125 Pages « < 81 82 83 84 85 > » Bottom

The Weight Loss Thread v3, Ask your weight loss questions here.

SUSNew Klang
post Sep 16 2013, 02:02 PM

4,998 posts

QUOTE(skycrawler @ Sep 15 2013, 11:10 PM)
eat more fruits?
What fruits suitable?

SUSNew Klang
post Sep 16 2013, 02:05 PM

4,998 posts

QUOTE(sweet_pez @ Sep 15 2013, 11:49 PM)
More protein and some coffee perhaps? biggrin.gif
No. Was thinking of sweet potato and fish.

I hardly drink coffee nowadays as it disturb my sleeping pattern.

sweet_pez
post Sep 17 2013, 09:49 AM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

QUOTE(New Klang @ Sep 16 2013, 02:05 PM)
No. Was thinking of sweet potato and fish.

I hardly drink coffee nowadays as it disturb my sleeping pattern.
Drink your coffee earlier (eg. in the morning) or drink quarter to half cup instead of full cup. That's what usually do since I'm caffeine sensitive. But when I want more energy throughout the day, I'd go for full cup.
angellus_riku
post Sep 17 2013, 02:42 PM

74 posts

QUOTE(mikehuan @ Sep 14 2013, 11:34 AM)
Why 1200 kcals? Imo that is too little considering you do workouts everyday.

What's your goal? You seem to be concerned with muscle loss and yet I doubt you're eating enough to sustain, let alone grow.

Need more details.
I'm trying to lose 7 - 8 kgs by December if possible (because of an event). Need to be able to fit into that outfit (bought a size too small)
But then i wouldn't want to lose muscle mass too. Wouldn't want to look like those TVB actresses

I recently saw a video on youtube on a taiwanese girl (i think) who lost weight purely by undergoing the 1200 cal diet.
Was thinking of giving it a try and see if it works.

I'm 76kgs and 162cm tall.

My diet for the 1200 cal diet
Breakfast
- Vegetable + Fruit juice
- 1 whole egg (hard boiled)
- coffee (occasional 3 in 1, but most of the time is sugarless black coffee)

Lunch
- 2 slices of massimo 100% whole wheat bread
- 2 whole egg (hard boiled - no yolk)

Tea (Occasional)
- 1 Mcvities or Hup seng cream crackers

Dinner
- 1 slice of massimo 100% whole wheat bread
- Vegetable juice

(sometimes if i canot tahan the hunger at 4pm ish, i'll eat those hupseng crackers or Mcvities)

Water cosumption - 4 liters at least.

i'm not sure if i'm doing it right or not, but i've been in this for 1 week already.
(agak agak 1200...i'm ok if it exceeds 100++ calories)

sweet_pez >> Thanks for the TDEE link~! very useful!! smile.gif

This post has been edited by angellus_riku: Sep 17 2013, 02:43 PM
TiF
post Sep 17 2013, 03:01 PM

1,192 posts

I did this:

breakfast: 3-in-1 nescafe with egg whites x 4 or nescafe 3-in-1 with oatmeal

lunch: normal, but no more extra rice or side dishes. no oily stuff tho.

dinner: usually is 1/2 of what i have for lunch, or just low fat milk with oatmeal. 2 oranges/apples.

jogging 3-4km daily. and use my wife's eztone (not sure if helps) for 10mins.

my height: 175cm
my weight: 104kg atm.
calculated calories intake per day is about 1600-1800. but once in a while, it go up to 2200 (my wife know how to cook some serious food during the weekend)

i started the above plan on 22th Aug, lost 5kgs so far. not great i guess, but it works for me. feel hungry occasionally at night, if i only eat fruits for dinner, but a glass of low fat milk do wonder biggrin.gif

feel more energetic now and feel like keep on moving around, like a bit too energetic to sit tight do nothing. and it feel nice to finally able to wear some old shirt comfortably which was tight around the arm last month.

target is 75kg, about 1kg per week, and hopefully i can achieve this before CNY.

This post has been edited by TiF: Sep 17 2013, 03:02 PM
wts6819
post Sep 17 2013, 04:39 PM

875 posts

QUOTE(angellus_riku @ Sep 17 2013, 02:42 PM)
I'm trying to lose 7 - 8 kgs by December if possible (because of an event). Need to be able to fit into that outfit (bought a size too small)
But then i wouldn't want to lose muscle mass too. Wouldn't want to look like those TVB actresses

I recently saw a video on youtube on a taiwanese girl (i think) who lost weight purely by undergoing the 1200 cal diet.
Was thinking of giving it a try and see if it works.

I'm 76kgs and 162cm tall.

My diet for the 1200 cal diet
Breakfast
- Vegetable + Fruit juice
- 1 whole egg (hard boiled)
- coffee (occasional 3 in 1, but most of the time is sugarless black coffee)

Lunch
- 2 slices of massimo 100% whole wheat bread
- 2 whole egg (hard boiled - no yolk)

Tea (Occasional)
- 1 Mcvities or Hup seng cream crackers

Dinner
- 1 slice of massimo 100% whole wheat bread
- Vegetable juice

(sometimes if i canot tahan the hunger at 4pm ish, i'll eat those hupseng crackers or Mcvities)

Water cosumption - 4 liters at least.

i'm not sure if i'm doing it right or not, but i've been in this for 1 week already.
(agak agak 1200...i'm ok if it exceeds 100++ calories)
sweet_pez >> Thanks for the TDEE link~! very useful!! smile.gif
Based on your current weight and height, I believe 1200cal was too low and your body doesn't get used to it yet. Probably you need to increase a little bit (i.e: 1500cal) so that you can gain more strength (assuming to maintain your current weight was 2000cal, I calculate roughly at this value).

Your weight 76kg and height 162cm. Rough calculation as below;
you need 2044 Calories/day to maintain your weight
you need 1544 Calories/day to lose 0.5 kg per week
you need 1044 Calories/day to lose 1 kg per week

I would suggest you to opt for losing 0.5kg per week.

P/s: Pls do some weight training with light weight but more reps.
angellus_riku
post Sep 17 2013, 04:51 PM

74 posts

QUOTE(wts6819 @ Sep 17 2013, 04:39 PM)
Based on your current weight and height, I believe 1200cal was too low and your body doesn't get used to it yet. Probably you need to increase a little bit (i.e: 1500cal) so that you can gain more strength (assuming to maintain your current weight was 2000cal, I calculate roughly at this value).

Your weight 76kg and height 162cm. Rough calculation as below;
you need 2044 Calories/day to maintain your weight
you need 1544 Calories/day to lose 0.5 kg per week
you need 1044 Calories/day to lose 1 kg per week

I would suggest you to opt for losing 0.5kg per week.

P/s: Pls do some weight training with light weight but more reps.
Meaning i can add 300 more calorie into the diet, then slowly cut down.

And yeah, i still lift weights at home (small dumbells, i think 2.5kg?), lunges, squats, sit ups and push ups.
Also, i cut down my running distance from 5.5km to 3.5 km. (dun wanna faint halfway running LOL)

ok, will try this out and see for a week.

thanks~ smile.gif
mikehuan
post Sep 17 2013, 09:07 PM

6,160 posts

if you could link me the youtube link i'd appreciate it.
sweet_pez
post Sep 18 2013, 10:26 AM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

QUOTE(angellus_riku @ Sep 17 2013, 02:42 PM)
Hey you're welcome. It's helpful but I agree with wts6819 that 1,200kcal might be too low. If you'd like, eat 5 meals a day limiting to 300kcal each meal thus it's 1,500kcal per day. That's what Chris Powell asks his 'clients' to do lol. Not that I agree 100% but there's no harm trying/ going for it since you have a target to achieve.

QUOTE(TiF @ Sep 17 2013, 03:01 PM)

Uhhhh I think it has been mentioned numerous times in the forum, on and off in threads. Doesn't matter what time you eat - be it dinner or wee hour supper, calories intake in 1 day = calories consumed in a day. It doesn't change no matter what time you eat. Doesn't mean that you eat late and thus you'd store more fat.

Don't take 3-in-1, go for black without sugar and creamer. Add some milk if you want. 3-in-1 contains a lot of sugar so don't take them often.

So if you'll be hungry at night, just eat a normal balanced meal for dinner. Stack on vege to get more fiber and feel fuller.

And 1kg per week is pretty high. Note that weight loss that happens too fast without sufficient time or workout to tone/ firm your body might result in sagging skin in later stage.

I hope that everyone can see 'diet' as more of a permanent change of lifestyle rather than something temporary to meet a certain goal/ target. A lot of people revert back to old ways once they have hit their goal (eg. x kg) and then complain about it sweat.gif turns into a cycle.

QUOTE(angellus_riku @ Sep 17 2013, 04:51 PM)
Meaning i can add 300 more calorie into the diet, then slowly cut down.

And yeah, i still lift weights at home (small dumbells, i think 2.5kg?), lunges, squats, sit ups and push ups.
Also, i cut down my running distance from 5.5km to 3.5 km. (dun wanna faint halfway running LOL)

ok, will try this out and see for a week.

thanks~ smile.gif
Dumb bell 2.5kg? Too light. Increase your weight after some time (depends on individual). Some people increase weight after 2 weeks, some longer while others faster. If you continuously use 2.5kg you wouldn't see much improvement after awhile.

Also, I suggest you do HIIT workout as well (can't remember whether I've mentioned this to you before lol).

Last but not least, when you dun - make it an interval run: 1min fast pace, 30sec low pace and then increase it again etc
TiF
post Sep 18 2013, 12:17 PM

1,192 posts

QUOTE(sweet_pez @ Sep 18 2013, 10:26 AM)

Uhhhh I think it has been mentioned numerous times in the forum, on and off in threads. Doesn't matter what time you eat - be it dinner or wee hour supper, calories intake in 1 day = calories consumed in a day. It doesn't change no matter what time you eat. Doesn't mean that you eat late and thus you'd store more fat.

Don't take 3-in-1, go for black without sugar and creamer. Add some milk if you want. 3-in-1 contains a lot of sugar so don't take them often.

So if you'll be hungry at night, just eat a normal balanced meal for dinner. Stack on vege to get more fiber and feel fuller.

And 1kg per week is pretty high. Note that weight loss that happens too fast without sufficient time or workout to tone/ firm your body might result in sagging skin in later stage.

it is just that if i eat too much, i have trouble sleeping laugh.gif my diet now consist of 1/3 carbs but x2 greens. meat wise i just stop eating fried ones but portion remain the same. and i hate black coffee without sugar LOL.

actually after starting to change my eating habit, i realized something. i used to stuff myself until very full. and i felt sleepy soon after a heavy meal, and occasionally i can feel my heart pounding super hard. but i no longer have that problem now. so im going to stick to 'eat until full, but dun over eat'.
angellus_riku
post Sep 18 2013, 01:04 PM

74 posts

QUOTE(sweet_pez @ Sep 18 2013, 10:26 AM)
Hey you're welcome. It's helpful but I agree with wts6819 that 1,200kcal might be too low. If you'd like, eat 5 meals a day limiting to 300kcal each meal thus it's 1,500kcal per day. That's what Chris Powell asks his 'clients' to do lol. Not that I agree 100% but there's no harm trying/ going for it since you have a target to achieve.

Dumb bell 2.5kg? Too light. Increase your weight after some time (depends on individual). Some people increase weight after 2 weeks, some longer while others faster. If you continuously use 2.5kg you wouldn't see much improvement after awhile.

Also, I suggest you do HIIT workout as well (can't remember whether I've mentioned this to you before lol).

Last but not least, when you dun - make it an interval run: 1min fast pace, 30sec low pace and then increase it again etc
Noted~

And i checked the dumbell, it's written '5', so i'm not too sure whether it's 5kg or 5 pounds.
The weights i use here is only temporary till Oct. (coz i froze my gym membership this month ^^;;;)

And yeah, i read about HIIT (nope, dun think you've mentioned it to me directly, but i read a lot about it around the health and fitness forum smile.gif )
Will do so once i get back to gym. Now i'm just doing my daily 3.5km jogs and strength training.

Thanks again for the advice~! smile.gif

SUSNew Klang
post Sep 18 2013, 06:42 PM

4,998 posts

My colleague lost weight by exercise and separate protein/ carb diet i.e. in one meal say lunch only take protein and dinner only carb.

Anyone tried this diet and what is the result?
Wildon Ebiz
post Sep 18 2013, 10:47 PM

46 posts

Get free info on how t beat your fat genes, simple and easy steps. Don't blame on your genes anymore.

Simple Tip to "Beat" Your Fat Genes
rikusakurai
post Sep 19 2013, 06:38 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(angellus_riku @ Sep 12 2013, 12:32 PM)
i'm a little confused on my workout plans.

recently i started my 1200 cal diet plan.
(keeping track via myfitnesspal.com).

But i still go for my daily 5.5km jog after work.
Then i continue on with lunges and weights/sit ups at home.
Occasionally, i feel dizzy after all these.

I have read around that hunger kills muscle. Trying to avoid that by exercising while i maintain my 1200 cal diet. I feel SUPER HUNGRY sometimes (around 4pm-ish)

Am i not eating enough?
well, im on diet too...my workout plans are even worst... im managed to lose 15kg in 2 month and half and my eating plan are just eat veggies twice a day.. if i can do, why u cant? sorry... wanna make u keep motivate! haha smile.gif

Btw im lose from 103 kg to 87kg smile.gif
sweet_pez
post Sep 20 2013, 09:37 AM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

QUOTE(New Klang @ Sep 18 2013, 06:42 PM)
My colleague lost weight by exercise and separate protein/ carb  diet i.e. in one meal say lunch only take protein and dinner only carb.

Anyone tried this diet and what is the result?
It doesn't matter! End of the day how much you ate overall is the total calories you have consumed.

QUOTE(rikusakurai @ Sep 19 2013, 06:38 PM)
well, im on diet too...my workout plans are even worst... im managed to lose 15kg in 2 month and half and my eating plan are just eat veggies twice a day.. if i can do, why u cant? sorry... wanna make u keep motivate! haha smile.gif

Btw im lose from 103 kg to 87kg  smile.gif
And you have no idea that your 'diet' is not right. Don't ask someone else to follow the wrong advice.

You need a balanced meal - meat/ eggs/ tofu (protein), vege, fruits, rice/ other types of carbs etc - to keep your body nourished.
mikehuan
post Sep 20 2013, 11:04 AM

6,160 posts

I think you misunderstand the concept of dieting. Your diet has to be sustainable long term, ie years. No point losing so much only to gain it again once you come off the diet.

While I applaud your weight loss, your way of going about it isn't what I would say, healthy.

Depending on volume, I don't think your daily cal intake even reaches 1200 cals. Assuming you're a guy you are making huge damage to your metabolism with this diet.
jun_ng_1208
post Sep 20 2013, 11:46 AM

1,274 posts

I think at the end of the day, different people uses different method to lose weight, for me personally I'll go for balanced meal (wholemeal bread for breakfast, rice or noodle for lunch & lastly salad with chicken breast meat for dinner). I've personally recommend consuming a lot of drinking water as well thumbup.gif Other than a balance meal diet, frequent exercise is also very important notworthy.gif
angellus_riku
post Sep 20 2013, 04:51 PM

74 posts

I understand that too. I lost 20kg in 2 months back when i was in college, but the diet was SUPER UNHEALTHY (only 1 slice of bread and 1 tomato for the whole day). I wouldn't suggest that to anyone.
(that was approximately 90kg to 70kg)

Now that age has caught up (late 20s ady now LOL) and i'm at 76kg, it's kinda harder to lose the weight.
So i'm trying around methods to lose the excess. I'm looking at 66kg first as ideal weight. If i can achieve that, then i'll lower it to another target goal.

While it is awesome that you manage to lose that much in 2 months, i'd strongly suggest that you slowly increase your food intake.
My personal experience was I had hair loss, brittle nails, irregular menstruals and also VERY CRANKY MOOD.

So yeah, i'm really motivated to lose weight, but not in too short a time. (MY SKIN HAS TERRIBLE STRETCH MARKS NOW T^T)

Thanks for the motivation ya. smile.gif
really really appreciate it~! XD

PS : lately i included 'cheat meals' into my diet. Just so my body doesn't go into 'survival mode'. I don't want the weight to bounce back that much when i try to increase my calorie intake once i've achieve my target weight. smile.gif So far so good, 2 weeks into the diet, i've already lost roughly 1 - 2 kgs. smile.gif
Go_up
post Sep 21 2013, 02:24 PM

Hallucinogen
917 posts

my weight now is 64kg +/- 0.4kg.

Because I am dancer i want my weight to be 60kg, its hard for me to lose, because i did take 3 regular meals / days.

Morning: Friend Kuey Tiao ( oily sometimes sad.gif )
Afternoon: Mix rice
Evening: Pan Pee or mix rice

I ate too much? I exercise almost every night ( 6 packs training), but the outcome is close to none.

Please anyone suggest a meal table for me, I would like to lose weight !
Wildon Ebiz
post Sep 21 2013, 02:47 PM

46 posts

QUOTE(Go_up @ Sep 21 2013, 02:24 PM)
my weight now is 64kg +/- 0.4kg.

Because I am dancer i want my weight to be 60kg, its hard for me to lose, because i did take 3 regular meals / days.

Morning: Friend Kuey Tiao ( oily sometimes sad.gif )
Afternoon: Mix rice
Evening: Pan Pee or mix rice

I ate too much? I exercise almost every night ( 6 packs training), but the outcome is close to none.

Please anyone suggest a meal table for me, I would like to lose weight !
Hi

Get some info on this link, lose weight based on your genes, click here "Fat Loss Factor"

125 Pages « < 81 82 83 84 85 > » Top

0.0306sec    0.38    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 10:20 AM