First!!
㊕ ㊕(≧◡≦) ♠ ♠ ♠Proton Prevé V3♠ ♠ ♠(≧◡≦) ㊕ ㊕, ► Official Discussions for Proton Prevé
Apr 7 2012, 04:06 PM
834 posts Joined: Jul 2011 |
First!!
Apr 7 2012, 04:09 PM
My days of frantically updating the owner's list are behind me
Apr 7 2012, 04:14 PM
FenomX, just quote my first post in the previous thread and remove the quote tags la.
Unless you wanna do fancy fancy shet Added on April 7, 2012, 4:16 pm QUOTE(eistern @ Apr 7 2012, 04:14 PM) You gimme money ah? I just got my FLX 3 months ago laI diam diam sit here and watch you guys with envy dah This post has been edited by dares: Apr 7 2012, 04:16 PM |
Apr 7 2012, 04:22 PM
Apr 7 2012, 09:41 PM
Wah go out a few hours already 7 pages, summore all talking money. Feel so left out
QUOTE(ahsam1212 @ Apr 7 2012, 09:25 PM) Overtaking without pedal to metal is just a joke. When u don't pedal to metal, ECU doesn't know your urgency to increase speed. How to overtake? It will be very dangerous. Overtaking at 4k rpm ? Pls tell me is a joke. What i mean here is that all this ECU car need to know your intention (input) to react to it (output). If only half throttle, speed will climb slowly. Full throttle will obviously be more effective than half throttle in this case. Common sense, no matter it's cvt, dsg, torque converter gbox, or a manual. Whats wrong with overtaking at 4k RPM? You mean it is too high or too low? |
Apr 7 2012, 10:16 PM
If for a conventional AT or MT or DCT drivetrain, yes flooring the pedal may work because the speed climbs with your RPM, and the faster your RPM climbs, tha faster your speed increases.
For a CVT, the RPM is almost independent of the speed (I say almost, because there are still fixed RPMs for cruising speeds), therefore let's say you mash the throttle and the RPM climb like mad, you will still see that your speed is just slowly catching up. In a CVT drivetrain, you want to keep your RPM at the peak of the torque curve, only then your speed will climb the fastest. This is the advantage of a CVT system, you don't need to climb the entire RPM range (in other words, the entire torque curve) to gain speed, you just need to keep it at the RPM where the torque is maximum, in the Campro IAFM+, that's 4k RPM. |
Apr 7 2012, 10:26 PM
QUOTE(ahsam1212 @ Apr 7 2012, 10:21 PM) OK...I think when preve is out, owner can try a drag race 0-120 km/hr by using diff method to find out the answer. Whether pedal to medal or half throttle or whatever throttle position that says 4k rpm. No need to wait for Preve, if you just wanna test the 1.6 IAFM+ CVT variant (since we are talking about max torque @ 4k RPM), the Saga FLX SE shares the same powertrain and characteristics, minus the weight.The CFE CVT variant reaches max torque at 2k RPM. |
Apr 7 2012, 10:48 PM
QUOTE(ahsam1212 @ Apr 7 2012, 10:28 PM) OK. Saga 1.6 cvt owner, go test it to prove which is a better method, 0 - 120km/hr. Pedal to metal or stick to your max torque at 4k rpm. And what do I get in return? you stamp of approval? no thanks.I am happy driving 90km/h @ 2k RPM and I have no incentive to risk life and limb to prove you wrong. If you like, just visit your nearest Proton showroom and ask for a test drive. Furthermore, a 0-120kmh sprint is not the definitive indication of how well a car accelerate from a rolling start eg. overtaking, something I learned the hard way. |
Apr 7 2012, 11:01 PM
Apr 7 2012, 11:53 PM
QUOTE(ckk125 @ Apr 7 2012, 11:43 PM) for 0-100 sprint, torque plays a role, just as horsepower. the hp at 2k rpm wont make it to 100kmh. but i do agree, with the CVT, normal day driving, u'll rarely rev it to redline Ooops QUOTE(stargate8 @ Apr 7 2012, 11:49 PM) my ideal of "Goodies from SA" Forget steering lock, ask for locktech 1. Cash rebate - this not sure how much can SA offer. 2. smart tag - The SmartTAG will be sold at RM130 per unit inclusive of FREE Touch ‘n Go card with RM10 reload value. steering lock, i think better to buy a good one unless SA can give a good one. security etching already included. |
Apr 7 2012, 11:54 PM
Apr 8 2012, 12:05 AM
QUOTE(ckk125 @ Apr 8 2012, 12:02 AM) yaya..like those honda city guys, 1st batch kena nicely from honda. not to mention the civic's power steering I dunno the story leh, do educate us Added on April 8, 2012, 12:08 am QUOTE(stinger82 @ Apr 7 2012, 11:57 PM) it is a right move. a few gen 2 caught fire when it first launch. Not long after it was launched, I saw a Gen 2 stalled in the middle of the road, upon closer inspection, I see the entire left front wheel has come off, complete with hub and disc. The lady owner was standing beside the road crying unless u very sure first batch plastic is better, lol. This post has been edited by dares: Apr 8 2012, 12:08 AM |
Apr 8 2012, 12:23 AM
QUOTE(stargate8 @ Apr 8 2012, 12:09 AM) ya lor can't wait for that long, shld be getting 2nd batch. Once they have determined that it is not an isolated defect (means MANY customers have complained the same thing), they will find a way to rectify the flaw and pass down the information to their SCs. At the same time they will apply the fix to their production line, if the car is still in production. If the problem is serious, they will actively issue a recall.hmm,if 1st batch got problem, how soon or which batch normally they will apply the fix? Which is why first batch users are considered as white mice, YOU are the one who has to tell them what is wrong and wait for them to find out a solution, AFTER many customers have come to their SCs with the same problem. This post has been edited by dares: Apr 8 2012, 12:24 AM |
Apr 8 2012, 12:35 AM
Apr 8 2012, 12:40 AM
Apr 8 2012, 10:58 AM
Apr 8 2012, 11:58 AM
QUOTE(mat79 @ Apr 8 2012, 11:50 AM) For turbo, yup, as long as its reach 2k-4k rpm, it doesnt matter, only depend on what speed u want to reach. If want to reach 100kmh@century sprint, yup just press at 2k-2.3k rpm is just enough to gauge the century sprint coz torque us max, n if not mistaken, cfecvt@2k rpm=96kmh+- while 2.3krpm=110kmh+-. Only cfe manual, then pedal to metal rules apply, but since the torque is flat from 2k-4k rpm, to gauge century sprint, just need to rev up to 4k rpm, then shift coz even after shifting rpm is drop, but it still above 2k rpm which all maximum torque is available. Unless for na@ old type turbo, dont have flat torque, pedal to metal is the best method. |
Apr 8 2012, 12:01 PM
Apr 8 2012, 12:28 PM
QUOTE(darkdevilrey @ Apr 8 2012, 12:18 PM) It is a larger car than the Waja, in fact, it is one of the largest in it's segment. And all those features (ABS, ESC, Turbo, Etc. etc.)? they all add weight to the car.Plus Waja is about 100kg lighter only and runs on a 1.6. The Preve's turbo, once engaged, is claimed to be equivalent to a 2.0 engine. That's why people keep saying, get the CFE, forget about the IAFM variant. This post has been edited by dares: Apr 8 2012, 12:32 PM |
Apr 8 2012, 12:56 PM
QUOTE(darkdevilrey @ Apr 8 2012, 12:47 PM) Under 2k RPM (Before the turbo boost), it still runs as a normal 1.6 engine. 2k RPM with the CVT, according to mat79, can go up to 93 km/h. So for city driving, most of the time you won't be boosting, except for overtaking, slope climbing and the occasional spirited driving. In my experience with my Saga CVT, I can drive the car under 2k and reach 85-90 km/h, even during mild acceleration I can still keep it under 2k, so it is perfectly driveable in urban settings. Of course once you reach highway speed, you will be boosting all the way, but running on turbo doesn't mean it is not fuel efficient. This post has been edited by dares: Apr 8 2012, 01:03 PM |
| Change to: | 0.0364sec
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 09:57 AM |