V2 Kia Optima K5 club
cybermaster98
Jun 20 2012, 10:21 AM
QUOTE(shah mad @ Jun 20 2012, 10:13 AM) Hi John, If we send our car to this workshop, what happen to our 5 years warranty? Warranty is only applicable when repairs / servicing is done at authorised manufacturer's service centres. But u can use this place to get a 2nd opinion. But i doubt they would know how to resolve this issue since even the ppl in America have yet to find a solution.
shah mad
Jun 20 2012, 10:21 AM
QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Jun 20 2012, 09:21 AM) Bro, every car has issues. If u google, ull find problems with most of the car models in the market now. So if ure looking for a car without problems, ure probably better off with public transport. http://www.chron.com/business/article/Feds...tos-3642030.phpYou are right, man...
power2win
Jun 20 2012, 11:49 AM
Apart from this steering problem, anyone encounter smoke smell in the car after making a hard acceleration?
kenrain
Jun 20 2012, 12:16 PM
QUOTE(power2win @ Jun 20 2012, 11:49 AM) Apart from this steering problem, anyone encounter smoke smell in the car after making a hard acceleration? I think that you're refering to what CM98 mentioned the burn smell?
SA6YEuro
Jun 20 2012, 01:14 PM
QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Jun 20 2012, 09:31 AM) I dont think that's the problem actually. The Optima comes with hydraulic steering. Dunno why they keep saying electric assist. But seems that the steering issues in America are far worse than here. My problem is no where as serious as any of the complaints listed on that website. The US versions actually use mdps. Our neighbours in philipines n prolly brunei oso. N they both have the 2.4l but non gdi. Our counterparts in singaland is having similar steering issues like ours. Vibration n vague feeling at high speeds. U can view their comments in sg kia club.
devil98
Jun 20 2012, 04:22 PM
QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Jun 20 2012, 08:27 AM) this issue look scary & dangerous especially driving fast in highway
Felice821
Jun 20 2012, 04:24 PM
Any updates on the AP issues???
cybermaster98
Jun 20 2012, 04:35 PM
QUOTE(SA6YEuro @ Jun 20 2012, 01:14 PM) The US versions actually use mdps. Our neighbours in philipines n prolly brunei oso. N they both have the 2.4l but non gdi.
Our counterparts in singaland is having similar steering issues like ours. Vibration n vague feeling at high speeds. U can view their comments in sg kia club. Any solutions provided? Added on June 20, 2012, 4:35 pmQUOTE(Felice821 @ Jun 20 2012, 04:24 PM) Any updates on the AP issues??? I thought u already got your Optima? This post has been edited by cybermaster98: Jun 20 2012, 04:35 PM
SA6YEuro
Jun 20 2012, 05:05 PM
QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Jun 20 2012, 04:35 PM) Unfortunately nope. They juz talk bout it some did complain to C&C (Kia dist.) but no outcome. Honestly i feel itsa design flaw. I believe the vibration is contributed fr big wheels, low profile tyres n stiff suspension. Lack of feel at hi speeds is definitely a missing or lack of sensitivity speed servo to regulate the steering weight at the gbox. This post has been edited by SA6YEuro: Jun 20 2012, 10:35 PM
cybermaster98
Jun 20 2012, 05:07 PM
QUOTE(SA6YEuro @ Jun 20 2012, 05:05 PM) Unfortunately nope. The juz talk bout it some did complain to C&C (Kia dist.) but no outcome.
Honestly i feel itsa design flaw. I believe the vibration is contributed fr big wheels, low profile tyres n stiff suspension. Lack of feel at hi speeds is definitely a missing or lack of sensitivity speed servo to regulate the steering weight at the gbox. I think the lack of feel or numb steering is different from the problem many of them (and me) are facing. The problem is actually a 'jumpy' steering when u go over bumps or rough roads. This becomes more pronounced as the vehicle speed increases.
cybermaster98
Jun 20 2012, 05:20 PM
Guys, just to update you on my car. Kia have not really been able to identify the problem but they have agreed to change both the rear shock absorbers FOC under warranty. Ive also complained about the front driver's power window having a 'rough' sound when in motion. They have also agreed to change the entire motor assembly FOC. But the parts have been ordered and will arrive next week. My front foglamps were replaced yesterday. That too FOC.
Not sure if the problem will be resolved but they want to replace the shock absorbers as part of an elimination process. If that doesnt solve the problem, they will take a closer look at the steering assembly. This is the instruction from Naza Kia HQ.
I must say that i am quite impressed with Kia's response to my problems. They acted fast and had no hessitation to make replacements even though it wasnt cheap. If it was Toyota, they would have fought tooth and nail to defend themselves before admitting to any faults. Its good that Kia have a 5 year unlimited mileage warranty program. Surely a plus point.
Felice821
Jun 20 2012, 05:26 PM
QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Jun 20 2012, 04:35 PM) Any solutions provided? Added on June 20, 2012, 4:35 pmI thought u already got your Optima? Nope ... Booked the car Mid-April ... now still waiting ..
gary_ckwai
Jun 20 2012, 05:44 PM
QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Jun 20 2012, 06:20 PM) Guys, just to update you on my car. Kia have not really been able to identify the problem but they have agreed to change both the rear shock absorbers FOC under warranty. Ive also complained about the front driver's power window having a 'rough' sound when in motion. They have also agreed to change the entire motor assembly FOC. But the parts have been ordered and will arrive next week. My front foglamps were replaced yesterday. That too FOC. Not sure if the problem will be resolved but they want to replace the shock absorbers as part of an elimination process. If that doesnt solve the problem, they will take a closer look at the steering assembly. This is the instruction from Naza Kia HQ. I must say that i am quite impressed with Kia's response to my problems. They acted fast and had no hessitation to make replacements even though it wasnt cheap. If it was Toyota, they would have fought tooth and nail to defend themselves before admitting to any faults. Its good that Kia have a 5 year unlimited mileage warranty program. Surely a plus point. WOW i am impressed  btw what happen to your fog lamps? This post has been edited by gary_ckwai: Jun 20 2012, 05:54 PM
cybermaster98
Jun 20 2012, 05:55 PM
QUOTE(Felice821 @ Jun 20 2012, 05:26 PM) Nope ... Booked the car Mid-April ... now still waiting .. Huh? Why so long? Both of us booked the same time and i got mine in 14 days (end April). Added on June 20, 2012, 5:57 pmQUOTE(gary_ckwai @ Jun 20 2012, 05:44 PM) WOW i am impressed  btw what happen to your fog lamps? The plastic internal bulb cover melted and dropped a about 2cm. So Kia changed the entire fog lamp (1 set) under warranty. This post has been edited by cybermaster98: Jun 20 2012, 05:57 PM
Felice821
Jun 20 2012, 06:03 PM
QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Jun 20 2012, 05:55 PM) Huh? Why so long? Both of us booked the same time and i got mine in 14 days (end April). Added on June 20, 2012, 5:57 pmThe plastic internal bulb cover melted and dropped a about 2cm. So Kia changed the entire fog lamp (1 set) under warranty. Good question. I told the SA, I will only take the car somewhere in June, so might because of this, the SA allocate my car to someone first .. and he might don't know the AP issue will arise
Tokyoboy2000
Jun 20 2012, 07:39 PM

Try the top speed at kl to Melaka highway. A accord 2.4 try to overtake me but can't accede. Speed at 210km/h +\-. . After around 10min speeding, I let go the acceleration n let it go pass over me, cause is very scary at that speed...feels like the car gonna 'fly' specially in corners...comfort n stable around 150km\h. Over than that, lost my confidence cause the steering feels too 'light' to hander...
SA6YEuro
Jun 20 2012, 07:52 PM
QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Jun 20 2012, 05:07 PM) I think the lack of feel or numb steering is different from the problem many of them (and me) are facing. The problem is actually a 'jumpy' steering when u go over bumps or rough roads. This becomes more pronounced as the vehicle speed increases. These symptoms tt u mentioned is very similar to a track cars behaviour. Rubber parts r replaced wif bearings ie. heim joints or pu. I had the same issue wif my previous car when i upgraded the steering rack bushing to pu. Felt every pebble n steering kickback on uneven roads. On top of it, stiff suspension adds to other part of the equation. Hence, my theory is the k5 front suspension is transferring a lot of the vibration to the steering rack. The solution could be thicker tyres n dampers wif lower rebound rate. I noticed when my tyres were under inflated at 31psi the vibration was much less. But the moment it pumped it back to 35psi, u really feel the road. I hope my theory is wrong n the SC hav a solution to this.
IluvProton
Jun 20 2012, 07:58 PM

QUOTE(Tokyoboy2000 @ Jun 20 2012, 02:39 PM) Try the top speed at kl to Melaka highway. A accord 2.4 try to overtake me but can't accede. Speed at 210km/h +\-. . After around 10min speeding, I let go the acceleration n let it go pass over me, cause is very scary at that speed...feels like the car gonna 'fly' specially in corners...comfort n stable around 150km\h. Over than that, lost my confidence cause the steering feels too 'light' to hander... if according to SA. Adaptive steering like BMW should be more heavy and the ratio to steer will be increase whenever your speed increase
Tokyoboy2000
Jun 20 2012, 08:37 PM

QUOTE(IluvProton @ Jun 20 2012, 07:58 PM) if according to SA. Adaptive steering like BMW should be more heavy and the ratio to steer will be increase whenever your speed increase  That's y I'm confused...acutely the steering handing feedback should b more heavier and stable due in high speed, but not much lighter n sensitive witch makes me lost my confidence in high speed handing specially in cornering...
feng yun
Jun 20 2012, 09:23 PM
QUOTE(Tokyoboy2000 @ Jun 20 2012, 07:39 PM) Try the top speed at kl to Melaka highway. A accord 2.4 try to overtake me but can't accede. Speed at 210km/h +\-. . After around 10min speeding, I let go the acceleration n let it go pass over me, cause is very scary at that speed...feels like the car gonna 'fly' specially in corners...comfort n stable around 150km\h. Over than that, lost my confidence cause the steering feels too 'light' to hander... Damn, 210km/h Btw was it current accord 2.4 generation? How come it could not overtake 2.0 car?