QUOTE(FuQuO @ Jul 5 2012, 01:37 PM)
Have to be prepared to work from Monday to Sunday. I just declined an interview for the position of electrical superintendent.
cool job actually, if it's OnG companyWorking in Singapore V11, Serious Talk, No Chatting
Jul 5 2012, 01:43 PM
5,859 posts Joined: Mar 2009 From: KL in JB/SG : |
Jul 5 2012, 01:50 PM
339 posts Joined: Aug 2005 |
QUOTE(jasonkwk @ Jul 5 2012, 12:38 PM) don't really understand what you're tring to say, but yeah last year I've applied for other position too. I just keep updating my resume and just apply for any vacancies they have to offer. |
Jul 5 2012, 02:15 PM
846 posts Joined: Jul 2010 |
Jul 5 2012, 03:37 PM
513 posts Joined: Jul 2007 |
Jul 5 2012, 04:17 PM
846 posts Joined: Jul 2010 |
QUOTE(davidbilly87 @ Jul 5 2012, 03:37 PM) yeah, the application no is one of the method (method 3), i can get the status information clearly , now still pending Oo...Seem like have to get the application number as well, just wonder should my friend rush the company HR? seem like not very appropriate to do so although is already 6 working days. Recently she had a friend go for medical checkup after HR told him that the application successful which is after 7 working days of application for S Pass. Will HR drop the application when they annoyed by the applicant when keep on asking the status?scare siah... The waiting process is suffering and make people nervous only! ! haha |
Jul 5 2012, 04:31 PM
1,006 posts Joined: May 2007 From: Singapore |
QUOTE(tailtwist @ Jul 4 2012, 11:00 PM) taking bus/MRT here on a monthly..at MAX SGD150 only!!......unless your hiring company pays monthly for that...else its a no brainer...SGD440 a month!! Car = independenceIt might be expensive to own a car in Singapore but it definitely gives you the freedom to roam around. A lot msian that came to singapore keep complaining about how boring singapore is, truth is that they only hang around place reachable by MRT/Bus. There are a lot place to explore once you have a car, but of course depending on your budget. You might not be able to afford it now, perhaps 5 years later. I have been in singapore for past 6 years, only managed to get an OPC car last year as a reward of completing my ACCA. Definitely heavy on the pocket but if you are planning to stay here long term, it is worth the money. But the downside are 1) Jam 2) ERP 3) Summon (get it every month, coupon expired, illegal parking) 4) Expensive parking fee (HDB Parking 70-90 per month, condo free) 5) Maintenance - need to send car for some road worthiness test every other year 6) Liability 7) Road tax (depending on car CC, OPC car gets 500 discount) Upside 1) Convenient & Freedom 2) Pay extra SGD20 only if need to drive OPC during peak hours. I used to think I wont need a car, but saw some car adverts last year, price too good to miss, ichy backside and bought one. No regrets! |
Jul 5 2012, 04:41 PM
2,110 posts Joined: Jan 2007 |
QUOTE(chess_gal @ Jul 5 2012, 04:31 PM) There are a lot place to explore once you have a car, but of course depending on your budget. You might not be able to afford it now, perhaps 5 years later. I have been in singapore for past 6 years, only managed to get an OPC car last year as a reward of completing my ACCA. Definitely heavy on the pocket but if you are planning to stay here long term, it is worth the money. wow 6 years in Singapore and already can afford a OPC car , impresive leh teach us how almighty one |
Jul 5 2012, 04:56 PM
39 posts Joined: Oct 2008 From: Singapore-> Seremban<-Singapore |
Jul 5 2012, 05:14 PM
Jul 5 2012, 05:39 PM
315 posts Joined: Jun 2008 |
people like me travel in and out everyday. bought me a superbike after 3 months working there. i have the best of both worlds. can enjoy sg life and MY life.
Jul 5 2012, 05:48 PM
2,110 posts Joined: Jan 2007 |
QUOTE(Wira_lover @ Jul 5 2012, 05:39 PM) people like me travel in and out everyday. bought me a superbike after 3 months working there. i have the best of both worlds. can enjoy sg life and MY life. wow superbike in 3 month, another almighty one guess u not in the group in the far left, do they have a special lane for super bike, may i ask ![]() |
Jul 5 2012, 06:15 PM
315 posts Joined: Jun 2008 |
hahaha thats woodlands.... im using tuas. and avoid peak hours. simple solution. tuas checkpoint. 5pm-7pm there is a sllight jam sometimes. so i finish work at 630. stay back have a cup of tea with colleagues till 730-8pm. and problem solved.
they dont have seperate lanes for big bikes in tuas and woodlands. but in tuas the space/queue is nothing like woodlands. there is ampel space for each bike to properly line up.. using the thumbprint/biometric lane is also a solution to this problem. |
Jul 5 2012, 06:48 PM
QUOTE(chess_gal @ Jul 5 2012, 05:31 PM) Car = independence Actually i was think of change to PR after 1 year work something due to cpf/ easy change job, but need to give up drive msia car into sg.It might be expensive to own a car in Singapore but it definitely gives you the freedom to roam around. A lot msian that came to singapore keep complaining about how boring singapore is, truth is that they only hang around place reachable by MRT/Bus. There are a lot place to explore once you have a car, but of course depending on your budget. You might not be able to afford it now, perhaps 5 years later. I have been in singapore for past 6 years, only managed to get an OPC car last year as a reward of completing my ACCA. Definitely heavy on the pocket but if you are planning to stay here long term, it is worth the money. But the downside are 1) Jam 2) ERP 3) Summon (get it every month, coupon expired, illegal parking) 4) Expensive parking fee (HDB Parking 70-90 per month, condo free) 5) Maintenance - need to send car for some road worthiness test every other year 6) Liability 7) Road tax (depending on car CC, OPC car gets 500 discount) Upside 1) Convenient & Freedom 2) Pay extra SGD20 only if need to drive OPC during peak hours. I used to think I wont need a car, but saw some car adverts last year, price too good to miss, ichy backside and bought one. No regrets! normally what total cost of the car? let say i buy a toyota vios (new car)? |
Jul 5 2012, 08:32 PM
QUOTE(Wira_lover @ Jul 5 2012, 06:15 PM) hahaha thats woodlands.... im using tuas. and avoid peak hours. simple solution. tuas checkpoint. 5pm-7pm there is a sllight jam sometimes. so i finish work at 630. stay back have a cup of tea with colleagues till 730-8pm. and problem solved. so staying back another 1 - 1 1/2 hour after work everyday is 'best of both world' ?they dont have seperate lanes for big bikes in tuas and woodlands. but in tuas the space/queue is nothing like woodlands. there is ampel space for each bike to properly line up.. using the thumbprint/biometric lane is also a solution to this problem. 2nd link is pretty dark after 7.30pm and no road light since its a highway. Lots of trailers too. Added on July 5, 2012, 8:35 pm QUOTE(davidbilly87 @ Jul 5 2012, 06:48 PM) Actually i was think of change to PR after 1 year work something due to cpf/ easy change job, but need to give up drive msia car into sg. Singapore car wif current COE ? I would say probably S$100knormally what total cost of the car? let say i buy a toyota vios (new car)? This post has been edited by Mackiddo: Jul 5 2012, 08:35 PM |
Jul 5 2012, 09:15 PM
QUOTE(Mackiddo @ Jul 5 2012, 09:32 PM) so staying back another 1 - 1 1/2 hour after work everyday is 'best of both world' ? omg, vios also need 100k total? 2nd link is pretty dark after 7.30pm and no road light since its a highway. Lots of trailers too. Added on July 5, 2012, 8:35 pm Singapore car wif current COE ? I would say probably S$100k |
Jul 5 2012, 09:57 PM
19 posts Joined: Dec 2007 |
I just wanted to check with you all here if a Malaysian can drive a Malaysian registered car into Singapore whilst holding an Employment Pass? I am not too worried about VEP costs. From the perspective of the law in SG is it illegal to own a Malaysian car and drive it around in SG whilst on an Employment Pass and residing in Singapore?
Thanks! |
Jul 5 2012, 09:59 PM
1,006 posts Joined: May 2007 From: Singapore |
QUOTE(davidbilly87 @ Jul 5 2012, 09:15 PM) If you buy new car, current COE is hovering around 60K i heard.http://www.st701.com/cars/coe/ Try to look at second hand car at sgcarmart.com |
Jul 5 2012, 10:34 PM
QUOTE(chess_gal @ Jul 5 2012, 10:59 PM) If you buy new car, current COE is hovering around 60K i heard. 2nd car also very exp http://www.st701.com/cars/coe/ Try to look at second hand car at sgcarmart.com |
Jul 5 2012, 11:11 PM
336 posts Joined: Mar 2005 |
QUOTE(davidbilly87 @ Jul 5 2012, 11:34 PM) Try to look for a car with 3-4 years left on the COE , hopefully by then many cars will deregister and COE will go down to an acceptable level. Also try to look for a car with higher paper value (etc. OMV) so that you get more back when u deregister at the end of 10 years. |
Jul 5 2012, 11:21 PM
4,349 posts Joined: Mar 2005 From: Johor Bahru, Malaysia |
| Change to: | 0.0296sec
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 08:06 AM |