor @ Aug 4 2012, 12:22 AM)
Wow you're fast! I'm actually in a grad entry MBBS so we've started a small amount of weekly training in the hospital since the beginning of year 1. I've also recently completed a 2 weeks General Paeds attachment over my last break, but I totally get what you mean about enjoying the long holidays! Just trying to perhaps look out for an attachment of a week or two to see how the healthcare setting in Malaysia is like in comparison to Aus. smile.gif

Looks like I'll resort to the unofficial way then....  hmm.gif  hmm.gif
I have arrange twice for my relatives and frankly, you need to 'know' some ppl to have a meaningful attachment.
podrunner
post Aug 13 2012, 01:06 PM

2,214 posts

A levels results out this week. Hope all UK med applicants with conditional offers meet the requirements! Apparently UCAS received about 90,000 med applicantions for 2012/2013. This figure was then "trimmed" down to about 20,000 competing for about 7,500 places in the 31 medical schools.
cckkpr
post Aug 13 2012, 01:59 PM

4,514 posts

QUOTE(podrunner @ Aug 13 2012, 01:06 PM)
A levels results out this week. Hope all UK med applicants with conditional offers meet the requirements! Apparently UCAS received about 90,000 med applicantions for  2012/2013. This figure was then "trimmed" down to about 20,000 competing for about 7,500 places in the 31 medical schools.
Apparently out today.
limeuu
post Aug 13 2012, 05:38 PM

12,290 posts

A levels results will be out on the 16th.....
podrunner
post Aug 14 2012, 08:09 AM

2,214 posts

I don't dare imagine the numbers here. Even NHS' 6% rise in death rates is horribly scary! Black Wednesday indeed!

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/health/healthne...ing-season.html

This post has been edited by podrunner: Aug 14 2012, 08:10 AM
limeuu
post Aug 14 2012, 08:21 AM

12,290 posts

in the past, it was 1 august, and that could be a weekend, so you can imagine the chaos sometimes....they have changed to the 1sy Wednesday of august, which is midweek, and should have maximum staff strength available.....

it's actually more than 4 days in most unis.....eg, nottingham actually devoted 2 scheduled 'shadowing' periods before the new housemans start, 4 and 2 weeks respectively, so that new doctors can merge into service as seamlessly as possible....
daerkelani
post Aug 15 2012, 02:35 AM

56 posts

Hi, sifu...which book do you guys use for anatomy and physiology? Which ones do you guys recommend? Erm, maybe I need more details than normal for the requirements.
SticH
post Aug 15 2012, 03:03 AM

964 posts

anatomy - chaurahsia
physiology - guyton
CyberSetan
post Aug 15 2012, 03:19 AM

-KNowLEdGe BRiNGs FEaR-
2,527 posts

QUOTE(SticH @ Aug 15 2012, 03:03 AM)
anatomy - chaurahsia
physiology - guyton
Conclusion: SticH must have had Indian lecturers brows.gif

This post has been edited by CyberSetan: Aug 15 2012, 03:20 AM
SticH
post Aug 15 2012, 03:25 AM

964 posts

Haha yeah currently in aimst, but anyway those 2 books are really awesome especially chaurahsia, I like their clinical application and mnemonics
daerkelani
post Aug 15 2012, 08:25 AM

56 posts

Haha, sure stitch. Any other recommendations??
TSSyd G
post Aug 15 2012, 09:51 AM

Mom. Servant of God.
8,023 posts

Netter is pretty good for atlas.

Added on August 15, 2012, 10:20 amBtw :

Winson Seow says sorry
http://thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=...0397&sec=nation

This post has been edited by Syd G: Aug 15 2012, 10:20 AM
podrunner
post Aug 15 2012, 10:32 AM

2,214 posts

QUOTE(Syd G @ Aug 15 2012, 09:51 AM)

Winson Seow says sorry

It was very foolish to mislead and misrepresent in the first place
SticH
post Aug 15 2012, 11:21 AM

964 posts

Netter is good for viewing only, if you seriously want to learn anatomy, read books. You can try grey's anatomy as well but I think it's too hard for medical students?
limeuu
post Aug 15 2012, 11:58 AM

12,290 posts

Winson Seow says sorry

he lied....openly.....and stupid enough to think he can get away with it....

he can mis-represent himself with his qualification in traditional medicine (if that is indeed itself true), but to claim qualification from kings, and royal college of surgeons of london (doesn't exist) is outright fraud....
TSSyd G
post Aug 15 2012, 12:38 PM

Mom. Servant of God.
8,023 posts

QUOTE(SticH @ Aug 15 2012, 11:21 AM)
Netter is good for viewing only, if you seriously want to learn anatomy, read books. You can try grey's anatomy as well but I think it's too hard for medical students?
i thought that's what atlases are for......

This post has been edited by Syd G: Aug 15 2012, 12:38 PM
SticH
post Aug 15 2012, 01:33 PM

964 posts

Yeah but I used to make the mistake of reading atlas lol, dont want anyone to follow my footstep sad.gif
cckkpr
post Aug 15 2012, 01:39 PM

4,514 posts

QUOTE(podrunner @ Aug 15 2012, 10:32 AM)
It was very foolish to mislead and misrepresent in the first place
He is a fake and he cheated. Stupid!
skyklg
post Aug 15 2012, 08:16 PM

108 posts

i think reading Clinical Anatomy: Applied Anatomy for Students and Junior Doctor is good... but for certain high yield topics u'll need at least moores anatomy
onelove89
post Aug 16 2012, 05:46 AM

Fighter for God
3,107 posts

Winson Seow says sorry

Reminds me of something my lecturer said. GA was first done in launceston in the world, and I heard from a traditional med doctor that GA was done even earlier in china with some herbs remedy. just interesting to hear from two different fields tongue.gif

QUOTE(SticH @ Aug 15 2012, 11:21 AM)
Netter's atlas is really good, especially when it comes to Head and neck. i never really used texts, but i do have moore to refer to. I'm using Gilroy atlas too. but i think netter's is much more comprehensive. don't like grey's. too messy. personal opinion, not to offend hardcore grey's fans tongue.gif

91 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Top

0.0322sec    0.51    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 01:05 AM