CALLING ALL MEDICAL STUDENTS! V3, medical student chat+info center

podrunner
post Feb 6 2017, 12:56 PM

2,214 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Feb 6 2017, 12:15 PM)
1st round offers come out in february in the past....but since there will be no reserve list this year, they may delay it a bit...

once you are offered and accepted the offer, your destination deanery will help you with the documents necessary for applying for the tier 4 visa extension...it's mostly a formality...
Thank you!

Out of interest, what is the specialist training pathway (medical) in Australia like? If an international Oz grad gets an internship posting, will he/she then be able to apply through on equal footing with the aussies?
limeuu
post Feb 6 2017, 01:10 PM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(podrunner @ Feb 6 2017, 12:56 PM)
Thank you!

Out of interest, what is the specialist training pathway (medical) in Australia like? If an international Oz grad gets an internship posting, will he/she then be able to apply through on equal footing with the aussies?
oz post graduate training is much more restricted than uk....

the restriction is based on the visa you are on....internationals staying on for internship uses the 457 work visa.....That allows a maximun of 4 years stay, under sponsorship by accredited employers....but after the intenship, when you start looking for rmo jobs, priority will be given to residents (ie citizens and prs) before they offer jobs to work visa doctors...

generally they do not take in non residents for surgical training....and for gp trainings, you cannot do training in metropolitan rotations if you are NOT a resident when you started your medical school....

therefore the priority for most people is to quickly apply for a pr (189) visa once they are eligible, ie after full registration on completion of internship....

once you are a pr, you are on par, and selected on the basis of merit...(with the same proviso for gp training)....
podrunner
post Feb 6 2017, 01:30 PM

2,214 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Feb 6 2017, 01:10 PM)
oz post graduate training is much more restricted than uk....

the restriction is based on the visa you are on....internationals staying on for internship uses the 457 work visa.....That allows a maximun of 4 years stay, under sponsorship by accredited employers....but after the intenship, when you start looking for rmo jobs, priority will be given to residents (ie citizens and prs) before they offer jobs to work visa doctors...

generally they do not take in non residents for surgical training....and for gp trainings, you cannot do training in metropolitan rotations if you are NOT a resident when you started your medical school....

therefore the priority for most people is to quickly apply for a pr (189) visa once they are eligible, ie after full registration on completion of internship....

once you are a pr, you are on par, and selected on the basis of merit...(with the same proviso for gp training)....
So one can apply for PR status much earlier, compared to UK's 10 years stay condition. That's a good thing then. So the critical step would be to land an internship post after graduation. Thanks for the info. Australia still a better place to live, IMO.
confirm
post Feb 6 2017, 01:32 PM

205 posts

If doctor is out of the sol list, it will be very difficult for internationals to secure training places since citizens and prs are preferred ? For that matter even RMO position.

This post has been edited by confirm: Feb 6 2017, 01:35 PM
limeuu
post Feb 6 2017, 02:24 PM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(confirm @ Feb 6 2017, 01:32 PM)
If doctor is out of the sol list, it will be very difficult for internationals to secure training places since citizens and prs are preferred  ? For that matter even RMO position.
If doctors are removed from the sol, internationals will no longer be eligible for internship, as that is based on the 457 visa, which is sol dependant...

The competent authority pathway will also close, as the work visa granted is also the 457...
zeng
post Feb 6 2017, 06:37 PM

1,810 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Feb 4 2017, 08:23 PM)
based on what was stated at the visa extension website, it appears you can apply for extension of tier 2 visa, if you comply with the stated conditions....in any case, almost everybody will be eligible for pr, with the exception of those who came through the imu pathway...
Seeking some clarifications for those on IMU pathway to UK spending:
a) 3 Clinical years on Tier 4 student visa ,
b) another 2 years FY1 and FY2 on another Tier 4 work visa plus say,
c) 5 years post FY2 on Tier 2 visa (it should be possible right ?) ......
One would've met requirements for PR or it's Not ?

This post has been edited by zeng: Feb 6 2017, 06:38 PM
limeuu
post Feb 6 2017, 08:04 PM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(zeng @ Feb 6 2017, 06:37 PM)
c) 5 years  post FY2 on Tier 2 visa (it should be possible right ?) ......
yes, theoretically you can make it, but those matched to nottingham (2 1/2yrs) and graduate entry warwick (2 years) may have problems....
zeng
post Feb 6 2017, 08:50 PM

1,810 posts

Thank you.notworthy.gif
And calling on current IMU PMS undergrads in Bukit Jalil ........
SticH
post Feb 6 2017, 09:10 PM

964 posts

Is there anyone with MRCS exam experience? I need some advices..
confirm
post Feb 6 2017, 09:11 PM

205 posts

Is there any truth or it is just fallacy....most IMU PMS students landed in Australia would have preferred to go to UK but they were not successful in their application.
limeuu
post Feb 6 2017, 09:39 PM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(confirm @ Feb 6 2017, 09:11 PM)
Is there any truth or it is just fallacy....most IMU PMS students landed in Australia would have preferred to go to UK but they were not successful in their application.
obviously as conditions change, the preferences will also change....

in the past, and as recent as 3-4 years ago, oz was still the preferred destination for a lot of people, and many were shunted to uk because of the limited places available in oz pms....

but going forward, with the changes in conditions (smoothening in uk, potential closing of doors in oz), i suspect the preferences will have shifted to uk now....
Jckc
post Feb 6 2017, 10:08 PM

330 posts

QUOTE(zeng @ Feb 6 2017, 06:37 PM)
c) 5 years  post FY2 on Tier 2 visa (it should be possible right ?) ......
theres two ways to go about getting a PR in the uk.

one is through the long residence pathway, whereby you stayed in the uk legally under visas for 10 years regardless.

The other is through working under tier 2 visa for 5 years. (you need to be under a working visa, so the tier 4 visa for fy1/2 + med school does not count).

However, in the end, its the same for imu grads. For non imu grads, the long term residence pathway will be faster since we have more years in med school (so 3 years post f2 is sufficient).

(currently taking a break from ICU.. not much is happening anyways)
Jckc
post Feb 6 2017, 10:10 PM

330 posts

QUOTE(confirm @ Feb 6 2017, 09:11 PM)
I guess its cheaper as well.. oz is really expensive compared to uk. (except London)
zeng
post Feb 6 2017, 10:42 PM

1,810 posts

QUOTE(Jckc @ Feb 6 2017, 10:10 PM)
I guess its cheaper as well.. oz is really expensive compared to uk. (except London)
Heck, direct entry to most UK med schools is even lower fees than IMU PMS (UK) programme! sweat.gif

Jckc
post Feb 7 2017, 02:16 AM

330 posts

QUOTE(zeng @ Feb 6 2017, 10:42 PM)
Heck, direct entry to most UK med schools  is even lower fees than IMU PMS (UK) programme! sweat.gif
yup, at my time.
direct entry fees were cheaper for pre clinical(even after converting!)
shows how much imu is charging for!
cckkpr
post Feb 7 2017, 09:20 AM

4,515 posts

QUOTE(Jckc @ Feb 7 2017, 02:16 AM)
yup, at my time.
direct entry fees were cheaper for pre clinical(even after converting!)
shows how much imu is charging for!
Queen's is one of them. But Glasgow fee is the same for all 5 years. At 42k pounds per year now is a bit crazy with our depreciating Ringgit.
Jckc
post Feb 8 2017, 03:37 AM

330 posts

QUOTE(cckkpr @ Feb 7 2017, 09:20 AM)
Queen's is one of them. But Glasgow fee is the same for all 5 years. At 42k pounds per year now is a bit crazy with our depreciating Ringgit.
some unis do preclinical clinical divide like queens as you said and mine.
yeah, one of my friend is studying in glasgow atm and its insane expensive.
cckkpr
post Feb 8 2017, 09:10 AM

4,515 posts

QUOTE(Jckc @ Feb 8 2017, 03:37 AM)
some unis do preclinical clinical divide like queens as you said and mine.
yeah, one of my friend is studying in glasgow atm and its insane expensive.
My relative is there doing the final year. The locked-in fee 5 years ago was 28500 pounds per year and can cover 2 years at Queens.

confirm
post Feb 8 2017, 10:21 AM

205 posts

What are the current competitive UKCAT and A level scores to secure offers from UK schools ? Is SPM/ O level result and medical related experiences critical ?

podrunner
post Feb 8 2017, 01:21 PM

2,214 posts

QUOTE(confirm @ Feb 8 2017, 10:21 AM)
What are the current competitive UKCAT and A level scores to secure offers from UK schools ?  Is SPM/ O level result and medical related experiences critical ?
A very useful forum is: thestudentroom.co.uk. IIRC they have a general thread, and then individual medical school thread. It should be quite active at this time of the year, as offers will normally be made in March. Applicants should be discussing results, scores, interview invites etc.
Actually, academic results aside, personal statement is critical, as this determines if they are keen enough on the applicant to invite round for a chat.
I think for A levels, min is probably A*AA now, although most (esp Asians) had/have 3 or 4 A*.

91 Pages « < 64 65 66 67 68 > » Top

0.0366sec    0.50    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 03:33 AM