The test drive unit vibrate when I start to press the pedal deeper to cross the road..did anyone feel the same?
㊕ ㊕(≧◡≦) ♠ ♠ ♠Proton Prevé V3♠ ♠ ♠(≧◡≦) ㊕ ㊕, ► Official Discussions for Proton Prevé
Apr 17 2012, 07:33 PM
451 posts Joined: Jun 2006 |
The test drive unit vibrate when I start to press the pedal deeper to cross the road..did anyone feel the same?
Apr 17 2012, 07:34 PM
2,199 posts Joined: Mar 2006 From: OKR KL |
initial reviews aint all dat great. should i shift to inspira?
Apr 17 2012, 07:37 PM
1,011 posts Joined: Mar 2010 |
good2, so many comments. If not mistakenlah, full manual mode need to push to side the lever. Erm, about the crack signal stalk, is it crack or sound crack coz u still hold the stalk even after turning the steering, n dont go back normal, is it means that the signal stalk not return back to neutral postion. If that the case, normal, not broken. But if physically crack, then its abnormal.
Centre console button near h u some are indicators only, not button. About rattles, i think need to check whether come from the un properly closed glove box or the compartment near the driver's side,under the steering. Being subject of abuse, u knowlah,ha...ha...,but its good to abuse coz then know bleh tahan atau x, either hard way or the highway,ops sorry, malaysian way :-). I think prtn listen to all the comments. Just my thought. Even some saying interior mcm taik, langgar yellow line gegar mcm kancil sbb pkai oem kayaba cap ayam, xpkai gab absorber(wow, gab, honda used gab kot, he..he..just joking), i think,they accept it all as feedback for improvements. |
Apr 17 2012, 07:39 PM
7,037 posts Joined: Apr 2006 |
QUOTE(deepan84 @ Apr 17 2012, 07:34 PM) Depends. Do you need a cheaper car with a turbo, a buttload of accessories, and a bigger boot?Or can you pay a bit more for car with less accessories, a smaller boot and no turbo; but A LOT OF DRAMA and POISON? I personally took the drama route, no regrets lol. YMMV of course - both is a Proton wad lol. This post has been edited by Eiraku: Apr 17 2012, 07:42 PM |
Apr 17 2012, 07:42 PM
834 posts Joined: Jul 2011 |
QUOTE(mat79 @ Apr 17 2012, 07:37 PM) Even some saying interior mcm taik, langgar yellow line gegar mcm kancil sbb pkai oem kayaba cap ayam, xpkai gab absorber(wow, gab, honda used gab kot, he..he..just joking), i think,they accept it all as feedback for improvements. I have no complains about the comfort nor the NVH. They are top notch, just as reported. Definitely no discomfort when going over yellow lines. |
Apr 17 2012, 07:47 PM
1,288 posts Joined: Jul 2007 From: Shah Alam |
Just talked with my friend (friend's friend actually) over the phone. He's working in powertrain division. he told me the manual 6 speeder hatchback will only sell to the market next year (mid 2013). No engine or power enhancement besides it's a manual version and hatchback. He also advised not to get the iafm cos it seriously underpowered. Dunno why proton decidew to introduce the iafm variant. Might as well sell the low spec with less accessories n function or better off with manual 5 speed.
Regarding the DSZ resignation he said still uncertain cos no B&W. maybe [/S]mat79[S] DSZ just cakap2 only to his staff This post has been edited by mutt: Apr 17 2012, 07:49 PM |
Apr 17 2012, 07:48 PM
7,037 posts Joined: Apr 2006 |
@Mat79: Good to hear Potong is listening. Personally I like to see the national brand grow and mature. I don't care if it's foolish national patriotism, but I get warm fuzzy feelings explaining to foreigners that I'm driving a local car and hearing them say "It's not bad" with a hint of honesty in their voices.
Just like a couple of American ETAs did a few weeks back when I ferried them around in my car. Even though mine is a "rebadge". This post has been edited by Eiraku: Apr 17 2012, 07:50 PM |
1,011 posts Joined: Mar 2010 |
ah, forget also, since many people scrutinised n test the car to the max, many didnt notice the glass area all around is pilkington toughened n st gobain sekurit. If u find anything unpleasing or anything, just mentioned it out. Who knows, maybe some protonians read this n can improve its. By the way, the glove box closing mechanism using side latch, rather than what they normally used. Are they scared the latch will break during abuse period? He...he...
QUOTE(mutt @ Apr 17 2012, 07:47 PM) Just talked with my friend (friend's friend actually) over the phone. He's working in powertrain division. he told me the manual 6 speeder hatchback will only sell to the market next year (mid 2013). No engine or power enhancement besides it's a manual version and hatchback. He also advised not to get the iafm cos it seriously underpowered. Dunno why proton decidew to introduce the iafm variant. Might as well sell the low spec with less accessories n function or better off with manual 5 speed. Maybe he just mentioned in passing to his staffRegarding the DSZ resignation he said still uncertain cos no B&W. maybe [/s]mat79[s] DSZ just cakap2 only to his staff DSZ: aih so tired, maybe I should resign. staffs: !!!!!!!!!!!!! *Internet explodes* |
Apr 17 2012, 07:50 PM
8,407 posts Joined: Jun 2005 |
QUOTE(Eiraku @ Apr 17 2012, 07:24 PM) You keep on saying that lol. I need to test myself but from pictures I can say the back seats are definitely more spacious in the Inspira - but we have sheetier boot space (unmodded with space saver spare tyre of course. Even modded I still think we'd lose). Give and take, fair trade I guess. To justify the extra... Ur extra $ ... Will test the Preve as soon as Kuala Lipis/Raub gets a test unit. |
Apr 17 2012, 07:52 PM
7,338 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Cybercity of Cyberjaya |
I went for a test drive at proton seremban just now and here is my honest opinion about it, and compare it to my current ride, kia forte koup.
the design: This is very subjective. The car has nice design. but for me i feel the car lacks a first impression 'wow' factor that some car in its segment has. However i believe proton try to play safe and design the car to suit many age range. For internal, i must say it doesnt look expensive, but yes this car at rm73k is indeed cheap. The features are amazing and worth the money. But in terms of quality i can say forte is way better. I also requested the sa to test drive the inspira and i can say inspira's materials also better than preve. So preve wins in features, but lack in quality and design.. performance: this is the most important part, and what excites me the most. 205nm torque at just 1500rpm. However while driving it, i had a mix feeling. it doesnt feel quick enough in acceleration, and at D mode, it is obviously not that fast. the gear change too quickly and at 60kmh i already at 6th gear. I then used pedal shift and.the car started to perform as what i expected. the power is there although there is like 1-2secs lag when i started pressing the pedal. It becomes quick after that, but i cant say it's better than my koup that only has 194nm at 4000rpm.. i then tested the inspira 2.0 which i think preve can easily beat at traffic light, but it wont be that far before inspira can overtake the preve. i dunno, i just hope that the car is too new that cause the engine to not performing that well. handling: The handling is great. However i would be lying if i say it matched my ex ford focus 2009. it is better than inspira though and better than my ex forte 1.6.. but koup steering and handling is good too. i cant say which one is better, but the most important thing is the preve handling is good enough and perhaps the best amond car below rm100k.. Overall, although i had a mix feeling about this car, i can safely say this car is the best car to buy below rm90k, especially if handling and features are the main 2 criterias for you.. |
4,221 posts Joined: Dec 2007 From: Somewhere on Earth |
QUOTE(dares @ Apr 17 2012, 06:55 PM) Just test drove earlier (If anyone saw a red Preve zipping through the Connaught highway at highspeed around 4-5pm, that's probably me hows the interior? saw few picture of the interior tear off I think izputra has covered most of what I thought, I just like to add my piece re the engine performance. Compared to my FLX SE, the 1k-2k RPM (before the turbo kicks in) is really sluggish, as if the 1.6 NA is struggling to move the car. The CVT is probably to blame, but nonetheless it's there. As said before, after 2k the turbo kicks in and that's where the car really starts to move. In D gear, the transition is smooth, almost unnoticable, BUT once you hit 2K and decides to release the pedal, the car jerks pretty hard due to engine braking, this could affect driving comfort in stop and go traffic. Also, the CVT seems reluctant to go to higher RPM, I would press the pedal hard and somehow the car decides to stay at 2k RPM, I was like WTFISTHISSHIT. The real fun is when you use the paddle shifters. In this mode the cars feel utterly alive and so much more responsive than in D. Whereas in D the RPM rises very slow, with the paddle shifters you can simply downshift and off it goes. This part was by far the most satisfying part of the test drive. I pity those who bought the IAFM+ variant, because they too will encounter the same sluggish response from 1k-2k RPM, except the 205Nm of torque will never come, ever. So if you are going for the IAFM+, please do yourself a favour and get the manual instead. Also, unbelievably, the dashboard rattled halfway through my test drive |
1,001 posts Joined: Jul 2011 |
I wonder when would be Sapphire Version of Preve would launch
1,288 posts Joined: Jul 2007 From: Shah Alam |
Apr 17 2012, 07:54 PM
664 posts Joined: Aug 2010 |
QUOTE(Eiraku @ Apr 17 2012, 07:48 PM) @Mat79: Good to hear Potong is listening. Personally I like to see the national brand grow and mature. I don't care if it's foolish national patriotism, but I get warm fuzzy feelings explaining to foreigners that I'm driving a local car and hearing them say "It's not bad" with a hint of honesty in their voices. I like the way you thinking. Our people really should learning how to proud with our self rather than just praise foreigner too much.Just like a couple of American ETAs did a few weeks back when I ferried them around in my car. Even though mine is a "rebadge". |
Apr 17 2012, 07:57 PM
0 posts Joined: Feb 2011 |
After preve is there a D segment car coming ?
Apr 17 2012, 07:59 PM
7,338 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Cybercity of Cyberjaya |
I also forgot to mention that welding point in some areas are too rough.. in.the engine compartment, door side. just to share though, not to complain..
and the comfort, the seats are good enough. |
Apr 17 2012, 07:59 PM
10,859 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Sarawak |
Apr 17 2012, 08:00 PM
5,987 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: North Borneo & South Nihon/Nippon |
from stand still with a 1KZ-TE (and 2 tonnes), I out speed a Preve with a 4 speed AT... while keeping the engine rev under 2.5k.... did not know it was a Preve till it over took me (while I lifted my foot from the pedal...)
Apr 17 2012, 08:01 PM
QUOTE(AlexLee277 @ Apr 17 2012, 07:52 PM) Interior is serviceable, definitely looks more expensive than RM72k. My main peeve is still with the center console and the HU. Sigh, this is where it becomes evident that Proton can give you a great overall package, but always overlooked the details. |
| Change to: | 0.0311sec
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 03:01 PM |